Reverence - The Asthenic Ascension review



Reviewer:
9.3

56 users:
7.93
Band: Reverence
Album: The Asthenic Ascension
Release date: April 2012


01. Earth
02. Darwin's Black Hall
03. The Descent
04. Psalm IV
05. Ghost Of Dust
06. Cold Room
07. Genesis Of Everything
08. Those Who Believed
09. The Asthenic Ascension


If you haven't noticed by now, France is fast becoming a hot-spot for experimental black metal. Over the past 10 years the ears of several unsuspecting victims have been all but abrogated by the likes of Deathspell Omega, Blut Aus Nord, S.V.E.S.T., Diapsiquir, Peste Noire... and now, Reverence.

Furthering their expedition on the path of industrial black metal, eradicating preconceptions of standards and traditions along the way, The Asthenic Ascension is an invasion on the most intimate level, ravaging your body without remorse, stripping you bare and leaving with the last ounce of dignity you had left. Using as many of its esoteric resources as possible at any one time, the somewhat jazzed-out potency of the industrial drum patterns empowers the preternatural riffs with a sense of marvel and beauty that contradict the utter disgust permeating Luciferia's diaphragm.

In other words, prepare for a challenge. And don't expect the all-too-cliché beginner's luck to help you out. The final minute of "Psalm IV" should give you a better understanding of what's in store for you.

Composition-wise Reverence share a great deal in common with the black metal juggernaut that is Deathspell Omega, with an emphasis on doing things differently almost for the sake of it: the ultimate "fuck you" to the listener. And if you're really observant, you'll be fortunate enough to interpret the Blut Aus Nord vibes. Keep up if you can, because musicians like this don't look in the rear-view to see who's fallen by the wayside. You think you're getting some traditional dissonant black metal riffing? How about a technically driven improvisational melody held at bay by an ensemble of cathartic chants to mess with your head. That's the kind of storm you're going to weather here. And it's the kind of storm that can tear down an entire city in less than an hour.

Once you begin the journey into this textural, bombastic monstrosity of an album, you'll soon discover the eerie backdrop isn't a disguise, but a reality - a presence, something genuine and tangible, the same way a wraith might clutch at your throat with jagged sickly fingers. The hypnotic... hazy... guitar work and chaotic... storytelling approach will dumbfound... and intoxicate before luring you in to --


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 08.04.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 28   Visited by: 422 users
08.04.2012 - 13:47
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Damn skippy. Awesome piece of music. Great, deep and rich sound, varied, winding and immensely satisfying on every level. Has to be my favourite record so far this year.

Nice review me old china.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 14:02
Slayer666
Well, fuck me. Gotta check this out.

On a related note, I want whatever the Frenchies have been getting high on recently, and I want plenty of it.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 14:18
Lokaeda
Account deleted
Woop, the band's from my hometown hehe
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 16:28
Unhealer
Eclecticist
I love what I heard of this French black metal movement. I should probably dig deeper into it sometime soon.
I saw the "Earth" clip from this band, it's excellent. And it features Pyramid Head.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 16:46
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Unhealer on 08.04.2012 at 16:28

And it features Pyramid Head.

It does?

*checks*

So it does. These guys should hang out with The Axis of Perdition.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 17:13
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 08.04.2012 at 16:46
These guys should hang out with The Axis of Perdition.

Screw that. These guys should hang out with me.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 17:14
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Hey i actually got this album already, didn't know Reverence was on here
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 17:16
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Alex F on 08.04.2012 at 17:14
...didn't know Reverence was on here

Lucas and Herz both reviewed two of their earlier releases.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 19:53
strade
Looks like even I will be checking this one out.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 20:04
PocketMetal
Pyramid Head from Silent Hill video games ?
how cool are these guys ? I will check it out if I find it .
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 21:08
Paz
News Man
I need to hear this, thanks for the review!
----
"I'm as mad as hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!" - Howard Beale
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 22:03
Mikyz
I've been so busy lately I haven't had enough time for recent releases but I'll make time for this. Thanks for the review
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 22:04
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mikyz on 08.04.2012 at 22:03
I've been so busy lately I haven't had enough time for recent releases but I'll make time for this. Thanks for the review

My pleasure. I know what it's like not to have time for 2012 releases. Seriously, this is maybe... the 25th album I've heard this year?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 22:07
InnerSelf
proofread free
Gotta love the French
Putting this on my mp3 player and listening to it now, awesome review
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 22:09
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by InnerSelf on 08.04.2012 at 22:07
Gotta love the French
Putting this on my mp3 player and listening to it now, awesome review

Seriously. They're making quite a name for themselves over there. Norway who?

And thanks! Hopefully you like the music too.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 22:13
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by Troy Killjoy on 08.04.2012 at 22:09

Seriously. They're making quite a name for themselves over there. Norway who?

And thanks! Hopefully you like the music too.


Haha exactly
I'm already on my first spin, the opening track sounds awesome. loving the somehow melodic feel to it, sounds like I'm in for a hell of a ride
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
09.04.2012 - 01:26
strade
Just finished my first listen, and not much stuck. Maybe I'll have to ease the transition between my indie, baroque pop binge and this sensory onslaught.

This one will take time.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
09.04.2012 - 01:29
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 09.04.2012 at 01:26
This one will take time.

The girl I'm seeing said she felt paranoid while listening to it alone late at night and managed to fall asleep with it on. So it's not an easily digestible album. I don't ever recommend more listens to "get it" but if you think that will help then I definitely support the effort you're putting in. Maybe build a little playlist to lead up to it, maybe some Darkspace, Sun of the Blind, Lurker of Chalice, Deathspell Omega, Blut aus Nord... then once you've set the mood give this album another go.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
09.04.2012 - 10:49
Merchant of Doom
Great album... my ears are bleeding! I just wish bands avoided putting the usual sobbing woman in one of the tracks... and I must say it drags a bit...
Loading...
09.04.2012 - 12:36
Daniell
_爱情_
What a monster of an album.
----
Now loving:
Naglfar - I Am Vengeance
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Depeche Mode - Going Backwards
Flotsam & Jetsam - Forbidden Territories
Immolation - When the Jackals Come
Suffocation - Your Last Breaths
Loading...
09.04.2012 - 18:06
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.04.2012 at 01:29

Maybe build a little playlist to lead up to it, maybe some Darkspace, Sun of the Blind, Lurker of Chalice, Deathspell Omega, Blut aus Nord... then once you've set the mood give this album another go.


Good advice, Troy. Sometimes if you can't get into a certain music style, you may just need to find the correct band to take you to the other side.
Loading...
09.04.2012 - 18:36
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Good album I would say 8.2
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
09.04.2012 - 20:31
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
Gotta check it out.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
12.04.2012 - 23:38
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Must check.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
14.04.2012 - 14:23
garmling
By far the most interesting "Black Metal" release in years...I've quit lately on this genre (maybe cuz I'm getting old hahahaha) and had no luck in finding any nice band until this one gem! it's not pure BM which is a good thing cuz there are billions of such generic bands, but nonetheless it is BM in some twisted evil form...it is dark, evil, occult, a thing which is not easily digestible, but when you get used to, it is damn tasty! highly recommended!!!
Loading...
14.04.2012 - 21:17
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Nice review. As a huge fan of Blut Aus Nord and Deathspell Omega, and just French metal in general, I'll definitely give this a peek when I get the chance
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
16.04.2012 - 05:13
Víctor
I will check it right now
Loading...
20.09.2012 - 00:50
The Galactican
Huge thanks for the review that led me to the listen. Holy crow this is amazing stuff. Wow and double wow.
Loading...

Hits total: 7540 | This month: 10