Astra (USA) - The Black Chord review



Reviewer:
5.9

23 users:
8.00
Band: Astra (USA)
Album: The Black Chord
Release date: March 2012


01. Cocoon
02. The Black Chord
03. Quake Meat
04. Drift
05. Bull Torpis
06. Barefoot In The Head


Well well well, isn't this a nice display of over indulgence. This is an album that grabs you, enthrals you, then shortly leaves you checking your proverbial watch and edging closer to the proverbial door before the proverbial crowd disperses and it takes you 20 minutes to get out of the proverbial parking lot.

Listening to The Black Chord is a lot like getting riotously drunk. There's that point where you feel like everything is just awesome; all your jokes are funny, every serious statement a philosophical gold nugget, and every action a feat of pure manliness.

...Then 20 hours later you're still going through an apocalyptic hangover that just won't end.

Go on, try it yourself. Pick out any song off this album, and give it a spin. Chances are, you'll just come to the conclusion that this reviewer is simply talkin' shit. You'll be grooving out to the moogs & mellotrons, the flute and the Santana-esque wailing guitar solos weaving in & out of some pure droning psychedelic prog rock that sounds like it flew here from the 70's. Honestly, there is no denying it sounds absolutely captivating upon the initial listen, before it drifts into a sea of aimless wankery for what feels like an eternity.

Then it goes on and on and on. It eventually becomes clear this album is relying entirely upon retro throw-back novelty sounds rather than any actual substance. It's hardly a strange coincidence that the strongest track off the album, "Bull Torpis" is also the shortest. The sooner the lack of meat on The Black Chord becomes apparent to you, the longer the rest of the album will drag out.

Granted, there is definitely going to be a large number of people who can stay riveted by this retro psychedellica for an entire album. This reviewer, however, ain't one of 'em.


 



Written on 10.04.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 135 users
10.04.2012 - 18:11
Merchant of Doom
This is such retro-wankery that I would rename their website "astraporn"...
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 18:24
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
Ouch, I thought this was an awesome album myself. It does rely on that retro nostalgia, but they are just SO good at it. Kind of a proghead's ambrosia here, I could see how some would find it repetitive.
BTW this is a lot shorter than their previous album, The Weirding... I bet you would love that one Doc.

and the first paragraph had me cracking up...
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 18:35
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
I agree with Intro. I'm totally not into this kind of thing usually but this and their debut are pretty fine records of hazy proggy psychedelia.
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 18:38
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Also, the review should have gone here. You've added it to the wrong Astra.
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 19:51
Danny Devilto
For me, this is almost perfect. Maybe it is not so original, but they are not copycats either. Their strongest element is their exceptional songwriting
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 23:03
The Benighted
Album rocks. Been listening to it ever since day one, and it's stayed solid. Don't agree with the review, but it's well written.
----
Learn to adapt to the change, or get washed away like tears in the rain.
Loading...
10.04.2012 - 23:22
scapeplan
Mouthcrab
So that's where all my proverbiality wet.
----
"Without judgement, perception would increase a million times."~Chuck Schuldiner

Less coherent than Anal Cunt.

Eric Brecht once liked my Facebook comment. Therefore, by the translative property, Chuck Schuldiner like my comment.
Loading...
12.04.2012 - 01:45
JohnDoe
Account deleted
One of the best albums I've listened to lately; I'm not a big fan of all this retro-prog, but Astra has always appealed to me.
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 10:56
Dentura
Shadow King
I have always been a huge progressive rock nerd, and this album was awesome. Finally an album that is actually able to conjure back images of the glory years, without sounding like a copycat of the older bands. It embraces elements of some of the bigger bands then, and produces a unique sound with their strong songwriting! I love this album, it's on my Top Ten for 2012 at the moment.
----
...And so death to the falsity of thy former rulers. Thy kingdom of "heaven" burns in a field of fire, and Dentura is the one true God thou must yield thy hearts and souls to in absolute submission. It is his ultimate decree and will unto thee..
Loading...

Hits total: 4285 | This month: 14