Rating:
8.0
In Extremo - Mein Rasend Herz
30 May 2005


01. Raue See
02. Horizont [feat. Marta Jandová]
03. Wesserbronner Gebet
04. Nur Ihr Allein
05. Fontaine La Jolie
06. Macht Und Dummheit
07. Tannhuser
08. Liam [feat. Rea Garvey]
09. Rasend Herz
10. Singapur
11. Poc Vecem
12. Spielmann
+ In Extremo software player
+ Making of... [limited edition bonus]


Some people claim that In Extremo is a band that has lost the inspiration needed to write good music, and while this statement is not completely false, In Extremo keep releasing material on a constant basis.

This time the Germans got signed with mega company Universal Records, and you can tell that they received the proper financial support, the presentation of their eight Cd so far is completely astonishing, specially the Digipak version, I liked specially the band photos on the booklet.

Basically this new album, "Mein Rasend Herz" begins where "7" left, and I could say that there's no big changes or any progression here, so we could call this album "8".
In Extremo plays a very popular genre of Metal down in Germany, Mittelalter Metal or Medieval Metal, call it what you want, is basically Folk Metal with medieval instruments, and for all of you ignorant people, this is NOT Rammstein with bag pipes!

Ok, so no big progression in this album, but still this is good music, don't be fooled by all the negative comments, In Extremo might not be the thriving Folk force they used to be, but they got their style and no one can deny that, songs are catchy with a wide array of instruments for each one, vocals are catchy also (even though I don't understand squat of German).

Songs like "Raue See", "Poc Vecem", "Wessebronner Gebet" and "Fontaine La Jolie" will make the delights for the fans of the band and Folk Metal in general.
Some thing is certain here, this album has a lot of good songs, much better than their previous, almost every song in the album has its own charm.

So I got good news and bad news for everyone.
For the bad news, In Extremo still plays Folk Metal in the vein of their latest albums, no big progression or significant changes in their work.
For some good news, this is a much better album than their previous one, songs are catchier and the whole presentation is awesome.

If it's your first try with In Extremo, you might want to listen their older albums, but if you want a peek at the new In Extremo, this is the album for you. Totally recommended.


Band profile: In Extremo
Album: Mein Rasend Herz


 


written by Undercraft | 12.10.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 48  
Search this topic:  


Bulus - 01.06.2006 at 20:10  
i love this album, especially Nur Ihr allein
Promonex - 01.06.2006 at 22:35  
Written by Bulus on 01.06.2006 at 20:10

i love this album, especially Nur Ihr allein

That's only because you don't understand German. "Nur ihr allein" has the worst InEx lyrics ever! "Raue See" and "Macht und Dummheit" are rather good songs though.
Bulus - 02.06.2006 at 18:53  
Written by Promonex on 01.06.2006 at 22:35

Written by Bulus on 01.06.2006 at 20:10

i love this album, especially Nur Ihr allein

That's only because you don't understand German. "Nur ihr allein" has the worst InEx lyrics ever! "Raue See" and "Macht und Dummheit" are rather good songs though.

You right, i don't understand German, i like how they get into the music. anyway can you translate the lyrics?
Promonex - 03.06.2006 at 12:04  
Ihr, nur ihr allein
könnt ein Teil des Ganzen sein
Ihr könnt vor euren Plänen fliehen
und mit uns um die Häuser ziehen
Ihr, nur ihr allein
könnt ein Teil des Ganzen sein
Aus diesem Grund sind wir erschienen
Wir sind verehrt und angespien. (Verehrt und Angespien was the name of their 1999 album)

You, only you (plural you)
can be a part of the whole
you can escape from your plans
and pub-crawl with us (didn't know how to translate it better)
You, only you
can be a part of the whole
That's why we've appeared
We are admired and spat at


Believe me now?
Bulus - 12.08.2006 at 16:40  
i believe you,
the lyrics not good,
thanks, :thanks:
+{Jonas}+ - 04.10.2006 at 05:51  
Well, I agree with most of the review, no big progressions, althouth I don't find it better, nor worse than "7" Tehy're in teh same level, muscally speaking, IMO. I still prefer "7", though.
iaberis - 01.03.2007 at 20:14  
I can't find this album anywhere and if I do, it's fucking expensive...
SirenOfTheStyx - 01.03.2007 at 21:11  
Would someone please send me a song ?

I feel like buying this album, but only because I think the cover is beautiful, and because they're German... and I'm not sure these are good reasons ^^
iaberis - 01.03.2007 at 21:22  
Written by Guest on 01.03.2007 at 21:11

Would someone please send me a song ?

I feel like buying this album, but only because I think the cover is beautiful, and because they're German... and I'm not sure these are good reasons ^^

Yeah the cover art attracted me too! Their music is terrific!
iaberis - 18.04.2007 at 21:03  
Wow!!!! I just got the album!!! It's a real masterpiece!!! Their best work by far!!! Excellent! Recommended !!!
Hamird - 28.06.2008 at 18:48  
This album is the best album by In Extremo, I like so much. most of tracks are my favorite. In fact I started In Extremo with this album! and with the first track I became the fan, they are the most powerful band in this genre!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews In Extremo - 7 6 04.10.2006 by +{Jonas}+
Reviews Macbeth - Malae Artes 3 10.02.2007 by iaberis
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Something Wild 3 29.04.2007 by Doc Godin
Reviews Mono - You Are There 3 17.07.2007 by
Reviews Deathchain - Deadmeat Disciples 3 04.12.2006 by Sunioj



Hits total: 3190 | This month: 31