Rating:
9.0
Enochian Theory - Life... And All It Entails
12 March 2012


01. Zero Is Also A Number
02. This Aching Isolation
03. Hz
04. Non Sum Qualis Eram
05. Distances
06. Inversions
07. Creatio Ex Nihilio
08. In Times Of Silence
09. For Your Glory, Great Deceiver
10. Nisi Credideritis, Non Intelligetis
11. The Motives Of The Machine
12. Singularities
13. Loves
14. The Fire Around The Lotus [bonus]


Rating supplement: Guess who's got herself a new band crush? It's been a while since I attached a 9.0 score to a review, so consider this a wholehearted recommendation.

Quick, what's the first thing that comes to your mind when I say "emotional, stripped down, dismal proggy music"? You're probably thinking Riverside, Porcupine Tree, maybe even Damnation-era Opeth or early 2000's Pain Of Salvation (or, if you're one of the three people on Metal Storm that share my obsessions, Wolverine and Sieges Even/Subsignal). Well, it looks like a new band joined this pack - I already adore them and you should too.

Out of all the names I've dropped in the first paragraph, Riverside is the band which sounds the closest to Enochian Theory - it's not a coincidence that jupitreas described Enochian Theory's debut as an emotional twin to Riverside's Out Of Myself. But don't think this means Enochian Theory is a clone. They're simply sailing along "The Same River" - walking down a similar path.

All of the tracks are very short for prog standards and for the most part devoid of soloing. Two minutes into the opener you already know what you're up for - fragile-sounding guitar work, playful rhythms and epic, bigger-than-life vocal melodies, all performed by very able musicians. There is also an abundance of synths and orchestral sounds performed by a mysterious entity the band refers to as "The Lost Orchestra". The pace doesn't pick up much throughout the album, but the intensity sure does, so if you can't stand mellow music, seldom but smartly placed guitar riffs with heavy distortion and growled vocals will make you feel right at home.

What is even more impressive than Enochian Theory's song construction is their album construction. Life... And All It Entails has got the best flow I've heard recently, down to every second of the spoken word tracks. Everything fits just like a puzzle - the way "Distances" sets the mood for "Inversions", or the way that growled vocals surface for the first time during "In Times Of Silence" and dominate the whole first half of the following track is priceless.

"Non sum qualis eram... I am not who I once was."


Band profile: Enochian Theory
Album: Life... And All It Entails


 



Written on 12.04.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 42  
Users visited: 343  
Search this topic:  


Merchant of Doom - 12.04.2012 at 17:44  
I quite liked their first album, so I'll be listening to this!
Unhealer - 12.04.2012 at 17:48  
Quote:
They're simply sailing along "The Same River"

I see what you did there.

Ok, I'll guess I will check this out. It can't go wrong with all those references.
Milena - 12.04.2012 at 17:57  
Written by Unhealer on 12.04.2012 at 17:48

Quote:
They're simply sailing along "The Same River"

I see what you did there.

Ok, I'll guess I will check this out. It can't go wrong with all those references.

You noticed
It's more of a feeling than an actual sound, but there are still similarities in sound - "The Motives Of The Machine" sends me straight back to Sieges Even for example. But according to the interviews, the main songwriter doesn't listen to a lot of modern prog bands so I don't know whether they were actually inspired by, let's say, Riverside while writing this. Not that it would matter if they were, they definitely have a signature sound which I'm happy to promote here.
MeloDeathViking - 12.04.2012 at 18:01  
I've been waiting for this album for so long! Can't wait to get my hands on it ::greedy face::

Good review Mora! I loved their first album and have been really looking foward to this, judging by your review, I won't be disappointed!
Kwis - 12.04.2012 at 18:05  
I heard This Aching Isolation on youtube. Beautiful. Reminds me of Tool.
PocketMetal - 12.04.2012 at 18:15  
Dissona fulfilled my prog needs and I need to listen to this too .
last year we got at least 3142115134131 good prog albums :p

I guess everyone got "The Same River" part ... so obivous
scapeplan - 12.04.2012 at 18:22  
This sounds interesting, I think I might check this out sometime soon.
Troy Killjoy - 12.04.2012 at 18:26  
Thought this was a new Enochian Crescent album and saw the rating... then I realized it's another prog release.

World makes sense again.
theFIST - 12.04.2012 at 21:25  
Written by Milena on 12.04.2012 at 17:57

Quick, what's the first thing that comes to your mind when I say "emotional, stripped down, dismal proggy music"?

run away as fast as possible
Milena - 12.04.2012 at 21:34  
Written by theFIST on 12.04.2012 at 21:25

run away as fast as possible

You're in my siggie now. Whoever you are, I love you and commend your sense of humor
theFIST - 12.04.2012 at 22:05  
Written by Milena on 12.04.2012 at 21:34

Written by theFIST on 12.04.2012 at 21:25

run away as fast as possible

You're in my siggie now. Whoever you are, I love you and commend your sense of humor

wow, sweet of you
but who"s siggie?
malaikat - 12.04.2012 at 22:30  
Wow, a new album? I've been listening to their previous album for weeks now, and I LOVE it. And I don't usually fall in love with prog releases. Must check this out! Hvala, Mora
Milena - 12.04.2012 at 22:35  
Written by theFIST on 12.04.2012 at 22:05

but who"s siggie?

My forum signature
Maxx666 - 12.04.2012 at 22:41  
Hmmmm nice review.. gotta check this out
Milena - 12.04.2012 at 22:44  
Written by malaikat on 12.04.2012 at 22:30

Wow, a new album? I've been listening to their previous album for weeks now, and I LOVE it. And I don't usually fall in love with prog releases. Must check this out! Hvala, Mora

I LOVE this one, couldn't recommend it more. The first listen went like "oh yeah, I like this, I like that" and when it amounted to dozens of things I liked, I couldn't stop listening to it. So glad this year is bringing the goods... from the accomplished progsters, we have the new OSI, we'll have the new Fates Warning, the new Rush will be coming out (although we shouldn't expect to much from the so-called mainstream, but it's always nice to anticipate)... and from small bands we have this and Dissona so far, and I've heard good stuff for Beyond The Bridge too. Most awesome. Nema na čemu
theFIST - 12.04.2012 at 23:01  
Written by Milena on 12.04.2012 at 22:35

Written by theFIST on 12.04.2012 at 22:05

but who"s siggie?

My forum signature

oh, ok
by the way sweetheart, may i get a hug?
Unhealer - 12.04.2012 at 23:28  
Written by Milena on 12.04.2012 at 22:44

So glad this year is bringing the goods... from the accomplished progsters, we have...


Arjen Lucassen too, probably. I had no interest in his solo release at all, but I have to say the song he released today as a teaser is damn good.
tea[m]ster - 12.04.2012 at 23:29  
Woot, thank you for this Mora. It's about damn time they get some recognition. Their first "major" release in 2009 and this album bombshell signals something fresh in the prog world. These guys and Haken are getting my idle prog juices flowing again.
Milena - 13.04.2012 at 00:05  
Written by theFIST on 12.04.2012 at 23:01

by the way sweetheart, may i get a hug?

Why not, I always act like I have "free hugs" stamped on my forehead.
*hugs*
Milena - 13.04.2012 at 00:07  
Written by Unhealer on 12.04.2012 at 23:28

Arjen Lucassen too, probably. I had no interest in his solo release at all, but I have to say the song he released today as a teaser is damn good.

Oh yeah, I listened to it and especially loved his commentary. I never listened to a lot of his stuff so I can't compare though.
theFIST - 13.04.2012 at 00:18  
Written by Milena on 13.04.2012 at 00:05

Written by theFIST on 12.04.2012 at 23:01

by the way sweetheart, may i get a hug?

Why not, I always act like I have "free hugs" stamped on my forehead.
*hugs*

we should meet offline somewhen
Milena - 13.04.2012 at 00:22  
Written by theFIST on 13.04.2012 at 00:18

we should meet offline somewhen

I hope that was creepy on intention, good sir.
theFIST - 13.04.2012 at 00:27  
Written by Milena on 13.04.2012 at 00:22

Written by theFIST on 13.04.2012 at 00:18

we should meet offline somewhen

I hope that was creepy on intention, good sir.

yes of course, better lady
strade - 13.04.2012 at 02:48  
Will be listening to this for sure. Thanks for the reco, Mora.
Panterica - 13.04.2012 at 17:46  
Sounds interesting, I'll check them out (hopefully soon).
So far you've succeeded to catch my attention with every review you've written, so why stop such a nice tradition?
BloodTears - 13.04.2012 at 21:34  
Sounds perfect for me!
Rulatore - 15.04.2012 at 01:22  
It has some great moments the vocals are good indeed, nice review, although not my cup of tea
Wes - 15.04.2012 at 07:22  
Wow, I really like This Aching Isolation. And I agree, the first band I think of is Riverside, yet this is definitely different.

Great review, and thanks
AtmoProg - 16.04.2012 at 19:45  
Well! It's time to listen! Thanks for the review
Mr. Doctor - 16.04.2012 at 22:24  
Might check this out considering I know a couple of albums/bands you mentioned.
Also, Hi again!
Milena - 17.04.2012 at 00:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.04.2012 at 22:24

Might check this out considering I know a couple of albums/bands you mentioned.
Also, Hi again!

Hi Rod I've told Marcel to tell you hi a couple of times, but I think he forgot

This is really, really good, between-prog-rock-and-prog-metal kind of prog. Has a lot of emotional content and it's overall pretty amazing. Might end up as my favorite. So if you find time and determination, sure.
Mr. Doctor - 17.04.2012 at 00:48  
Written by Milena on 17.04.2012 at 00:40

Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.04.2012 at 22:24

Might check this out considering I know a couple of albums/bands you mentioned.
Also, Hi again!

Hi Rod I've told Marcel to tell you hi a couple of times, but I think he forgot


No he didn't forget. I did got the little messages and I appreciate them.

I really missed the you and all the elite/staffers... The whole community overall
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.04.2012 at 02:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 17.04.2012 at 00:48


I really missed the you and all the elite/staffers... The whole community overall


No you didn't. You said you couldn't care less and I even had to force you to try and log in which you refused
R'Vannith - 17.04.2012 at 17:13  
Where have I seen that album cover before
Milena - 17.04.2012 at 17:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.04.2012 at 02:39

No you didn't. You said you couldn't care less and I even had to force you to try and log in which you refused

Aaaand, Rod is caught with his pants down
Milena - 17.04.2012 at 17:17  
Written by R'Vannith on 17.04.2012 at 17:13

Where have I seen that album cover before

It reminds me of something too, but I have no idea what could it be.
Ethereal Tantrum - 22.04.2012 at 19:23  
Thanks to everyone who takes the time to check us out...and thanks once more for the excellent review, me lady.
:-)

Ben
R'Vannith - 05.06.2012 at 08:27  
I've been wracking my brains to try and figure out who Ben's vocals remind me of. And it's finally hit me, sounds like a mix between Duda of Riverside and Englund of Evergrey. Very engrossing in any case.
Milena - 05.06.2012 at 10:10  
Written by R'Vannith on 05.06.2012 at 08:27

I've been wracking my brains to try and figure out who Ben's vocals remind me of. And it's finally hit me, sounds like a mix between Duda of Riverside and Englund of Evergrey. Very engrossing in any case.

Nailed it right on the head. Ben's a damn fine singer.
BloodTears - 05.09.2012 at 12:12  
Finally got around to listen to this album and now I'm beating myself up for not doing it earlier! This is beautiful stuff.
Introspekrieg - 04.01.2013 at 07:28  
I find myself enjoying the beginning and end of this album, but have been losing interest during the middle. That second track "This Aching Isolation" started out reminding me of Tool, which caught my attention when I first listened and the final track "Loves" is phenomenal. The music does meander between both straightforward neo-prog and the heavier, somewhat "mystical" prog metal elements. Then there are the experimental/art rock sections that really throw you for a loop. I was trying to catch up with all of last year's releases and it seems I am going to have to give this one more of an effort. The singer reminds me of Peter Gabriel at times, but he still hasn't won me over completely. Great review for challenging album (in terms of progressive metal).
Milena - 04.01.2013 at 16:57  
Written by Introspekrieg on 04.01.2013 at 07:28

I find myself enjoying the beginning and end of this album, but have been losing interest during the middle. That second track "This Aching Isolation" started out reminding me of Tool, which caught my attention when I first listened and the final track "Loves" is phenomenal. The music does meander between both straightforward neo-prog and the heavier, somewhat "mystical" prog metal elements. Then there are the experimental/art rock sections that really throw you for a loop. I was trying to catch up with all of last year's releases and it seems I am going to have to give this one more of an effort. The singer reminds me of Peter Gabriel at times, but he still hasn't won me over completely. Great review for challenging album (in terms of progressive metal).

After several months with this album I would have written a little better one, I think. It's by far my favorite release in 2012 anyway. Glad you gave it some time of your day!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Enochian Theory - Life... And All It Entails 10.5 30.12.2011 by tea[m]ster
Reviews When All Light Dies - Transitions 4.5 24.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
News Enochian Theory - Release Date For New Album Pushed Back 4.5 17.02.2012 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Anaal Nathrakh - Hell Is Empty And All The Devils Are Here 4 16.11.2007 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Nails - Abandon All Life 4 12.07.2013 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 6555 | This month: 66