Rating:
6.5
Gothmog - Aeons Of Deception
March 2012


01. Solve Et Coagula
02. Escape To Nowhere
03. Beyond The Mist Of Time
04. Deathbringer
05. Aeons Of Deception
06. The Bargain Struck
07. The Age Of Thought
08. Nirnaeth Arnoediad (Unnumbered Tears)
09. ...And I Shall Be Reborn
10. The Blackest Of The Paths


Gothmog's symphonic brand of black metal, a la Dimmu Borgir and Carach Angren, is quite stale at this point in history. I mean it's 2012, and a large portion of melodic/symphonic black metal bands are either dying out or moving on from the trend. Not these guys though... and I suppose that's okay.

But it's not better than "okay", and that's a problem. The genre isn't crowded for a reason: because many of those who've tried, failed. Just look at recent releases from the likes of Agathodaimon and Graveworm. What keeps Aeons of Deception from complete and utter mediocrity is the more serious moments. On the whole it's a somewhat cheesy, "happy" black metal album; however, a decent portion of the material could still be filed under the "tried and trve" section.

Regardless, the lack of spite and aggression is simply overbearing. The listener can't shake the idea that they're listening to something contrived, as if aimed towards a specific demographic with dollar signs in mind. Granted, the musicianship is top-notch; you get all kinds of fun solos and the professionalism is obvious, and the album makes sense as a cohesive story. It just doesn't feel right, like sex with two condoms on - hell, like sex with any amount of condoms on.

Taken at face value, Aeons of Deception isn't the worst thing to grace the planet. It's actually a decent-sounding majestic piece of symphonic black metal that sets its sights on achieving the most epic form of glory possible with a shameless disregard for taking a more traditional route. The band members seem comfortable and more than satisfied with the new material, so if you aren't overly concerned with an apparent focus on theatrics then Gothmog may just be that accessible band you've been looking for to help you further develop a taste for things more extreme.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Gothmog
Album: Aeons Of Deception


 



Written on 15.04.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 80  
Search this topic:  


AngelofDeth - 15.04.2012 at 21:20  
"so if you aren't overly concerned with an apparent focus on theatrics then Gothmog may just be that accessible band you've been looking for to help you further develop a taste for things more extreme."

That is a very elitist statement... Personally i really enjoy symphonic/melodic bands(i grew up with classical music afterall). Im also into some more extreme stuff but I dont see anything wrong with liking/producing melodic/symphonic stuff if you truly enjoy the music of it.

and I think the fact that they're still sticking to their sound even after the trend has faded is a sign that they truly enjoy this style and are dedicated to the music not the money.
Troy Killjoy - 16.04.2012 at 02:28  
Written by AngelofDeth on 15.04.2012 at 21:20
That is a very elitist statement... and I think the fact that they're still sticking to their sound even after the trend has faded is a sign that they truly enjoy this style and are dedicated to the music not the money.

Elitist - how so? I'm letting the reader know that these guys have a tendency to focus on creating "theatrical" music. I think they're accessible and if you don't have a problem with symphonic elements in black metal then this will probably please you. An elitist statement would look more like this:

"Symphonic black metal is gay because it isn't trve. It's a genre for sellouts like Dimmu and CoF. Give me early Darkthrone (none of that new punk bullshit) or Gorgoroth (without Gaahl because he's gay) any day!"

And I think I implied that by sticking to their sound they show they aren't hopping on a bandwagon. I expect any future releases by the band will be of the same style.
Boxcar Willy - 16.04.2012 at 03:53  
+1 for Darkthrone.
AngelofDeth - 16.04.2012 at 04:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.04.2012 at 02:28

"Symphonic black metal is gay because it isn't trve. It's a genre for sellouts like Dimmu and CoF. Give me early Darkthrone (none of that new punk bullshit) or Gorgoroth (without Gaahl because he's gay) any day!"

Ghaal part is hilarious

Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.04.2012 at 02:28

Elitist - how so? I'm letting the reader know that these guys have a tendency to focus on creating "theatrical" music. I think they're accessible and if you don't have a problem with symphonic elements in black metal then this will probably please you.

the last sentence of the review just comes off a lil condescending by saying Gothmog will help us develope a taste for things more extreme, when some of us(myself) already enjoy both extreme and symphonic. your above statement clears it up, but shoulda been in the review.
Vikingr - 16.04.2012 at 07:07  
I agree with the condom statement actually, remember children, you can always pull out xD
Winterthrone - 16.04.2012 at 20:51  
Written by Vikingr on 16.04.2012 at 07:07

I agree with the condom statement actually, remember children, you can always pull out xD

Yeah, but you can't pull out gonnorhea, herpes and HIV :S
Winterthrone - 16.04.2012 at 20:51  
Written by Vikingr on 16.04.2012 at 07:07

I agree with the condom statement actually, remember children, you can always pull out xD

Yeah, but you can't pull out gonnorhea, herpes and HIV :S
Troy Killjoy - 17.04.2012 at 05:30  
Written by Winterthrone on 16.04.2012 at 20:51
Yeah, but you can't pull out gonnorhea, herpes and HIV :S

Dude you haven't been to one of my house parties.
Vikingr - 17.04.2012 at 05:46  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.04.2012 at 05:30

Written by Winterthrone on 16.04.2012 at 20:51
Yeah, but you can't pull out gonnorhea, herpes and HIV :S

Dude you haven't been to one of my house parties.

Exactly xD And it was just a joke bro no worries. I'm actually quite the advocate for wrapping your tool, i fucking hate those dumbasses who get some 16 year old pregnant because they couldn't take the 5 fucking seconds to put a condom on and prevent all the bullshit of ruining said girls entire life :/
Winterthrone - 18.04.2012 at 08:29  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.04.2012 at 05:30

Written by Winterthrone on 16.04.2012 at 20:51
Yeah, but you can't pull out gonnorhea, herpes and HIV :S

Dude you haven't been to one of my house parties.

Just to make sure...These are not girls names....LOL
BaneConall - 18.04.2012 at 16:48  
I'm getting a kind of early gothenburg vibe here and there on some of the songs. But regardless of what genre it's in, it's a very mediocre release.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Fell Voices - Regnum Saturni 4.5 06.12.2013 by mz
Reviews John Haughm - +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" 4.5 05.12.2011 by malaikat
Reviews Dauden I Mørke - Nephilim 4.5 16.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 4.5 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Pandemonium - Misanthropy 4.5 16.06.2012 by JD



Hits total: 2746 | This month: 63