Rating:
8.4
Immortal - Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism
1992


01. [untitled]
02. The Call Of The Wintermoon
03. Unholy Forces Of Evil
04. Cryptic Winterstorms
05. Cold Winds Of Funeral Dust
06. Blacker Than Darkness
07. A Perfect Vision Of The Rising Northland


Since 1991, Immortal did a great job proving that they were amongst the best black metallers out there. Starting with their "frostbitten" formula and then exposing a thrashier side, they never failed to amaze us. Battles In The North, At The Heart Of Winter, and all of their grim efforts across the years were always satisfying, strong and at times mind boggling. Now, let us go back in time, and revisit the event that sparked this chain of awesomeness, the album that brought to birth one of the most noteworthy black metal acts on earth: Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism.

Back in the year 1991, when many bands were still grasping the concept of black metal, Immortal were writing some solid black metal. Despite their young age, they succeed in delivering a mature-sounding work. Demonaz's riffing is very tight, and not usually breaking the evil-sounding tremolo rule. The chainsaw-like riffs are fast, angry and relentless. The low frequencies are very masterfully covered by Abbath's heavy bass lines. This is one of those old black metal albums where the bass keeps rumbling all the time. The drumming, on the other hand, is very typical for a black metal album, but Diabolical was released in 1991, so it is quite normal for the drumming to consist of nothing but constant blasting. On the top of the well-performed instrumentals come the vocals, which are less croaky than our usual Abbath vocals, but loads more scary and disturbing, especially that screech in "Unholy Forces Of Evil".

In overall, the instrumentation and the vocals blend well enough, creating some decent soundscapes. The atmosphere as a whole is sinister and punishing; it should be so when it is the result of furious riffing, hellish blasting and some out-of-this-world screams. However, this doesn't mean that the atmosphere lacks beauty, grandeur and majesty. Acoustic guitars are frequently used, and keyboards dominate near the end of "A Perfect Vision Of The Rising Northland", but what makes the experience of Diabolical unforgettable is the devilish guitar solos and leads here and there. It seems that Demonaz wrote some typical solos, changed some notes, twisted the overall sound and added some warped craze in order to create those solos of his. Mind blowing stuff.

Production-wise, Diabolical sticks to the tr00 kvlt raw recording type, which isn't a bad thing, as this is raw black metal, and the production contributes to the atmosphere in a great way. The tracks are all balanced and good. The standouts are the mighty "The Call Of The Wintermoon" and "Unholy Forces Of Evil".

Final verdict: This is an underrated raw black metal jewel, and it is often overlooked by the fans of the genre. If you like black metal, grab this as soon as possible. The evil, harsh atmosphere will undeniably be to your immense liking.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Immortal
Album: Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism


 


written by Oaken | 18.04.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 129  
Search this topic:  


Lokaeda - 18.04.2012 at 22:55  
"blasting"? If you meant "blastbeats" there, I really can't recall hearing anything close to blastbeats on this album.

Otherwise, nice to see this album get some recognition ^^ it's not one of their best, but it surely is better than "blizzard beasts", or even "all shall fall" imo
Mr. Doctor - 18.04.2012 at 23:14  
Written by Lokaeda on 18.04.2012 at 22:55

"blasting"? If you meant "blastbeats" there, I really can't recall hearing anything close to blastbeats on this album.


There are a couple of blastbeats here and there (some parts of The Call Of The Wintermoon) but overall you are right, this album doesn't really have many blastbeats, sure as hell not enough to call it "constant blasting".
Damn, sometimes it can be quite slow to black metal standards. Some other times it can be military influenced.

Back to the album itself, I really like this album. I would say it's a tad underrated in their discography.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 23:32  
This really isn't as raw or blastbeat-filled as you make it out to be, and even die-hard Immortal fans know this is by no means a gem.
Mr. Doctor - 19.04.2012 at 03:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 23:32

This really isn't as raw or blastbeat-filled as you make it out to be, and even die-hard Immortal fans know this is by no means a gem.


Well, personally I would give it something between 7,5 to even 8,0 if I'm in the mood. But not a gem by any means.
Damn, if someone wants to make reviews to get some silly points at least make then half decent in terms of describing the music.
Daniell - 19.04.2012 at 10:32  
Wow, talk about overrating shitty music... Have you even listened to this album? Even the musicianship is sloppy there. Not to mention boring songs and terrible production. Yes, terrible. It's not true and cult, it's shitty, because the band had no cash to finance anything better. This is the basic misconception about early black metal. People assume that the sound was intended, that the bands aimed to create such an atmosphere. No it wasn't and no they didn't... It was a simple result of lack of funds. You can also blame the producers, who didn't really know how to produce such music - no one had done it before. And it's hard to blame them to be honest.
Why do people think that every early black metal album from the second wave is great? No it isn't, so why idolize crap? This review is a perfect example.

To me, the cherry on top of all that is Immortal's terrible command of the English language. Song titles like "Cold Winds Of Funeral Dust" (this one is a gem!) are perfect examples of what's wrong with black metal lyrics. But they, they're really funny, which, at the end of the day, is the only positive thing about Immortal's shitty debut.

Immortal's crusade against proper English didn't end with the release of their debut album. The next albums are even better in that department:

Tragedies blows at horizon
The Darkness that Embrace Me
Storming Through Red Clouds and Holocaustwinds
In our mystic visions blest

and many, many more. Immortal's song titles never fail to cheer me up
M C Vice - 19.04.2012 at 13:28  
Written by Daniell on 19.04.2012 at 10:32

To me, the cherry on top of all that is Immortal's terrible command of the English language. Song titles like "Cold Winds Of Funeral Dust" (this one is a gem!) are perfect examples of what's wrong with black metal lyrics. But they, they're really funny, which, at the end of the day, is the only positive thing about Immortal's shitty debut.

Immortal's crusade against proper English didn't end with the release of their debut album. The next albums are even better in that department:

Tragedies blows at horizon
The Darkness that Embrace Me
Storming Through Red Clouds and Holocaustwinds
In our mystic visions blest

and many, many more. Immortal's song titles never fail to cheer me up

The bad grammer is one of my favorite things about Immortal (I always wonder whether it's intentional or not). It shows that they're having fun and don't take themselves too seriously (It'sa bit hard to when you look like a Kiss reject).
Don't forget Eternal Years On The Path To The Cemetary Gates and At The Stormy Gates Of Mist.
Daniell - 19.04.2012 at 14:09  
I'm pretty sure they were dead serious about their image and lyrics, at least in the first years of their career.
Oaken - 19.04.2012 at 15:37  
Written by Lokaeda on 18.04.2012 at 22:55

"blasting"? If you meant "blastbeats" there, I really can't recall hearing anything close to blastbeats on this album.

Otherwise, nice to see this album get some recognition ^^ it's not one of their best, but it surely is better than "blizzard beasts", or even "all shall fall" imo

I meant traditional black metal drumming... Well, I'm not a specialist on describing drums.
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 23:32

This really isn't as raw or blastbeat-filled as you make it out to be, and even die-hard Immortal fans know this is by no means a gem.

I just wanted to point out that it is underrated.
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.04.2012 at 03:24

Damn, if someone wants to make reviews to get some silly points at least make then half decent in terms of describing the music.

Your site won't be ruined if I did a mistake in describing the drums. If there was a chance that I would continue reviewing, then your nice "encouragement" has totally ended it. Maybe you still fail to realize that this is still my fifth review.
Written by Daniell on 19.04.2012 at 10:32

Have you even listened to this album?

You think this just because you hate the album? Because you have a different opinion? Do you say that reviews suck if they don't "go" with your preferences?
And yes, I have listened to this. You can't review an album without listening to it.
Void Eater - 19.04.2012 at 16:01  
I like the album... Sits on a nice line between Bathoryesque black/thrash/death/punk/whatever the hell their first two albums were, and the traditional second wave sound. Not their best by any means, but by no means shit.
Lokaeda - 19.04.2012 at 16:11  
Written by Oaken on 19.04.2012 at 15:37

Maybe you still fail to realize that this is still my fifth review.


Your argument is invalid imo. It's a matter of taste, not a matter of how many reviews one writes. Mora (just to avoid mentioning Troy once again, he's everywhere >:[) wrote a shitload of reviews, yet I disagree with most of them.
Oaken - 19.04.2012 at 16:14  
Written by Lokaeda on 19.04.2012 at 16:11

Written by Oaken on 19.04.2012 at 15:37

Maybe you still fail to realize that this is still my fifth review.


Your argument is invalid imo. It's a matter of taste, not a matter of how many reviews one writes. Mora (just to avoid mentioning Troy once again, he's everywhere >:[) wrote a shitload of reviews, yet I disagree with most of them.

It's not about agreeing/not agreeing. It's about "not being able to make them half decent in terms of describing the music".
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 16:17  
People are probably "flaming" your review because you clearly stated you're only writing these to get 100 community points because you want a title. And this review leads the reader away from what the album actually sounds like.

Maybe if your intentions were a little more honest - as in you wanted to review because you like writing or because you wanted to shed light on some lesser known albums or whatever - people would be more willing to provide constructive criticism as opposed to just criticism.
Lokaeda - 19.04.2012 at 16:18  
Want some free points? Edit/complete band discogs
Oaken - 19.04.2012 at 16:20  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 16:17

People are probably "flaming" your review because you clearly stated you're only writing these to get 100 community points because you want a title. And this review leads the reader away from what the album actually sounds like.

Maybe if your intentions were a little more honest - as in you wanted to review because you like writing or because you wanted to shed light on some lesser known albums or whatever - people would be more willing to provide constructive criticism as opposed to just criticism.

In all honesty, I didn't write this for the community points only, but I'm not really familiar with the standards of "kvlt" black metal.
Oaken - 19.04.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Lokaeda on 19.04.2012 at 16:18

Want some free points? Edit/complete band discogs

I want free points, but I want to write reviews as well. After all, it's really fun, and quite useful to the site.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.04.2012 at 16:22  
If Daniel had his own way this and every other album ever made would probably sound like it was produced by Sony

The production and sloppy-ish musicianship suits the era perfectly and to be honest I've heard hundreds of albums far worse produced than this. Who gives a flying fuck about lyrics and song titles anyway. Talk about not seeing the woods for the trees, or in this case extremely grimm and kvlt, frostbitten forest Decent album.
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 16:25  
Written by Oaken on 19.04.2012 at 16:20
In all honesty, I didn't write this for the community points only, but I'm not really familiar with the standards of "kvlt" black metal.

Be that as it may, you clearly stated you were only going to write reviews until you got your points... so it's only natural for those of us who know that to target this review in the same way ponderer's review of Enslaved was targeted: as something written for selfish purposes. He wanted attention, you want a title.

As for "kvlt" black metal (can't wait till that term dies), maybe you should familiarize yourself with it a little more and come back with a review of something you're able to describe better. That's about as constructive as I can be in this situation.
Oaken - 19.04.2012 at 16:28  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 16:25

Written by Oaken on 19.04.2012 at 16:20
In all honesty, I didn't write this for the community points only, but I'm not really familiar with the standards of "kvlt" black metal.

Be that as it may, you clearly stated you were only going to write reviews until you got your points

Daniell - 19.04.2012 at 16:50  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:22

If Daniel had his own way this and every other album ever made would probably sound like it was produced by Sony


I know you're not really serious here, but I will give a serious answer
A black metal album that has unclear production that I like a lot, really a lot, is Emperor's "In the Nightside Eclipse". The production fits, and seems, at least to these ears, to be mostly the result of a conscious decision to make it the way it is. Other albums that I'd put in the same category: Satyricon's "Nemesis Divina", Mayhem's "Ordo Ad Chao" (I know, different time period), or Enslaved's "Frost", to mention just a few. "Diabolical Fullmooon Shitticism" doesn't fit into this category.


Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:22

The production and sloppy-ish musicianship suits the era perfectly


How does incompetence grow to be a value? If they can't fucking play their instruments, they should learn them first, then record music and try to sell it to people.
I'm 179 cm high, I weigh 89 kilos, and I don't try to be a ballerina, if you know what I mean.

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:22

and to be honest I've heard hundreds of albums far worse produced than this.


So have I, but it's no excuse at all.

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:22

Who gives a flying fuck about lyrics and song titles anyway.


I do, at least about song titles.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.04.2012 at 16:58  
Saying that they're incompetent is a total exaggeration, one that befits your well publicised issues with production values and also one that suggests that the entire album is an incoherent mess that doesn't have any semblance of unity, which anyone with ears can see that it does. Occasional slip ups don't destroy an album if you ask me. The production is akin to a good Darkthrone album which is not only very listenable but extremely indicative of the atmosphere of the era. Then again you feel the same about Det Som Engang Var which I think is a great album through and through. Both are totally different kinds of record to Emperor's melodic and synth-treated affair.

By your exaggeration punk music shouldn't be allowed to exist

Btw there's nothing that unusual about Ordo Ad Chao's production. It's the bassy nature of the instruments that give it its sound, not the production itself ;]
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 17:01  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:58
By your exaggeration punk music shouldn't be allowed to exist

That's what I think makes this era of black metal so special. It was very DIY, don't give a fuck about doing anything properly, make evil-sounding music and have a good time.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.04.2012 at 17:03  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 17:01

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:58
By your exaggeration punk music shouldn't be allowed to exist

That's what I think makes this era of black metal so special. It was very DIY, don't give a fuck about doing anything properly, make evil-sounding music and have a good time.

Yep, it might be a total cliche these days but back then I can only assume it worked.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.04.2012 at 19:26  
Quote:
which anyone with ears can see that it does


Can't believe I actually said that
Mr. Doctor - 19.04.2012 at 21:51  
Written by Oaken on 19.04.2012 at 16:28

Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 16:25

Written by Oaken on 19.04.2012 at 16:20
In all honesty, I didn't write this for the community points only, but I'm not really familiar with the standards of "kvlt" black metal.

Be that as it may, you clearly stated you were only going to write reviews until you got your points




Troy explained my reasons to my comments beter than I could. You said out loud that you are writing for points on another thread. Don't think people will take you too seriously after that.
Also "fail to see this is my fifth review" isn't an excuse tbh. Doesn't take too much to know what's blastbeats and what's not.

I do believe you review this album because you really like it. But if you thought everyone will still take you seriously after just a few days saying that you will write some reviews for some points.... Then you are mistaken.
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 21:54  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.04.2012 at 21:51
Also "fail to see this is my fifth review" isn't an excuse tbh.

Also also, fifth review with this account.
Mr. Doctor - 19.04.2012 at 23:44  
Written by Daniell on 19.04.2012 at 10:32
terrible production.


Heh, While I think the rating was too high, I feel you are exaggerating the production to make it sound way worse than it is.
Like Joe said above, this is not particularly different from a good Darkthrone classic. "not only very listenable but extremely indicative of the atmosphere of the era" like he well said. Shit sometimes even the bass can be listened without any problem.
M C Vice - 20.04.2012 at 12:34  
Written by Daniell on 19.04.2012 at 16:50

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:22


"Diabolical Fullmooon Shitticism"

Sounds like Satan blew out his O ring (ruptured his arsehole for those who don't get o-ring).
M C Vice - 20.04.2012 at 12:35  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 19.04.2012 at 17:01

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.04.2012 at 16:58
By your exaggeration punk music shouldn't be allowed to exist

That's what I think makes this era of black metal so special. It was very DIY, don't give a fuck about doing anything properly, make evil-sounding music and have a good time.

I've always thought there were a lot of similatities between the 70s English punk scene and the 90s Norweigian black metal scene. DIY is one of them.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Immortal - Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism 7.5 03.12.2012 by M C Vice
Articles Getting Into: Immortal 5 09.07.2012 by exomorphyx89
News Demonaz - First Solo Album In April 3 20.02.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta I - Fathers Of The Icy Age 3 12.04.2012 by InnerSelf
News Immortal - Set To Headline Norway's Inferno Fest 3 03.10.2006 by King OV Hell



Hits total: 2358 | This month: 3