Rating:
6.1
Outcast - Awaken The Reason
20 February 2012


01. Elements
02. Abysmal
03. A Solace From The Shade
04. Awaken The Reason - Part IV: When Dawn Brings Clarity
05. Spin Angular Momenta
06. Unspoken
07. Isolation
08. Fallen Years
09. What Would Be My Final Commitment?
10. Man's Last Failure
11. Awaken The Reason - Part XI: Reprise


There's a fine line between extreme technicality, and just being flat out irritating. While everyone draws this line in a different place, chances are Outcast will draw you in, just to step over that line over and over and over.

...But yes, they do have a certain draw power to them. It's a thrashed-out, slightly proggy technical death metal. Have you ever played that prank as a kid where you rub your thumb into someones palm and tell them it will make their palm smell like peaches, then promptly slap their own hand into their face when they go to smell? Well, listening to Awaken The Reason is much like being the victim of such a joke...Just ten or eleven times consecutively. You'll be suckered in by some frantically aggressive hooks, then slapped in the face with some irritating guitar wankery that just whittles at the nerves. The vocals do the same; they have that nice ambiguity similar to Gojira vocals, but lack the consistency and frequently become these sloppy, forced half shout-half grunt sort of thing.

You know what they should have called this album? The Good, The Bad & The Boring. It actually has some really cool riffs, then drops into that nerve-jangling crap which eventually erodes into incredibly boring tech-death...Then repeat. Not one song on here is either bad or good in its entirety, it's all down to individual segments.

Altogether, Awaken The Reason really isn't very good. Listen to music to enjoy it, if sitting through minutes disposable crap to hear a couple dozen seconds of cool riffing is your thing, then be sure to check this out.


Band profile: Outcast
Album: Awaken The Reason


 



Written on 18.04.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 124  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 17:56  
Got a really heavy Gojira vibe from this myself, and that's not a good thing.

Your third paragraph pretty much sums up exactly what I think of this album.
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.04.2012 at 18:08  
I know I've listened to this but I don't remember exactly what it sounded like. Pretty sure I didn't like it though.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 18:17  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.04.2012 at 18:08
I know I've listened to this but I don't remember exactly what it sounded like. Pretty sure I didn't like it though.

Based on what you seem to look for in metal, I don't even understand why you bothered with this album in the first place.
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.04.2012 at 18:20  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 18:17

Based on what you seem to look for in metal, I don't even understand why you bothered with this album in the first place.

It must have been the whole progressive death and being French thing. I dunno. It was on Spotify but I probably haven't listened to the whole thing.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 18:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.04.2012 at 18:20
It must have been the whole progressive death and being French thing.

Well they do remind me of Gojira... and you like Gojira... so I guess that's reason enough.

Plus, anything French these days seems to be worth at least checking out. But ya, it definitely doesn't strike me as an album many will enjoy, although Youtube comments mention djent an awful low... so maybe this is actually a djent release? (Is that still a genre we're trying to establish by the way?)
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.04.2012 at 18:23  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 18:22

Well they do remind me of Gojira... and you like Gojira... so I guess that's reason enough.

Plus, anything French these days seems to be worth at least checking out. But ya, it definitely doesn't strike me as an album many will enjoy, although Youtube comments mention djent an awful low... so maybe this is actually a djent release? (Is that still a genre we're trying to establish by the way?)

I dunno if this is djent. People chuck that term at anything these days. Katatonia's next album will probably be called melancholic djent.
Mr. Doctor - 18.04.2012 at 18:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.04.2012 at 18:23

I dunno if this is djent. People chuck that term at anything these days. Katatonia's next album will probably be called melancholic djent.


Hah, I'll bet that we won't wait too much to read post-djent.
jupitreas - 19.04.2012 at 14:17  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.04.2012 at 18:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.04.2012 at 18:23

I dunno if this is djent. People chuck that term at anything these days. Katatonia's next album will probably be called melancholic djent.


Hah, I'll bet that we won't wait too much to read post-djent.


That term is already used a lot.

and FYI, Outcast is not djent.
Syk - 19.04.2012 at 14:50  
Surprised by the rating; I saw it received well by somebody else... that strade guy?

One of the best-written reviews I've seen from you, good job man. Nice use of "whittles". I heard some pieces of an Outcast album prior to this, and thought it was fairly similar to what's being called "djent" these days. Something like Divinity, which I think we both liked a bit more than this. Generally I rather dislike that overly-busy, ultra-"chaotic" style, and that subgenre term itself... won't worry about trying to check out this release. I still have to get back to that prog band BloodTears posted on...

Yup, it was strade
I sometimes, but not here, get Outcast mixed up with Outworld although I don't think I've ever heard the latter
and the last band I made reference to was Sunpocrisy, though I must not forget about De Lirium's Order's new[ish] video... ...I'm still too inactive *sigh*
Void Eater - 19.04.2012 at 15:56  
There's some parts that sound like what Meshuggah would be if they actually wrote riffs to go along with their fancy rhythms, but that's about the extent of the djent sound. Really good album though, surprised to see such a negative review.
strade - 19.04.2012 at 15:59  
Written by Syk on 19.04.2012 at 14:50

Surprised by the rating; I saw it received well by somebody else... that strade guy?


Yes, I definitely liked this album a lot, but most others haven't. I really don't find it overly technically or prone to 'wankery' in the slightest. In fact, that's how I feel when listening to the legion of tech death and core bands coming out today (Spawn of Possession, Beneath the Massacre, etc.), but never Outcast. This is a great album with a quality that these things generally lack: memorable songs.
R'Vannith - 20.04.2012 at 14:18  
Found this one an effort to listen to. It's very poorly pieced together but as you say there are some nice bits in there, shame they are too infrequent and you have to endure a trainwreck to find them.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Livesay - Awaken The Giant 7.5 15.11.2010 by Winterthrone
Albums Outcast - Awaken The Reason 7.5 20.02.2012 by strade
Reviews The Green Evening Requiem - Decomposer 6.5 11.06.2010 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews The Firstborn - Lions Among Men 6 17.03.2012 by Milena
Reviews I Exist - II: The Broken Passage 6 11.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 2579 | This month: 32