Desecravity - Implicit Obedience review



Reviewer:
8.5

23 users:
7.87
Band: Desecravity
Album: Implicit Obedience
Release date: January 2012


01. Into The Unknown
02. Enthralled In Decimation
03. Immortals' Warfare
04. Demonize The Old Enemy
05. Hades
06. Condemnation
07. The Collapse Of Religion
08. Extinction With Hatred
09. Dark Dimension


Japanese brutal death metal. Guess how crazy this shit's gonna be?

Well... it's not like Sigh meets Suffocation crazy, but there's definitely a unique element to Desecravity's sound: riffs. Like a fuck-ton of face-melting, brutal, technically-driven riffs. Just when you think it's time for these guys to take their foot off the gas pedal and start chugging like mad, they break out an entirely new set of complex riffs. No big deal. It's like they went mining for riffs and found the Gold Country of California. Only without all the slaughter of Native Americans and stuff (although I'm sure at least some fingers were harmed in the making of this album, so there's your violence).

It's Riff City, Riff Central Station, the World Riff Center... whatever you wanna call it, there's just a boatload of riffs.

Not only is this an absolute riff-fest with an insane level of technicality, but the songs actually flow. Like... like a story or something. In a brutal death metal album. That's pretty rare in this genre. Think early Gorod with some Deeds Of Flesh for a comparable reference. You get your face filled with some inhumane, utterly stupid brutality in terms of chugging riffs and breakdowns, while that "smart" section of your brain - what little remains - can actually pick out some of the more "intelligent" aspects of the music.

Think of Einstein having his balls crushed with a sledgehammer.

There are other instruments too, it's not just some guitars. The drummer somehow manages to keep pace with the insanity, even adapting to the several sporadic changes in tempo, crushing the listener with some heavy double-bass work. And of course, that's all backed up by some Marianas Trench-depth growls and some excellent bass. Sack up and spread your legs, because Implicit Obedience is going to mash your pebbles into dust.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 19.04.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 23   Visited by: 240 users
19.04.2012 - 20:48
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Consider me interested!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 01:51
strade
I wasn't too impressed with what I heard (wasn't offended, either), but that cover art will stay in my mind for quite a while. Fucking sick. Seriously one of the best computerized graphics I've ever seen, and I'm one for the hand-drawn stuff.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 02:24
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
This has been sitting on my 2012 Spotify folder for a few weeks. Knew that cover was familiar. It's a little too blasty brutal for me but as blasty brutal goes I guess it's not too shabby.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 04:15
Vikingr
Dude this sounds fucking sick:P And awesome review by the way xD
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 04:38
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
10 for production?

hmm, I am intrigued.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:01
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 20.04.2012 at 01:51
...that cover art will stay in my mind for quite a while. Fucking sick. Seriously one of the best computerized graphics I've ever seen, and I'm one for the hand-drawn stuff.

Totally agreed - it's actually the main reason I bothered with this in the first place. Honestly I thought it was a typical American deathcore release... Glad I looked into the music.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:03
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 04:38
10 for production?

I think it's perfect - I mean you can hear everything perfectly, and that's quite the feat considering how much is going on all the time. It's not something someone like Marcel or Daniel will like because it will come across as plastic and contrived most likely, but if you're a fan of modern production this is about as good as it gets.

PS I'm not trying to start a fight with the name-dropping, I'm just letting fans of the old-school sound know this isn't going to be up their alley.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:04
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.04.2012 at 05:03

Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 04:38
10 for production?

I think it's perfect - I mean you can hear everything perfectly, and that's quite the feat considering how much is going on all the time. It's not something someone like Marcel or Daniel will like because it will come across as plastic and contrived most likely, but if you're a fan of modern production this is about as good as it gets.

PS I'm not trying to start a fight with the name-dropping, I'm just letting fans of the old-school sound know this isn't going to be up their alley.

Hmm, I will check this out.

Anything like Brain Drill?
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:09
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 05:04
Anything like Brain Drill?

Thankfully, no.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:14
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.04.2012 at 05:09

Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 05:04
Anything like Brain Drill?

Thankfully, no.

I feel like I'm the only one who likes Brain Drill >.>
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:16
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Listening to a few tracks on the big YT.

IS like Brain Drill, but less plastic sounding.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:18
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 05:16
IS like Brain Drill, but less plastic sounding.

I would never recommend Brain Drill to anyone who enjoys this album.

Brain Drill don't know how to write a song. They know how to play their instruments and make a ton of technical noise, but they don't know how to write riffs that flow and they get caught showing off way too often.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 05:40
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 20.04.2012 at 05:18

Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.04.2012 at 05:16
IS like Brain Drill, but less plastic sounding.

I would never recommend Brain Drill to anyone who enjoys this album.

Brain Drill don't know how to write a song. They know how to play their instruments and make a ton of technical noise, but they don't know how to write riffs that flow and they get caught showing off way too often.

I see similarities between the two, guitar tone, and drums. But to each his own.


Eitehr way this is some good shiznizz.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 08:38
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Truckload of soul crushing riffs made my day.

"Implicit Obedience" only for pro-moshpits.
----
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 13:24
MechanisT
Account deleted
Japotech? Looks like a find is on the cards here. I shall check them out asap.
Loading...
20.04.2012 - 22:27
Hendrikse
Account deleted
Hmmm... intredasting.
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 01:06
TrollandDie
So Japan can do good stuff beyond avantgarde black and prog-power?

Interesting. It seems their scene is growing rapidly recently. I hope this continues.
----
Hello, my name is Mr......Snrub and I think it would be a capital idea to invest the money back in the nuclear plant.
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 02:16
Ornusashas
I geeked the fuck out at the first line. hahahahahahaha
----
Need to make a living somehow... http://creamandpowder.com/
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 05:54
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Ornusashas on 21.04.2012 at 02:16
I geeked the fuck out at the first line. hahahahahahaha

If it wasn't against the rules I wouldn't just left it at "Japanese brutal death metal." But our guidelines don't allow that.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
22.04.2012 - 18:16
Konrad
Mormon Storm
This shit's fucking ballin'!
----
Brujerizmo!
Loading...
26.04.2012 - 14:30
Coconut Racecar
Anything brutal sparks an interest for me. I'm thinking Infernal Revulsion type sound right now, but I'll check it out to see what I think, \m/.
Loading...
03.05.2012 - 03:33
errorcode99
The number of riffs in this album is too damn high!!
very interesting music! slightly out of my comfort zone but very enjoyable!
Loading...
01.08.2012 - 18:38
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Listened to the entire album on YT, and the bass drum really pisses me off, sounds waaaaay to fast for a human
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 4663 | This month: 15