Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.5
Fisthammer - Devour All You See
24 January 2012


01. Intro / The Final Hour of Darkness
02. Razor Waves
03. Aten: Fear The Obliteration Of Earth
04. Kull The Conqueror
05. Bullet Rape
06. Berzerkers
07. Doom Of The Gods
08. Harvest
09. Zombocalypse
10. Cross The Lines In Blood
11. The Resurrection Of Bastet The Devourer


You know what the problem is with so much melodic death metal? Too much melo and not enough death. It seems if you add death growls onto any sort of melodic riffing, it's melodeath, maybe that's just the way it's supposed to work, who knows. Whatever the case, Fisthammer seem to have remembered both sides equally, as Devour All You See is a blazing technical death metal album that manages to retain a high level of digestibility.

Are you going to be completely blown away by this album? Probably not. There's not a really big reason to be, as no new ground is truly broken. But is it good? Oh, hell yes it is. They've managed to bring two great things together and balance them out tastefully to create an absolutely solid album.

Here's what it's like; technical death metal, a lot of the times, is incredibly entertaining...for about two or three songs, then it becomes really forgettable, if not entirely irritating. Once the technical prowess reveals itself as a waste, the novelty is gone and thus the value of the album. That's not a strict rule, mind you, but let's be honest with ourselves, it's far from being uncommon. Albums like that are usually trouser-shittingly awesome exclusively in the first few minutes.

Now on the other side, there's melodeath. Cotton-candy sort of fun. Yeah, those high-soaring melodic leads are grabbing at first, but the lack of unrestrained aggression really fails to sate that lust for the sonic equivalent of eating a bucket of gravel. Too hard for the mellow mood, too soft for the shit-stomping mood. Once again, not a strict rule, just a common occurrence.

Now there's Fisthammer; they take the teeth-shattering rage expressed through jagged riffs you want to hear in your tech-death, but somehow twist these great riffs back into a more flowing, linear path to make it some good catchy melodeath.

The great kicker? None. It's gritty, angry, and varied enough within their parameters that it's engaging until the end. Devour All You See is a must-hear for anyone who wants no-bullshit death metal that still sounds fresh.


 



Written on 20.04.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 230  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 21.04.2012 at 00:43  
This sounds engaging.
Boxcar Willy - 21.04.2012 at 01:56  
Bah, at first glance I thought the band was called Flamethrower.

I am disappoint.
Nightfall - 21.04.2012 at 02:02  
Now this caught my attention...
mojo - 21.04.2012 at 03:08  
Sold. i'll have two.
The Benighted - 21.04.2012 at 03:27  
Album art is fantastic. Band name is lol. Music is solid, if unremarkable.
Troy Killjoy - 21.04.2012 at 05:55  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.04.2012 at 01:56
Bah, at first glance I thought the band was called Flamethrower. I am disappoint.

Fisthammer > Flamethrower if you ask me.

I guess it comes down to whether or not you like porn more than Pokemon, though.
Boxcar Willy - 21.04.2012 at 06:36  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 21.04.2012 at 05:55

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.04.2012 at 01:56
Bah, at first glance I thought the band was called Flamethrower. I am disappoint.

Fisthammer > Flamethrower if you ask me.

I guess it comes down to whether or not you like porn more than Pokemon, though.

Both at once?
Ksajal - 21.04.2012 at 10:31  
Actually, Fisthammer reminds me of this weird Japanese movie, Tetsuo. It's about a metal fetishist.
Marcus - 21.04.2012 at 18:14  
Written by Ksajal on 21.04.2012 at 10:31

Actually, Fisthammer reminds me of this weird Japanese movie, Tetsuo. It's about a metal fetishist.

The Iron Man? Ha I've always wanted to see that movie.
Void Eater - 21.04.2012 at 20:51  
Nathan Explosion on vocals?
Nosurper - 22.04.2012 at 01:29  
Agree with the review, encouraged my purchase too
DelightfulJim - 22.04.2012 at 20:30  
Thoroughly enjoyed both reading this and listening to the album.
Metal_Buff - 23.04.2012 at 05:18  
Yeah I think is a solid pick-up... Another album / band I would have no clue about until Doc's review, keep em coming!
Troy Killjoy - 31.05.2012 at 19:50  
Written by Void Eater on 21.04.2012 at 20:51
Nathan Explosion on vocals?

*responding to an old comment because I'm cool like that*

Not only does it sound like Nathan Explosion on vox, but the entire album plays out like a more technically driven Dethklok. I don't understand the praise in the review, but I guess it's kind of good stuff that some death metal fans should enjoy.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Fisthammer - Devour All You See 9 22.04.2012 by errorcode99
Reviews Deadend In Venice - See You On The Ground 7.5 19.07.2011 by Pyramid God
Reviews Various Artists - We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year 6 09.11.2010 by RAZAWOLF
Reviews Eyeless - The All Seeing Eye 6 15.08.2010 by Deadmeat
Reviews Fozzy - Do You Wanna Start A War 6 26.07.2014 by Rupert



Hits total: 3465 | This month: 1