Fisthammer - Devour All You See review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.5

9 users:
8.00
Band: Fisthammer
Album: Devour All You See
Release date: January 2012


01. Intro / The Final Hour of Darkness
02. Razor Waves
03. Aten: Fear The Obliteration Of Earth
04. Kull The Conqueror
05. Bullet Rape
06. Berzerkers
07. Doom Of The Gods
08. Harvest
09. Zombocalypse
10. Cross The Lines In Blood
11. The Resurrection Of Bastet The Devourer


You know what the problem is with so much melodic death metal? Too much melo and not enough death. It seems if you add death growls onto any sort of melodic riffing, it's melodeath, maybe that's just the way it's supposed to work, who knows. Whatever the case, Fisthammer seem to have remembered both sides equally, as Devour All You See is a blazing technical death metal album that manages to retain a high level of digestibility.

Are you going to be completely blown away by this album? Probably not. There's not a really big reason to be, as no new ground is truly broken. But is it good? Oh, hell yes it is. They've managed to bring two great things together and balance them out tastefully to create an absolutely solid album.

Here's what it's like; technical death metal, a lot of the times, is incredibly entertaining...for about two or three songs, then it becomes really forgettable, if not entirely irritating. Once the technical prowess reveals itself as a waste, the novelty is gone and thus the value of the album. That's not a strict rule, mind you, but let's be honest with ourselves, it's far from being uncommon. Albums like that are usually trouser-shittingly awesome exclusively in the first few minutes.

Now on the other side, there's melodeath. Cotton-candy sort of fun. Yeah, those high-soaring melodic leads are grabbing at first, but the lack of unrestrained aggression really fails to sate that lust for the sonic equivalent of eating a bucket of gravel. Too hard for the mellow mood, too soft for the shit-stomping mood. Once again, not a strict rule, just a common occurrence.

Now there's Fisthammer; they take the teeth-shattering rage expressed through jagged riffs you want to hear in your tech-death, but somehow twist these great riffs back into a more flowing, linear path to make it some good catchy melodeath.

The great kicker? None. It's gritty, angry, and varied enough within their parameters that it's engaging until the end. Devour All You See is a must-hear for anyone who wants no-bullshit death metal that still sounds fresh.


 



Written on 20.04.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 14   Visited by: 231 users
21.04.2012 - 00:43
Milena
Learning To "X"
This sounds engaging.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 01:56
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Bah, at first glance I thought the band was called Flamethrower.

I am disappoint.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 02:02
Nightfall
Now this caught my attention...
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 03:08
mojo
Sold. i'll have two.
----
Yeah. No. Wait, what was the question?
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 03:27
The Benighted
Album art is fantastic. Band name is lol. Music is solid, if unremarkable.
----
Learn to adapt to the change, or get washed away like tears in the rain.
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 05:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.04.2012 at 01:56
Bah, at first glance I thought the band was called Flamethrower. I am disappoint.

Fisthammer > Flamethrower if you ask me.

I guess it comes down to whether or not you like porn more than Pokemon, though.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 06:36
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 21.04.2012 at 05:55

Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.04.2012 at 01:56
Bah, at first glance I thought the band was called Flamethrower. I am disappoint.

Fisthammer > Flamethrower if you ask me.

I guess it comes down to whether or not you like porn more than Pokemon, though.

Both at once?
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 10:31
Ksajal
Actually, Fisthammer reminds me of this weird Japanese movie, Tetsuo. It's about a metal fetishist.
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 18:14
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Written by Ksajal on 21.04.2012 at 10:31

Actually, Fisthammer reminds me of this weird Japanese movie, Tetsuo. It's about a metal fetishist.

The Iron Man? Ha I've always wanted to see that movie.
Loading...
21.04.2012 - 20:51
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
Nathan Explosion on vocals?
----
Loading...
22.04.2012 - 01:29
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
Agree with the review, encouraged my purchase too
----
Loading...
22.04.2012 - 20:30
DelightfulJim
Thoroughly enjoyed both reading this and listening to the album.
Loading...
23.04.2012 - 05:18
Metal_Buff
Yeah I think is a solid pick-up... Another album / band I would have no clue about until Doc's review, keep em coming!
Loading...
31.05.2012 - 19:50
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Void Eater on 21.04.2012 at 20:51
Nathan Explosion on vocals?

*responding to an old comment because I'm cool like that*

Not only does it sound like Nathan Explosion on vox, but the entire album plays out like a more technically driven Dethklok. I don't understand the praise in the review, but I guess it's kind of good stuff that some death metal fans should enjoy.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 4016 | This month: 6