Rating:
6.5
Crushing Axes - Black Book
2012


01. Skull Crusher
02. Barbaric Ways
03. Castle Of Bones
04. Burning Land
05. Last Man Standing
06. Farewell
07. A Good Day For Killing
08. Nights Of Sorrow
09. Scream
10. Evil Out Of The Cage
11. Holyground
12. Finale


Look up "brass tacks, DIY death metal album that's wrecked more shit than Spicy Bomb burritos from Dairy Mart" in your dictionary, and, depending on what year your Webster came out, Black Book will be there. 22 percent sure of that. Crushing Axes is a one-man band, and that one man practically sweats out axes that crush. This is some raw, stripped down, ugly, brutal, nasty-sounding death metal. Which is another way of saying it sounds good, which it does...

Sometimes.

Thing is, the fact that this is the product of one guy is a bit too evident throughout. I mean, the dude is talented; he can write a mean riff and growl a mean growl and all, but this whole thing lacks the dynamism that's so important for angry, aggressive shit to be really engaging. It's lacking pretty sorely in the magic of a band working together departmentómagic that some people have captured on their own in the past.

That, and the growling is... iffy. It's got a clarity, an almost spoken quality to it that's unique enough, but "unique" is probably where the positive-ish adjectives have to end. It's not terrible, but it's not really, you know, "good" either.

Some of the solos are shit, too--like "whoa, there's another E-string?" shitty (see "Farewell")--as are some of the riffs.

But it's all balanced out by moments that work well. Overall, this still sometimes sounds really good. And that's worth something. This is stripped down, amateurish death metal. You know what to expect. It could have been a whole lot better, no doubt about that, but it's not terrible to begin with. It'd probably be best to approach with caution, but do take the time to approach if you enjoy simplified death.


 



Written on 22.04.2012 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 95  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 22.04.2012 at 21:40  
Nice to have you back wormy. Judging by your and Doc's reviews, this is not exactly the best year for death metal...
Boxcar Willy - 23.04.2012 at 02:26  
Listening to Farewell on YT right now.

The vocals are... Okay... But are indeedspoken word growls.

But you stated it perfectly, stripped down death metal.
Mattybu - 23.04.2012 at 04:03  
Written by Milena on 22.04.2012 at 21:40

Nice to have you back wormy.


Second that, man can review proper.

Doesn't sound even like a remotely interesting album though lol.
Oaken - 23.04.2012 at 19:42  
Written by Milena on 22.04.2012 at 21:40

Nice to have you back wormy. Judging by your and Doc's reviews, this is not exactly the best year for death metal...

But we've had good Asphyx, Spawn Of Possession, Gorod and Aborted albums.
I think that this is not exactly the best year for black metal (at least compared to the devastating 2011, which was an awesome year for black metal records), but were still in April, so who knows what might happen?
Milena - 23.04.2012 at 20:07  
Written by Oaken on 23.04.2012 at 19:42

But we've had good Asphyx, Spawn Of Possession, Gorod and Aborted albums.
I think that this is not exactly the best year for black metal (at least compared to the devastating 2011, which was an awesome year for black metal records), but were still in April, so who knows what might happen?

I didn't mean you don't have a lot of good things so far, I meant that they get a lot of bad/average stuff to review
Oaken - 23.04.2012 at 21:57  
Written by Milena on 23.04.2012 at 20:07

Written by Oaken on 23.04.2012 at 19:42

But we've had good Asphyx, Spawn Of Possession, Gorod and Aborted albums.
I think that this is not exactly the best year for black metal (at least compared to the devastating 2011, which was an awesome year for black metal records), but were still in April, so who knows what might happen?

I didn't mean you don't have a lot of good things so far, I meant that they get a lot of bad/average stuff to review

Yeah, I noticed a lot of 6.0-6.5 given by Doc to death metal records. I understand what you meant.
Boxcar Willy - 26.04.2012 at 18:17  
Listen to a few tracks on YT, and frm what I've ehard, I'd rate this a full 2 points lower.
The spoken word growls are extremely annoying.
Doc Godin - 12.05.2012 at 10:42  
Written by Oaken on 23.04.2012 at 21:57

Yeah, I noticed a lot of 6.0-6.5 given by Doc to death metal records. I understand what you meant.

I'm always afraid it would make me look like I hate death metal...Quite the opposite. Death has taken up the majority of my listening time lately. Made myself a 4 hour death metal playlist and enjoy every minute of it. Sadly, only a select few death metal albums I've reviewed this year are worth making it onto that list, it looks like Wormy might be in the same boat.
Oaken - 12.05.2012 at 13:02  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.05.2012 at 10:42

Written by Oaken on 23.04.2012 at 21:57

Yeah, I noticed a lot of 6.0-6.5 given by Doc to death metal records. I understand what you meant.

I'm always afraid it would make me look like I hate death metal...Quite the opposite. Death has taken up the majority of my listening time lately. Made myself a 4 hour death metal playlist and enjoy every minute of it. Sadly, only a select few death metal albums I've reviewed this year are worth making it onto that list, it looks like Wormy might be in the same boat.

Point taken.
The reviews are quite good BTW. Especially your latest one with the G.I.Joe intro. That was cool

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Black Dahlia Murder - Everblack 4.5 16.06.2013 by ArcesseEum
Reviews Mion's Hill - Black Death 4.5 29.01.2014 by Lit.
Articles Gypsyhawk at the Black Forest, Eugene, OR 3.5 08.10.2012 by Rulatore
News Zakk Wylde - Releases Teaser For Paperback Book Release 3 14.03.2013 by LeChron James
Art forum Peter Beste's True Norwegian Black Metal photograph book 3 31.10.2008 by LeChron James



Hits total: 2133 | This month: 35