Red Fang - Murder The Mountains review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
7.8

87 users:
8.38
Band: Red Fang
Album: Murder The Mountains
Release date: April 2011


01. Malverde
02. Wires
03. Hank Is Dead
04. Dirt Wizard
05. Throw Up
06. Painted Parade
07. Number Thirteen
08. Into The Eye
09. The Undertow
10. Human Herd


ROOOAAAAAADD TRRRRIIIIIIIIIPPP!

Hurry up and grab a two-four of PBR and hop in the station wagon, this is going to be one hell of a trip. The boys of Red Fang are going to take on a cross-country musical journey, and you're going to like it.

Okay, so it's not THAT mind blowing, but Red Fang have made a decent album. "But BoxCar, aren't you in love with this band? Shouldn't it be better than "decent"?" Actually no, it's just decent. Why? Because the album has been done before, you're not finding anything new or really that extraordinary. Sure the music is slamming, but I can name 5 bands on the spot that play something similar. Also, this album seems to have quite a bit of filler, especially the song "Throw Up", that my friends, is 6 minutes of boring. Another nitpick is the effects, however these are both pluses, and negatives, a negative being the overuse of said effects, especially the "squeal" this is most notable at the end of "Wires", for almost a minute it blocks out and detracts from the other awesome riff displayed. They add a nice plus when not overused however, almost ambient at some points.

Now you must be saying "Holy shit, you really hate this album, what are you some kind of hypocrite Nazi communist?" First of all, those two contradict each other, and second of all, NO! There are enough bangers here to keep me satisfied for a week.

RIFFS.

Oh, man the riffs, there are soooo many unique and amazing riffs in this one album, even Jonathon Riffington would have an overload; seriously folks, David and Maurice are monsters wielding those axes. Then there's the vocals, A mix of metal rasp and hard rock clean, they compliment the album perfectly. Throw the drum and bass's groove on top of that, and you've got a killer combo.

Overall, I'm happy with the release, if they cut down the filler and stop going balls out with sound effects they could create a master piece.

Highlights - "Wires" "Hank Is Dead" "Number Thirteen"


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 6
Production: 8

Written by Boxcar Willy | 28.04.2012


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 67 users
28.04.2012 - 23:08
Fredd
Account deleted
Haven't listened, won't listen, but I like the review.
Loading...
28.04.2012 - 23:17
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 28.04.2012 at 23:08

Haven't listened, won't listen, but I like the review.
Thanks, at least watch the Wires video if you can, it's pretty epic.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 01:04
errorcode99
Very enjoyable album & review hopefully they'll be more original in their next album
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 01:05
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by errorcode99 on 29.04.2012 at 01:04

Very enjoyable album & review hopefully they'll be more original in their next album

Thanks, and yeah Add some funky instruments or rythms or something
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 01:30
errorcode99
Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 01:05

Written by errorcode99 on 29.04.2012 at 01:04

Very enjoyable album & review hopefully they'll be more original in their next album

Thanks, and yeah Add some funky instruments or rythms or something

i'll only consider listening to it if they add some cowbell polyrhythms and a technical sitar player
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 06:16
wormdrink414
Pretty much agree here. I've settled on a solid 8 though in this case. The great bits overwhelm the boring ones... Then again, there arew a lot of boring ones.
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:33
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Kid, don't lose your cool
It's still too soon
to have to chose a brighter doom...

Man, I fucking love that tune. It's a cool shower-song.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:38
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:33

Kid, don't lose your cool
It's still too soon
to have to chose a brighter doom...

Man, I fucking love that tune. It's a cool shower-song.

Ohh The Staffers are commenting on my review That song is propbably my favourite on the album.


Oh, and I see what you did there.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:39
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:38

Ohh The Staffers are commenting on my review That song is propbably my favourite on the album.
Oh, and I see what you did there.


Well, I'm not staff, just elite. But yeah, it's a cool song to sing while you take a shower to start your day.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:42
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:39

Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:38

Ohh The Staffers are commenting on my review That song is propbably my favourite on the album.
Oh, and I see what you did there.


Well, I'm not staff, just elite. But yeah, it's a cool song to sing while you take a shower to start your day.

Elite is still staff in my opinion haha, I thought you were refering to teh "Hank Is Dead" Video, where they are all in the shower.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:43
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:42
I thought you were refering to teh "Hank Is Dead" Video, where they are all in the shower.


Aaaaah, that's a coincidence indeed. Haven't seen that video.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:43

Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:42
I thought you were refering to teh "Hank Is Dead" Video, where they are all in the shower.


Aaaaah, that's a coincidence indeed. Haven't seen that video.

Don't know if serious, or sarcastic...

Either way,

----
forever bummed out
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:50
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:47
Don't know if serious, or sarcastic...


Nah, really... I haven't seen it until now.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
29.04.2012 - 16:51
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:50

Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:47
Don't know if serious, or sarcastic...


Nah, really... I haven't seen it until now.

BASK IN ITS GLORY
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
30.04.2012 - 03:48
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Wouldn't give this anything more than a mid-6 at best. Very average stoner rock with a slightly metallic edge that never seems to make me "feel it".
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
30.04.2012 - 04:26
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.04.2012 at 03:48

Wouldn't give this anything more than a mid-6 at best. Very average stoner rock with a slightly metallic edge that never seems to make me "feel it".

I guess that's just different tastes, I like this album, but like you said it is fairly average apart from a few bangers.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
25.09.2012 - 13:50
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
You gave it a rating of 9 just 8 days before this review went up
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
25.09.2012 - 14:49
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Spirit Molecule on 25.09.2012 at 13:50

You gave it a rating of 9 just 8 days before this review went up

I listened to it again a few times, a few of the tracks drag on and there's some filler, so That took it down a point
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 3411 | This month: 22