Bandcamp music player

Rating:
7.8
Red Fang - Murder The Mountains
12 April 2011


01. Malverde
02. Wires
03. Hank Is Dead
04. Dirt Wizard
05. Throw Up
06. Painted Parade
07. Number Thirteen
08. Into The Eye
09. The Undertow
10. Human Herd


ROOOAAAAAADD TRRRRIIIIIIIIIPPP!

Hurry up and grab a two-four of PBR and hop in the station wagon, this is going to be one hell of a trip. The boys of Red Fang are going to take on a cross-country musical journey, and you're going to like it.

Okay, so it's not THAT mind blowing, but Red Fang have made a decent album. "But BoxCar, aren't you in love with this band? Shouldn't it be better than "decent"?" Actually no, it's just decent. Why? Because the album has been done before, you're not finding anything new or really that extraordinary. Sure the music is slamming, but I can name 5 bands on the spot that play something similar. Also, this album seems to have quite a bit of filler, especially the song "Throw Up", that my friends, is 6 minutes of boring. Another nitpick is the effects, however these are both pluses, and negatives, a negative being the overuse of said effects, especially the "squeal" this is most notable at the end of "Wires", for almost a minute it blocks out and detracts from the other awesome riff displayed. They add a nice plus when not overused however, almost ambient at some points.

Now you must be saying "Holy shit, you really hate this album, what are you some kind of hypocrite Nazi communist?" First of all, those two contradict each other, and second of all, NO! There are enough bangers here to keep me satisfied for a week.

RIFFS.

Oh, man the riffs, there are soooo many unique and amazing riffs in this one album, even Jonathon Riffington would have an overload; seriously folks, David and Maurice are monsters wielding those axes. Then there's the vocals, A mix of metal rasp and hard rock clean, they compliment the album perfectly. Throw the drum and bass's groove on top of that, and you've got a killer combo.

Overall, I'm happy with the release, if they cut down the filler and stop going balls out with sound effects they could create a master piece.

Highlights - "Wires" "Hank Is Dead" "Number Thirteen"

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Red Fang
Album: Murder The Mountains


 


written by BoxCar Willy | 28.04.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 61  
Search this topic:  


Fredd - 28.04.2012 at 23:08  
Haven't listened, won't listen, but I like the review.
BoxCar Willy - 28.04.2012 at 23:17  
Written by Fredd on 28.04.2012 at 23:08

Haven't listened, won't listen, but I like the review.
Thanks, at least watch the Wires video if you can, it's pretty epic.
errorcode99 - 29.04.2012 at 01:04  
Very enjoyable album & review hopefully they'll be more original in their next album
BoxCar Willy - 29.04.2012 at 01:05  
Written by errorcode99 on 29.04.2012 at 01:04

Very enjoyable album & review hopefully they'll be more original in their next album

Thanks, and yeah Add some funky instruments or rythms or something
errorcode99 - 29.04.2012 at 01:30  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 01:05

Written by errorcode99 on 29.04.2012 at 01:04

Very enjoyable album & review hopefully they'll be more original in their next album

Thanks, and yeah Add some funky instruments or rythms or something

i'll only consider listening to it if they add some cowbell polyrhythms and a technical sitar player
wormdrink414 - 29.04.2012 at 06:16  
Pretty much agree here. I've settled on a solid 8 though in this case. The great bits overwhelm the boring ones... Then again, there arew a lot of boring ones.
Mr. Doctor - 29.04.2012 at 16:33  
Kid, don't lose your cool
It's still too soon
to have to chose a brighter doom...

Man, I fucking love that tune. It's a cool shower-song.
BoxCar Willy - 29.04.2012 at 16:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:33

Kid, don't lose your cool
It's still too soon
to have to chose a brighter doom...

Man, I fucking love that tune. It's a cool shower-song.

Ohh The Staffers are commenting on my review That song is propbably my favourite on the album.


Oh, and I see what you did there.
Mr. Doctor - 29.04.2012 at 16:39  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:38

Ohh The Staffers are commenting on my review That song is propbably my favourite on the album.
Oh, and I see what you did there.


Well, I'm not staff, just elite. But yeah, it's a cool song to sing while you take a shower to start your day.
BoxCar Willy - 29.04.2012 at 16:42  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:39

Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:38

Ohh The Staffers are commenting on my review That song is propbably my favourite on the album.
Oh, and I see what you did there.


Well, I'm not staff, just elite. But yeah, it's a cool song to sing while you take a shower to start your day.

Elite is still staff in my opinion haha, I thought you were refering to teh "Hank Is Dead" Video, where they are all in the shower.
Mr. Doctor - 29.04.2012 at 16:43  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:42
I thought you were refering to teh "Hank Is Dead" Video, where they are all in the shower.


Aaaaah, that's a coincidence indeed. Haven't seen that video.
BoxCar Willy - 29.04.2012 at 16:47  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:43

Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:42
I thought you were refering to teh "Hank Is Dead" Video, where they are all in the shower.


Aaaaah, that's a coincidence indeed. Haven't seen that video.

Don't know if serious, or sarcastic...

Either way,

Mr. Doctor - 29.04.2012 at 16:50  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:47
Don't know if serious, or sarcastic...


Nah, really... I haven't seen it until now.
BoxCar Willy - 29.04.2012 at 16:51  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.04.2012 at 16:50

Written by BoxCar Willy on 29.04.2012 at 16:47
Don't know if serious, or sarcastic...


Nah, really... I haven't seen it until now.

BASK IN ITS GLORY
Troy Killjoy - 30.04.2012 at 03:48  
Wouldn't give this anything more than a mid-6 at best. Very average stoner rock with a slightly metallic edge that never seems to make me "feel it".
BoxCar Willy - 30.04.2012 at 04:26  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.04.2012 at 03:48

Wouldn't give this anything more than a mid-6 at best. Very average stoner rock with a slightly metallic edge that never seems to make me "feel it".

I guess that's just different tastes, I like this album, but like you said it is fairly average apart from a few bangers.
Spirit Molecule - 25.09.2012 at 13:50  
You gave it a rating of 9 just 8 days before this review went up
BoxCar Willy - 25.09.2012 at 14:49  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 25.09.2012 at 13:50

You gave it a rating of 9 just 8 days before this review went up

I listened to it again a few times, a few of the tracks drag on and there's some filler, so That took it down a point

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Red Fang - Murder The Mountains 9 02.11.2011 by Spirit Molecule
Reviews Horn Of The Rhino - Grengus 6 25.05.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews Carnifex - The Diseased And The Poisoned 6 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Against The Seasons: Cold Winter Songs From The Dead Summer Heat 6 08.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews August Burns Red - Leveler 6 10.01.2012 by Protostar



Hits total: 2001 | This month: 49