Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.1
Alkerdeel - Morinde
24 February 2012


01. Winterteens
02. Horsesaw
03. Hessepikn
04. Du Levande


Back in 1992, Darkthrone released the first part of a trilogy of legendary albums, A Blaze In The Northern Sky. It was notorious for its riffs that recalled their past as a death metal band yet played in full black metal fashion. Now, 20 years later, one band decides to take this teaching and use it for its own depraved purposes. Beware folks, things are about to get nasty.

Instead of death metal, what the Belgians from Alkerdeel are doing is playing their doom and sludge tunes under a black metal blanket, together with some lesser droning sounds here and there. That's already a fair warning of how dense this is. What's special about their sound is how the mix of genres is so homogenous when you look at the big picture. There isn't any style that takes over another yet you can stop any time and look at each tree instead of the forest (or shitty swamp in this case...) and easily point out the different parts that fit in this wicked album.

This very natural sound is enhanced by the production. Making the experience as real as possible is crucial here and after seeing them at Roadburn, I have to say they achieved their goal with flying colours. The small amount of takes in order to give it a "live" vibe is admirable if you look at the sheer length of some tracks and the brilliant performance, where everyone gives their 101%. While the vocals rarely let go off the insanity rate, the drumming is simply relentless at times and the guitars create a mesmerizing wall of sound with punch-to-the-throat riffs... yet it was the bass that won. I rarely hear an album that puts so much emphasis on that instrument. The warm and pulsing sound of it contributes with such a great layer that works nicely with the band's harsher moments.

Noticed how I wrote "some tracks" a while ago? On Morinde, not only the style is eclectic, but also the length of the tracks - which is nowhere near what you would call "balanced". At almost 42 minutes the album consists of songs roughly 13, 2, 6 and 20 minutes long respectively, yet oddly enough it all makes sense. Every song justifies its length and makes the most of it whether it is by short bursts of rocking riffs, batshit crazy blasting intensity, slow and painful sludge or by droning and highly hypnotic passages.

Released near the end of February, Morinde is already one of the best extreme metal albums of the year. Highly recommended for anyone that views him/herself as a fan of sick and filthy music.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Alkerdeel
Album: Morinde


 


written by Mr. Doctor | 30.04.2012



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 270  
Search this topic:  


Nosurper - 30.04.2012 at 22:58  
Get wait to get a hold of this one
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.05.2012 at 00:19  
Absolutely great and at times stunning album and live they are even more mesmerizing.
The Turbanator - 01.05.2012 at 00:31  
These guys give me multiple boners.
InnerSelf - 01.05.2012 at 01:43  
Saw you, Joe and Marcel rave about this in the album's thread but forgot all about because the exams are near and shit is about to get serious. Must get this as soon as I can after this nice little review
Pazdzioch - 05.05.2012 at 02:53  
I love this shit.
tea[m]ster - 19.05.2012 at 17:29  
Lol, can't stop smiling. So fucking raw yet new & fresh. Thanks Doc for the rec.
Mr. Doctor - 20.05.2012 at 21:07  
Written by tea[m]ster on 19.05.2012 at 17:29

Lol, can't stop smiling. So fucking raw yet new & fresh. Thanks Doc for the rec.


Your welcome, glad (and a bit surprised) you liked it! It's definitely one of those raw yet very fresh sounding albums.
Oaken - 09.08.2012 at 01:17  
This is my first sludge album ever, and after the first listen of it, I really don't know what to say. I just don't like it, as in REALLY don't like. I think I missed the point of it. Tomorrow I'll give it a focused spin.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.08.2012 at 01:23  
Written by Oaken on 09.08.2012 at 01:17

This is my first sludge album ever, and after the first listen of it, I really don't know what to say. I just don't like it, as in REALLY don't like. I think I missed the point of it. Tomorrow I'll give it a focused spin.


There is sludge in it but it is not really sludge because of all the black and doom and even some slight death.

But thios album album is totally awesome and totally not for the faint of heart. And live it is even dirtier.
BoxCar Willy - 09.08.2012 at 01:28  
Written by Oaken on 09.08.2012 at 01:17

This is my first sludge album ever, and after the first listen of it, I really don't know what to say. I just don't like it, as in REALLY don't like. I think I missed the point of it. Tomorrow I'll give it a focused spin.

Try Bongripper's Jippie Killer.
Mr. Doctor - 09.08.2012 at 01:38  
Written by Oaken on 09.08.2012 at 01:17

This is my first sludge album ever, and after the first listen of it, I really don't know what to say. I just don't like it, as in REALLY don't like. I think I missed the point of it. Tomorrow I'll give it a focused spin.


Same as Marcel... This isn't pure sludge which I think I made perfectly clear on my review. It has black, sludge, doom and even some slight touches of death and drone all over it.

Shame that you don't like it. This is one of this year's finest extreme metal albums and live is indeed a whole new level.
Oaken - 09.08.2012 at 01:42  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.08.2012 at 01:23

There is sludge in it but it is not really sludge because of all the black and doom and even some slight death.

But thios album album is totally awesome and totally not for the faint of heart. And live it is even dirtier.

The fusion makes it even more complicated.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.08.2012 at 01:38

Shame that you don't like it. This is one of this year's finest extreme metal albums and live is indeed a whole new level.

I'll listen to it again, and I'm sure it'll grow on me. I hated Deafheaven's debut a lot after the first few listens, but now, it's my favorite album.
Troy Killjoy - 09.08.2012 at 05:53  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 09.08.2012 at 01:28
Try Bongripper's Jippie Killer.

Hippie Killer*

And not really a good album to suggest to someone completely new to sludge, to be honest. For the same reason recommending this album to a sludge noob would be unwise - it's not pure sludge.
BoxCar Willy - 09.08.2012 at 06:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.08.2012 at 05:53

Written by BoxCar Willy on 09.08.2012 at 01:28
Try Bongripper's Jippie Killer.

Hippie Killer*

And not really a good album to suggest to someone completely new to sludge, to be honest. For the same reason recommending this album to a sludge noob would be unwise - it's not pure sludge.

I new someone would call me on the not pure sludge thing, but I mean, nowadays, what IS pure sludge

I think it's a good entry level album, it's super light, and just really good
Troy Killjoy - 09.08.2012 at 06:08  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 09.08.2012 at 06:05
I think it's a good entry level album, it's super light, and just really good

To be honest I'd probably start with the classics, like Acid Bath or Eyehategod or even Crowbar if you wanna get into the doom-ish sludge bands.
BoxCar Willy - 09.08.2012 at 06:44  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.08.2012 at 06:08

Written by BoxCar Willy on 09.08.2012 at 06:05
I think it's a good entry level album, it's super light, and just really good

To be honest I'd probably start with the classics, like Acid Bath or Eyehategod or even Crowbar if you wanna get into the doom-ish sludge bands.

Well those are all great suggestions, so have at 'er Oaken.
Oaken - 10.08.2012 at 16:51  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.08.2012 at 01:38

Shame that you don't like it. This is one of this year's finest extreme metal albums and live is indeed a whole new level.

After a few more listens, I think it's quite decent, yet nothing mindblowing. I would give it a 7 ATM, but I'll listen to it more.
Mr. Doctor - 10.08.2012 at 21:09  
Written by Oaken on 10.08.2012 at 16:51

After a few more listens, I think it's quite decent, yet nothing mindblowing. I would give it a 7 ATM, but I'll listen to it more.


Well, tastes differ... To me this is a brilliant mix. Original, well played, magnificent use of the bass and all the genres are blended perfectly to the point that there's no big distinction between sounds. Definitely one of the albums I would give as an example of truly "organic" sound.
Oaken - 10.08.2012 at 21:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.08.2012 at 21:09

Written by Oaken on 10.08.2012 at 16:51

After a few more listens, I think it's quite decent, yet nothing mindblowing. I would give it a 7 ATM, but I'll listen to it more.


Well, tastes differ... To me this is a brilliant mix. Original, well played, magnificent use of the bass and all the genres are blended perfectly to the point that there's no big distinction between sounds. Definitely one of the albums I would give as an example of truly "organic" sound.

I agree with you that this is a great album, but I guess it isn't made for me.
Hallford9000 - 05.09.2012 at 18:34  
I've done my listening through it and i must say that i completely agree with the review. Would love to see them live.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Alkerdeel - Morinde 4.5 18.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Alkerdeel - Release New Split Teaser 3 19.11.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Yayla - Sathimasal 3 20.02.2012 by Marcus
Reviews Lost Inside - Mourning Wept Beside Me 3 20.07.2011 by Void Eater
Reviews Sacrimony - ...And Abyss He Created 3 01.06.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!



Hits total: 3854 | This month: 42