Rating:
6.0
Dreaming Dead - Midnightmares
20 April 2012


01. Wake
02. Midnightmares
03. Overlord
04. Corpse Mtn
05. In Memoriam
06. Lapse
07. Into The Abyss
08. Exile
09. Departure


Progressive melodic death? Well, this will probably sure make a lot of people out there very happy.

God only knows why.

Progressive melodic death metal is a pretty broad term, right? I mean, what kind of influences, or curve balls does this album throw at you? The answer is none. Don't bother looking for them. Midnightmares is utterly dry-cut and generic. Maybe this whole thing would be interesting if acoustic passages were something new to metal...but it isn't. Melodic riffing you've heard before tossed in between an annoying amount of predictably unpredictable tempo shifts.

...And a vocalist who is trying to sound like Chuck Schuldiner...very poorly, mind you. There is plenty of Death worship going on here, but the vocals are most prominent. Those gravelly falsetto type Schuldiner vocals sung with a really, really thin delivery seem to dominate this album.

Dreaming Dead does have talent, though, which is why somebody out there will undoubtedly worship this sleeping pill. Extremely tight technical abilities paired up with clean, accessible, catchy leads topped off with obvious influence from a universally respected band? Seems like a bad mix for unnecessary praise.

Maybe Dreaming Dead are capable of pulling off something that isn't entirely boring and predictable. This band is only on their 2nd album with Midnightmares, and it is a nice display in performance abilities, regardless of the lack of creativity. Aside from the vocalist, Dreaming Dead is another band of decent musicians deciding to play songs written half-assed. Perhaps this is a band to revisit on a future release?


Band profile: Dreaming Dead
Album: Midnightmares


 



Written on 04.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 97  
Search this topic:  


BoxCar Willy - 04.05.2012 at 03:05  
Would not touch with a ten-foot pole.
Unhealer - 04.05.2012 at 04:48  
I don't think the vocalist was trying to sound like Chuck. She probably didn't want to growl like Angela Gossow or the chick from The Agonist and he went for mid-high screams which just happen to sound something close to post-Symbolic Chuck.

That is actually weird.

Anyway, the track I've heard got me interested, I'll check it out.
Troy Killjoy - 04.05.2012 at 06:44  
Not gonna lie, but you actually piqued my interest with this review. Maybe because I want to see how something that sounds so good on paper can actually sound so bland. Will go in without any expectations as usual.
silenius - 04.05.2012 at 23:04  
The vocals sound very bland and dry, a meh-album tbh, didnt find it to be either good or bad, just bland.
Troy Killjoy - 05.05.2012 at 02:52  
Not sure what they did in the recording studio, but she sounds more like a black metal vocalist live.



Still haven't listened to the album yet - was just busy playing around on Youtube and came across this. Just thought it was interesting reading about how she's this like high-pitched Shuldiner wannabe and then I get this chick screeching as if she was possessed by Abbath.

PS her growls aren't too shabby either - slightly guttural and coherent.
thefallenalchmst - 06.05.2012 at 00:04  
Damn, I don't know about the rest of you, but I enjoyed the fuck out of this. I went through the disc two and three times. The vocals really aren't that big a deal, plus she had some good lines in portions of the songs. I think that metalheads these days seem to whine too much about shit not sounding completely perfect. How is this bland? Deadborn, that's bland. This, I heard all sorts of interesting shit from first to last track, and the instrumentals had plenty of layers. This is about the furthest thing from bland, and is probably one of my favorite albums of the year.

The death influence is there, and I think it's a good tribute to their sound, while still trying to add some modern influences. I gave this disc a 9.0, but perhaps I'm hearing something different then the rest of you. Even the youtube comments from their video seem to be very positive. People there seem to like the Death influence that this band has. I literally couldn't find one song that sucked, but I tried to.

At least give this shit a chance. You know, everybody's got different tastes and I really liked this shit. That doesn't mean that you will, but it doesn't mean that you won't either. People here seem to be rather elitist about metal here, and I don't personally like that. There are millions of billions of metal fans in the world, and at the end of the day everybody's gonna like what they like. I dug this shit, so take it or leave it.
LizSchall - 23.05.2012 at 05:52  
I like Death. Wouldn't consider myself a fan at all really, and certainly not an influence. It's so bizarre how my band is always compared to them. Weird.

Thanks all for sharing your comments.

~Liz

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cancer Bats - Dead Set On Living 6 10.04.2012 by Marcel Hubregtse
Albums Dreaming Dead - Midnightmares 6 10.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Vengeance Rising - Once Dead 6 23.11.2010 by Axe Argonian
Reviews Belphegor - Conjuring The Dead 6 27.07.2014 by Lit.
Reviews Memories Of A Dead Man - V.I.T.R.I.O.L. 6 28.04.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 2258 | This month: 46