Rating:
8.9
Eternal Deformity - The Beauty Of Chaos
30 April 2012


01. Intro
02. Thy Kingdom Gone
03. Lifeless
04. Pestilence Claims No Higher Purpose
05. Caught Out Lying
06. The Beauty Of The Ultimate End
07. The Sun
08. The Holy Decay


Deformity? Damn straight. Honestly, this mix of progressive/symphonic/melo-black/with a touch of avant-garde doesn't really exhibit a whole lot of entirely new features, but this mix somehow manages to achieve a really fresh sound.

Eternal Deformity play another one of those eclectically homogenous sorts of metal - incorporating a big-ass party-bag of different sounds, yet the delivery is seamless. Though The Beauty Of Chaos does jump around to a number different styles, it can most easily be broken down into two sounds; the hard and the soft.

The soft side, despite being soft, is always still dark and menacing. Think older-era Opeth at their most haunting, then combine it with Arcturus' love of cosmic spacey-ness.

All these haunting spacey moments ramp up flawlessly into the raging moments; there is a touch of progressive side-stepping tempo changes in a few of the riffs, but when it gets flowing it's either straight-up, epically blasting symphonic black metal, or some mean, yet bouncy avant-garde sort of moments, kind of like Akphaezya.

As a whole, this almost comes across as a more easily accessible version of Smohalla's Resilience; darkly haunting, yet extremely feral. The Beauty Of Chaos might serve as a great listen for those who love the overall atmosphere of albums like Resilience, but rather have something with a little more of a direct, memorable flow.

Normally this is where we'd wrap things up with a line like "a must listen for those who love ____", but really, there's so much going on here, it seems like there would be a little something for everyone.


Band profile: Eternal Deformity
Album: The Beauty Of Chaos


 



Written on 04.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 287  
Search this topic:  


Nosurper - 04.05.2012 at 05:04  
8.9 rating + accessible Smohalla = wishlist
Troy Killjoy - 04.05.2012 at 06:42  
Suppose I'll have to check this out for myself asap.
PocketMetal - 04.05.2012 at 10:49  
You just described my favorite kind of music .
Merchant of Doom - 04.05.2012 at 13:13  
The two samples on ReverbNation are pretty good... on my "to buy" list!
qlacs - 04.05.2012 at 14:23  
I knew this will be good! When I heard the samples and the two singles few weeks back I had no doubts about this one being awesome.

Thanks for the review Doc!
Zealot644 - 04.05.2012 at 14:24  
Listened to the trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuMIu5ZgMFc

And I have my eyes on it now. Good stuff guys.
BlueMobius - 04.05.2012 at 14:38  
Me wants!
Apothecary - 04.05.2012 at 17:09  
Old Opeth+Arcturus you say? Must give a listen.
Unhealer - 04.05.2012 at 20:59  
Written by Zealot644 on 04.05.2012 at 14:24

Listened to the trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuMIu5ZgMFc

And I have my eyes on it now. Good stuff guys.


That trailer is insanely promising, instantly fell in love with the vocals.
I'll go for it.
Grody2themax - 04.05.2012 at 21:43  
From the album trailer it sounded like extremely well done melodic death, and the bands it reminded me of were Opeth, Finntroll, Enslaved, maybe Cynic, and "insert generic melodic death bands here". I'm ridiculously hyped on this release.
Void Eater - 04.05.2012 at 23:52  
What, these guys have been around since 1993? And they're practically unknown? That's a damn shame, son.
Nefarious - 28.06.2012 at 19:38  
Had this album on repeat for a few weeks now & still can't get enough.
Susan - 22.12.2012 at 04:24  
This album is just excellent. You use the word "haunting" several times in the review and that's a perfect description!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Eternal Deformity - The Beauty Of Chaos 9 08.04.2012 by qlacs
Reviews Mpire Of Evil - Hell To The Holy 6 07.04.2012 by RottingDeathHead
Reviews The Reticent - Le Temps De Detruit Tout 6 28.05.2012 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Autopsy - The Headless Ritual 6 25.07.2013 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Inferion - The Desolate 6 24.01.2012 by Edmund Fogg



Hits total: 4283 | This month: 50