Rating:
N/A
Marauder - Elegy Of Blood
15 May 2012


01. Elegy Of Blood
02. The Great War
03. Alexander
04. Warriors
05. Roman Empire
06. Hiroshima
07. Mother
08. Crusader
09. Black Gold
10. World War II
11. In Memory [bonus]


Do you know what's boring as shit? Generic power-influenced traditional heavy metal built entirely on overused, recycled riffs & leads. Luckily, Marauder are much more interesting and engaging because... Fuck it, let's not pretend this is anything more than what it is; boring, overdone heavy-power metal.

Before you ask, yes, the music does sound as cheap as that cover artwork looks. Insert generic chugging rhythm guitars, throw on some forgettable quasi-rough-edged power metal vocals, then some guitar leads that you've heard from dozens upon dozens upon dozens of other heavy-power acts like this before. Before you continue, let it be known that this review doesn't really contain any further details of the music, because frankly, there isn't any notable details to be found.

This is usually the part where we discuss the small number of positive sides of the album which show the band in some positive light. There is none. Elegy Of Blood is so unbelievably dry, repetitive and run-of-the-mill there is an actual tangible feeling of pain derived from the boredom Marauder inflicts upon the listener. Why would someone make something this painfully generic? At what point did they say "Hey, instead of creating anything, let's just do what hundreds of other bands already do."?

This isn't music. This is a product. This is a factory-line product.

I swear to Christ, if I have to hear another second of this copy + paste rhythm guitar tracking that every one of these uncreative excuses for bands use, I'm quitting Metal Storm, and reviewing for good.

Avoid.


 



Written on 17.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 117  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 17.05.2012 at 19:35  
I have a feeling you'll be quitting sooner than later based on the stream of copy-cat bands you've been reviewing lately.
theFIST - 18.05.2012 at 15:42  
No, please don"t quit
it"s fun to read reviews bashing an album
even for the stuff i like i mostly just search for the negative reviews, and it"s even better to find something i dislike being criticized
Druss - 18.05.2012 at 16:44  
Read that long ass post by Bittercold in the latest Alcest album review thread about the mandatory review work an Elite goes through here, so.....condolences, Doc. But thanks for the review as always, will avoid with extreme prejudice.
RavenKing - 19.05.2012 at 01:00  
OMG, I understand your feeling, Doc.

I think there's nothing I find more boring than outdated, overdone, unoriginal, generic, forgettable, run-of-the-mill, heard-a-thousand-times-before (do you need any other adjective?) standard Heavy Metal.
Even pop music is more enjoyable than this stuff.
hoegaarden - 19.05.2012 at 19:46  
What a silly review. Some people happen to like power-influenced traditional heavy metal. And guess what, they are not looking for originality. So how about describing the album rather than bashing the genre. Are there any really catchy tunes? Is the singer OK? Is the production good? Does the band sound influenced by any particular group, e.g. Sabaton? For people who are wondering what the album sounds like, I suggest checking out the 2 songs available on youtube. Both are worth a listen. And the answer to all 4 questions above is yes.
Doc Godin - 21.05.2012 at 03:10  
Written by hoegaarden on 19.05.2012 at 19:46

What a silly review. Some people happen to like power-influenced traditional heavy metal. And guess what, they are not looking for originality. So how about describing the album rather than bashing the genre. Are there any really catchy tunes? Is the singer OK? Is the production good? Does the band sound influenced by any particular group, e.g. Sabaton? For people who are wondering what the album sounds like, I suggest checking out the 2 songs available on youtube. Both are worth a listen. And the answer to all 4 questions above is yes.

What a silly comment. I don't recall ever bashing the genre, actually. I'd like you to show me where I did that.

As for the rest, I think I got my feelings across. I spoke of the album as an entire sound rather than pick out individual parts, as I didn't see the point. Lack of originality is one thing, but this album takes blandness to a whole new level. That is essentially the review in a nutshell.
fosi - 28.06.2012 at 11:05  
Totally agree with hoegaarden!!!
A silly review,indeed!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Powerwolf - Blood Of The Saints 6 12.09.2011 by The Shape 1973
Reviews The Devil's Blood - The Thousandfold Epicentre 6 09.01.2012 by Milena
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Long Live Heavy Metal 6 23.03.2012 by Rulatore
Reviews Horseback - Half Blood 6 05.05.2012 by BloodTears
Reviews Goatwhore - Blood For The Master 6 07.02.2012 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 2508 | This month: 37