Rating:
8.8
Les Discrets - Ariettes Oubliées...
10 February 2012


Disc I
01. Linceul D'Hiver
02. La Traversée
03. Le Mouvement Perpétuel
04. Ariettes Oubliées I: Je Devine À Travers Un Murmure...
05. La Nuit Muette
06. Au Creux De L'Hiver
07. Après L'Ombre
08. Les Regrets

Disc II [Artbook edition bonus]
01. Le Souffle Froid
02. Ariettes Oubliées II: Il Pleure Dans Mon Cur [Feat. Gianluca Divirgilio]
03. L'Échappée [acoustic version]


After the acclaimed debut Septembre Et Ses Dernières Pensées back in 2009, Fursy Teyssier returns to the metalgaze scene with a new full length release by his main project Les Discrets. Even though there are no big changes in the musical direction, a considerable improvement on the composition can be denoted.

We are softly introduced to the record with a mournful and short instrumental featuring some jazzy drumming, just a glimpse of Wilterhalter's amazing performance in this record. Right after setting the ambiance, we are submitted to the intense and lengthy track "La traversée". Delicately played but crushingly heavy down-tempo guitar slashes create a space where melancholic guitar melodies and soundscapes evoke a mournful atmosphere. It later rests on a bed of clean guitars just to violently emerge once more with a series of distorted arpeggios and blast beats (the only ones you will be hearing on this record) to finish the song.

From this point, the black metal knob is turned down for the following songs, going slightly upbeat at times (as in "La nuit muette", reminiscent of Amesoeurs) but keeping a certain subtlety as the crushing riffs still demand their place into the wall of sound. While all the songs on the album share the aforementioned features, the acoustic side of the band emerges during tracks such as the first single "Ariettes oubliées I" or the collaboration with Arctic Plateau's frontman "Après l'ombre", serving as a rest from all the intensity.

There is a notable fact of the use of vocals; probably 90% of Fursy's vocal melodies are harmonized with the other singer, Audrey Hadorn, and there are no harsh/growls at all. This gives some sort of unique identity to the album, while as a counterpart, it deprives the record of some diversity such as having some sections with female vocals only. Also, Fursy is always at the front of the mix so his voice will imprint in your head more easily.

Speaking of the mix, the production is one of the stronger points of this record if not the strongest. If you are familiar with the genre (likely from Alcest), you may already know this kind of music is likely to lend itself into sounding like a indistinguishable distortion storm. This record handles this perfectly, every riff/melody is right there just waiting for your attention and the low-end friendly mix allows the bass playing around the scales and the pounding bodies of the drum-set shine through the wall of sound.

Fursy has stated recently that this might be the last time Les Discrets puts out a metal release and that he'd rather go for other musical approaches on the next albums. In case that ends up being true, this record is a perfect way to say goodbye to the metal era and close this chapter in the band's career with a satisfying ending.

Outstanding songs: "La traversée", "Le mouvement perpétuel", "La nuit muette".

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Les Discrets
Album: Ariettes Oubliées...


 


written by Unhealer | 29.05.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 57  
Search this topic:  


R'Vannith - 31.05.2012 at 19:11  
Those 'crushing riffs' don't really kick in for me until "La nuit muette", before that its very wishy washy and doesn't grab my attention as much. They seem to be more capable at making those shorter engaging tracks than the longer ones geared for atmosphere. Though I am new to the whole metal/shoe gaze thing.
Nice review, though I'm not sure what you mean by "indistinguishable distortion storm", perhaps that's because I'm unfamiliar with the genre?
Unhealer - 31.05.2012 at 20:27  
Written by R'Vannith on 31.05.2012 at 19:11

Those 'crushing riffs' don't really kick in for me until "La nuit muette", before that its very wishy washy and doesn't grab my attention as much. They seem to be more capable at making those shorter engaging tracks than the longer ones geared for atmosphere. Though I am new to the whole metal/shoe gaze thing.
Nice review, though I'm not sure what you mean by "indistinguishable distortion storm", perhaps that's because I'm unfamiliar with the genre?


Well, the riffing in "La traversée" already hits me hard, we may have different standards
This genre (at least what I've checked) relies much on several overlapped distorted guitar tracks, I believe this something hard to handle if the intention is that everything is audible. Of course other bands may go for lo-fi production and that is ok, but I believe this one deserves some points for the achievement.

For example, I think Heretoir tried to go for decent production standards in their latest and it is doesn't sound as clean as this one even when they use similar weapons.
R'Vannith - 01.06.2012 at 06:59  
Written by Unhealer on 31.05.2012 at 20:27

Well, the riffing in "La traversée" already hits me hard, we may have different standards
This genre (at least what I've checked) relies much on several overlapped distorted guitar tracks, I believe this something hard to handle if the intention is that everything is audible. Of course other bands may go for lo-fi production and that is ok, but I believe this one deserves some points for the achievement.

For example, I think Heretoir tried to go for decent production standards in their latest and it is doesn't sound as clean as this one even when they use similar weapons.

I think I see what you mean now, it certainly sounds audible and isn't really something which would put me off the music by any means. But I guess in my case that doesn't always mean that I'll be listening intently despite the challenge in, as you say, successfully making that 'overlapping' work.
tea[m]ster - 05.06.2012 at 04:54  
I cannot stop listening to this right now. The sound is very addictive. Love this shit. Nice review. BTW, how is their other stuff? Will I like it too?
Unhealer - 05.06.2012 at 04:59  
Written by tea[m]ster on 05.06.2012 at 04:54

I cannot stop listening to this right now. The sound is very addictive. Love this shit. Nice review. BTW, how is their other stuff? Will I like it too?


Thanks! I believe the general opinion is that the first LP is better (they have only two), so there is a good chance you will. Personally I think they improved the songwriting and production on this record, but it has a really similar vibe to the previous one. Same for the EPs.
tea[m]ster - 05.06.2012 at 05:04  
Written by Unhealer on 05.06.2012 at 04:59

Thanks! I believe the general opinion is that the first LP is better (they have only two), so there is a good chance you will. Personally I think they improved the songwriting and production on this record, but it has a really similar vibe to the previous one. Same for the EPs.


Thanks man. I saw you responded to my comment in the Alcest thread. This "type" of music being played by the "Alcest posse" is dominating me at the moment.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Les Discrets - Ariettes Oubliées... 7.5 04.02.2012 by
Albums Les Discrets - Le Mouvement Perpétuel [Split] 4.5 02.09.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
News Les Discrets - New Video Online 4.5 30.01.2012 by PocketMetal
News Les Discrets - Working On Side Project 4.5 01.08.2012 by Unhealer
News Les Discrets - New Album Update And Preview 4.5 16.12.2014 by tea[m]ster



Hits total: 2205 | This month: 30