Rating:
8.7
Dråpsnatt - Skelepht
14 April 2012


01. Meningslösheten
02. Klardrömmar
03. Skelepht
04. Tonerna Till Vårt Slut
05. Échec
06. Förruttnelsens Hypostaser
07. Valan
08. Intigheten


Vinterfader and Narstrand are back again with another excellent take on atmospheric black metal with the typical pagan themes and hints of experimentation becoming synonymous with Dråpsnatt. Fans of the band will not be disappointed, and newcomers are urged to check this out immediately.

Skelepht, the band's third full-length release, follows up Hymner till undergången perfectly in that it features many of the same elements as its predecessor, yet continues to grow in subtle ways that further progress the band's sound. The depressive undertones and folk influences are still present, while the melodies that were more prevalent are somewhat subdued this time around in order to make way for some atmospheric piano passages - and in the case of "Échec", a haunting two-minute piano instrumental.

With such a strong focus on creating a woeful atmosphere, the drums take quite a back seat to the rest of the music and the vocals are given more focus - the tortured screams and eerie howls of a delusional, remorseful man. Folkloric chants are used sparingly, but they do give the album a genuine pagan feel, which lends itself to the somber atmosphere. Background synths provide a subtle symphonic vibe, but for the most part Skelepht sticks to black metal's more traditional extremity without venturing into cheesy territory.

In keeping with the pagan themes, the album takes its name from the city of Skellefteå (home to Vintersorg), a city within Norrland - the last Swedish territory to be Christianized. Times have changed since the formerly unexplored region basked in the glory of isolation, for now its landscape consists primarily of mines and buildings, much to the dismay of our musicians. This feeling of loathing pervades the album, in spite of some truly beautiful melodic elements and its sorrowful atmosphere.

With a run time of 45 minutes spread over eight tracks, Skelepht takes a bit of effort to digest, but its less extreme elements are prevalent enough to entice listeners of various metal genres. Vinterfader and Narstrand once again use their inspiration to create something dark and simultaneously uplifting, leaving fans immensely satisfied, and wondering what they'll come up with next.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Dråpsnatt
Album: Skelepht


 



Written on 22.05.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 30  
Users visited: 281  
Search this topic:  


Verdun_sc - 22.05.2012 at 19:27  
8.7 seems about right. I might actually give it a 9 overall; I just really enjoy this band's material/style. Excellent stuff.
Pazdzioch - 22.05.2012 at 19:41  
Finally you got your copy
Oaken - 22.05.2012 at 19:44  
Is this the right place to start?
Troy Killjoy - 22.05.2012 at 19:46  
Written by Pazdzioch on 22.05.2012 at 19:41
Finally you got your copy

Well... I got a copy... Still haven't received a physical version, but I couldn't just sit here and not listen to it.
Troy Killjoy - 22.05.2012 at 19:47  
Written by Oaken on 22.05.2012 at 19:44
Is this the right place to start?

I'd go with their debut and work up from there to be honest. Each album sort of builds on its predecessor, so you'll notice the music evolving as you go. They work as a trilogy to be honest.
Oaken - 22.05.2012 at 19:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.05.2012 at 19:47

Written by Oaken on 22.05.2012 at 19:44
Is this the right place to start?

I'd go with their debut and work up from there to be honest. Each album sort of builds on its predecessor, so you'll notice the music evolving as you go. They work as a trilogy to be honest.

And I also wanted to ask, is the production good? What is another band with similar production? (I started giving a fuck about production since I've listened to that Krohm album, because it fairly has very shitty production that causes the music to come off quite weakly .)
Troy Killjoy - 22.05.2012 at 19:55  
Written by Oaken on 22.05.2012 at 19:50
And I also wanted to ask, is the production good? What is another band with similar production? (I started giving a fuck about production since I've listened to that Krohm album, because it fairly has very shitty production that causes the music to come off quite weakly .)

The production is top-notch. Nothing lo-fi or grim or whatever, and not that overly plasticized sort of production. Everything his heard clearly, although the mixing might be a turn-off since the vocals are higher and the drums sound muffled. I feel like kind of a douchenozzle for not being able to think of any similar-sounding bands in terms of production off the top of my head. :/
Risto - 22.05.2012 at 20:00  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.05.2012 at 19:55

I feel like kind of a douchenozzle for not being able to think of any similar-sounding bands in terms of production off the top of my head. :/

"Förruttnelsens hypostaser" sounds rather sludgy at times, much like if Ghost Brigade did black vocals. Sounds pretty cool.
Draugen - 22.05.2012 at 20:42  
I really liked Hymner Till Undergången so I'm very excited about this, even more so after having read this review.
Troy Killjoy - 22.05.2012 at 20:46  
Written by Draugen on 22.05.2012 at 20:42
I really liked Hymner Till Undergången so I'm very excited about this, even more so after having read this review.

Well so far this year we've managed to see eye-to-eye on a few things (Swallow the Sun, Barren Earth, Abigail Williams) so hopefully for you that trend continues and you like this as much (or more) than I do.
Draugen - 22.05.2012 at 20:52  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.05.2012 at 20:46

Well so far this year we've managed to see eye-to-eye on a few things (Swallow the Sun, Barren Earth, Abigail Williams) so hopefully for you that trend continues and you like this as much (or more) than I do.


Yeah, most likely. If it's more of the same I can't see much going wrong.
Boxcar Willy - 22.05.2012 at 21:47  
Hmm, will have to check this out.
Risto - 23.05.2012 at 01:46  
They used a session drummer on this album. Check their FB wall (3 May), and make sure you're logged in.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 05:12  
Written by Risto on 23.05.2012 at 01:46
They used a session drummer on this album. Check their FB wall (3 May), and make sure you're logged in.

Huh, good to know.
Cynic Metalhead - 23.05.2012 at 08:01  
Originality 7? *lean forward*

What I've read is something totally different of what another Pagan Black Metal band has to offer. Considering PBM doesn't have much to offer or except the fact that they show real class of underground black metal scene, "Skelepht" opens up on a different horizon and not only they shine on depressive pagan style but they polished some good class of real black metal stuff with the fact that BM or PBM( which some of the listeners classifies) drives around that same theme of "Emperor" or "Satyricon" riffs which completes the whole album on a high note.

It took me a week to get some pretty good Pagan Black Metal stuff to sooth my ears.

Considering all that above, Don't you think the originality could' have been higher?
Cal Wolvington - 23.05.2012 at 10:16  
Never heard them before, but listening to them right now. Wow. Good stuff! This is how symphonic/classical elements should be used in metal, without becoming cheesy. Wonderful album this.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 17:04  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 23.05.2012 at 08:01
Don't you think the originality could' have been higher?

I'm probably going to stop using those stupid scores at the bottom because of this kind of stuff. I think it has a "good" originality factor, hence a 7. I listen to a lot of black metal... and trust me, there's not really that much originality even within the depressive and pagan scenes. Once you start delving into some of the more "weird" atmospheric bands, psychedelic bands, experimental bands, and avant-garde bands, then we're talking 8+ originality.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 17:05  
Written by Guest on 23.05.2012 at 10:16
Never heard them before, but listening to them right now. Wow. Good stuff! This is how symphonic/classical elements should be used in metal, without becoming cheesy. Wonderful album this.

Glad (and very surprised) to hear you like it!
Lathronniel - 24.05.2012 at 02:30  
I love everything about Dråpsnatt, this new album fulfilled my expectations, I don't even bother to care about originality as long as I like it and I digested it from first listening (like the previous albums), but completely agreed with your grade still it's "good" originality given the atmosphere and the sound used. Nevertheless I primarily see the originality within that 'specific' genre played compared to similar bands and then on global level, so I'm pretty satisfied because personally Dråpsnatt give me unique feeling that rarely other band can give me. Great review!
Apothecary - 25.05.2012 at 02:18  
I guess you're the guy to go to for recommendations on good black metal, huh?
Will definitely be giving this band a peek after I get around to some of the others on my Must Listen To list.
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 02:21  
Written by Apothecary on 25.05.2012 at 02:18
I guess you're the guy to go to for recommendations on good black metal, huh?

People seem to think so, but I should warn you I have a very hit-and-miss suggestion record.
Apothecary - 25.05.2012 at 02:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.05.2012 at 02:21

Written by Apothecary on 25.05.2012 at 02:18
I guess you're the guy to go to for recommendations on good black metal, huh?

People seem to think so, but I should warn you I have a very hit-and-miss suggestion record.

I haven't really seen any bad suggestions of yours yet. I particularly like your "Killjoy's Guide To The Underground," since I'm pretty into avante-garde black metal, and I've been listening to (and ordered) that one band Bloodmoon's Orenda demo. If you can suggest any other really great "out there" black metal, I'd really appreciate it
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 02:28  
Written by Apothecary on 25.05.2012 at 02:24
If you can suggest any other really great "out there" black metal, I'd really appreciate it

To be honest, while I do listen to a lot of black metal and discover quite a few weird and unorthodox bands, this isn't really my area of expertise - that's something Joe is much better versed in.
Maxx666 - 25.05.2012 at 21:43  
Its just a work of art.. it touched my heart like few albums ever did... 10/10 no doubt i could even rate it higher if such provision were available...
Valaskjalf - 26.05.2012 at 23:41  
The music is about as obvious and clique as the album cover. Of course it will be a black and white photo and of course it will have a tree on it. Not even a very impressive tree.
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.05.2012 at 00:05  
Written by Valaskjalf on 26.05.2012 at 23:41

Not even a very impressive tree.

You're right, WHAT A FUCKING SHIT TREE. It should have multi-coloured baubles and lazer cannons and shit, and the whole photo should only be perceptible on the infra-red spectrum.

Also, it's "cliché". "Clique" is something with a totally different meaning.
Mr. Doctor - 27.05.2012 at 00:11  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 27.05.2012 at 00:05

Written by Valaskjalf on 26.05.2012 at 23:41

Not even a very impressive tree.

You're right, WHAT A FUCKING SHIT TREE. It should have multi-coloured baubles and lazer cannons and shit, and the whole photo should only be perceptible on the infra-red spectrum.

Also, it's "cliché". "Clique" is something with a totally different meaning.


Don't forget the sniper squirrel!
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.05.2012 at 00:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.05.2012 at 00:11


Don't forget the sniper squirrel!

Sniper Squirrels improve everything by at least 347%
Troy Killjoy - 27.05.2012 at 00:42  
Written by Valaskjalf on 26.05.2012 at 23:41
The music is about as obvious and clique as the album cover. Of course it will be a black and white photo and of course it will have a tree on it. Not even a very impressive tree.

Thank you for this mini-review. Undoubtedly the most constructive post in this thread.

Seriously though, fuck that tree.
Cal Wolvington - 27.05.2012 at 00:57  
Written by Valaskjalf on 26.05.2012 at 23:41

Of course it will be a black and white photo and of course it will have a tree on it.


Why is that a bad thing? Didn't you know? Atmospheric black metal bands are the original happy tree friends.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Weedpecker - Weedpecker 4.5 20.12.2013 by qlacs
Reviews The Haunted - Unseen 4.5 30.11.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Wilds Forlorn - We, The Damned 4.5 15.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Embrional - Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors 4.5 19.06.2012 by strade
Reviews De Profundis - The Emptiness Within 4.5 07.05.2012 by Unhealer



Hits total: 4298 | This month: 58