Rating:
4.0
Kraanium - Post Mortal Coital Fixation
22 May 2012


01. Post Mortal Fixation
02. Stillborn Necrotic Fuck Feast
03. Bursting Rectal Sores
04. Compulsive Mutilation Disorder
05. Slurping The Vaginal Pus
06. Crack Whore Pounding
07. Coprophagial Asphyxiation
08. Slammed Kranial Remains
09. Sculptures Of Perverse Suffering
10. Baptized In Boiling Sewage
11. Orgy Of Cannibalistic Fornication
12. Entrails Full Of Vermin [Abominable Putridity cover]


Both death metal and grind are difficult genres for a lot of people to really get into. Fair enough, sometimes it comes down to acquired taste, other times it might just not be someones cup of tea. Then you come across bands like Kraanium, who play a form of brutal death metal with more than a few grind touches here and there, it comes as no surprise why so many people are averse to this form of music.

...Not out of any repulsion because of the violent album artwork and brutal song titles, but mostly because of the sheer boredom Post Mortal Coital Fixation exudes. Start off with a decently brutal riff, then repeat and repeat and repeat. This album is so mind-numbingly samey, the songs feel as if they're pushing Opeth levels of song length. It only feels that way, though. The songs, in actuality, usually clock in at around 3 minutes. To put this in perspective, there's generally only about 35 seconds worth of material per song...That's including the 8 seconds of obligatory horror movie sound bites. In fact, it really brings in the mind the band Mortician; horror movie sound bites, violent imagery, and song writing so forgettable that rarely amounts to anything more than aimless noise. Fair enough, it might not be as bad as Mortician, but the only distinctly enjoyable aspect about Kraanium is the same factor they share with Mortician; the feeling of brutal ferocity. Unfortunately, the entertainment factor of that feeling really doesn't last long if the song writing is thoroughly uncreative at the best of times.

Perhaps this brutally generic death/grind album would have been more appropriate as an EP. It's mildly amusing in short doses, as a lot of these gore-obsessed type bands can be. As a whole, though, Post Mortal Coital Fixation is just another bland album.


Band profile: Kraanium
Album: Post Mortal Coital Fixation


 



Written on 28.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC, now semi-retired.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 185  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 28.05.2012 at 02:26  
Mortician are great
Troy Killjoy - 28.05.2012 at 03:33  
I didn't hear an ounce of grind in this to be honest - just pure slam/brutal death metal. The production job absolutely botches the drums, and the chugging riffs are buried way too deep in the mix along with the vocals for you to even notice the musicianship. There also aren't nearly as many sound bites as you implied. :/

Overall this is pretty tame for slam standards to be honest, and their Abominable Putridity cover is a waste of time. If they focused more on writing a few catchy hooks and altered their production so you could hear more than just a snare drum then maybe people would enjoy this more. Probably a 5/10 for me.
Troy Killjoy - 28.05.2012 at 03:37  
(On a side note, this is quite a step down from The Art of Female Sodomy.) They took their Cannibal Corpse-styled slam and stripped it of its brutality by mixing the drums too high. Without that muffled fuzz they don't sound nearly as heavy.
Tristus Scriptor - 28.05.2012 at 03:56  
Written by Baz Anderson on 28.05.2012 at 02:26

Mortician are great

I've been internally wrestling with this "band you hate to love" for decades. Entertaining as hell to me- yet I always think "Why is this so fucking awesome?" Lol. Besides...I hung out with them. That helped me comprehend them much more.
Baz Anderson - 28.05.2012 at 04:44  
You certainly have to be in the right mood to listen to them...
BoxCar Willy - 28.05.2012 at 05:23  
Listen to bits of this earlier on YT for shit's and giggles, and a 4 is about what i'd give it too.


Just garbage.
spirit_inblack - 28.05.2012 at 07:07  
And Vidar Ermesjø is a part of this why???
BoxCar Willy - 28.05.2012 at 22:31  
Written by spirit_inblack on 28.05.2012 at 07:07

And Vidar Ermesjø is a part of this why???

Holy shit?!

I wonder why he's apart of this POS.
Mr. Doctor - 29.05.2012 at 01:05  
Written by spirit_inblack on 28.05.2012 at 07:07

And Vidar Ermesjø is a part of this why???


...I actually did an spittake when I read this. Major mindfuck considering how Pain:Noise:March is one of my favorite albums of all time.

Fucked up...

Written by BoxCar Willy on 28.05.2012 at 22:31
I wonder why he's apart of this POS.

This is a similar feeling to the one I got when the frontman from Ahab was a member of Midnattsol. Fortunately the dude isn't there anymore... But why he spent 7 years in that band is beyond me. Me theory is that they maybe needed to get in contact with shit in order to make some magnificent music.
BoxCar Willy - 29.05.2012 at 04:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.05.2012 at 01:05


Written by BoxCar Willy on 28.05.2012 at 22:31
I wonder why he's apart of this POS.

This is a similar feeling to the one I got when the frontman from Ahab was a member of Midnattsol. Fortunately the dude isn't there anymore... But why he spent 7 years in that band is beyond me. Me theory is that they maybe needed to get in contact with shit in order to make some magnificent music.

Maybe people just have very wide tastes?

I mean I play 1000 different styles everyday, as my tastes are fairly wide.

but still playing shit, is still shit. like you said, maybe they need to hear shit, to avoid it.
Misfit74 - 22.07.2012 at 23:10  
I like this one a lot. It stands out among slam albums for the same reasons people are picking it apart. The mix and sound overall is filthy but excellent. I have no problem with the mix. Though it can lack diversity or be repetitive, at times, the formula sits right on the cutting edge of quality slam and the album overall is terrific. Not the best out there, but quite good and one of the best slam albums I listen to regularly. I think this one sets the bar pretty high for others to follow and don't understand the complaints about it. Sure, Begging For Incest or Abominable Putridity are better releases, but this album is still pretty high up there on my list. I can understand non-slam fans taking issue with it, though. It's not a round peg in a round hole.
PrinceLink - 14.11.2012 at 20:26  
One might like it if they're into slam, but yeah, really boring otherwise.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Kraanium - Post Mortal Coital Fixation 9 27.05.2012 by Protostar
Reviews Mortal Infinity - District Destruction 6 12.07.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Synarchy - Tear Up The World 4.5 24.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Djerv - Djerv 4.5 10.03.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Adimiron - K2 4.5 23.12.2011 by Bad English



Hits total: 3230 | This month: 69