Rating:
8.8
Paradise Lost - Tragic Idol
20 April 2012


Disc I
01. Solitary One
02. Crucify
03. Fear Of Impending Hell
04. Honesty In Death
05. Theories From Another World
06. In This We Dwell
07. To The Darkness
08. Tragic Idol
09. Worth Fighting For
10. The Glorious End

Disc II [limited edition & vinyl bonus]
01. Ending Through Changes
02. Never Take Me Alive [Spear Of Destiny cover]


The defendant rose; his face a blank expression. His lawyer had a concerned look about him. The whole courtroom seemed to be frozen in time. The judge took no joy in delivering the verdict. A weak voice to match his scrawny body slowly spelling it out: "The defendant has been found guilty of musical oversight." You get the picture; I miss the boat on this release. I got so used to hear Paradise Lost experiment with their sound in the early nineties I almost forgot how awesome their song writing can be when applied to good old heavier Gothic Metal era Draconian Times. So my self-inflicted sentencing is to listen to their latest offering until I weep. The only problem is that I keep weeping of joy and I cannot stop listening to this album. Tragic Idol blew my mind from the first note to the last. Whatever was lost about this heavenly band has been fully recovered.

Young listeners probably won't even get how awesome this album is considering what the band has been doing musically since the early nineties. Almost toying with us early fans, not unlike other acts from that era who shall remain nameless - such as Metallica and Sepultura - the English pioneers seem to take a sadistic pleasure in experiment the hell out of their sound while leaving the bittersweet memories of magnum opuses such as Icon and Draconian Times in what seem to be a distant past. Sure, their promise to go back to their early sound has been used for every release to entice fans all over again. However, this time it did happen in earnest. They have done it at last. And the least I can say is "Hey YOU there in the back! Yes you In Flames, are you paying attention?" More seriously, The Paradise Lost mojo has been resurrected. Epic guitar riffs and killer solos compound beautiful melodies and haunting atmospheres to turn a flurry of tunes into one of the best monuments to musical greatness of the last decade. Singer Nick Holmes has found his comfort zone once more. Gregor Mackintosh trademark tasteful guitar solos only make the songs even more awe-inspiring. Adrian Erlandsson science of bringing the precise mix of control and power behind the drum kit is working magic, especially on the up-tempo compositions. Everything seems to fall into place perfectly.

Every song is a testimony of the musicians commitment to reclaiming their righteous throne. It is so difficult to pick the standout tracks. I sure won't. Paradise Lost of yore is back and they are bringing with them the savoir-faire of an experienced band with the brazen enthusiasm of an innovative act. So whoever you are, whatever your age or background, let Tragic Idol magnetism roll over you. And if you don't get it, I pity you with the leftover compassion in my heart. Now let me go back to my penance and be gone.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Paradise Lost
Album: Tragic Idol


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 02.06.2012

Guest review by
Drummer149

Rating:
9.0
Tragic Idol is Paradise Lost's 13th full-length release…yes you read right 13! This prolific band just keeps on getting better with every release. I had the pleasure of witnessing their live performance at this years Soundwave Festival, they were fantastic with ever song they had the power of an extremely young band but the musicianship of an extremely grown and mature band, they are one of the most under-rated bands in the metal scene, they deserve to be as big as Metallica. The reason why I believe they have stayed so consistently great, is due to the fact their line-up has basically never changed, apart from the drummer who has changed several times, this allows them to have such a musical connection that can progress in such a way that a band with many line-up changes just can not. However this is not to say that a band without line-up changes will stay consistently good, there are a lot of examples that I could mention however I will not in this review.

Read more ››
published 11.09.2012 | Comments (6)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 422  
Search this topic:  


WorpeX - 02.06.2012 at 06:33  
Great review and I agree that this album is awesome! Although, I do disagree with the whole bit about them bringing back their old sound with this release as they had done that already with "Faith Divides" and to a lesser extent, "In Requiem". While I love both albums, I do like "Faith Divides" more then this release. The guitar work is much better in that and the song writing is more original. I love Paradise Lost though! From this album, my favorites are "Solitary one, "Fear of Impending Hell", "In This We Dwell" and "Tragic Idol".
Slayer666 - 02.06.2012 at 11:20  
Disagreed. This can't even hold a candle to Icon, let alone Draconian Times, and I even found it weaker than PL's previous two.
The first 3 and the last 3 tracks are worth listening to, the rest just comes of as filler. I seriously cringed when I heard "To The Darkness", I couldn't believe PL recorded such a cliche song. A low-mid 7 from me, would have been a 6 without the truly fantastic "Solitary One".
R'Vannith - 02.06.2012 at 12:24  
This album hit me like a truck when it got going, its starts in a fairly unremarkable way but when tracks like "Honesty In Death" and "Theories From Another World" come around it just feels like good old Paradise Lost, similar, but not too similar, to what you find on Icon and Draconian Times. Then it sort of fades a bit, "The Glorious End" isn't a fitting song title.
I can fully understand the nostalgic appeal that you get from this album.
Paradox0 - 02.06.2012 at 14:53  
I was waiting for a review of this, and thank god, because my projected idea would not be nearly as cohesive as this review. The only thing I have to disagree with this review is that Paradise Lost has not found their comfort zone yet, but are still trying to find that sound that made them legends. I find they came closer than ever with "Tragic Idol", but are a little too heavy in the metal elements to be quite "Draconian Times". I actually think their experimentation to renew their old sound is a plus and a sign of greater things to come. Unlike many bands which can't seem to leave their past shadow, and try to replicate it aesthetically without truely being in the mindset to write as solid material as their legacy, Paradise Lost is making a genuine effort to revive their old sound not only in structure, but in soul too.
Boxcar Willy - 02.06.2012 at 15:27  
I also Disagree, I listened to this on the plane trip to The Dominican Republic and I didn't see what was so special about it, sure it had some cool moments here and there but nothing really grabbed me. I guess you can feel pity on me.

Also to me for being the only one here to not write a paragraph.
ravendeath - 02.06.2012 at 15:52  
Agree with the review! Awesome album.
Troy Killjoy - 02.06.2012 at 16:08  
Wow, that's a pretty high rating for such a... bland release. I suppose the lyrics and emotions from the atmosphere do things differently for others (those funny subjective elements that can make or break a release for the public) but overall the songwriting here is just empty. The riffs don't grab me at all, and the solos are pretty standard fair. I don't see this as a great return to form, just a weak attempt at it. Faith Divides Us was a stronger release overall in my opinion.
Merchant of Doom - 04.06.2012 at 23:59  
Boring as hell... must be old and heard all before...
Unna Med - 07.07.2012 at 00:03  
The first Paradise Lost album I have ever listened to, and I am impressed. I am not really into gothic metal but this album immideatly catched on me. Need to check out their discography
Polaria - 22.08.2012 at 23:24  
Written by Unna Med on 07.07.2012 at 00:03

The first Paradise Lost album I have ever listened to, and I am impressed. I am not really into gothic metal but this album immideatly catched on me. Need to check out their discography


I think it's best for you to check their discography until Draconian Times, especially Icon.
Unna Med - 23.08.2012 at 14:27  
Written by Polaria on 22.08.2012 at 23:24

Written by Unna Med on 07.07.2012 at 00:03

The first Paradise Lost album I have ever listened to, and I am impressed. I am not really into gothic metal but this album immideatly catched on me. Need to check out their discography


I think it's best for you to check their discography until Draconian Times, especially Icon.

I know, I know...but there are just too many discographies for me to check

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Paradise Lost - Tragic Idol 8.5 11.09.2012 by Sorrow
Events GBR, Wolverhampton - Paradise Lost + Insomnium: Tragic Idol Tour 6 28.01.2012 by Amatsu Mikaboshi
Reviews Peccatum - Lost In Reverie 6 06.10.2010 by Elodie Artour
Events GBR, Norwich - Paradise Lost + Insomnium: Tragic Idol Tour 6 17.04.2012 by Carl Berg
News Paradise Lost - Join Nightwish On N. American Tour 4.5 14.03.2007 by iaberis



Hits total: 5702 | This month: 38