Rating:
8.3
Fleshmould - Interitum
21 April 2012


01. Entrance
02. Alea Iacta Est
03. Will To Power
04. Si Vis Pacem
05. The 14th Legion
06. Siege Of Alesia
07. Alexandria
08. In Order To Create
09. Stairs To Elysium


I've had my fair share of Belgian chocolate. And to be honest, chances are that shit's just made in some factory in Mississauga. But Fleshmould aren't an edible sweet, nor do they come pre-packaged at the grocery store for discount prices. They're a death metal band, and they know what they're doing.

I'll be honest, the extent of my Belgian death metal knowledge pretty much begins and ends with Aborted and Leng Tch'e. And Fleshmould. Happy to expand my understanding of geography and how the world works, Interitum gave me a reason to actually look up the little country on a map. Man that place is small.

I suppose that's a testament to how interesting the music on this album really is. These guys write some ridiculously catchy melodies and even throw in a few technically complex riffs here and there for added measure. As if that wasn't enough, they begin with a symphonic intro and even manage to change their pace a few times - from blistering to snail. Their ability to effectively do whatever they want within their songs without meandering or losing focus is not only impressive, but lets the listener know they can rely on the rest of the songs to follow suit. You won't be taken for any rides or off-course scenic tours while listening to this album.

Some of the chugging riffs are rather heavily doom-influenced, perhaps a little Asphyx-inspired at times but never to the point of outright plagiarism. The added weight of this gives the album a strong, almost crusty vibe - as if in spite of its professional sound quality, the band members sought out a dark, gloomy atmosphere to give their guitars a more distorted appeal. All of these elements are backed up by some incredibly well-placed and intricate guitar solos, which often lead to a cacophony of Bolt Thrower-esque mid-paced groove-infused crushing death metal riffs, rhythmic yet blasting drum beats, and low-pitched near-guttural growls. They call this a deathgasm.

Actually they don't. But I do.

Albums like this seldom come along - revivalist in sound yet modern in appeal. Fans of either era will have something to appreciate with this release.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 06.06.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 215  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 06.06.2012 at 21:20  
Ohlala, this sounds tasty.
Milena - 06.06.2012 at 21:54  
*obligatory comment not relevant to the music* Serbia's smaller than Belgium.
Boxcar Willy - 07.06.2012 at 04:04  
Written by Milena on 06.06.2012 at 21:54

*obligatory comment not relevant to the music* Serbia's smaller than Belgium.

And Luxumberg is smaller than Serbia.
doyle777 - 07.06.2012 at 04:18  
Written by Milena on 06.06.2012 at 21:54

*obligatory comment not relevant to the music* Serbia's smaller than Belgium.

I really don't know why would you say something like that:
Serbia area - 88361 km²
Belgium area - 30528 km²

Serbia is almost three times bigger than Belgium.
Lokaeda - 07.06.2012 at 04:57  
Vatican be the smallest.
Void Eater - 07.06.2012 at 05:42  
And America is bigger than all of those afrficopean whatever the hell they are heathen countries!!


But seriously, sounds like a cool album. You can never be too similar to Asphyx. The more similar a band is to Asphyx, the better they are.
doyle777 - 07.06.2012 at 06:35  
Written by Void Eater on 07.06.2012 at 05:42

And America is bigger than all of those afrficopean whatever the hell they are heathen countries!!

Lold hard when read this - USA isn't even 3centuries old. And if we're going to talk about biggest and best - Russia.


About the album - checking them up right now on YouTube, doesn't sound bad at all. \m/
Void Eater - 07.06.2012 at 06:47  
Russian's are atheist communists, which makes them metaphorically stronger. What we lack in sheer size we make up in pride, spirit, and the blessings of God.

Regarding the album, listening to it right now, and so far so good, although when it comes to OSDM resurgence bands, I've heard a lot better. Perhaps most importantly, I stumbled across this youtube comment.

So immature. So idiotic. So perfect.
Troy Killjoy - 07.06.2012 at 06:54  
Can we have a relevant discussion here please?
Void Eater - 07.06.2012 at 07:23  
K. The album tries to be both Asphyx old school doom while adding a slight but of weird modern proggy touches to it, which drag the album down-takes away from the traditional death doom atmosphere. It would be much better if they just decided to completely rip of some old death doom band, but there's already a gazillion bands doing that, so no loss.
America
Zaphod - 07.06.2012 at 08:19  
Never mention a band's country in a review, even if it has chocolate...
Also, from the songs I've heard I like it better than Asphyx's Deathhammer
Milena - 07.06.2012 at 09:26  
Written by doyle777 on 07.06.2012 at 04:18

I really don't know why would you say something like that:

Aw dude, I was hoping I could get one of these dudes to google it instead but I guess you can't sneak in bullshit information after all..
Mr. Doctor - 07.06.2012 at 10:57  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.06.2012 at 06:54

Can we have a relevant discussion here please?


Hohohohooooo It's funny because Troy many times goes offtopic in threads Hooooooooooo.



Nah but seriously, this looks like something I should enjoy, thanks for the heads-up.
Troy Killjoy - 07.06.2012 at 16:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.06.2012 at 10:57
Hohohohooooo It's funny because Troy many times goes offtopic in threads Hooooooooooo.

I do go off-topic a lot, but I try to limit the amount of off-topic posts in a thread - especially an official review thread.

In any case, you should probably enjoy this. I can't remember if you liked Vallenfyre or whatever or a lot of the revivalist death metal but this stands slightly above that kind of stuff in my opinion. Probably right around the quality of Asphyx's latest.
Mr. Doctor - 07.06.2012 at 16:13  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.06.2012 at 16:03

In any case, you should probably enjoy this. I can't remember if you liked Vallenfyre or whatever or a lot of the revivalist death metal but this stands slightly above that kind of stuff in my opinion. Probably right around the quality of Asphyx's latest.


I did not enjoy Vallenfyre that much, sounds kind of fake compared to the revivalist acts like Sonne Adam. I do enjoy Asphyx (although they don't really count as Revivalist) so yeah.... I definitely will check this out as soon as I get my computer back.
Troy Killjoy - 07.06.2012 at 16:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.06.2012 at 16:13
I do enjoy Asphyx (although they don't really count as Revivalist)

Didn't mean to imply they were. Just the revivalist "sound".
Mr. Doctor - 07.06.2012 at 16:17  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.06.2012 at 16:15

Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.06.2012 at 16:13
I do enjoy Asphyx (although they don't really count as Revivalist)

Didn't mean to imply they were. Just the revivalist "sound".


No no, I got your point. It was just my OCD ticking and I had to say something you already knew just for the sake of getting my post "complete".
Rulatore - 07.06.2012 at 20:28  
Written by Void Eater on 07.06.2012 at 07:23

America




I'll try this one, sounds interesting.
Spirit Molecule - 08.06.2012 at 12:47  
Countries that are known for their beer should have a good metal output. The review got me interested, maybe it was just the mention of chocolates :/ will check them out though. Are there any tracks online? Apart from youtube that is.
Spirit Molecule - 08.06.2012 at 13:04  
By the way is there a mistake with the album name is it Interitum ?
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.06.2012 at 15:09  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 08.06.2012 at 13:04

By the way is there a mistake with the album name is it Interitum ?


It is indeed Interitum and not Inheritum. Just grabbed my copy of the album and it clearly says Interitum
Spirit Molecule - 08.06.2012 at 15:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.06.2012 at 06:54

Can we have a relevant discussion here please?

You should worry more about getting the name right than people having relevant discussions
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2012 at 01:16  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 08.06.2012 at 12:47
Apart from youtube that is.

The full album was uploaded to Youtube.
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2012 at 02:22  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 08.06.2012 at 13:04
By the way is there a mistake with the album name is it Interitum ?

Fixed.
Spirit Molecule - 09.06.2012 at 13:11  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.06.2012 at 01:16

Written by Spirit Molecule on 08.06.2012 at 12:47
Apart from youtube that is.

The full album was uploaded to Youtube.


Checked it out, not bad at all
sladetroityer - 14.06.2012 at 05:23  
Great review man, however, you gave Abominable Putridity an 8.5 and I didn't think it was that good. I liked everything but the vocals. I'll give this a spin though and get back with ya.....:banger2:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Aus Der Transzendenz - Breed Of A Dying Sun 5 16.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Amputated - Dissect, Molest, Ingest 4.5 04.02.2014 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Amoral - Beneath 4.5 10.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Falls Of Rauros - The Light That Dwells In Rotten Wood 4.5 02.01.2012 by metaleaterr
Reviews Spectral Lore - Sentinel 4.5 03.07.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 3991 | This month: 88