Rating:
8.5
Abominable Putridity - The Anomalies Of Artificial Origin
28 February 2012


01. Remnants Of The Tortured
02. A Massacre In The North
03. Letting Them Fall
04. A Burial For The Abandoned
05. Lack Of Oxygen
06. Wormhole Inversion
07. The Anomalies Of Artificial Origin
08. The Last Communion


Assuming the majority of users here were unaware of In the End of Human Existence being released back in 2007, I'm going to tell you right now that this album is hands-down the top slam death album of the year. I'll be mighty surprised if this opinion changes come January 2013.

For those who aren't unfamiliar with Abominable Putridity, all you need to know is that their sophomore release is quite literally stronger in every aspect: groove, technicality, brutality, flow, clarity, and songwriting prowess. Far be it from me to say these guys are the Tool of brutal death metal, but their overall abilities have improved immensely, surpassing their peers with a vulgar display of power.

The Anomalies of Artificial Origin takes off with an eerie intro, paving the way for a conceptually charged mindless assault of every orifice of the human body. Crushing bass lines lend their support to the ultimately over-the-top chugging riffs, giving the album a very immense feel, as if the music itself is a weapon of mass destruction. This is all topped off with some more technical riffs that appear in shorter spurts, injecting a quick dose of creativity into the songs.

Of course, Abominable Putridity aren't Abominable Putridity without the thick crushing slam riffs. This is where they really stand out from the rest of the pack - not so much in that they don't simply rely on slams as opposed to chugging riffs, but that their slams add a serious weight to their music. You can feel each chug build up to a slam breakdown, with every minute passing by increasing your anticipation. In spite of being able to sense the oncoming slams, they're still rather unexpected - a very welcome change in songwriting according to this reviewer. Previously these guys got into a habit of incorporating too many breakdowns, and the only surprise factor was in regards to how lacking each song was in the riff department.

Naturally, the inhuman guttural vocals are what will separate the fans from the haters. Their former vocalist had a much deeper, more beastly growl, whereas Matti Way (of Disgorge and Pathology fame) brings a somewhat higher pitch to the table in addition to his already immense gutturals. His rhythmic style suits the music perfectly, mixed appropriately lower while enhancing the catchy grooves. The drumming is fairly standard for the music style, maintaining the album's overall flow with a steadily faster pace without breaking into any unnecessarily overly technical or hypersonic moments.

If you appreciate slam death and want to listen to the genre's best release of the year, look no further than The Anomalies of Artificial Origin.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Abominable Putridity
Album: The Anomalies Of Artificial Origin


 



Written on 10.06.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 47  
Users visited: 278  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2012 at 02:19  
Far too many mentions of the word "slam" for my taste but that cover art is pretty boss:

Troy Killjoy - 10.06.2012 at 02:24  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.06.2012 at 02:19
Far too many mentions of the word "slam" for my taste but that cover art is pretty boss:

Not a chance I'd waste recommending this to you, but at least we can agree on the awesome cover art.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2012 at 02:25  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.06.2012 at 02:24

Not a chance I'd waste recommending this to you, but at least we can agree on the awesome cover art.

It's very Resident Evil (thinking of the Tyrant of course).
Misfit74 - 10.06.2012 at 02:37  
Certainly among my favorite slam albums. The drumming, in particular is fantastic and well-produced/mixed. The kick-drum sound is what they're supposed to sound like. While I don't think this is the best, it's among my top 10 in the genre easily. A great album and they are undoubtedly one of the premier front-runners in slam/BDM right now. This album sets the bar very high though they're not without some quality peers.
Unhealer - 10.06.2012 at 02:45  
By looking at the monster in the artwork I couldn't help but to think "Bitch, I'm fabulous".

I'll follow you on this one, Killjoy; you sold it well.
Illog1cal - 10.06.2012 at 03:15  
Would you say their album art lives up to the music?
Troy Killjoy - 10.06.2012 at 03:16  
Written by Misfit74 on 10.06.2012 at 02:37
Certainly among my favorite slam albums. The drumming, in particular is fantastic and well-produced/mixed. The kick-drum sound is what they're supposed to sound like. While I don't think this is the best, it's among my top 10 in the genre easily.

It's amazing how quick this album came to the forefront of slam for this year and how high up on my personal list this sits in terms of all-time slam releases. I really wasn't expecting such an immense album after listening to their debut a couple years back. Definitely pleasantly surprised with this.
Troy Killjoy - 10.06.2012 at 03:18  
Written by Guest on 10.06.2012 at 03:15
Would you say their album art lives up to the music?

Definitely. They both have a clear focus, both are appropriately polished, and both offer the same feature: brutality.
BoxCar Willy - 10.06.2012 at 03:39  
Might be a fun listen, will check out even though I'm not a big fan of the genre.
Mattybu - 10.06.2012 at 03:53  
The only thing I don't like about the cover art is the monster looks like it's doing a ballet move or something.

Might check this out just to find out what the word "slam" means in the metal context.
Mr. Doctor - 10.06.2012 at 03:57  
Written by Mattybu on 10.06.2012 at 03:53

The only thing I don't like about the cover art is the monster looks like it's doing a ballet move or something.


Once it has been seen, it can not be unseen.

QUICK! Someone use their mad photoshop skillz to make the monster wear a tutu and say "I'm so fabulous!" (you can just tell by it's face that it is happy)
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2012 at 04:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.06.2012 at 03:57


Once it has been seen, it can not be unseen.

QUICK! Someone use their mad photoshop skillz to make the monster wear a tutu and say "I'm so fabulous!" (you can just tell by it's face that it is happy)

Mr. Doctor - 10.06.2012 at 04:13  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.06.2012 at 04:12




THANK YOU!!!!


This is pure art dude.
Troy Killjoy - 10.06.2012 at 04:13  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.06.2012 at 03:57
QUICK! Someone use their mad photoshop skillz to make the monster wear a tutu and say "I'm so fabulous!" (you can just tell by it's face that it is happy)



Very artistic mood tonight.

/ninja'd
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2012 at 04:14  
That's twice you've been owned by 'shops
Mr. Doctor - 10.06.2012 at 04:14  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.06.2012 at 04:14

That's twice you've been owned by 'shops


In what? Less than 5 mins?

Don't worry Troy, at least you didn't make an ass out of yourself for like 80-90 mins.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.06.2012 at 04:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.06.2012 at 04:14


Don't worry Troy, at least you didn't make an ass out of yourself for like 80-90 mins.

This.
Troy Killjoy - 10.06.2012 at 04:16  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.06.2012 at 04:14
That's twice you've been owned by 'shops

Pff, I enjoy the artistic challenges of using Paint to be honest. The only drawback is the time it takes to create something as masterful as this.

Speaking of masterful, this album is awesome. And every track can be found on Youtube, so people don't even have a reason not to listen to it.
Unhealer - 10.06.2012 at 06:07  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.06.2012 at 04:12

*Awesome image*


Thank you, just thank you.
Misfit74 - 10.06.2012 at 06:26  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.06.2012 at 03:16

Written by Misfit74 on 10.06.2012 at 02:37
Certainly among my favorite slam albums. The drumming, in particular is fantastic and well-produced/mixed. The kick-drum sound is what they're supposed to sound like. While I don't think this is the best, it's among my top 10 in the genre easily.

It's amazing how quick this album came to the forefront of slam for this year and how high up on my personal list this sits in terms of all-time slam releases. I really wasn't expecting such an immense album after listening to their debut a couple years back. Definitely pleasantly surprised with this.


Interestingly, it's amazing how it got such a bad rap in the album thread. http://www.metalstorm.net/bands/album.php?album_id=59814&band_id=3943&bandname=Abominable+Putridity

I seemed to be in the minority in my support for the album. Glad to see a review (and discussion) like this to help bring a quality album to light that might otherwise get buried around here. I think a lot of folks might not know what they're missing. As has been said: it just doesn't get much more hi-quality than this for the genre.
psykometal - 10.06.2012 at 07:48  
I decided to listen to this particular Slam band based on this review Troy because you make it sound like it's actually really awesome. This is the only Slam band I've heard so far that I could maybe actually get into, the music itself is pretty fuckin' sick but I'm still struggling with the vocals. Maybe I'll dl this anyway and give it a shot outside of a "YouTube background noise" listen...
Troy Killjoy - 10.06.2012 at 08:21  
Written by psykometal on 10.06.2012 at 07:48
I decided to listen to this particular Slam band based on this review Troy because you make it sound like it's actually really awesome. This is the only Slam band I've heard so far that I could maybe actually get into, the music itself is pretty fuckin' sick but I'm still struggling with the vocals. Maybe I'll dl this anyway and give it a shot outside of a "YouTube background noise" listen...

It really is a fun listen, something that doesn't require much effort beyond being able to accept the vocals, which after a full listen should be an easy hurdle to clear in my opinion, especially considering you listen to a lot of death metal. Besides, the riffs and slams are good enough to distract you from the vocals if you really can't digest them.
psykometal - 10.06.2012 at 08:36  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.06.2012 at 08:21

It really is a fun listen, something that doesn't require much effort beyond being able to accept the vocals, which after a full listen should be an easy hurdle to clear in my opinion, especially considering you listen to a lot of death metal. Besides, the riffs and slams are good enough to distract you from the vocals if you really can't digest them.

Yea I was feeling a bit pirate-y a moment ago and dl'd it, I'm checking it out now. The music is extremely close to BDM territory for a Slam band which is really sick. I do listen to a lot of Death metal but honestly BDM is a more recent taste acquisition in the last year, used to not care for it much but last year a buddy got me into a TDM phase and then started getting me to listen to some BDM bands that get rather close to TDM territory like recent Dying Fetus, Severed Savior and Insidious Decrepency to name a few and I then I got really into BDM after that.

I'm on the 3rd track of AP and it's really good shit, starting to acclimate to the vocals, not sure I'll ever fully get behind the vocals due unintelligibility but I may be able to just look past them for the music's sake; at least in the case of Abominable Putridity. And it's weird because I can handle Matti's vocals in AP but still don't care for them in Pathology, maybe it's because the music in Pathology isn't good enough for me to get over the vocals or maybe in the last few years Matti has just gotten a little better at doing them...

Add-on: In either case I probably would have never checked this band out if not for your review so thanks for that Troy. Definitely should do more DM/BDM reviews for us...
Uldreth - 10.06.2012 at 11:01  
Weirdly enough I like this album a lot. I normally hate slam and have a distaste for BDM as well unless it's in the technical territory but this is really awesome for some reason. I don't even mind the vocals, maybe due to the higher than usual pitch.
-DC-002- - 11.06.2012 at 00:50  
I'm seeing a lot more death metal album covers oriented towards the giant otherworldly monsters breaking through/out (in a tutu) i.e. Spawn of Possession, Hour of Penance, Pseudogod. Perhaps a majorities prevailing spirit under oppression, ready to break out!?. Maybe they just thought it looked like it would fuck a lot of shit up.
psykometal - 11.06.2012 at 02:51  
Ok so I've listened to this album closely for several spins now and I'm hooked, it's fucking brutal and sick as hell! I am learning to appreciate the vocals, still not a Slam head but if there are more Slam bands out there like this where the music is closer to BDM than straight Slam and I can at least somewhat tell that there are words coming out of the vocalist's mouth and not just a bunch of "GRRRR GRRRR GRRRR" then I would definitely be interested to check them out. Abominable Putridity has definitely earned their place on my iPod...
Mr. Doctor - 11.06.2012 at 03:49  
Written by psykometal on 11.06.2012 at 02:51
I can at least somewhat tell that there are words coming out of the vocalist's mouth and not just a bunch of "GRRRR GRRRR GRRRR".


This is one of the cases where the vocals are just another instrument that makes sounds to complete the whole picture, like old Cryptopsy for example.
psykometal - 11.06.2012 at 04:09  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.06.2012 at 03:49

This is one of the cases where the vocals are just another instrument that makes sounds to complete the whole picture, like old Cryptopsy for example.

Oh I have always considered vocals as another instrument, sometimes they happen to carry a message and sometimes they're merely just another instrument in the song; that's why I can justify and enjoy listening to so much blasphemous black and death metal despite being a christian. But like any instrument it still needs to be done in a pleasing manner and I like hearing the variation in the different words whether I know what the words are or not. Anybody can pick up an instrument and "play" away but that doesn't mean it's going to sound good or appealing, and the vast majority of the really deep gutteral slam vocals don't sound appealing to me even when considered as merely another instrument; doesn't help much either that I generally don't care for the music and production of the vast majority of slam bands. That's why I actuallyI love Abominable Putridity so much because the music is closer to brutal than to slam and the vocals are "articulated" well enough in their deep, low range that they do work well with the rest of the instruments...
wormdrink414 - 11.06.2012 at 04:15  
Only thing I would've done differently for this, other than write it more shittily, is add .1 or .2 for those green numbers. Green number material here.
Troy Killjoy - 11.06.2012 at 05:34  
Written by wormdrink414 on 11.06.2012 at 04:15
Green number material here.

If I had things my way, an 85% would be marked with green.
Protostar - 11.06.2012 at 14:25  
Idgaf what anyone says this album is a goddamn masterpiece. I'm an enormous brutal fan and I appreciate every sound the extremes have to offer, from your average slam to the blast and beyond porngrind, but this album just fucking delivers. There isn't one dull moment throughout and I can't find the time to tire myself with listening to it. "A Burial For The Abandoned" in particular is competely orgasmic. Maybe I'm going a little over the top with my comment here but quite honestly there isn't much else that measures up to this as a brutal fan. And Matti Way, muah.. His vocals are nearly poetic they flow so beautifully. I thought I'd miss Vlad but I should have known better Matti is not one to dissapoint. MASSIVE album guys, congrats.
PocketMetal - 11.06.2012 at 18:19  
Great riffs but vocals are funny , LMAO
JD - 12.06.2012 at 03:06  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.06.2012 at 04:12



This pic kick-ass. I shared it on my page, it got three likes

Back on topic, I think it's a good album, 7.5\10 from me.
sladetroityer - 14.06.2012 at 05:13  
I must be a noob cause I've never heard the term "Slam Riff"' and I play guitar. I also don't hear the higher pitch from the vocalist so their former singer must have been extremely gutteral. I agree with you on the prodution, it is terrific.
Mr. Doctor - 14.06.2012 at 11:53  
I also barely know what's the difference between slam riffs and breakdowns.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.06.2012 at 14:58  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.06.2012 at 11:53

I also barely know what's the difference between slam riffs and breakdowns.

I'm even pretty shaky on breakdowns some of the time (outside of the blatant metalcore ones of course).
Troy Killjoy - 14.06.2012 at 16:09  
The breakdowns themselves aren't entirely different - for the most part I'd say slam breakdowns are more... "chunky", whereas deathcore breakdowns tend to be sound a little lighter.

For instance, bands like Cephalotripsy focus on making their breakdowns envelop the listener, like an all-encompassing sort of slow-paced slamming riff that feels noticeable heavier than their chugging riffs, whereas bands like Suicide Silence employ breakdowns that don't really separate themselves from the rest of the riffs in terms of brutality. I'm not a guitarist so I can't get into the technical terms, but I'm fairly certain something about palm-muting is relevant here...
Uldreth - 14.06.2012 at 17:02  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.06.2012 at 16:09

The breakdowns themselves aren't entirely different - for the most part I'd say slam breakdowns are more... "chunky", whereas deathcore breakdowns tend to be sound a little lighter.

For instance, bands like Cephalotripsy focus on making their breakdowns envelop the listener, like an all-encompassing sort of slow-paced slamming riff that feels noticeable heavier than their chugging riffs, whereas bands like Suicide Silence employ breakdowns that don't really separate themselves from the rest of the riffs in terms of brutality. I'm not a guitarist so I can't get into the technical terms, but I'm fairly certain something about palm-muting is relevant here...

Well the article Void Eater linked in the other thread said both DC and Slam breakdowns are palm-muted but slams follow a chromatic scale while hardcore breakdowns (the same shit used in hardcore, thrash, metalcore and deathcore) are generally one-note chugging. I am not a guitarist myself though so I need to trust the article on that.

The article also says that slams are not real breakdowns but it is unclear to me why. If it is because they use a scale then it is frankly BS as breakdowns are pretty much anything that reduce music to a simpler form, like I said in that thread, as far as I am aware even the acoustic parts used in Opeth songs can be considered breakdowns as they reduce the music into a simpler acoustic meandering as a relief from the harsh parts' harshness.
But I think the article said that they can't be considered breakdowns because in most slam bands they aren't "breaking anything down" as most of the songs are comprised of slams. In that case I wonder why do you think that "deathcore bands use riffing between their breakdowns while slam bands use breakdowns between their riffs" when according to the article, SDM is pretty much only slams .
Troy Killjoy - 14.06.2012 at 17:07  
Written by Uldreth on 14.06.2012 at 17:02
In that case I wonder why do you think that "deathcore bands use riffing between their breakdowns while slam bands use breakdowns between their riffs" when according to the article, SDM is pretty much only slams .

I would disagree with the article in that regard, being that most of the brutal/slam death I listen to focuses on riffs - even if they're of the straightforward, chugging nature. When I listen to some of the most direct form of slamming like Pathology, even they manage to incorporate breakdowns for support rather than employ them as the foundation. I don't spend a lot of time listening to deathcore to be honest, but the dozen or so bands I've heard seem to write music with the majority of their songs featuring breakdowns.
psykometal - 14.06.2012 at 17:10  
Written by sladetroityer on 14.06.2012 at 05:13

I must be a noob cause I've never heard the term "Slam Riff"' and I play guitar.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.06.2012 at 11:53

I also barely know what's the difference between slam riffs and breakdowns.

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.06.2012 at 14:58

I'm even pretty shaky on breakdowns some of the time (outside of the blatant metalcore ones of course).

I actually initiated a topic about this the other day due to my own curiosity and inability to really discern much of a difference between the slams and breakdowns, especially on a technical level. Check it out if you'd like a more comprehensive explanation of the differences between breakdowns and slams; another user even posted a link to Metal Sucks where a writer for that site went into some rather funny detail about the differences between deathcore, slam and brutal death metal...
psykometal - 14.06.2012 at 17:14  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.06.2012 at 17:07

I don't spend a lot of time listening to deathcore to be honest, but the dozen or so bands I've heard seem to write music with the majority of their songs featuring breakdowns.

With all the recent discussions about deathcore, slam and bdm I decided to listen to some deathcore in more detail and did notice that they're songs do seem to definitely be geared towards building up to breakdowns instead of bdm and slam using them as support rather than a focal point...
Uldreth - 14.06.2012 at 17:32  
Written by psykometal on 14.06.2012 at 17:14

Written by Troy Killjoy on 14.06.2012 at 17:07

I don't spend a lot of time listening to deathcore to be honest, but the dozen or so bands I've heard seem to write music with the majority of their songs featuring breakdowns.

With all the recent discussions about deathcore, slam and bdm I decided to listen to some deathcore in more detail and did notice that they're songs do seem to definitely be geared towards building up to breakdowns instead of bdm and slam using them as support rather than a focal point...

That is true but it still is a far cry from "riffs between breakdowns".
Unless.

Unless I misunderstood the point of the comment. I thought it refers to quantity, in that case I totally disagree. If it refers to the fact that the FOCUS is on breakdowns then yeah I guess it's true. But I don't see a problem with it as if there is a good and proper buildup to those breakdowns then they tend to sound tasty.
psykometal - 14.06.2012 at 17:43  
Written by Uldreth on 14.06.2012 at 17:32

Unless I misunderstood the point of the comment. I thought it refers to quantity, in that case I totally disagree. If it refers to the fact that the FOCUS is on breakdowns then yeah I guess it's true. But I don't see a problem with it as if there is a good and proper buildup to those breakdowns then they tend to sound tasty.

I believe that was his point. And I agree with you, I also don't have a problem with it in the case of some deathcore bands because they do know how to build up nicely. Those deathcore albums I mentioned in one of my postings on the other thread are albums where I felt the bands built up properly and wrote some damn good deathcore, but the mass majority of the genre is still plagued with half rate hacks that can't write for shit (at least not in terms of what I look for in music)...

Edit: I take that back, I think he did mean quantity. Look at his response to Mr. Doctor in the Slams vs Breakdowns thread...
Tristus Scriptor - 16.06.2012 at 19:48  
It is what it is, and if this kind of death metal is called "slam" now...then I (reluctantly) can say that I do dig a bit of slam-death metal; this album being a top choice for me as well.
Maxx666 - 01.07.2012 at 21:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.06.2012 at 04:13

Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.06.2012 at 03:57
QUICK! Someone use their mad photoshop skillz to make the monster wear a tutu and say "I'm so fabulous!" (you can just tell by it's face that it is happy)



Very artistic mood tonight.

/ninja'd


Arguably one of the most hilarious that ever happened to slam.. now besides the cover art i'd have to say this album has the full potential to be this years best and hopefully it will, as there are not many good slam album around these days. nice review btw
Alex Fenger - 04.07.2012 at 22:14  
Fantastic album, couldn't agree more with your review. Also, i got a poster of the cover art, because why the fuck not.
vezzy - 27.01.2014 at 21:15  
Damn, you ain't kidding. This is such well orchestrated brutality. An aggressive onslaught, yet very listenable and varied as well.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Abominable Putridity - The Anomalies Of Artificial Origin 10.5 28.01.2012 by Absak
Reviews Reverence - The Asthenic Ascension 6.5 08.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Devian - God To The Illfated 6 11.02.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Soreption - Engineering The Void 6 26.01.2014 by qlacs
Reviews Sargeist - Feeding The Crawling Shadows 6 14.04.2014 by Cynic Metalhead



Hits total: 5423 | This month: 113