Embrional - Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors review



Reviewer:
8.5

9 users:
8.22
Band: Embrional
Album: Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors
Release date: March 2012


01. Possessed By Evil
02. Disgraceful Enslavement
03. Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors
04. Necropolis
05. The Last Step Into Nothingness
06. Beyond The Abyss
07. Maniacal Madness
08. Bestial Torture
09. Dismal Sign
10. Mankind's Decline
11. Vermin Of The Earth


In case you've been living under a rock for the past few years, allow me to explain just who these guys are. Embrional are a Polish death metal group that take influence from the old school but certainly don't limit themselves in any way. In fact, they're a unique death metal band in a sense.

Not in that you've never heard anything like this before, but in that they manage to combine all of their influences while giving the concoction their own special flavor. Kind of like throwing some Big Mac Sauce on a hamburger you just cooked up. Sure hamburgers have been made millions of times before, but this special sauce just makes it your own. Probably not the best example, being that Mac Sauce is the property of McDonald's. (I'm willing to negotiate an endorsement deal, for the record.)

Fast food originality aside, Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors is a pretty fun death metal album, absolutely ripe with chainsaw melodies, varied forms of blasting drum patterns, and excellent execution. The Deicide-esque layered vocal moments support the subtle evil vibe while the raw mixing style gives the guitars an incredibly lethal kick, especially when they go for these lengthy instrumental runs.

The highly technical musicianship on display is nothing short of inspiring, regardless of whether or not you're a musician. The pin-point accuracy all-around makes this incredibly easy to listen to if only for its smooth texture, while the organic sound all but maintains the authenticity of the music. Think Brain Drill or Origin with a dirtier production, better flow to their songs, and more focus on groove and catchy hooks as opposed to technicality for the sake of technicality. Or Nile without all the Egypt and atmosphere. The drummer seems to possess a more inhuman strength as well, not in that he necessarily blasts as quick, but his fills just seem louder, as if his drumsticks are on the verge of shattering with every hit.

If you were looking for some new profound take on the death metal genre, then you've wasted a lot of time reading this review. If, however, you want some old-school sounding technically proficient evil-vibe death metal, then Absolutly Anti-Human Behaviors is precisely what the doctor ordered.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 19.06.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 36   Visited by: 216 users
22.06.2012 - 23:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 22.06.2012 at 16:11

Another hilarious thread.

That it is, people who are full of themselves make me laugh, but they also make me want to gouge their face out with a 12" ice axe

I couldn't get past 3 lines of that guys pretentious, Better than you attitude of writing. Troy's are at least enjoyable to read.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
23.06.2012 - 00:19
Fredd
Account deleted
Written by dizzlemahnazgul on 22.06.2012 at 20:30

read my blog, yo! ... look ma, I can troll online!

You made my day, gentleman.
Loading...
23.06.2012 - 20:28
Lit.
Account deleted
Written by dizzlemahnazgul on 20.06.2012 at 17:34

Come on. Just because the music is old hat doesn't mean the reviews have to be too.

Look who's talking. I haven't heard that phrase be used since a Teen Titans episode in 2004.

Regarding cliches: If there is anything I learned as an aspiring writer, is that there is no such thing as a cliche. Anything can be used, as long as you find a way to work around its overuse and make it interesting for both the reader and the writer to enjoy writing with. Find a way to make it interesting, relevant or easy enough to pass by with causing a cringe and the reader won't even notice it.
Just look at The Hangover.
Loading...
23.06.2012 - 21:19
Tristus Scriptor
Rancid Reviewer
Written by Guest on 23.06.2012 at 20:28

Written by dizzlemahnazgul on 20.06.2012 at 17:34

Come on. Just because the music is old hat doesn't mean the reviews have to be too.

Look who's talking. I haven't heard that phrase be used since a Teen Titans episode in 2004.

Regarding cliches: If there is anything I learned as an aspiring writer, is that there is no such thing as a cliche. Anything can be used, as long as you find a way to work around its overuse and make it interesting for both the reader and the writer to enjoy writing with. Find a way to make it interesting, relevant or easy enough to pass by with causing a cringe and the reader won't even notice it.
Just look at The Hangover.

PERFECT point, my friend. A thousand titty-gropes to you for that one.
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 06:53
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Quite a compact album ,i'd have to say and quite satisfying indeed.. This week's favorite purchase.. And nice review as always
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 13:08
Promonex
Cathemeral
Written by dizzlemahnazgul on 22.06.2012 at 20:30

Promonex, I stand corrected. Couldn't actually see the cover art in that little thumbnail you guys've got up there so I consulted the Archives:

http://www.metal-archives.com/albums/Embrional/Absolutely_Anti-Human_Behaviors/329655

Now tell me that that cover doesn't seem have to correct spelling of "Absolutely" on it. Go on. Tell me that it doesn't.

Of course it shows "Absolutely". That's because that isn't the special Metal Storm edition, photoshopped and entirely made up by your friendly folks at Metal Storm.

And don't be sad about not being able to read the cover art, there are solutions for that.
----
All life begins with Nu and ends with Nu... This is the truth! This is my belief! ...At least for now.
- The Mystery of Life, Vol. 841 Ch. 26
Loading...

Hits total: 4802 | This month: 23