Centimani - Aegaeon review



Reviewer:
8.5

7 users:
6.57
Band: Centimani
Album: Aegaeon
Release date: June 2012


01. Titanomachy
02. Serpents Coil
03. Self Aggrandizement
04. Thyestean Banquet
05. Flames Of Gehenna
06. Fields Of Karelia
07. Non Servium
08. Sacramentum


Normally I absolutely hate surprises. I like to know what's the in the box before I open it. I want assurances, safety, reliability - something dependable. Sometimes, however, something comes along and briefly changes that thought process. Centimani have done just that.

What did I think I was getting into here? Well, it's an unsigned extreme metal band from the United States. Expectations weren't exactly at their highest... In an instant, I was introduced to a rather grandiose melodic opening track, "Titanomachy", an introduction that felt rather similar to the likes of Mercenary or Scar Symmetry, before the piano interlude of "Serpents Coil" all but morphed the sound into a more Dark Lunacy style. Aegaeon, it seemed, wasn't exactly going to be a safe, unsurprising listen.

Thankfully the rest of the album falls more in line with the second track, consistently bringing forth comparisons to some other technically driven progressive melodic death metal bands. The band members definitely know their way around their instruments, with a natural emphasis on melody, yet the songs aren't overly complex and are even readily digestible for the more casual listener. The symphonic vibe is strong thanks to the focus on several piano passages - whether in the foreground or the background - and in spite of the somewhat cacophonous instrumental medley, everything adds up nicely without inducing any headaches.

With such dedication given to the melodies, you have the pleasant listening experience of never feeling as though you've heard the same riff being recycled. The typical straightforward chugging riffs appear few and far between - the standard seemingly set at "ready to break into a ridiculously over-the-top solo any time". For those of you expecting some Dream Theater wanking, fret not. The technicality extends merely as far as promoting the flow of a song, not interrupting it for the sake of a musician's personal gratification.

At face value, there really isn't any glaring issue with this release. It's an incredibly well-thought out debut; there is a clear-cut beginning, middle, and end; and it incorporates elements of both melodic and extreme metal. Symphonic synth work, rich guitar melodies, chugging bass patterns, alternating pitched growls, progressive song structures: all elements that are laid out in one nice cohesive package. Perhaps the only real problem with this is up to the listeners' personal taste - whether or not they can handle such a melody-laden release without feeling the need to fight a dragon, and whether or not they can focus on each track without being distracted by the continuous changes in melodic riffs.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 24.06.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 296 users
24.06.2012 - 12:56
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Dude, you wrote "Titanomachy" wrong in the second paragraph. But yeah... you got me interested.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 13:47
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Oh and I just submitted their latest news "Now Streaming Online".

Will check.
----
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 14:37
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
So this is a different type of melodeath from what Be'lakor and In Mourning put out this year?
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 16:03
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by K†ulu on 24.06.2012 at 14:37
So this is a different type of melodeath from what Be'lakor and In Mourning put out this year?

Different but still similar. In spite of this album focusing more on melody and not so much on simple riffs, it still seems to sound more "death metal + melody" as opposed to melodic death metal. The atmosphere is also far less somber than the likes of Be'lakor and In Mourning, with the synth work creating an uplifting vibe.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 17:35
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Sold
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 17:52
Zealot644
For those who cant find youtube links such as myself: http://soundcloud.com/centimani
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 19:00
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Troy, first sentence of the last paragraph reads "...there really isn't any glaring issues..."
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 19:20
Dethking26
I'm only on my second spin, but it seems like the album gets better as it progresses.
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 21:32
Verdun_sc
These guys are yet another local Colorado band. And from my city, no less!
Loading...
24.06.2012 - 21:41
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Zealot644 on 24.06.2012 at 17:52

For those who cant find youtube links such as myself: http://soundcloud.com/centimani

Or you can just click on the Official Site link on their MS band page...
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
24.06.2012 - 21:45
Risto
Wandering Midget
One of the better recent bands in this kind of style but still far from being anything special. The production isn't up there as you make it seem to be, vocals are buried most of the time.
Loading...
25.06.2012 - 02:39
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Alex F on 24.06.2012 at 19:00
"...there really isn't any glaring issues..."

I see "...there really isn't any glaring issue..." :/
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
25.06.2012 - 13:58
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Sounds good.
----
Loading...
25.06.2012 - 18:54
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.06.2012 at 02:39

I see "...there really isn't any glaring issue..." :/

Dammit, i though you said "issues" as in plural, but i was just speed reading... you said issue... my bad
Loading...
25.06.2012 - 20:22
Stoned Crow
A MDM release the Killjoy approves of- I will have to check this out.
----
I'm very serious about not being serious.
Loading...
25.06.2012 - 22:22
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
It's more Melodic Black Metal in the sound, with some growls thrown in.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
25.06.2012 - 23:54
Stoned Crow
Written by Passenger on 25.06.2012 at 22:22

It's more Melodic Black Metal in the sound, with some growls thrown in.


I agree- I was going by the genre it's listed as. However, I think many different genres could be applied to this. Flames of Gehenna is
----
I'm very serious about not being serious.
Loading...
26.06.2012 - 00:39
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I don't feel the black metal elements are strong enough to be considered the primary genre, to be honest. The symphonics and uplifting melodies can both be attributed to either melodic black or melodic death metal, but I have a much easier time comparing this to melodic death metal bands than melodic black metal bands.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
27.06.2012 - 20:37
Dethking26
How about we just call it blackened death metal?
Loading...
27.06.2012 - 23:43
Regolith
Can't seem to find any good listens at the moment (of this album) but I have to say I let a huge breath out when I read, "The technicality extends merely as far as promoting the flow of a song, not interrupting it for the sake of a musician's personal gratification." - You've put into words what I've been trying to say for a while. I'm not really going anywhere with this other than to say thanks, Troy, for voicing that. We need more music where all of the focus of the musicians is to make a good song...not partialy good music and partial wankery. Shouldn't that be common sense when making music? Sorry, didn't mean to rant. Good review :-)
Loading...
28.06.2012 - 04:26
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I could settle on a mix of blackened death and melodic death for sure.

And I also agree too many musicians these days seem to emphasize showcasing their technical prowess rather than displaying their songwriting capabilities. Thankfully these guys manage to put a lot of soul into their compositions - or at least I get that feeling from their songs.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...

Hits total: 5420 | This month: 9