Rating:
7.0
Aenygmist - Creation Born Of Trauma
24 September 2010


01. Élixir
02. Paroxysme
03. Clandestin
04. Rest In Peace
05. Hold In Poisoned Hands
06. Interférences
07. Internal Hemorrhage


Five chicks playing black metal? Well excuse me while I go masturbate.

Blatant sexist humor aside, this is some good shit. And ya, it was released in 2010. So what? I'm a reverse hipster - I like to listen to things after everyone else and shit on it after nobody cares years later. (In all seriousness this is an official review request from a bunch of lovely Canadian ladies, and because we're all so polite here I just couldn't refuse.)

Anyway, have you heard of Cradle Of Filth before? I hear they're a pretty underground band. So I listened to a couple of their songs and have to say they sound a lot like Aenygmist. Only without all the over-the-top theatrics and a more obvious focus on melodic extremity. These guys girls seem to have a bigger chip on their shoulder too, as their compositions are more spite-filled and aggressive.

With that said, their most notable quality is in their ability to write lengthy tracks without repeating themselves over and over. The songs stay fresh with a continuous helping of new riffs. Simply put, they manage to keep things interesting, changing up their pace often and alternating between blackest of the black and Illnath. Not only that, but Vanessa Lapierre Chevarie can seriously shriek. Her pitch is a little on the higher side, but her delivery burrows straight into the depths of Hell. She mixes this up with a beautiful pop-styled clean vocal style from time to time that somehow blends seamlessly in with the music.

Creation Born of Trauma definitely won't win any awards for its originality, but this is a solid debut - structured in typical "epic" black metal format, professionally recorded, and genuine. Personally I would have preferred some kind of atmospheric focus as the straightforward approach becomes a little tedious given the album's 45-minute length, but if they manage to cut the fat from future releases and stick to their guns they just might make a name for themselves.

Too many times all-female bands are stigmatized with the "gimmick" tag, but these chicks are legit.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Aenygmist
Album: Creation Born Of Trauma


 



Written on 03.07.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 169  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 03.07.2012 at 18:15  
This is how I read the opening line:




But yeah... definitely will check it out despite how sexist you are by mentioning their gender OH NO!
Troy Killjoy - 03.07.2012 at 18:20  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15
Excuuuuse me, Princess.

Pretty much exactly how I wanted it to be read.
BoxCar Willy - 03.07.2012 at 20:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15

...

Ahh Me too
Tristus Scriptor - 03.07.2012 at 23:25  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.07.2012 at 18:20

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15
Excuuuuse me, Princess.

Pretty much exactly how I wanted it to be read.

*Joe Swanson voice* Ha!
InnerSelf - 03.07.2012 at 23:55  
Hmm, so this has everything I hate. I'm outta here.
cool review
Pazdzioch - 04.07.2012 at 00:04  
Just listened to a few songs on YT and I don't like this.
Mr. Doctor - 04.07.2012 at 01:05  
Written by InnerSelf on 03.07.2012 at 23:55
Hmm, so this has everything I hate. I'm outta here.
cool review


Misogynist pig.
InnerSelf - 04.07.2012 at 01:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.07.2012 at 01:05

Written by InnerSelf on 03.07.2012 at 23:55
Hmm, so this has everything I hate. I'm outta here.
cool review

Misogynist pig.

The moment I got the notification I thought to myself "Shit I said everything, here comes the gay jokes".
Mr. Doctor - 04.07.2012 at 01:20  
Written by InnerSelf on 04.07.2012 at 01:18

The moment I got the notification I thought to myself "Shit I said everything, here comes the gay jokes".


Nah, that was too easy... I just went with the idea that you ahte women!
Pazdzioch - 04.07.2012 at 01:42  
Female black metal

Troy Killjoy - 04.07.2012 at 01:46  
Not surprised to see them covering Gaga like that - judging by the members' Facebook pages they all seem to have a great sense of humor and don't take black metal too seriously. Reverse elitism is always a turn-on.
Void Eater - 04.07.2012 at 02:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15

Excuuuuuse me princess!

Wow, that looks like the worst show in the world.
Mr. Meat Hook - 04.07.2012 at 06:00  
Let's hope this is the ONE extreme band that has female vocals I can stand.

I have no idea why, but no matter how good something is, I just can't get past how much I hate female screaming. Singing I like, it's usually got that "epic" feel to it, but we'll see how this turns out.

EDIT: Yay! It is!
Troy Killjoy - 04.07.2012 at 06:36  
Written by Mr. Meat Hook on 04.07.2012 at 06:00
EDIT: Yay! It is!

Glad to hear it.
strade - 04.07.2012 at 10:08  
Haha, I'm impressed, no bitching about the first line. Some people take shit way too seriously these days, and that's coming from one that rarely makes those type of jokes. Good review, don't know if I'll ever get around to this one, but I'll try to remember it.
Slayer666 - 04.07.2012 at 10:35  
Written by Pazdzioch on 04.07.2012 at 01:42

Female black metal


That is one piss-poor excuuuuuse for a cover... :/
Mr. Meat Hook - 04.07.2012 at 11:28  
Written by Slayer666 on 04.07.2012 at 10:35

Written by Pazdzioch on 04.07.2012 at 01:42

Female black metal


That is one piss-poor excuuuuuse for a cover... :/


For black metal it's pretty good, I mean, half the covers for black metal albums are a raven sitting on a tree branch either in a forest or overlooking a lake, usually with a castle or something inside.

What I'm saying is, there isn't much variety to begin with.
Mr. Doctor - 04.07.2012 at 12:03  
Written by Slayer666 on 04.07.2012 at 10:35

Written by Pazdzioch on 04.07.2012 at 01:42

Female black metal

That is one piss-poor excuuuuuse for a cover... :/


It was obviously just for the lulz. So they get a pass for that.
Slayer666 - 05.07.2012 at 12:02  
Written by Mr. Meat Hook on 04.07.2012 at 11:28

For black metal it's pretty good, I mean, half the covers for black metal albums are a raven sitting on a tree branch either in a forest or overlooking a lake, usually with a castle or something inside.

What I'm saying is, there isn't much variety to begin with.


I was talking about that Lady Gaga song cover, bro.
Mr. Meat Hook - 05.07.2012 at 20:09  
Lol

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cavalera Conspiracy - Blunt Force Trauma 6 25.11.2011 by Doc Godin
Reviews Benighted - Carnivore Sublime 4.5 31.03.2014 by allgutsnoglory
Reviews Devildriver - Beast 4.5 16.11.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Alcest - Les voyages de l'âme 4.5 05.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Spectral Lore - Spectral Lore / Locust Leaves [Split] 4.5 07.08.2012 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 2536 | This month: 23