Aenygmist - Creation Born Of Trauma review



Reviewer:
7.0

2 users:
8.00
Band: Aenygmist
Album: Creation Born Of Trauma
Release date: September 2010


01. Élixir
02. Paroxysme
03. Clandestin
04. Rest In Peace
05. Hold In Poisoned Hands
06. Interférences
07. Internal Hemorrhage


Five chicks playing black metal? Well excuse me while I go masturbate.

Blatant sexist humor aside, this is some good shit. And ya, it was released in 2010. So what? I'm a reverse hipster - I like to listen to things after everyone else and shit on it after nobody cares years later. (In all seriousness this is an official review request from a bunch of lovely Canadian ladies, and because we're all so polite here I just couldn't refuse.)

Anyway, have you heard of Cradle Of Filth before? I hear they're a pretty underground band. So I listened to a couple of their songs and have to say they sound a lot like Aenygmist. Only without all the over-the-top theatrics and a more obvious focus on melodic extremity. These guys girls seem to have a bigger chip on their shoulder too, as their compositions are more spite-filled and aggressive.

With that said, their most notable quality is in their ability to write lengthy tracks without repeating themselves over and over. The songs stay fresh with a continuous helping of new riffs. Simply put, they manage to keep things interesting, changing up their pace often and alternating between blackest of the black and Illnath. Not only that, but Vanessa Lapierre Chevarie can seriously shriek. Her pitch is a little on the higher side, but her delivery burrows straight into the depths of Hell. She mixes this up with a beautiful pop-styled clean vocal style from time to time that somehow blends seamlessly in with the music.

Creation Born of Trauma definitely won't win any awards for its originality, but this is a solid debut - structured in typical "epic" black metal format, professionally recorded, and genuine. Personally I would have preferred some kind of atmospheric focus as the straightforward approach becomes a little tedious given the album's 45-minute length, but if they manage to cut the fat from future releases and stick to their guns they just might make a name for themselves.

Too many times all-female bands are stigmatized with the "gimmick" tag, but these chicks are legit.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 03.07.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 20   Visited by: 175 users
03.07.2012 - 18:15
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
This is how I read the opening line:




But yeah... definitely will check it out despite how sexist you are by mentioning their gender OH NO!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.07.2012 - 18:20
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15
Excuuuuse me, Princess.

Pretty much exactly how I wanted it to be read.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
03.07.2012 - 20:34
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15

...

Ahh Me too
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
03.07.2012 - 23:25
Tristus Scriptor
Rancid Reviewer
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.07.2012 at 18:20

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15
Excuuuuse me, Princess.

Pretty much exactly how I wanted it to be read.

*Joe Swanson voice* Ha!
Loading...
03.07.2012 - 23:55
InnerSelf
proofread free
Hmm, so this has everything I hate. I'm outta here.
cool review
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 00:04
Paz
News Man
Just listened to a few songs on YT and I don't like this.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 01:05
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by InnerSelf on 03.07.2012 at 23:55
Hmm, so this has everything I hate. I'm outta here.
cool review


Misogynist pig.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 01:18
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.07.2012 at 01:05

Written by InnerSelf on 03.07.2012 at 23:55
Hmm, so this has everything I hate. I'm outta here.
cool review

Misogynist pig.

The moment I got the notification I thought to myself "Shit I said everything, here comes the gay jokes".
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 01:20
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by InnerSelf on 04.07.2012 at 01:18

The moment I got the notification I thought to myself "Shit I said everything, here comes the gay jokes".


Nah, that was too easy... I just went with the idea that you ahte women!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 01:42
Paz
News Man
Female black metal

Loading...
04.07.2012 - 01:46
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Not surprised to see them covering Gaga like that - judging by the members' Facebook pages they all seem to have a great sense of humor and don't take black metal too seriously. Reverse elitism is always a turn-on.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 02:50
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 18:15

Excuuuuuse me princess!

Wow, that looks like the worst show in the world.
----
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 06:00
Mr. Meat Hook
Let's hope this is the ONE extreme band that has female vocals I can stand.

I have no idea why, but no matter how good something is, I just can't get past how much I hate female screaming. Singing I like, it's usually got that "epic" feel to it, but we'll see how this turns out.

EDIT: Yay! It is!
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 06:36
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Mr. Meat Hook on 04.07.2012 at 06:00
EDIT: Yay! It is!

Glad to hear it.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 10:08
strade
Haha, I'm impressed, no bitching about the first line. Some people take shit way too seriously these days, and that's coming from one that rarely makes those type of jokes. Good review, don't know if I'll ever get around to this one, but I'll try to remember it.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 10:35
Slayer666
Written by Paz on 04.07.2012 at 01:42

Female black metal


That is one piss-poor excuuuuuse for a cover... :/
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 11:28
Mr. Meat Hook
Written by Slayer666 on 04.07.2012 at 10:35

Written by Paz on 04.07.2012 at 01:42

Female black metal


That is one piss-poor excuuuuuse for a cover... :/


For black metal it's pretty good, I mean, half the covers for black metal albums are a raven sitting on a tree branch either in a forest or overlooking a lake, usually with a castle or something inside.

What I'm saying is, there isn't much variety to begin with.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 12:03
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Slayer666 on 04.07.2012 at 10:35

Written by Paz on 04.07.2012 at 01:42

Female black metal

That is one piss-poor excuuuuuse for a cover... :/


It was obviously just for the lulz. So they get a pass for that.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.07.2012 - 12:02
Slayer666
Written by Mr. Meat Hook on 04.07.2012 at 11:28

For black metal it's pretty good, I mean, half the covers for black metal albums are a raven sitting on a tree branch either in a forest or overlooking a lake, usually with a castle or something inside.

What I'm saying is, there isn't much variety to begin with.


I was talking about that Lady Gaga song cover, bro.
Loading...
05.07.2012 - 20:09
Mr. Meat Hook
Lol
Loading...

Hits total: 3708 | This month: 17