Spectral Lore - Sentinel review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

24 users:
7.46
Band: Spectral Lore
Album: Sentinel
Release date: June 2012


01. All Devouring Earth
02. The Dejection Of Arjuna
03. The Coming Of Age
04. Quest For The Supramental
05. My Ascension Into The Celestial Spheres
06. Atlus I
07. Atlus II


In spite of the current economic debt crisis of Greece, Ayloss refuses to be deterred. Not only has he managed to continue with Spectral Lore, but he may have just released his magnum opus: Sentinel.

Prepare yourself for a thorough journey through the eyes of a dejected warrior ascending above and beyond this world into space - perhaps a metaphorical escape for our musician, perhaps just an interesting concept album inspired by a hobby or two. In any case, this is the album you would want to bring with you on said journey... something dark, claustrophobic, chaotic, unrelenting. Something so sinister it makes the album title seem ironic. You won't find a guardian in the world to protect you from this defilement.

"Here rules the coyote and the snake."

Mysticism, heathen ideologies, and poetic lyrics aside, the music is still the defining characteristic of Spectral Lore, a harrowing campaign of burdensome ambiance, ominous riffs, grim melodies, caustic growls, and malicious drum work. More of the same but in a newfangled kind of way, devouring the listener without an ounce of remorse, crushing every bone in the body along the way with pulverizing magnitude: an esophagus of contorting black metal riffs and dark ambient soundscapes.

Seemingly endless in its approach, Sentinel manages to stretch well over the one-hour mark while never pushing itself into the corners of pretension or convolution, staying the course of atmospheric hell and picking up new demons along the way with every passing minute. They tear and claw at the listener - but only enough to agitate, never aggravate. These dark minions cling to any piece of you they can, whether it be garment or dermis, and only the two-part 30-minute minimalist ambient closer can calm them down.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 03.07.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 444 users
03.07.2012 - 21:19
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
THAT artwork... woah. Dude you sold this shit so hard you have no idea.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 00:19
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 21:19

THAT artwork... woah.

No shit:



This is pretty decent so far actually, I've liked their stuff in the past.

Loading...
04.07.2012 - 00:57
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.07.2012 at 00:19
This is pretty decent so far actually, I've liked their stuff in the past.

The entire album is streaming on his Bandcamp page.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 01:15
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.07.2012 at 00:57

The entire album is streaming on his Bandcamp page.

Woo! I shall hit that up soon.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 04:52
strade
A bittersweet accident almost happened when I saw that cover art. Is this good 'night' music? Like, for an ominous, dark night of playing underground NES classics including Felix the Cat?
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 04:56
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 04.07.2012 at 04:52
Is this good 'night' music?

Absolutely. In fact, I think if Ayloss had set out to make a "night music" release, this would be it. There is a bigger focus on dark ambiance than his previous works and the black metal elements are more in line with some of the occult atmospheric bands.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 05:05
strade
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.07.2012 at 04:56

Written by strade on 04.07.2012 at 04:52
Is this good 'night' music?

Absolutely. In fact, I think if Ayloss had set out to make a "night music" release, this would be it. There is a bigger focus on dark ambiance than his previous works and the black metal elements are more in line with some of the occult atmospheric bands.


Cool, guess I'll be checking it out soon. Bandcamp is the best.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 05:59
Edmund Fogg
Was just about to Recc that album. Really brilliant stuff. Not too harsh to get into as well.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 09:43
Tristus Scriptor
Rancid Reviewer
Sold. One of my favorite reviews on the site. I'm going to check this out ASAP.
*time passes* Oh my! I am not an expert on Ambient Black Metal, but I can tell this is quality. Your description does it justice.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 10:30
Slayer666
Hm... I was expecting a more ambient or keyboard driven sound because of that cover, but shit's still very nice.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 10:32
Uldreth
The song posted by Joe is really good and that artwork is breathtaking. I must have this!
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 10:41
strade
Any info on when the hard copy's coming out?
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 13:11
Paz
News Man
I'm sold.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 13:54
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Slayer666 on 04.07.2012 at 10:30

Hm... I was expecting a more ambient or keyboard driven sound because of that cover, but shit's still very nice.


I think the sound of the leads and guitar in general makes up for it... sounds quite "spacey and keyboardy" already.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 16:07
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 04.07.2012 at 10:41
Any info on when the hard copy's coming out?

So far it's only been released digitally but you can send an email to chrisATstellar-auditoriumDOTcom to inquire about a potential future hard copy release.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 23:21
Oaken
Hipster
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.07.2012 at 04:56

the occult atmospheric bands.

Like? (Occult is win, and atmospheric is win too!)
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
05.07.2012 - 23:37
Narterath
They have also released a split with Locust Leaves, released by Order of Theta. You can listen to samples from both sides here: http://www.orderoftheta.com/releases.html

You can also listen to the full Locust Leaves side, Promise, here: http://www.locustleaves.com/default.html
Loading...
06.07.2012 - 04:34
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Narterath on 05.07.2012 at 23:37
They have also released a split with Locust Leaves, released by Order of Theta.

I wouldn't be a very good reviewer if I didn't already have that lined up for a review now would I?
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
10.07.2012 - 23:36
Lokaeda
Account deleted
I don't know why, but I thought of The Disciples Of Zoldon's "Blackened Theological Tome" and of Krallice when listening to this album.
Loading...
19.07.2012 - 02:10
BlueMobius
Account deleted
The CD version is available now from Stellar Auditorium for those who would like more than the MP3.
Loading...
11.08.2012 - 00:35
Oaken
Hipster
Dunno, but I found the first track a difficult listen. Up till 0:32 everything makes sense, but then, the melodies just go crazy... or is it just me?
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...

Hits total: 7483 | This month: 32