Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
Spectral Lore - Sentinel
20 June 2012


01. All Devouring Earth
02. The Dejection Of Arjuna
03. The Coming Of Age
04. Quest For The Supramental
05. My Ascension Into The Celestial Spheres
06. Atlus I
07. Atlus II


In spite of the current economic debt crisis of Greece, Ayloss refuses to be deterred. Not only has he managed to continue with Spectral Lore, but he may have just released his magnum opus: Sentinel.

Prepare yourself for a thorough journey through the eyes of a dejected warrior ascending above and beyond this world into space - perhaps a metaphorical escape for our musician, perhaps just an interesting concept album inspired by a hobby or two. In any case, this is the album you would want to bring with you on said journey... something dark, claustrophobic, chaotic, unrelenting. Something so sinister it makes the album title seem ironic. You won't find a guardian in the world to protect you from this defilement.

"Here rules the coyote and the snake."

Mysticism, heathen ideologies, and poetic lyrics aside, the music is still the defining characteristic of Spectral Lore, a harrowing campaign of burdensome ambiance, ominous riffs, grim melodies, caustic growls, and malicious drum work. More of the same but in a newfangled kind of way, devouring the listener without an ounce of remorse, crushing every bone in the body along the way with pulverizing magnitude: an esophagus of contorting black metal riffs and dark ambient soundscapes.

Seemingly endless in its approach, Sentinel manages to stretch well over the one-hour mark while never pushing itself into the corners of pretension or convolution, staying the course of atmospheric hell and picking up new demons along the way with every passing minute. They tear and claw at the listener - but only enough to agitate, never aggravate. These dark minions cling to any piece of you they can, whether it be garment or dermis, and only the two-part 30-minute minimalist ambient closer can calm them down.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Spectral Lore
Album: Sentinel


 



Written on 03.07.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 436  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 03.07.2012 at 21:19  
THAT artwork... woah. Dude you sold this shit so hard you have no idea.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.07.2012 at 00:19  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.07.2012 at 21:19

THAT artwork... woah.

No shit:



This is pretty decent so far actually, I've liked their stuff in the past.

Troy Killjoy - 04.07.2012 at 00:57  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.07.2012 at 00:19
This is pretty decent so far actually, I've liked their stuff in the past.

The entire album is streaming on his Bandcamp page.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.07.2012 at 01:15  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.07.2012 at 00:57

The entire album is streaming on his Bandcamp page.

Woo! I shall hit that up soon.
strade - 04.07.2012 at 04:52  
A bittersweet accident almost happened when I saw that cover art. Is this good 'night' music? Like, for an ominous, dark night of playing underground NES classics including Felix the Cat?
Troy Killjoy - 04.07.2012 at 04:56  
Written by strade on 04.07.2012 at 04:52
Is this good 'night' music?

Absolutely. In fact, I think if Ayloss had set out to make a "night music" release, this would be it. There is a bigger focus on dark ambiance than his previous works and the black metal elements are more in line with some of the occult atmospheric bands.
strade - 04.07.2012 at 05:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.07.2012 at 04:56

Written by strade on 04.07.2012 at 04:52
Is this good 'night' music?

Absolutely. In fact, I think if Ayloss had set out to make a "night music" release, this would be it. There is a bigger focus on dark ambiance than his previous works and the black metal elements are more in line with some of the occult atmospheric bands.


Cool, guess I'll be checking it out soon. Bandcamp is the best.
Edmund Fogg - 04.07.2012 at 05:59  
Was just about to Recc that album. Really brilliant stuff. Not too harsh to get into as well.
Tristus Scriptor - 04.07.2012 at 09:43  
Sold. One of my favorite reviews on the site. I'm going to check this out ASAP.
*time passes* Oh my! I am not an expert on Ambient Black Metal, but I can tell this is quality. Your description does it justice.
Slayer666 - 04.07.2012 at 10:30  
Hm... I was expecting a more ambient or keyboard driven sound because of that cover, but shit's still very nice.
Uldreth - 04.07.2012 at 10:32  
The song posted by Joe is really good and that artwork is breathtaking. I must have this!
strade - 04.07.2012 at 10:41  
Any info on when the hard copy's coming out?
Pazdzioch - 04.07.2012 at 13:11  
I'm sold.
Mr. Doctor - 04.07.2012 at 13:54  
Written by Slayer666 on 04.07.2012 at 10:30

Hm... I was expecting a more ambient or keyboard driven sound because of that cover, but shit's still very nice.


I think the sound of the leads and guitar in general makes up for it... sounds quite "spacey and keyboardy" already.
Troy Killjoy - 04.07.2012 at 16:07  
Written by strade on 04.07.2012 at 10:41
Any info on when the hard copy's coming out?

So far it's only been released digitally but you can send an email to chrisATstellar-auditoriumDOTcom to inquire about a potential future hard copy release.
Oaken - 04.07.2012 at 23:21  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 04.07.2012 at 04:56

the occult atmospheric bands.

Like? (Occult is win, and atmospheric is win too!)
Narterath - 05.07.2012 at 23:37  
They have also released a split with Locust Leaves, released by Order of Theta. You can listen to samples from both sides here: http://www.orderoftheta.com/releases.html

You can also listen to the full Locust Leaves side, Promise, here: http://www.locustleaves.com/default.html
Troy Killjoy - 06.07.2012 at 04:34  
Written by Narterath on 05.07.2012 at 23:37
They have also released a split with Locust Leaves, released by Order of Theta.

I wouldn't be a very good reviewer if I didn't already have that lined up for a review now would I?
Lokaeda - 10.07.2012 at 23:36  
I don't know why, but I thought of The Disciples Of Zoldon's "Blackened Theological Tome" and of Krallice when listening to this album.
BlueMobius - 19.07.2012 at 02:10  
The CD version is available now from Stellar Auditorium for those who would like more than the MP3.
Oaken - 11.08.2012 at 00:35  
Dunno, but I found the first track a difficult listen. Up till 0:32 everything makes sense, but then, the melodies just go crazy... or is it just me?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Spectral Lore - Spectral Lore / Locust Leaves [Split] 9 07.08.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Spectral Lore - II 7 10.08.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums Spectral Lore - Sentinel 6 13.05.2014 by Erik M.
Reviews Cattle Decapitation - Monolith Of Inhumanity 5 09.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Alcest - Les voyages de l'âme 4.5 05.01.2012 by Ag Fox



Hits total: 6436 | This month: 47