Rating:
8.7
Wolves Carry My Name - Amongst Ruins And Ashes [EP]
20 April 2012


01. Ruins
02. Lupus Milk
03. Nineteen Stitches
04. As We Worship Their Shadows
05. City Of Knives
06. Ashes


Sludge metal, my favourite genre. Bands take influences from all types of music in sludge. They can be atmospheric like Isis or deathlike a la Horn Of The Rhino. My favourite variation you ask? Well… that has to be stoner sludge.

Wolves Carry My Name comes straight out of Germany, playing a fuzzed out sludge hybrid. Taking influences from stoner, and even a little bit of post metal, this quintuple really show what they are capable of on this 5 song EP. The instrumentation is harsh and full of groove, the vocals are more vicious than a 3 legged badger.

But there's more to it than just BALLS TO THE WALL 100% FURY!!!!11!1! Follow the music closer and you'll see those little hints of all those musical genres, the post metal in the riffs, the groove in the bass. All of this slowly works its way out into a full-on explosion of musical genius. Every member showcases their respective talent, whether it be slappin' the bass, pounding the skins or some other dumb 90's term for playing guitar or singing.

The music itself rolls in as if it were a steam engine powered train. The burly high-school grade school dropouts shovel piles and piles of coal into the burns, track one begins. The engine turns over as the machine starts to wake. The train now starts to roar just as Konstantin starts belting out the lyrics. Tracks 2-4 are now blasting out my ear drums as the train speeds ahead. The final track hits as the train starts slowing down and entering the next yard. Slowing and slowing… into an outro of samples and ambience…

The trip is done; get the hell off the train.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Wolves Carry My Name
Album: Amongst Ruins And Ashes


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 26.07.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 54  
Search this topic:  


R'Vannith - 26.07.2012 at 19:06  
That's quite a review and you've definitely got my attention, Isis + Horn Of The Rhino must be a hell of a ride!
Boxcar Willy - 26.07.2012 at 19:29  
Written by R'Vannith on 26.07.2012 at 19:06

That's quite a review and you've definitely got my attention, Isis + Horn Of The Rhino must be a hell of a ride!

Thanks! and I wasn't saying that WCMN sound like Isis + HOTR, I was just saying that sludge it's self can be atmospheric, or heavy and balls out.

That shouldn't deter you from listening, this is a great EP

http://wolvescarrymyname.bandcamp.com

free download, and I think they have some CD versions left, they're limited to 100, and they look like a vinyl, it's kickass!
R'Vannith - 26.07.2012 at 19:37  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.07.2012 at 19:29

Thanks! and I wasn't saying that WCMN sound like Isis + HOTR, I was just saying that sludge it's self can be atmospheric, or heavy and balls out.

That shouldn't deter you from listening, this is a great EP

http://wolvescarrymyname.bandcamp.com

free download, and I think they have some CD versions left, they're limited to 100, and they look like a vinyl, it's kickass!


Ah ok, so this is a bit of both (atmospheric and heavy)? Regardless you make it sound like some fun mixed sludge.
Boxcar Willy - 26.07.2012 at 19:38  
Written by R'Vannith on 26.07.2012 at 19:37

Ah ok, so this is a bit of both (atmospheric and heavy)? Regardless you make it sound like some fun mixed sludge.

The intro and Outro are pretty atmospheric, and the other tracks are great groove laiden stoner/sludge tracks.

It really is some fun sludge
tea[m]ster - 27.07.2012 at 20:37  
Too much southern-esq rock heard in this for me. I am not a huge stoner fan anyways. I do not want to be reminded of CoC & Pantera when I here sludge and post.
I like Wizard's Beard a bit more than this. http://wizardsbeard.bandcamp.com/album/four-tired-undertakers
JD - 18.08.2012 at 23:57  
I already listened to the EP, but well done with the review, I enjoyed reading it.
LordFezzington - 01.10.2012 at 00:08  
Listening to this now, actually finding the vocals a little bit irritating for some reason. Perhaps their almost grind-esque aggression is at odds with the slightly more laid back riffage? Not sure. Anyway, quite enjoying the total package. Likely closer to a 7, 7.5 for me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Extreme Noise Terror - Being And Nothing 6 04.01.2012 by ScreamingSteelUS
Reviews Wolves In The Throne Room - Celestial Lineage 6 08.06.2012 by Oaken
Reviews Wolves Like Us - Late Love 6 09.02.2012 by Susan
Reviews Carnifex - The Diseased And The Poisoned 6 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods III: The Deepest Roots And Darkest Blues 6 30.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 1959 | This month: 1