Rating:
7.5
Angelus Apatrida - The Call
30 April 2012


01. You Are Next
02. At The Gates Of Hell
03. Violent Dawn
04. It's Rising!
05. Blood On The Snow
06. Killer Instinct
07. The Hope Is Gone
08. Fresh Pleasure
09. Still Corrupt
10. Reborn
11. Hell Patrol [Judas Priest cover] [limited edition bonus]
12. Free Your Soul [Re-recording of 2007 album Give 'Em War] [limited edition bonus]


It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country. Yeah, we all know about the conquistadors and Franco and their current crippling debt problems, but let's be honest; of the large western European countries, Spain's the one that makes people in non-Spanish geography classes say "oh yeah, I remember hearing about that place once."

That could conceivably be changed by Angelus Apatrida in the future. The guys have chops.

Their last album from 2010 was pretty solid too so they took the formula they used for that, and then tightened it all up for this. Tightened the production, tightened the riffs and riff progressions, tightened the kit-pounding, and tightened the vocals. It's easily-digestible thrash executed real tight-like.

Nothing more, nothing less. It's a heard-it-before-and-liked-it-and-like-this-equally kinda deal.

It's mid-paced, Bay Area-esque, melodic thrash with some Overkill-like vocals that get a little harsh from time to time... a good thing, for the most part. And it's a good album too, for the most part. Worth checking out.


Band profile: Angelus Apatrida
Album: The Call


 



Written on 27.07.2012 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 140  
Search this topic:  


Valentin B - 27.07.2012 at 13:52  
AA is really starting to be a big thing, I remember in 2010 they were one of the very few metal bands that ever played in the Canary Islands, if they managed to get a following in a place where metal is THAT dead, they must be pretty huge in Spain.
K†ulu - 27.07.2012 at 14:03  
Barely escapes the realm of boredom; and nothing different from their previous album. I guess this album does not need more than 165 words to describe it...

EDIT

This is guy is right
|
|
v
Vombatus - 27.07.2012 at 17:45  
Incredibly popular in Spain, and incredibly overrated.

Some boring revitalist thrash.... I think there was only one memorable minute on this album.
Vikcen - 27.07.2012 at 22:21  
Quote:
It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country. Yeah, we all know about the conquistadors and Franco and their current crippling debt problems, but let's be honest; of the large western European countries, Spain's the one that makes people in non-Spanish geography classes say "oh yeah, I remember hearing about that place once."


Semejante cosa tan estúpida del típico niñato ignorante y maleducado estudounidense de 21 años que no tiene nada que ver con la crítica del disco (such a so stupid thing from the typical american ignorant ill-mannered brat of 21 years that have nothing to see with the review of the album)

"Let me give you my opinion about the album":





This album is AWESOME! totally recommended
wormdrink414 - 27.07.2012 at 22:58  
Wish you hadn't translated, I was taking the Spanish version as a compliment.
Troy Killjoy - 28.07.2012 at 06:14  
Written by Vikcen on 27.07.2012 at 22:21
patriotism overload

Keep your panties on champ, it's called a joke.
Vikcen - 28.07.2012 at 13:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.07.2012 at 06:14

The patriotism of the Canadian Troy Kill Joy comes to the rescue!! Oh my god


Just joking .
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.07.2012 at 17:58  
Wow, this has to be one of the most economical reviews I've ever seen on here. Only 165 words. Pretty sure there are staff picks longer than this
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.07.2012 at 00:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.07.2012 at 17:58

Wow, this has to be one of the most economical reviews I've ever seen on here.


Yet it is totally spot on
Troy Killjoy - 29.07.2012 at 04:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.07.2012 at 17:58
Wow, this has to be one of the most economical reviews I've ever seen on here. Only 165 words. Pretty sure there are staff picks longer than this

Aye, I could have easily doubled my review count had I cut back to under-200 word reviews. Gets the job done regardless - I was just always under the assumption that we had to write at least 250.
wormdrink414 - 29.07.2012 at 07:42  
Definitely one of those albums that just didn't make me think. Really well-executed, but also totally run-of-the-mill. Short of some out of place zoo animal or vacuum reference, I couldn't think of much else to add.
zavijava - 30.07.2012 at 13:48  
A que cojones viene eso de Franco y los Conquiitadores?
Marcel Hubregtse - 30.07.2012 at 13:55  
Written by zavijava on 30.07.2012 at 13:48

A que cojones viene eso de Franco y los Conquiitadores?


provide an English translation.
Vikcen - 30.07.2012 at 21:11  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.07.2012 at 13:55

Written by zavijava on 30.07.2012 at 13:48

A que cojones viene eso de Franco y los Conquiitadores?


provide an English translation.


Hard to translate, but with that expression he means (some meanings):

1. wormdrink414 said it, but it had nothing to do with what we were talking about.

2. it was not pertinent with the conversation or the context.

3. wormdrink414 said something completely unrelated to the previous topic.

4. Taking in account all these previous three things (point 1, point 2 and point 3): he said something completely stupid out of place.
enumaelis - 31.07.2012 at 03:45  
"It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country."
How do you think spanish people would react to a review that starts with this sentence?

Besides that, I agree somehow with the review, I think it's a correct album, well executed, but I have already seen that with early Megadeth, Death Angel, Nuclear Assault and Overkill, nothing new at all.
In spite of that I've attended to several shows of Angelus Apatrida and they were rather entertaining.
wormdrink414 - 31.07.2012 at 04:00  
Lesson learned. I'll make sure to insult the Portuguese next opportunity I get.
Milena - 31.07.2012 at 11:18  
Written by enumaelis on 31.07.2012 at 03:45

"It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country."
How do you think spanish people would react to a review that starts with this sentence?

With a laugh, because it's clearly a joke?
enumaelis - 31.07.2012 at 12:43  
Written by Milena on 31.07.2012 at 11:18

Written by enumaelis on 31.07.2012 at 03:45

"It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country."
How do you think spanish people would react to a review that starts with this sentence?

With a laugh, because it's clearly a joke?

Perhaps then the reason the 3 spanish people that commented here were a bit surprised with the review is about this "but let's be honest;" in the first paragraph, and sadly, we didnt get it as a joke at first, anyway, I'm not specially patriotic about Spain XD and besides that, I guess the most surprising for me is that about 10 lines -that is already few-, the first 4 are not at all related with music
Milena - 31.07.2012 at 12:56  
Written by enumaelis on 31.07.2012 at 12:43

Perhaps then the reason the 3 spanish people that commented here were a bit surprised with the review is about this "but let's be honest;" in the first paragraph, and sadly, we didnt get it as a joke at first, anyway, I'm not specially patriotic about Spain XD and besides that, I guess the most surprising for me is that about 10 lines -that is already few-, the first 4 are not at all related with music

Maybe they're just a bit new to the site, as wormdrink likes to joke around in his reviews and they probably haven't picked up on that rest assured, there's no national stereotyping/mockery going on among the Staff/Elite.
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.07.2012 at 12:56  
How can one not see that as a joke, those first four lines? Hell, even Ray Charles and Stevie WOnder could see it was a joke.
enumaelis - 31.07.2012 at 13:04  
I'm not new in here in my case, but dont know about users and their way of writing XD anyway, my criticism about this review comes from the short size about the other stuff, the other spanish ones that commented might answer better than myself, but I keep thinking that "let's be honest" stops a bit the joke. Anyway, I repeat I dont know the way of writing of wormdrink414.
Vikcen - 04.08.2012 at 03:55  
Quote:
but let's be honest; of the large western European countries, Spain's the one that makes people in non-Spanish geography classes say "oh yeah, I remember hearing about that place once."


How can one not see the stupidity and ignorance of this person.

People I'm just joking
MarioCalnSnchez - 06.09.2012 at 11:48  
Yeah, I´m from Spain and I´ve laughed a lot with this review.

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.

Good album from a good band. They have the spanish flag in the future of metal music in Spain.
Vikcen - 10.10.2012 at 20:39  
Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 06.09.2012 at 11:48

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.


Our country is full of bitter people?? , you're not talking very well about our country, oh, wait, you seem to be one of these bitter people .
MarioCalnSnchez - 18.12.2012 at 18:15  
Written by Vikcen on 10.10.2012 at 20:39

Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 06.09.2012 at 11:48

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.


Our country is full of bitter people?? , you're not talking very well about our country, oh, wait, you seem to be one of these bitter people .


No, I'm sorry you are wrong.

I have sense of humor
Vikcen - 21.12.2012 at 20:57  
Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 18.12.2012 at 18:15

Written by Vikcen on 10.10.2012 at 20:39

Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 06.09.2012 at 11:48

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.


Our country is full of bitter people?? , you're not talking very well about our country, oh, wait, you seem to be one of these bitter people .


No, I'm sorry you are wrong.

I have sense of humor


Sure.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Angelus Apatrida - The Call 7.5 27.04.2012 by Rulatore
News Angelus Apatrida - In The Studio Recording New Album 6 15.12.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Bonded By Blood - The Aftermath 4.5 03.10.2012 by Apothecary
Reviews Darkthrone - The Underground Resistance 4.5 03.03.2013 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Psycroptic - The Inherited Repression 4.5 14.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3519 | This month: 3