Angelus Apatrida - The Call review



Reviewer:
7.5

100 users:
8.15
Band: Angelus Apatrida
Album: The Call
Release date: April 2012


01. You Are Next
02. At The Gates Of Hell
03. Violent Dawn
04. It's Rising!
05. Blood On The Snow
06. Killer Instinct
07. The Hope Is Gone
08. Fresh Pleasure
09. Still Corrupt
10. Reborn
11. Hell Patrol [Judas Priest cover] [limited edition bonus]
12. Free Your Soul [Re-recording of 2007 album Give 'Em War] [limited edition bonus]


It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country. Yeah, we all know about the conquistadors and Franco and their current crippling debt problems, but let's be honest; of the large western European countries, Spain's the one that makes people in non-Spanish geography classes say "oh yeah, I remember hearing about that place once."

That could conceivably be changed by Angelus Apatrida in the future. The guys have chops.

Their last album from 2010 was pretty solid too so they took the formula they used for that, and then tightened it all up for this. Tightened the production, tightened the riffs and riff progressions, tightened the kit-pounding, and tightened the vocals. It's easily-digestible thrash executed real tight-like.

Nothing more, nothing less. It's a heard-it-before-and-liked-it-and-like-this-equally kinda deal.

It's mid-paced, Bay Area-esque, melodic thrash with some Overkill-like vocals that get a little harsh from time to time... a good thing, for the most part. And it's a good album too, for the most part. Worth checking out.


 



Written on 27.07.2012 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.


Comments

Comments: 27   Visited by: 161 users
27.07.2012 - 13:52
Valentin B
Iconoclast
AA is really starting to be a big thing, I remember in 2010 they were one of the very few metal bands that ever played in the Canary Islands, if they managed to get a following in a place where metal is THAT dead, they must be pretty huge in Spain.
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
27.07.2012 - 14:03
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Barely escapes the realm of boredom; and nothing different from their previous album. I guess this album does not need more than 165 words to describe it...

EDIT

This is guy is right
|
|
v
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
27.07.2012 - 17:45
Vombatus
Potorro
Incredibly popular in Spain, and incredibly overrated.

Some boring revitalist thrash.... I think there was only one memorable minute on this album.
Loading...
27.07.2012 - 22:21
Vikcen
Metálico
Quote:
It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country. Yeah, we all know about the conquistadors and Franco and their current crippling debt problems, but let's be honest; of the large western European countries, Spain's the one that makes people in non-Spanish geography classes say "oh yeah, I remember hearing about that place once."


Semejante cosa tan estúpida del típico niñato ignorante y maleducado estudounidense de 21 años que no tiene nada que ver con la crítica del disco (such a so stupid thing from the typical american ignorant ill-mannered brat of 21 years that have nothing to see with the review of the album)

"Let me give you my opinion about the album":





This album is AWESOME! totally recommended
Loading...
27.07.2012 - 22:58
wormdrink414
Wish you hadn't translated, I was taking the Spanish version as a compliment.
Loading...
28.07.2012 - 06:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Vikcen on 27.07.2012 at 22:21
patriotism overload

Keep your panties on champ, it's called a joke.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
28.07.2012 - 13:33
Vikcen
Metálico
Written by Troy Killjoy on 28.07.2012 at 06:14

The patriotism of the Canadian Troy Kill Joy comes to the rescue!! Oh my god


Just joking .
Loading...
28.07.2012 - 17:58
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Wow, this has to be one of the most economical reviews I've ever seen on here. Only 165 words. Pretty sure there are staff picks longer than this
Loading...
29.07.2012 - 00:44
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 28.07.2012 at 17:58

Wow, this has to be one of the most economical reviews I've ever seen on here.


Yet it is totally spot on
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
29.07.2012 - 04:36
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 28.07.2012 at 17:58
Wow, this has to be one of the most economical reviews I've ever seen on here. Only 165 words. Pretty sure there are staff picks longer than this

Aye, I could have easily doubled my review count had I cut back to under-200 word reviews. Gets the job done regardless - I was just always under the assumption that we had to write at least 250.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
29.07.2012 - 07:42
wormdrink414
Definitely one of those albums that just didn't make me think. Really well-executed, but also totally run-of-the-mill. Short of some out of place zoo animal or vacuum reference, I couldn't think of much else to add.
Loading...
30.07.2012 - 13:48
zavijava
A que cojones viene eso de Franco y los Conquiitadores?
Loading...
30.07.2012 - 13:55
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by zavijava on 30.07.2012 at 13:48

A que cojones viene eso de Franco y los Conquiitadores?


provide an English translation.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
30.07.2012 - 21:11
Vikcen
Metálico
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.07.2012 at 13:55

Written by zavijava on 30.07.2012 at 13:48

A que cojones viene eso de Franco y los Conquiitadores?


provide an English translation.


Hard to translate, but with that expression he means (some meanings):

1. wormdrink414 said it, but it had nothing to do with what we were talking about.

2. it was not pertinent with the conversation or the context.

3. wormdrink414 said something completely unrelated to the previous topic.

4. Taking in account all these previous three things (point 1, point 2 and point 3): he said something completely stupid out of place.
Loading...
31.07.2012 - 03:45
enumaelis
"It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country."
How do you think spanish people would react to a review that starts with this sentence?

Besides that, I agree somehow with the review, I think it's a correct album, well executed, but I have already seen that with early Megadeth, Death Angel, Nuclear Assault and Overkill, nothing new at all.
In spite of that I've attended to several shows of Angelus Apatrida and they were rather entertaining.
----
http://enumaelis.blogspot.com/
Loading...
31.07.2012 - 04:00
wormdrink414
Lesson learned. I'll make sure to insult the Portuguese next opportunity I get.
Loading...
31.07.2012 - 11:18
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by enumaelis on 31.07.2012 at 03:45

"It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country."
How do you think spanish people would react to a review that starts with this sentence?

With a laugh, because it's clearly a joke?
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
31.07.2012 - 12:43
enumaelis
Written by Milena on 31.07.2012 at 11:18

Written by enumaelis on 31.07.2012 at 03:45

"It's easy to forget that Spain's still a country."
How do you think spanish people would react to a review that starts with this sentence?

With a laugh, because it's clearly a joke?

Perhaps then the reason the 3 spanish people that commented here were a bit surprised with the review is about this "but let's be honest;" in the first paragraph, and sadly, we didnt get it as a joke at first, anyway, I'm not specially patriotic about Spain XD and besides that, I guess the most surprising for me is that about 10 lines -that is already few-, the first 4 are not at all related with music
----
http://enumaelis.blogspot.com/
Loading...
31.07.2012 - 12:56
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by enumaelis on 31.07.2012 at 12:43

Perhaps then the reason the 3 spanish people that commented here were a bit surprised with the review is about this "but let's be honest;" in the first paragraph, and sadly, we didnt get it as a joke at first, anyway, I'm not specially patriotic about Spain XD and besides that, I guess the most surprising for me is that about 10 lines -that is already few-, the first 4 are not at all related with music

Maybe they're just a bit new to the site, as wormdrink likes to joke around in his reviews and they probably haven't picked up on that rest assured, there's no national stereotyping/mockery going on among the Staff/Elite.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
31.07.2012 - 12:56
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
How can one not see that as a joke, those first four lines? Hell, even Ray Charles and Stevie WOnder could see it was a joke.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
31.07.2012 - 13:04
enumaelis
I'm not new in here in my case, but dont know about users and their way of writing XD anyway, my criticism about this review comes from the short size about the other stuff, the other spanish ones that commented might answer better than myself, but I keep thinking that "let's be honest" stops a bit the joke. Anyway, I repeat I dont know the way of writing of wormdrink414.
----
http://enumaelis.blogspot.com/
Loading...
04.08.2012 - 03:55
Vikcen
Metálico
Quote:
but let's be honest; of the large western European countries, Spain's the one that makes people in non-Spanish geography classes say "oh yeah, I remember hearing about that place once."


How can one not see the stupidity and ignorance of this person.

People I'm just joking
Loading...
06.09.2012 - 11:48
MarioCalnSnchez
Yeah, I´m from Spain and I´ve laughed a lot with this review.

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.

Good album from a good band. They have the spanish flag in the future of metal music in Spain.
----
We are the priest of the temple of Synix
Loading...
10.10.2012 - 20:39
Vikcen
Metálico
Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 06.09.2012 at 11:48

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.


Our country is full of bitter people?? , you're not talking very well about our country, oh, wait, you seem to be one of these bitter people .
Loading...
18.12.2012 - 18:15
MarioCalnSnchez
Written by Vikcen on 10.10.2012 at 20:39

Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 06.09.2012 at 11:48

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.


Our country is full of bitter people?? , you're not talking very well about our country, oh, wait, you seem to be one of these bitter people .


No, I'm sorry you are wrong.

I have sense of humor
----
We are the priest of the temple of Synix
Loading...
21.12.2012 - 20:57
Vikcen
Metálico
Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 18.12.2012 at 18:15

Written by Vikcen on 10.10.2012 at 20:39

Written by MarioCalnSnchez on 06.09.2012 at 11:48

I have to tell you that my country is full of bitter people that gets offended quickly, so let them drown in their own bile.


Our country is full of bitter people?? , you're not talking very well about our country, oh, wait, you seem to be one of these bitter people .


No, I'm sorry you are wrong.

I have sense of humor


Sure.
Loading...
12.11.2014 - 19:52
Spanishkiller
I swear to God I came here to know whether this album was worth listening or not...
Loading...

Hits total: 4812 | This month: 15