Rating:
7.3
Beastwars - Beastwars
May 2011


01. Damn the Sky
02. Lake of Fire
03. Mihi
04. Daggers
05. Call Out the Dead
06. Red God
07. Iron Wolf
08. Cthulhu
09. Empire


Beast Wars, not to be confused with the mid-90s cartoon, are a Sludgy Stoner act out of New Zealand, with Beast Wars being their first release.

Generally the songwriting approach of this act is to have some form of trudging riff paired with a gritty yet soulful vocal approach that at times almost sound like drunken mumbling by someone chain smoking three packs a day.

After a while, when perhaps the trudging is starting to feel tedious, the band goes Beast-mode with the chorus. The tempo is kept generally the same but intensity gets ratcheted up a notch or three.

Guitar riffs, previously muted, are unleashed… as are the vocals, which switch over to a powerful roar. Toss some wah-drenched leads into the mix as well.
The swell in energy is palpable.

Amusingly, while I grew to like this approach a bit more with each passing song, I felt the two strongest songs on the album were the last two, Cthulu and Empire, and they pretty much eschewed this dynamic.

Cthulu kept the slow, muted trudge pretty much the entire way, but the band managed to craft a creepy song about shipboard disaster which really benefited from the restraint. Probably my favorite song on the album.

Empire went the opposite route, dumped the build-up, and just pushed the intensity straight out of the gate and maintain. A great pick to be the closer, as as the song ended I found myself disappointed to be met with silence. That's a good closing track.

The band isn't blazing new trails with their tunes, but the tunes sound great. The guitars and bass are nicely balanced in the mix so you here both, along with clear vox and drum pounding. The mix gives the tunes more depth and power.

Enjoyable first outing from these Kiwi Beasts.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 10.09.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 247  
Search this topic:  


Coolingsrock - 10.09.2012 at 21:04  
I'll get the album and give er' a go!
MechanisT - 10.09.2012 at 21:53  
That's some cover. Interested to hear these guys.
The Voyager - 10.09.2012 at 23:13  
Best mid-90's cartoon. There is no argument.
BlueMobius - 10.09.2012 at 23:36  
Written by The Voyager on 10.09.2012 at 23:13

Best mid-90's cartoon. There is no argument.


Yeah, I was a little disappointed to find out this wasn't Transformers themed.
Spirit Molecule - 10.09.2012 at 23:41  
Nice to see these guys get some attention on here. I loved the album. The vocals were quite different and I enjoyed them. Some really awesome riffs on the album and the artwork is great as well.

If you want a sample of the album http://beastwars.bandcamp.com/track/damn-the-sky-2
Vermoorden - 11.09.2012 at 02:43  
Album was pretty mediocre imo....But the cover is epic as hell.
BitterCOld - 11.09.2012 at 03:01  
Written by The Voyager on 10.09.2012 at 23:13

Best mid-90's cartoon. There is no argument.


the funny thing about the cartoon was i was completely unaware of it and the line started off by saying the band name SOUNDED like it could be the name for a late 80's cartoon... fortunately i did a google search.
M C Vice - 11.09.2012 at 06:46  
Yeeesss.
WorpeX - 11.09.2012 at 14:48  
Joining the ranks of the many who came to this page hoping the album was transformer themed.

Also, lol @ M C Vice.
Ellrohir - 11.09.2012 at 15:00  
That great cover art makes me willing to listen to the album
Syk - 13.09.2012 at 15:29  
Fairly good review. I haven't given them my ears yet but it's nice to see that positive reception isn't just from local writers. Thanks also Spirit M for the link...
Edmund Fogg - 14.09.2012 at 15:11  
Oh yah Beast Wars finaly made it to MS. Thanks for giving them the recognition they deserve. And if you want a contender for Best Video of The Year in the MS Award, look at this bad boy.

Nickferatu367 - 15.09.2012 at 18:16  
Not gonna lie. saw this, thought "TERRORIZE!!!"

and was very much surprised and entertained by this!!!
symbolic_acts - 19.09.2012 at 02:49  
Great live video of them here!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Btg5TcsYUc

They've been working on a follow up album, which I'm hoping will make it out before the end of the year
A.Ghosheh - 23.09.2012 at 03:03  
Great album, loved it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Triggerman - Brand New Day 3 05.07.2011 by Being and Time
Reviews Ebonylake - In Swathes Of Brooding Light 3 16.11.2011 by silenius
Reviews The Sullen Route - Apocalyclinic 3 23.02.2012 by cobrapel
Reviews Ixion - To The Void 3 10.05.2011 by MechanisT
Reviews Amber Tears - Key To December 3 08.03.2011 by Mikyz



Hits total: 3633 | This month: 41