Enslaved - RIITIIR review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

681 users:
8.44
Band: Enslaved
Album: RIITIIR
Release date: September 2012


Disc I
01. Thoughts Like Hammers
02. Death In The Eyes Of Dawn
03. Veilburner
04. Roots Of The Mountain
05. Riitiir
06. Materal
07. Storm Of Memories
08. Forsaken

Disc II [limited edition]
+ Behind The Veil


From Viking-tinged black metal band to progressive super-heavyweights, Enslaved have constantly evolved with each release. RIITIIR continues the path of progression as it tackles the near-impossible task of following on from their 2010 masterpiece.

A mightily chunky riff leads us into the album at a steady pace, but it isn't long before the latest evolutionary step becomes apparent in the form of longer, more dynamic, more progressive psalms of extreme metal. RIITIIR is epic. Enslaved own the ambience with their hypnotic, landscaping riffs and excellent musicianship; be it an amazing, well-placed guitar solo or contrasting harsh and clean vocals. RIITIIR is an album to become truly absorbed into with such depth and fine detail on offer; in these progressive aspects the band have out-done themselves once more.

The album is so dense however, that RIITIIR is not an album that can be easily enjoyed to its fullest potential. The album is not as initially captivating as Axioma Ethica Odini, and can at first feel a little estranged or even alienating as it meanders from hymn to hymn. Enslaved have really thought outside of the box with this one, resulting in an album that is initially a challenge to digest - but given time does become clear.

RIITIIR has so many layers to explore, perhaps intimidatingly so at first, but once the layers begin to unravel we are presented with an amazingly dynamic, sonic experience well worth the time. The nature of RIITIIR might not make it as readily apparent, but it is as equally enthralling as the previous album with far more depth and detail. Perhaps alienating to some, but in this progressive vein Enslaved have become one of the finest talents, if not the finest in the field.

Unfathomably the band have created another majestic artwork of music. This one might take a little more time to digest and understand, but the evolution of Enslaved continues only into wonderful places.

-

Extreme Progressive metal
Nuclear Blast
Norway
Length: 1:07:13


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


 



Written on 26.09.2012 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 46   Visited by: 823 users
29.09.2012 - 02:06
neonxaos
I have only heard two minutes of Thoughts Like Hammers, and I am already in love.
Loading...
29.09.2012 - 12:33
IronAngel
I like the clean vocals here better than on Axioma, I think. They sound more effortless and free, as opposed to the somewhat strained approach on the predecessor. First listen in, so I can't really say much more.
Loading...
29.09.2012 - 17:10
Daniell
_爱情_
I've listened to the album 2 times so far. It requires a lot more listens. Definitely a lot harder to get into than Axioma.
----
Now loving:
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Cradle of Filth - Heartbreak and Seance
Dark Tranquillity - Nothing To No One
Immolation - Swarm of Terror
Loading...
29.09.2012 - 19:40
chthonianlakes
Enslaved never disappoints. They have a knack for creating easy listening metal that excites at every turn. I first saw them open for Opeth in 2009 while they were touring Vertebrae; I have been hooked ever since.
Loading...
02.10.2012 - 07:59
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I'm really liking Death in the Eyes of Dawn and the other tracks are growing on me too. I think I like the more subtle approach to this album, it reminds me of Moonsorrow in how some of it's riffs transition fluently. Some things sound awkward and meandering at first but it seems to make more sense with every listen. I don't think this stands up to albums like Ruun or Vertabrae, to me the best part of Enslaved has happened already but they are good at making music and this album is a pleasure to listen to more or less.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
08.10.2012 - 15:35
Oaken
Hipster
I usually dislike genres with the word Technical or Progressive, but there are some exceptions, and Enslaved is one of them. This album is extremely varied, it blends black metal textures with unusual time signatures and even some oriental touches like in "Death In The Eyes Of Dawn". The atmosphere is bone-chilling, and the instrumentation is very tight and well-performed, but it's in the clean vocals where this album shines brightly. Last time I've listened to Axioma was last year, but as I recall, I think the vocals improved a lot.
----
In that case, man is only air as well.
Loading...
09.10.2012 - 19:13
Philly_Boy
These are the best songs progressions I've heard since Starless from King Crimson
Loading...
11.10.2012 - 01:53
Reverend X
It didn't quite satisfy my expectations. But good effort though.
Loading...
12.10.2012 - 18:55
Merchant of Doom
Roots of the Mountain is just EPIC.
Loading...
13.10.2012 - 00:48
Ace Frawley
The Spaceman
Written by Philly_Boy on 09.10.2012 at 19:13

These are the best songs progressions I've heard since Starless from King Crimson


Wow, that's going back a bit! I think this is definitely a PROG ROCK album though.
----
The sun shines over The Fool...
Loading...
13.10.2012 - 23:15
Ottir
It's definitely good follower of previous release. The musicanship is better than ever, certainly worth these couple of hours to get through all layers of this album. But progression is about progress and they should move on in the future. Anyway i'm ok with this album even it's exactly what I expected. No suprices, just piece of good work.
----
Nothing is sacred.
Loading...
17.10.2012 - 14:14
Daniell
_爱情_
Written by Ottir on 13.10.2012 at 23:15

No suprices, just piece of good work.


"Forsaken" is definitely something surprising. And, seeing as it's placed as the last song, I suspect that it could be a hint about Enslaved's propensity for progress.
----
Now loving:
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Cradle of Filth - Heartbreak and Seance
Dark Tranquillity - Nothing To No One
Immolation - Swarm of Terror
Loading...
24.10.2012 - 08:28
Soulhole
Dude i don't know if i'm missing the ball or something but this album is boring. Oh well
Loading...
26.12.2012 - 15:20
s_t_s
Enslaved have such unique style, every album is a thick piece of vking/black art. I love this one as much as I love their other albums (need to buy Vertebrae sometimes, why did I miss this one ?)
Loading...
09.03.2013 - 08:56
innn
Is not good at all I've just listened to it last week
I don't get all the rave , let alone the rating this got here all I heard was something boring , monotony in long pieces that every other calls 'epic'.
let me tell you that I do not hold in any respect this album that sounded in almost every of its songs like a porcupine tree rip-off
if a song had 10 minutes length I invariably struggled not falling asleep in the middle fighting the sleep hard just to catch what can this music say to me
and I say all these disclaiming my sympathy for Porcupine Tree.
Loading...
08.04.2013 - 19:36
F.N.S.C.A.C
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.09.2012 at 22:20

In days like these... I miss ponderer.


I didn't understand this until I did some research. I then found ponderer and did rejoice for many days. I now agree, let us bring him back somehow.
Loading...

Hits total: 14543 | This month: 20