Gojira - From Mars To Sirius review



Reviewer:
9.2

791 users:
8.82
Band: Gojira
Album: From Mars To Sirius
Release date: September 2005


01. Ocean Planet
02. Backbone
03. From The Sky
04. Unicorn
05. Where Dragons Dwell
06. The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe
07. Flying Whales
08. In The Wilderness
09. World To Come
10. From Mars
11. To Sirius
12. Global Warming


Of all the young French bands Gojira is without any doubt the most promising and probably the most talented. Even if their first two albums were already excellent and even if we all know that a third release can be fatidic, it can also be a nice confirmation. It's a confirmation yes, a confirmation of all the potentiality of this amazing combo and it's not really surprising to see that all the media in Europe say that it is one of the best release of the year 2005. "From Mars To Sirius" is a mustů

As always with Gojira, you'll find one more time their really typical sound. I could say that it is a mix of Thrash, Death, with some really progressive elements and even some atmospheric touches. Actually it's impossible to do any comparisons. Gojira play Gojira's music but I saw them live several times and they were all super impressive every time, they are great musicians.

This album has twelve songs, and some of them are really impressive. "Ocean Planet" with its excellent melodies or the aggressive "The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe" with it catchy choruses are two good examples of the really high quality of this release. Evidently the other songs are really good too and the general atmosphere of this album is awesome. Like on Terra Incognita, there is something mystic on this album (the lyrics help a lot) and I really hope that you'll be lucky enough to discover them through this album and in that case, don't forget their previous albums.

With a great production, some great artworks and layouts "From Mars To Sirius" is for me the best release of the band. Those guys rock and they prove that they are one of the best bands that come from France. "From Mars To Sirius" is an excellent release and probably the best release of the year 2005 in France. Don't miss itů


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9

Written by Jeff | 29.11.2005


 


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 446 users
13.06.2006 - 18:17
Nightrake
This album is the shit, best album i've heard in a long time, i'll give it a 10.:banger:
Loading...
13.07.2006 - 19:20
_HIV_
The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe is realy an amazing song! otherwise gojira have never let me down!
gr8 review! gr8 band!
Loading...
16.08.2006 - 01:13
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
This album contributes heavily to the increase of paraplegics in the Metal community, and, consequently, the members of Gojira should be sued for making such an headbangable and mind blowing record.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
12.10.2006 - 00:35
Unholy_Emperor
Brilliant.
Loading...
11.11.2006 - 18:39
Darkside Momo
Retired
Yes, brilliant !
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
03.01.2008 - 23:25
Talvi
This guys for sure have listened a lot of SYL / Devin Townsend. Same grooving riffs, same vocals, even if they are very different. Seems promising
----
My account on other musical pages:
http://www.last.fm/user/Pozito/
http://rateyourmusic.com/~Talvi
Loading...
17.02.2008 - 23:30
Infurnace
Never really listened to this cd before, but I was curious, so I listened to it a couple of times, and I must say it is great! It has progressive parts, but also pretty aggressive and fast parts.
Loading...
17.02.2008 - 23:51
b0000mst1ck
eh, i liked the first two tracks and another one (forget the name ATM), but otherwise it isn't something i was able to get into. there are a lot of worse french bands out there so i guess it isn't that bad considering?
Loading...
30.03.2009 - 00:32
Dracius
I don't suppose any of you guys know who produced this do ya?
I need to find out cuz the guy's a god
Loading...
05.07.2009 - 18:41
In Bone Factory
First 5 tracks dont have much for me, but the rest is great(espicialy the songs: "Flying Whales" and "Global Warming").nice combination of music.
8/10
----
a hammerhead goobrian
Loading...
27.08.2009 - 08:55
ironmayder1987
Account deleted
I have this CD and can only say positive things about it. Nice one.
Loading...
14.09.2009 - 18:21
Shogun
Heh, whale metal.
----
U.S.A. for Satan!
Loading...
28.03.2011 - 02:54
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Shogun on 14.09.2009 at 18:21

Heh, whale metal.

----
forever bummed out
Loading...
14.06.2011 - 05:11
Siegreicher
One of my all time favorite albums! i really like their new stuff too
Loading...
22.06.2011 - 19:02
silenius
Just got it in the mail, it´s one of the best albums ive heard in a long time tbh. just simply awesome.
Loading...
24.03.2012 - 16:42
Haiwaan Das
Its like NASA Scientist trying to play Metal, Not at all recommended for Old School Fans.:mad:
----
Gr Gr Gr Gr Gr
Loading...
24.03.2012 - 16:46
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Haiwaan Das on 24.03.2012 at 16:42

Its like NASA Scientist trying to play Metal, Not at all recommended for Old School Fans.:mad:


I am an old school death metal fan and LOVE this Gojira album
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
24.03.2012 - 21:49
Haiwaan Das
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.03.2012 at 16:46

Written by Haiwaan Das on 24.03.2012 at 16:42

Its like NASA Scientist trying to play Metal, Not at all recommended for Old School Fans.:mad:


I am an old school death metal fan and LOVE this Gojira album


You will do good with mathematics.:beer:
----
Gr Gr Gr Gr Gr
Loading...
29.01.2015 - 14:30
Goat Pimp
Where Dragons Dwell... oh my, that is glorious. I think this sould be the anthem of humanity.
Loading...

Hits total: 9600 | This month: 65