Rating:
9.2
Gojira - From Mars To Sirius
27 September 2005


01. Ocean Planet
02. Backbone
03. From The Sky
04. Unicorn
05. Where Dragons Dwell
06. The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe
07. Flying Whales
08. In The Wilderness
09. World To Come
10. From Mars
11. To Sirius
12. Global Warming


Of all the young French bands Gojira is without any doubt the most promising and probably the most talented. Even if their first two albums were already excellent and even if we all know that a third release can be fatidic, it can also be a nice confirmation. It's a confirmation yes, a confirmation of all the potentiality of this amazing combo and it's not really surprising to see that all the media in Europe say that it is one of the best release of the year 2005. "From Mars To Sirius" is a mustů

As always with Gojira, you'll find one more time their really typical sound. I could say that it is a mix of Thrash, Death, with some really progressive elements and even some atmospheric touches. Actually it's impossible to do any comparisons. Gojira play Gojira's music but I saw them live several times and they were all super impressive every time, they are great musicians.

This album has twelve songs, and some of them are really impressive. "Ocean Planet" with its excellent melodies or the aggressive "The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe" with it catchy choruses are two good examples of the really high quality of this release. Evidently the other songs are really good too and the general atmosphere of this album is awesome. Like on Terra Incognita, there is something mystic on this album (the lyrics help a lot) and I really hope that you'll be lucky enough to discover them through this album and in that case, don't forget their previous albums.

With a great production, some great artworks and layouts "From Mars To Sirius" is for me the best release of the band. Those guys rock and they prove that they are one of the best bands that come from France. "From Mars To Sirius" is an excellent release and probably the best release of the year 2005 in France. Don't miss itů

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Gojira
Album: From Mars To Sirius


 


written by Jeff | 29.11.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 396  
Search this topic:  


Nightrake - 13.06.2006 at 18:17  
This album is the shit, best album i've heard in a long time, i'll give it a 10.:banger:
_HIV_ - 13.07.2006 at 19:20  
The Heaviest Matter Of The Universe is realy an amazing song! otherwise gojira have never let me down!
gr8 review! gr8 band!
Passenger - 16.08.2006 at 01:13  
This album contributes heavily to the increase of paraplegics in the Metal community, and, consequently, the members of Gojira should be sued for making such an headbangable and mind blowing record.
Unholy_Emperor - 12.10.2006 at 00:35  
Brilliant.
Darkside Momo - 11.11.2006 at 18:39  
Yes, brilliant !
Talvi - 03.01.2008 at 23:25  
This guys for sure have listened a lot of SYL / Devin Townsend. Same grooving riffs, same vocals, even if they are very different. Seems promising
Infurnace - 17.02.2008 at 23:30  
Never really listened to this cd before, but I was curious, so I listened to it a couple of times, and I must say it is great! It has progressive parts, but also pretty aggressive and fast parts.
Harbinger - 17.02.2008 at 23:51  
eh, i liked the first two tracks and another one (forget the name ATM), but otherwise it isn't something i was able to get into. there are a lot of worse french bands out there so i guess it isn't that bad considering?
Dracius - 30.03.2009 at 00:32  
I don't suppose any of you guys know who produced this do ya?
I need to find out cuz the guy's a god
In Bone Factory - 05.07.2009 at 18:41  
First 5 tracks dont have much for me, but the rest is great(espicialy the songs: "Flying Whales" and "Global Warming").nice combination of music.
8/10
ironmayder1987 - 27.08.2009 at 08:55  
I have this CD and can only say positive things about it. Nice one.
Shogun - 14.09.2009 at 18:21  
Heh, whale metal.
BoxCar Willy - 28.03.2011 at 02:54  
Written by Shogun on 14.09.2009 at 18:21

Heh, whale metal.

Siegreicher - 14.06.2011 at 05:11  
One of my all time favorite albums! i really like their new stuff too
silenius - 22.06.2011 at 19:02  
Just got it in the mail, it´s one of the best albums ive heard in a long time tbh. just simply awesome.
Haiwaan Das - 24.03.2012 at 16:42  
Its like NASA Scientist trying to play Metal, Not at all recommended for Old School Fans.:mad:
Marcel Hubregtse - 24.03.2012 at 16:46  
Written by Haiwaan Das on 24.03.2012 at 16:42

Its like NASA Scientist trying to play Metal, Not at all recommended for Old School Fans.:mad:


I am an old school death metal fan and LOVE this Gojira album
Haiwaan Das - 24.03.2012 at 21:49  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.03.2012 at 16:46

Written by Haiwaan Das on 24.03.2012 at 16:42

Its like NASA Scientist trying to play Metal, Not at all recommended for Old School Fans.:mad:


I am an old school death metal fan and LOVE this Gojira album


You will do good with mathematics.:beer:

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Gojira - From Mars To Sirius 7.5 28.03.2011 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Nashville Pussy - From Hell To Texas 4.5 16.03.2009 by Doc Godin
Reviews Symphonity - Voice From The Silence 4.5 21.08.2008 by Collin
Reviews Tribe After Tribe - M.O.A.B. Stories From Deuteronomy 4.5 29.04.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Coverslave - Killer Cuts From The Beast 4.5 08.11.2007 by



Hits total: 7758 | This month: 55