Pythia - The Serpent's Curse review



Reviewer:
N/A

34 users:
7.79
Band: Pythia
Album: The Serpent's Curse
Release date: February 2012


01. Cry Of Our Nation
02. Betray My Heart
03. Kissing The Knife
04. Just A Lie
05. Dark Star
06. Long Live The King
07. The Circle
08. My Perfect Enemy
09. Heartless
10. Our Forgotten Land


Pythia plays symphonic metal, and plays it really well. In fact I'll just say it: I'm loving this album.

So, why is this The Serpent's Curse so amazing? For one thing, the singer doesn't suck! She's actually quite good. Thankfully. Emily Alice Ovenden is clearly in possession of real vocal talent, not to mention actual training, a rarity in this scene lately. She brings an even tone, attention to style, personal charisma, and vocal control to Pythia. Outside of metal she sings professionally with the successful ensembles Mediaeval Baebes and Celtic Legend.

Musically, this album is bursting at the seams with passion and energy. This is serious music but it's also damn fun and the band is enjoying every second of playing it. I know bands record one instrument at a time while in the studio, but I can't help but imagine Pythia together, all playing at once, rocking out the entire time.

There are beautiful keyboards lending intense color and texture in which you could easily be swept away, and overall most songs are quite heavy thanks to powerful guitar work. The pace is fast and the hard-hitting drums gallop onward hinting at power metal roots. In fact, the songwriting is so interesting and well composed that plenty of progressive elements can't help but slip in from time to time. Words like "bombastic" could easily describe many of these songs, but they still manage to play with a wide variety of tempos and moods, making each song individual.

No, I'm not going to list any of the famous/classic bands in this genre and say Pythia sounds like them. They just don't. It's straight up symphonic metal but somehow they managed to not copy a damn thing from anyone else. Don't you dare miss this album, which they released on CD as well as gorgeous picture vinyl. Just how cool are these guys?! I bet they're so cool they carry flasks…


 



Written on 01.10.2012 by Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of sub-genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 256 users
02.10.2012 - 00:09
Dentura
Shadow King
Hmm, sounds interesting. I may check this out sometime. Great review.
----
...And so death to the falsity of thy former rulers. Thy kingdom of "heaven" burns in a field of fire, and Dentura is the one true God thou must yield thy hearts and souls to in absolute submission. It is his ultimate decree and will unto thee..
Loading...
02.10.2012 - 01:40
Evil Chip
Too "bombastic" for me
Loading...
02.10.2012 - 08:36
BudDa
I love this album coz of many things but above all the lyrics. I felt they were smartly and very intelligently written. Thanx for the review
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...
10.10.2012 - 00:05
jadawal
The start of the album sounds so horrible then the kick-in blows you away
Loading...
10.10.2012 - 02:02
Susan
Smeghead
I'm so glad you guys are liking this! It's easily my Symphonic Metal Album Of The Year so far. There are a few good looking ones yet to be released but Pythia stands a good chance of hanging on to the title
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
21.10.2012 - 15:04
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Who would have thought that after so many years after I said "goodbye" to this kind of music for good... This album comes out of nowhere and I end up liking it?
Songwriting folks... That's the trick.

Good review, I agree on pretty much everything. These guys have something special but I can't point out what it is... Like I said: Maybe it's just a GOOD songwriting and performance. The proggy touches here and there help a lot too. I don't love it as much as you but definitely dig it and that says a lot from me considering my opinion of this stuff.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.10.2012 - 15:15
Susan
Smeghead
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.10.2012 at 15:04

Who would have thought that after so many years after I said "goodbye" to this kind of music for good... This album comes out of nowhere and I end up liking it?
Songwriting folks... That's the trick.



Awesome!!! Oh wow, not what I would have expected you to say either. I just LOVE how such an excellent album of metal music can really transcend genres and reach any fan of just good music.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
14.01.2013 - 14:06
metalwolf
I simply love this album and this band. It's the 2nd band I have to thank Metalstorm for introducing them to me after Winter in Eden. It just shows that there are still jewels to be found in the symphonic metal genre.
----
----------------------------------------------------------
Cthulhu for President! Why settle for the lesser evil?
Loading...
26.02.2013 - 19:34
Rhiannon
Account deleted
I'm a huge fan of this genre, but this album was disappointing. Althought Emily's voice is really good, the songs are too short and straightforward for my taste. I prefer more epic music. The only song that really impressed me was 'My Perfect Enemy'.
Loading...

Hits total: 16908 | This month: 27