Rating:
10
Nevermore - This Godless Endeavor
25 July 2005


01. Born (The Retribution Of Spiritual Sickness)
02. Final Product
03. My Acid Words
04. Bittersweet Feast
05. Sentient 6
06. Medicated Nation
07. The Holocaust Of Thought [feat. James Murphy]
08. Sell My Heart For Stones
09. The Psalm Of Lydia
10. A Future Uncertain
11. This Godless Endeavor
12. Engines Of Hate [live] [Japanese bonus]
13. Beyond Within [live] [Japanese bonus]


They did it again. I assume this album was highly expected by about everybody who likes Nevermore. Those who hated the bad production and more straightforward thrash direction of Enemies Of Reality were probably hoping for Nevermore to take a step backwards and come back to more complex and subtle songwriting (although a few tracks such as "I, Voyager" were indeed complex). Those like me who liked Enemies Of Reality in spite of all its blatant little flaws wished they would not leave this new 'brutal' identity aside. I think This Godless Endeavor has the qualities to reconcile us all: Nevermore created again a great album, using bits of everything that made so famous and in the end released maybe not their best album - this is left to the appreciation of all of you - but, for me, the album of the year.

This Godless Endeavor starts out with a very strong opener. "Born" begins with a thrash/death riff and aggressive vocals of Warrell Dane before mutating into a power thrash song with a very melodic chorus that opens a whole landscape of new, unsuspected emotions. Final Product is probably the weakest song here, I just don't understand why they chose it as the first single. Understand me, it is not a bad song but somehow it doesn't match the greatness of the rest.

Anyway, this album is mind-blowing all along. The technical level of musicianship is extremely high. We all know that Jeff Loomis is a great guitar player, but with the adjunction of Steve Smyth things become even more impressive. Just listen to their amazing performance on the closing track, the epic "This Godless Endeavor", and you'll realize the band has finally found the greatest pair of guitarists they were rightfully hoping for. This song only justifies the purchase of the album. Everything Nevermore have to share with their fans can be found there, from arpeggios to furious thrash riffing, to mid-paced breaks and crystal clear vocals.

It has to be said that Warrell Dane's work on this album is probably his best so far. It might not be his most technical performance, he doesn't really use his high-pitched voice anymore, but I've never heard him so full of emotion (e.g. on "Sentient 6", the lines 'My children you are my army' and 'And their skies cry Mary' are heartbreaking and give me gooseflesh every single time I hear them). Speaking of ballads, "Sentient 6" and "Sell My Heart For Stones" are to be ranked up there with the likes of "Believe In Nothing", "The Heart Collector" and "Dreaming Neon Black".

And when Nevermore accelerate the pace, it is only to create the neck-breaking opening riff of "The Psalm Of Lydia". Everything they've touched on this album has turned to gold, be it the infernal heaviness of "Bittersweet Feast" and "A Future Uncertain" or the more desperate tunes of "My Acid Words" and "Medicated Nation". Again, the title track is so brilliant that there are no words to express it.

Even if I've tried to wait a few months before reviewing this album in order to let my first amazed feelings fade and thus to be able to propose a comparatively fair and objective review, I still can't find any flaw in This Godless Endeavor. Everything is so brilliantly done, so catchy and complex at the same time, that I now consider Nevermore to be part of the thrash metal hall of fame. I've not heard such excellence and perfection in music very often: This Godless Endeavor is indeed my favourite album of the year, which is why I rate it 10.

Highlights: Born, Bittersweet Feast, Sentient 6, The Psalm Of Lydia, This Godless Endeavor


Band profile: Nevermore
Album: This Godless Endeavor


 


written by Collin | 16.12.2005



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 35  
Users visited: 350  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 05.07.2006 at 22:29  
The first album on MS I see that is rated with a 9.9 and that deserves it. This one, my friends, is a g*dd*mn masterpiece. I had never heard of Nevermore before, and got it with a gift from signing in with some magazine, and I LOVED it from the first note till the last.

Oh, and you should some songs to the highlights. These:
Final Product, My Acid Words, Medicated Nation, The Holocaust Of Thought, Sell My Heart For Stones, A Future Uncertain.
MetalSpider - 06.07.2006 at 08:14  
Amazing album. One of my favourite albums!
Dangerboner - 06.07.2006 at 08:19  
I was completely obssessed with it the first month I got it, but unfortunately I overplayed it and now I can't stand to listen to it anymore. Nevertheless, it totally deserves a 9.9.
rebelos - 07.07.2006 at 01:52  
This Godless Endeavor is probably the best song
Darkside Momo - 21.07.2006 at 21:31  
Hum... Final Product weak ? I can't agree, but that my tastes after all.
And it is the best Nevermore album for me, because it's the one that can outrank them all on pretty everything (except, perharps, the pure emotion of Dreaming Neon Black).

Highlights : Born, Final Product, My Acid Words, Sentient 6, This Godless Endeavor
Talvi - 28.07.2006 at 17:22  
I'm trying to get into it, but I don't really like the two slow songs... anyway, it's amazing power/thras/progressive/whatever metal
PoloBulbe - 03.08.2006 at 18:36  
If you're a fan of nevermore you will be surprise of this masterpiece!!!! 9.9 exactly!!! not 10 because we can heard that a van lost a stick in sentient 6 . seriously the sound is great (more than the old "ennemies of reality" ) The songs are just amazing (born, medicaded nation, the godless endeavor bref all songs ). I'm really happy to see that nevermore staying a great band... For me it's the album of the f**in' year!!!
Ba'al Peor - 04.08.2006 at 11:12  
Great review which definately reflects a great album.
Thornman - 12.01.2007 at 21:38  
"This Godless Endeavor is a masterpiece!!!" This album is the REAL sequel to "Dead Heart in a Dead World" Every time when i hear it i have much feelings and thoughts about music and lyrics. I love this band and especially this record \m/ And i don't think that "Final Product" is bad... this is one of the best songs i ever heard

Highlights: All songs
Vranalalalalala - 13.01.2007 at 11:01  
Can't more agree about Sentient 6 . That song impressed me so much, specialy the lines you pointed out: 'My children you are my army' and 'And their skies cry Mary' .
My high list world be: Sentient 6 and Born.
And I agree that it is the album of the year!
Infurnace - 27.03.2007 at 22:30  
It absolutely is the best album of 2005, maybe even the best album ever. I'm still listening it every day. Great review, my friend!
__Az__ - 13.05.2007 at 16:13  
Amazing album, the vocals are amazing! I love the way in which it has a sort of power metal feel to it. The songs are all so catchy aswell. A definate winner.
Stigmatized - 14.05.2007 at 00:56  
Damn good album, and actually the only Nevermore album I've heard.
Lucas - 14.05.2007 at 17:12  
Written by Stigmatized on 14.05.2007 at 00:56

Damn good album, and actually the only Nevermore album I've heard.


Instead of flaming you, which would be right reaction, I shall say this to you: The Politics Of Ecstasy.
Stigmatized - 15.05.2007 at 04:07  
Written by Lucas on 14.05.2007 at 17:12

Written by Stigmatized on 14.05.2007 at 00:56

Damn good album, and actually the only Nevermore album I've heard.


Instead of flaming you, which would be right reaction, I shall say this to you: The Politics Of Ecstasy.


Ah, well thank you for following the path or wrong-doing.

I'll check it out ASAP.
Lucas - 15.05.2007 at 13:30  
Written by Stigmatized on 15.05.2007 at 04:07

Ah, well thank you for following the path or wrong-doing.

I'll check it out ASAP.


You better, cause I've put my life on the wage for you.
Demonic Tutor - 27.10.2007 at 05:58  
I'm having a total flashback moment on this album right now. A fantastic straight-forward masterpiece. Great review Collin, you said it all.
Dendr0id - 05.11.2007 at 17:23  
Great review, except that "Final Product" thing. In fact, i think, this is one of the best tracks here, with totally amazing guitar solo, maybe one of the best metal solos, i've heard.
BloodTears - 07.11.2007 at 14:20  
This is a perfect album, there's no doubt about it. Its flawless and a work of art. Every song has a very high quality, I dont even mention the solos here or the level of vocal delivery. The lyrics are so modern and in-your-face brilliant. They always made good albums but this one is a step forward and very hard to beat/top. Its one of my favourite albums of all time.

Cant say enough really.
Doc Godin - 27.12.2007 at 22:04  
I got it, yeah its really good, but I dont get the hype behind it, oh well. But its unique so I guess I can appreciate that.
Landry - 13.09.2008 at 23:58  
Born was the song that got me into Nevermore. Yay thank goodness for that!
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 16:24  
OOOHHH what an album!!! I love Nevermore. Especialy for their lyrics and the loneliness-feeling which they create on me!!! Bittersweet Feast is one of their better songs IMO. Also Born is perfect and so thrashy!
Maxx666 - 20.07.2009 at 22:41  
Written by Dangerboner on 06.07.2006 at 08:19

I was completely obssessed with it the first month I got it, but unfortunately I overplayed it and now I can't stand to listen to it anymore. Nevertheless, it totally deserves a 9.9.

I did that too, it's been played for more than 230 times in itunes but i still love to listen it.Its a thrash masterpiece after all:banger2:
Wyrd - 09.08.2010 at 04:22  
This album did NOT deserve a 9. It was good but not amazing. I personally thought it was a 6 or 7. But thats just me I guess.
Angelic Storm - 12.08.2010 at 13:11  
Definitely my favourite Nevermore album. There's not a single filler on it, and the whole album flows amazingly well. The addition of Steve Smyth also helps the album too. His solo on "A Future Uncertain" is one of my fave solos in any Nevermore song. I have severe doubts they will ever top this one. It will probably always remain their masterpiece. <3
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.08.2010 at 13:42  
@Angelic Storm, they already did top this one... with Dead Heart...
not saying this one is bad. Certainly not. It comes close second behind Dead Heart
Angelic Storm - 12.08.2010 at 17:03  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 13:42

@Angelic Storm, they already did top this one... with Dead Heart...
not saying this one is bad. Certainly not. It comes close second behind Dead Heart


"Dead Heart..." is indeed an awesome album. I only put TGE slightly in front of it because I think its a smidgen more consistent, but not by much!
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.08.2010 at 17:46  
Written by Angelic Storm on 12.08.2010 at 17:03

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 13:42

@Angelic Storm, they already did top this one... with Dead Heart...
not saying this one is bad. Certainly not. It comes close second behind Dead Heart


"Dead Heart..." is indeed an awesome album. I only put TGE slightly in front of it because I think its a smidgen more consistent, but not by much!


Dead Heart has one or two semi-fillers indeed, but the highpoints are higher, so on average a better album for me.
Angelic Storm - 12.08.2010 at 18:56  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 17:46
Dead Heart has one or two semi-fillers indeed, but the highpoints are higher, so on average a better album for me.


Yep, its the one or two semi-fillers that make me put "Dead Heart..." just under TGE. The highpoints on that album (such as the title track, "The Heart Collector", "We Disintegrate", etc) are truly amazing, and its definitely very close between the two albums even though I dont think TGE has any fillers on it at all. "Enemies Of Reality" is also a particular favourite album of mine by Nevermore, but again, a couple of fillers is it's undoing! lol
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.08.2010 at 19:20  
Written by Angelic Storm on 12.08.2010 at 18:56

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 17:46
Dead Heart has one or two semi-fillers indeed, but the highpoints are higher, so on average a better album for me.


Yep, its the one or two semi-fillers that make me put "Dead Heart..." just under TGE. The highpoints on that album (such as the title track, "The Heart Collector", "We Disintegrate", etc) are truly amazing, and its definitely very close between the two albums even though I dont think TGE has any fillers on it at all. "Enemies Of Reality" is also a particular favourite album of mine by Nevermore, but again, a couple of fillers is it's undoing! lol


Enemies Of reality is only good when you have the remastered/remixed version cause the original one is totally spoiled by the horrendous production.
Angelic Storm - 12.08.2010 at 20:08  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 19:20
Enemies Of reality is only good when you have the remastered/remixed version cause the original one is totally spoiled by the horrendous production.


I only own the original cd, and have never even heard the remaster. lol Ive heard a lot about the original production supposedly being awful, but it doesnt sound bad to me. Ive certainly heard albums with far worse production. But Id like to hear the remastered version just to see if it really is that much better.
Tomas Piller - 14.09.2014 at 17:17  
What an amazing music. Too bad for me i CAN'T stand the vocals, so sorrowful and powerless.
When listening to the album i see the singer harassed, lost and tired in the middle of a mighty thrash storm. Such an imbalance...
There's still a chance it can grow on me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2014 at 22:03  
I heard Warrel Dane's voice described as a lot of things but "powerless" was never one of them.
deadone - 15.09.2014 at 02:01  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 19:20


Enemies Of reality is only good when you have the remastered/remixed version cause the original one is totally spoiled by the horrendous production.



I only have the original and enjoy it thoroughly. The original production is not that bad IMO.
Collin - 24.09.2014 at 12:23  
Written by deadone on 15.09.2014 at 02:01

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 12.08.2010 at 19:20


Enemies Of reality is only good when you have the remastered/remixed version cause the original one is totally spoiled by the horrendous production.



I only have the original and enjoy it thoroughly. The original production is not that bad IMO.


I didn't think it was that bad either until I heard the remaster. Because there's actually A LOT of little things going on in the background, like little twists and arrangements, vocal layers and harmonies, etc., that you can't hear on the original. The remaster sounds way more complex.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nevermore - This Godless Endeavor 7.5 19.06.2011 by Bizzaremifo
Reviews Kill II This - Deviate 4.5 05.03.2007 by Rupert
Reviews The Aerium - Song For The Dead King 3 22.04.2013 by Melilac
Reviews Revenge - Infiltration.Downfall.Death 3 02.05.2008 by Lokomotiv
News Warrel Dane - New Solo Track Posted Online 3 04.03.2008 by Bad English



Hits total: 10034 | This month: 156