Rating:
9.0
In Flames - Clayman
19 July 2000


01. Bullet Ride
02. Pinball Map
03. Only For The Weak
04. ...As The Future Repeats Today
05. Square Nothing
06. Clayman
07. Satellites And Astronauts
08. Brush The Dust Away
09. Swim
10. Suburban Me
11. Another Day In Quicksand
12. World Of Promises [bonus] [Treat cover]
13. Strong And Smart [bonus] [No Fun At All cover]


Melodic Death Metal band In Flames returned in 2000 with a splendid rage materialized in the album Clayman. After the wonderful Colony, the Swedish band are back with a powerful release full of hits! Same line-up, but a slightly different recording sound, even more based on the tremendous guitar work of both Jesper Stromblad and Bjorn Gelotte. Anders Friden [vocals] is at his best level on this album from the first note to the last and the duo Peter Iwers [bass] / Daniel Svensson [dums] provide a strong rhythm background.

On Clayman, each track is something else but the highlights are clearly the raw 'Pinball Map' and the more melodic 'Only For The Weak'. My personal favorites are 'Square Nothing', with its acoustic beginning and 'Suburban Me'. But as I've said before, all these tracks are gorgeous. The cover 'World Of Promises' kicks serious ass and the lucky Japanese metalheads can listen to even more material [the usual Japanese bonus track...] with 'Strong And Smart', which could be totally part of the album as a "regular track".

However, even if the album totally rules from beginning to end, I still prefer their previous album, Colony, for a simple reason: Clayman is less diversified. For example, '...As The Future Repeats Today', despite the fact that it is a great song, sounds similar to 'Only For The Weak' in my opinion. Same thing with the duo 'Swim' and 'Brush The Dust Away'. But that remains a small drawback and it doesn't lower the musical quality of Clayman.

In one word, Clayman is terrific, even if it can appear "out of the path" for Death Metal fans addicted to the early works of the band. It could be labeled as "The Bible for Melodic Death" and that's obviously the album you have to pick to discover In Flames, even though some would prefer their previous effort Colony.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: In Flames
Album: Clayman


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 02.09.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


Muskot - 13.02.2007 at 23:56  
I can't really find something to argue about here; It's simply In Flames' best album. =D
Sunioj - 14.02.2007 at 17:12  
Great album, I think this album marks their gothenburg period.
iaberis - 03.03.2007 at 03:19  
Yeah, it was the first album I heard from In Flames and I really loved it. The cover art is terrific too!
BestMetalstormer - 03.03.2007 at 03:54  
Me too, first album of In Flames to me. Only For The Weak become my favorite lyric, Satellites an Astronauts has good guitar though its lyric is a little bit abstract. Strong And Smart is a very "blood boil" song to dance.
BlankFile - 05.07.2007 at 22:03  
This album was the last jewel that In flames released. From this point In Flames changed the sound drasticaly, creating a sort of New Metal Garbage... Bad influences i guess. Its a shame that such a band looses their identity.
Clayman is a great melodic release indeed.
Beerpiss - 11.08.2007 at 17:53  
The song is good
Mizer - 31.08.2007 at 20:52  
The best album of In Flames, no doubt about that! Not a single "bad" song on it....It's also true that it isn't that diverse. 9 is the exact right grade for it...
Zangah - 30.04.2008 at 03:25  
This is the flagship album. Thats the simple and honest truth.
BloodTears - 02.05.2008 at 21:02  
One of my favourites by them. Its not my all time favourite or the best by them in my opinion but I sure love it. Some of the best songs they ever wrote. Also I think its one of the best gothemburg metal albums, or as I like to call it, melodic metal of all time

Good old days.
Powerslavex - 08.10.2008 at 13:08  
In flames best !!!!!!!!!
Uirapuru - 09.10.2008 at 02:40  
one of the first metal albuns that i had listen. i have to listen it again, completly forgot that ''Subarban Me'' song i cant believe...
Deadmeat - 17.05.2009 at 13:27  
This may be in flames best album. nice review..
AceTrooper - 06.02.2010 at 14:22  
Definitely their best album...After it comes "A Sense Of Purpose" and "The Jester Race"
SunFalcon - 15.05.2012 at 21:11  
Best Album Ever!!!!
Paw!! - 03.05.2014 at 19:56  
Nice Review,"Clayman".yeah for each songs of this album is great.
That is tough!!. "Jester Race" album was more intense
deadone - 05.05.2014 at 03:33  
I never liked this one, primarily due to a change to a more shouty style of singing.

I prefer Reroute to Remain and the previous albums over it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews In Flames - Black-Ash Inheritance 7.5 05.07.2007 by BlankFile
Reviews Angra - Holy Live 4.5 22.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Demons And Wizards - Touched By The Crimson King 4.5 27.04.2010 by Uirapuru
Reviews Blackfield - Blackfield 4.5 26.04.2011 by Milena
Reviews Evergrey - Torn 4.5 04.10.2008 by K†ulu



Hits total: 8231 | This month: 71