Klone - The Dreamer's Hideaway review



Reviewer:
8.5

35 users:
8.14
Band: Klone
Album: The Dreamer's Hideaway
Release date: October 2012


01. Rocket Smoke
02. The Dreamer's Hideaway
03. Into The Void
04. Siren's Song
05. Corridors
06. Rising
07. Stratum
08. Walking On Clouds
09. The Worst Is Over
10. A Finger Snaps [featuring Doug from King's X]
11. At The End Of The Bridge


By now Klone has a defined identity of its own, and the Tool collage argument doesn't make sense anymore. At this point, the band seems more interested in expanding their sound and taking full command of the songs. And as far as titles go, The Dreamer's Hideaway is beautifully poetic.

The best thing about Klone's music is probably the hooks, the acid riffs, the heaviness, in short: the groove, and you know it's coming. This album takes that to a new level. The band is really effective at finding a good balance between the catchy and heavy, the soft and suffocating. But why is The Dreamer's Hideaway so captivating? Because of the perfect transitions and hidden boxes. While the style is mostly direct, the band adds the progressive metal influence and little intricacies building songs that mold and shapeshift. This brings something interesting to the mix and adds a level of unpredictability keeping you on the edge of your seat.

Klone really pushed themselves. The bass is very audible and present, which is a plus, and the songs are solid, even when the band is experimenting more. The entangled and elaborate sounds of "Into The Void" appear just as naturally as the epic grandeur and end-of-the-world feel in "Walking On Clouds". And Yann Ligner's vocals are like port wine, they only get better with age, being often what gives personality to the songs.

True, you could say that some songs sound samey in tone, but in this case that is just the recognizable identity of the band coming through. There is enough variety to make the album enjoyable and persuade listeners to explore its pockets of dreamy bits ("The Dreamer's Hideaway", "At The End Of The Bridge"). Besides these sophisticated nuances, it also has another great thing: staying power.

If Black Days can be considered the band's adulthood, The Dreamer's Hideaway would be their mid-life, but there is no such thing as a crisis going on here. And Klone, you have aged well indeed.

Written by BloodTears | 09.11.2012


 


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 199 users
09.11.2012 - 20:19
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Great album indeed... Some may call it samey. I call it consistent which is the key word for this album imo. There's enough variety to keep on interested.
I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good... If there's one thing I don't like about this album is that my favorite song is the first one but other than that this is a solid album and by now there's no denying that Klone has a sound of its own.

Thanks for the review, I really wanted to see this one on the front page.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
09.11.2012 - 20:46
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

Great album indeed... Some may call it samey. I call it consistent which is the key word for this album imo. There's enough variety to keep on interested.
I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good... If there's one thing I don't like about this album is that my favorite song is the first one but other than that this is a solid album and by now there's no denying that Klone has a sound of its own.

Thanks for the review, I really wanted to see this one on the front page.


"Rocket Smoke" is indeed very good but fortunately the album offers many other good songs. Also, my pleasure, I really liked the album
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
09.11.2012 - 20:51
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by BloodTears on 09.11.2012 at 20:46
"Rocket Smoke" is indeed very good but fortunately the album offers many other good songs. Also, my pleasure, I really liked the album


I started loving it more and more after seeing them live. That track was definitely one of the very highlights of that night.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
09.11.2012 - 22:56
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good...


Hahaha yeah I know what you mean. I loved his vocals in Mistaken Element, but this is just too much.

Crazy good album though and yeah nice review as well.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 01:10
Fallen Ghost
Metalhead
Saw this band as a warm up for Gojira, pretty cool! Awesome that they used a trumpet-thingy live (not sure if it was a trumpet but)
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 01:14
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Fallen Ghost on 10.11.2012 at 01:10

Saw this band as a warm up for Gojira, pretty cool! Awesome that they used a trumpet-thingy live (not sure if it was a trumpet but)


We catched the same tour then. To be honest: The main reason I went there were for the support bands, Trepalium and Klone. I like Gojira though, I'm just not that familiar with them (I've always been too lazzy to properly check them out). It looked more like a small clarinet though. It was connected to shitloads of synths and stuff. Fun to watch... Even with that on the stage the vocalist still owned the show for me.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 02:29
Fallen Ghost
Metalhead
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.11.2012 at 01:14

Written by Fallen Ghost on 10.11.2012 at 01:10

Saw this band as a warm up for Gojira, pretty cool! Awesome that they used a trumpet-thingy live (not sure if it was a trumpet but)


We catched the same tour then. To be honest: The main reason I went there were for the support bands, Trepalium and Klone. I like Gojira though, I'm just not that familiar with them (I've always been too lazzy to properly check them out). It looked more like a small clarinet though. It was connected to shitloads of synths and stuff. Fun to watch... Even with that on the stage the vocalist still owned the show for me.


Haha, I really loved his clarinet stuffs You should properly check out Gojira - L'Enfant Sauvage, it is great
Loading...
10.11.2012 - 21:59
Susan
Smeghead
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

Great album indeed... Some may call it samey. I call it consistent which is the key word for this album imo. There's enough variety to keep on interested.



Haters gonna hate. I'm with you! Klone is one of those bands who found a style that works for them and they live in it, but always finding clever new ways to use and explore their sound, never being samey.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good...


Word. I guess that would make me... "straight" for his vocals?

Excellent review of a beautiful and dreamy album
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
11.11.2012 - 18:58
Opethian
Killer review BloodTears!
Loading...
13.11.2012 - 10:07
JohnDoe
Account deleted
Finally a good album for me , a very enjoyable listen, a Tool-esque sound, but it's more than ok.
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 18:19
Darkside Momo
Retired
They've outdone themselves this time! Their previous album was quite good already, but this time, it's just much better - especially the vocals.
Great stuff!
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
16.11.2012 - 10:50
Spirit Molecule
spirit molecule
The album sounds better with every listen!
I hate you guys who are catching them on their current tour with Trepalium and Gojira. That is such a jizzfest! I wish they had done this tour last year, I could have caught it then :/
Trying to see if we can work something for them here in India. That would be tits.
----
If you never wake up from a dream does it become reality?

Last fm
Don't click here
Loading...
16.11.2012 - 11:29
BloodTears
ANA-thema
I'm glad to see some positive reactions to this album
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
17.09.2013 - 21:05
Monolithic
♠♠♠
How come I never checked out this album? :/

I'm already on the first track and it sounds like a promising album.
Loading...
17.09.2013 - 21:10
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Monolithic on 17.09.2013 at 21:05

How come I never checked out this album? :/

I'm already on the first track and it sounds like a promising album.


It's all your fault Nah, I hope you like it though.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
17.09.2013 - 21:27
Monolithic
♠♠♠
Written by BloodTears on 17.09.2013 at 21:10

Written by Monolithic on 17.09.2013 at 21:05

How come I never checked out this album? :/

I'm already on the first track and it sounds like a promising album.


It's all your fault Nah, I hope you like it though.

I'm still stuck on the first track. however I shouldn''t have false hope over all tracks becoming instant growers.
Loading...
17.09.2013 - 23:53
Darkside Momo
Retired
Quote:
Written by Monolithic on 17.09.2013 at 21:27


I'm still stuck on the first track. however I shouldn''t have false hope over all tracks becoming instant growers.

If you ask me both Rocket Smoke and At The End Of The Bridge are the standout tracks of this great album (certainly Klone's best, one they'l have a had time to top)
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
18.09.2013 - 08:14
Monolithic
♠♠♠
The album's definitely a grower.
Loading...

Hits total: 6370 | This month: 47