Bison B.C. - Lovelessness review



Reviewer:
N/A

17 users:
7.00
Band: Bison B.C.
Album: Lovelessness
Release date: October 2012


01. An Old Friend
02. Anxiety Puke/Lovelessness
03. Last And First Things
04. Blood Music
05. Clozapine Dream
06. Finally Asleep


Canadian sludge stars Bison B.C. released a record in early 2010 called Dark Ages. This marked a special moment in my life, as it was the album that really got me into sludge metal. After being a casual listener of sludge for years, Dark Ages welcomed me in to the gritty and dirty fold of the genre; it stayed my gold standard for a long time after. Two and a half years later the band returns with Lovelessness and they couldn't have picked a more fitting title.

It's much slower, colder, and more raw than its predecessor. There are some great riffs to get lost in but they just don't seem to go anywhere, they don't lead you astray down any new and interesting paths. They simply celebrate where they are and that's that. This static feeling sadly loses the groove for me.

Bison B.C. is no doubt comprised of some talented musicians and they probably couldn't release a truly BAD album if they tried. If you're looking for some nice frostbitten sludge then this will likely satisfy you to some degree. However, if you're looking for something special, something that'll burrow in your soul and stick with you, Lovelessness does not deliver. In that regard it feels like a step back for the band.

Some good news is that it seems to improve as it trudges along and by the closing track your opinion may be tempted to turn around. "Finally Asleep" is a rare beauty and blends a sadness with a progressively more upbeat tempo as well as some exceptional riffs. It's a song that makes me think, "nah, the album wasn't actually all that bad," and then I desire to listen again. Yet, it's a sharp contrast to the first track, so the magic bubble is definitely burst when you circle back around, but enough of it lingers that you're willing to wait for that moment again, since you know it's coming.

Ultimately this album is not bad; it's simply adequate. It seems to lack inspiration and in many ways that's even worse.


 



Written on 23.11.2012 by Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of sub-genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 134 users
24.11.2012 - 12:11
Syk
myspace/bonerama
Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise". Otherwise, good review. I might look into that Dark Ages... never got very deep into sludge, myself
----
death thrash death/doom/prog Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
24.11.2012 - 13:10
BloodTears
ANA-thema
I'm curious about this album. I will listen to it at some point but I can feel you were expecting a lot better it seems. That leaves me on edge
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
24.11.2012 - 19:42
Susan
Smeghead
Written by BloodTears on 24.11.2012 at 13:10

I'm curious about this album. I will listen to it at some point but I can feel you were expecting a lot better it seems. That leaves me on edge


Hey, whatever it takes!!

I still love this band so definitely check it out.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
24.11.2012 - 22:24
schizodelight
Written by Syk on 24.11.2012 at 12:11

Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise". Otherwise, good review. I might look into that Dark Ages... never got very deep into sludge, myself


Composed of*. I thought the exact same thing.
----
Prepare for unforeseen consequences.
Loading...
26.11.2012 - 05:03
Ag Fox
Angel No More
While I don't feel the same for Dark Ages, your description and feelings of lovelessness is exactly the same as mines, but you managed to put it into words, so well done!
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
26.11.2012 - 05:09
Susan
Smeghead
Written by schizodelight on 24.11.2012 at 22:24

Written by Syk on 24.11.2012 at 12:11

Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise". Otherwise, good review. I might look into that Dark Ages... never got very deep into sludge, myself


Composed of*. I thought the exact same thing.



FUCK.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
26.11.2012 - 22:57
wormdrink414
Written by Syk on 24.11.2012 at 12:11

Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise".

Argh is right. I mean, get with the times (of the 17th century) Susan, Jesus Christ.
Loading...
28.11.2012 - 05:22
BitterCOld
Gringo
Clearly singular syntax trumps content of a review.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
08.01.2013 - 04:22
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Saw these guys live opening for Shadows Fall. The bassist had three strings and James spat all over me while he was singing.


Awesome show.


Haven't heard this yet, but will do.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 18:45
Dogsbreakfast
These guys do an absolute crap job connecting with their fans by keeping their MySpace site outdated, issuing almost random Facebook updates, and making music unavailable for purchase on Bandcamp. But, if you are in the Montreal area, they will be playing Il Motore on April 27th. True to form, their show is not in the events calendar yet and it's not listed on this site either.

Il Motore will be a fantastic place to see these guys because the venue is about the size of a two-car garage. I saw Shonen Knife there a while ago and almost felt like I was attending a private show.
----
dogsbreakfast@hotmail.com
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 18:53
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Dogsbreakfast on 14.03.2013 at 18:45

by keeping their MySpace site outdated,

In all honesty, no one uses Myspace anymore. So why should they waste their time?
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 3591 | This month: 12