Rating:
N/A
Bison B.C. - Lovelessness
22 October 2012


01. An Old Friend
02. Anxiety Puke/Lovelessness
03. Last And First Things
04. Blood Music
05. Clozapine Dream
06. Finally Asleep


Canadian sludge stars Bison B.C. released a record in early 2010 called Dark Ages. This marked a special moment in my life, as it was the album that really got me into sludge metal. After being a casual listener of sludge for years, Dark Ages welcomed me in to the gritty and dirty fold of the genre; it stayed my gold standard for a long time after. Two and a half years later the band returns with Lovelessness and they couldn't have picked a more fitting title.

It's much slower, colder, and more raw than its predecessor. There are some great riffs to get lost in but they just don't seem to go anywhere, they don't lead you astray down any new and interesting paths. They simply celebrate where they are and that's that. This static feeling sadly loses the groove for me.

Bison B.C. is no doubt comprised of some talented musicians and they probably couldn't release a truly BAD album if they tried. If you're looking for some nice frostbitten sludge then this will likely satisfy you to some degree. However, if you're looking for something special, something that'll burrow in your soul and stick with you, Lovelessness does not deliver. In that regard it feels like a step back for the band.

Some good news is that it seems to improve as it trudges along and by the closing track your opinion may be tempted to turn around. "Finally Asleep" is a rare beauty and blends a sadness with a progressively more upbeat tempo as well as some exceptional riffs. It's a song that makes me think, "nah, the album wasn't actually all that bad," and then I desire to listen again. Yet, it's a sharp contrast to the first track, so the magic bubble is definitely burst when you circle back around, but enough of it lingers that you're willing to wait for that moment again, since you know it's coming.

Ultimately this album is not bad; it's simply adequate. It seems to lack inspiration and in many ways that's even worse.


Band profile: Bison B.C.
Album: Lovelessness


 



Written on 23.11.2012 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 132  
Search this topic:  


Syk - 24.11.2012 at 12:11  
Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise". Otherwise, good review. I might look into that Dark Ages... never got very deep into sludge, myself
BloodTears - 24.11.2012 at 13:10  
I'm curious about this album. I will listen to it at some point but I can feel you were expecting a lot better it seems. That leaves me on edge
Susan - 24.11.2012 at 19:42  
Written by BloodTears on 24.11.2012 at 13:10

I'm curious about this album. I will listen to it at some point but I can feel you were expecting a lot better it seems. That leaves me on edge


Hey, whatever it takes!!

I still love this band so definitely check it out.
schizodelight - 24.11.2012 at 22:24  
Written by Syk on 24.11.2012 at 12:11

Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise". Otherwise, good review. I might look into that Dark Ages... never got very deep into sludge, myself


Composed of*. I thought the exact same thing.
Ag Fox - 26.11.2012 at 05:03  
While I don't feel the same for Dark Ages, your description and feelings of lovelessness is exactly the same as mines, but you managed to put it into words, so well done!
Susan - 26.11.2012 at 05:09  
Written by schizodelight on 24.11.2012 at 22:24

Written by Syk on 24.11.2012 at 12:11

Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise". Otherwise, good review. I might look into that Dark Ages... never got very deep into sludge, myself


Composed of*. I thought the exact same thing.



FUCK.
wormdrink414 - 26.11.2012 at 22:57  
Written by Syk on 24.11.2012 at 12:11

Argh... composed of. You don't use "of" with "comprise".

Argh is right. I mean, get with the times (of the 17th century) Susan, Jesus Christ.
BitterCOld - 28.11.2012 at 05:22  
Clearly singular syntax trumps content of a review.
Boxcar Willy - 08.01.2013 at 04:22  
Saw these guys live opening for Shadows Fall. The bassist had three strings and James spat all over me while he was singing.


Awesome show.


Haven't heard this yet, but will do.
Dogsbreakfast - 14.03.2013 at 18:45  
These guys do an absolute crap job connecting with their fans by keeping their MySpace site outdated, issuing almost random Facebook updates, and making music unavailable for purchase on Bandcamp. But, if you are in the Montreal area, they will be playing Il Motore on April 27th. True to form, their show is not in the events calendar yet and it's not listed on this site either.

Il Motore will be a fantastic place to see these guys because the venue is about the size of a two-car garage. I saw Shonen Knife there a while ago and almost felt like I was attending a private show.
Boxcar Willy - 14.03.2013 at 18:53  
Written by Dogsbreakfast on 14.03.2013 at 18:45

by keeping their MySpace site outdated,

In all honesty, no one uses Myspace anymore. So why should they waste their time?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Bison B.C. - Lovelessness 4.5 02.11.2012 by tea[m]ster
Albums Bison B.C. - Dark Ages 3 09.03.2010 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Wilderun - Olden Tales & Deathly Trails 3 07.10.2012 by Rulatore
Reviews Doomed - In My Own Abyss 3 01.01.2013 by Susan
News Bison B.C. - Reveal New Album Details 3 10.09.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 2676 | This month: 67