Rating:
9.3
Kreator - Phantom Antichrist
1 June 2012


Disc I
01. Mars Mantra
02. Phantom Antichrist
03. Death To The World
04. From Flood Into Fire
05. Civilisation Collapse
06. United In Hate
07. The Few, The Proud, The Broken
08. Your Heaven, My Hell
09. Victory Will Come
10. Until Our Paths Cross Again
11. Iron Destiny [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Limited edition bonus]
+ Conquerers Of The Ice - The Making Of Phantom Antichrist
+ Harvesting The Grapes Of Horror

Live At Wacken 2011
01. Choir Of The Damned
02. Hordes Of Chaos
03. War Curse
04. Coma Of Souls / Endless Pain
05. Pleasure To Kill
06. Destroy What Destroys You
07. Phobia
08. Terrible Certainity / Reconquering The Throne
09. Flag Of Hate / Tormentor

+ Live At Wacken 2008
10. Violent Revolution
11. People Of The Lie
12. Europe After The Pain


Prior to the release, frontman Mille Petrozza claimed that Phantom Antichrist would be the "most epic" Kreator album ever. He went further saying that Phantom Antichrist is better than anything released by the Big Four in recent years. These words seemed to be empty rhetoric at first, but after being taken on the "epic" journey through Phantom Antichrist, the impression is that Petrozza and Co. have succeeded in fulfilling their promises.

The opening two tracks attest to Petrozza's words. The relaxing and soothing "Mars Mantra" slowly lures listeners in the same manner as "Choir of the Damned," creating a sense of serenity while listeners are completely oblivious about the mayhem soon to breakout. The title track blasts out from nowhere, catching the listener completely off guard. The song starts off with a shredding riff in a similar vein to the modern classic "Enemy of God," and maintains its ability to captivate by a memorable chorus and an epic solo from guitarist Sami Yli-Sirnio.

The intense and brutal aspect of the title track is further manifested in future live staples such as "Civilization Collapse" and "Death to the World." But the most pleasing aspect of the album is not simply the intensity, instead it is the epic melodies, guitar solos, memorable choruses and seamless transitions from intense parts to the melodic and back that create the greatest satisfaction. The listener gains a stronger understanding of Kreator's views about the current state of the world through the epic musical journey because the varied emotions at particular instances provide the incentive to think about the lyrics through a deeper and more critical approach. These incentives are to be best seen in "From Flood into Fire," a marching song about hope and unity. The mood goes from uplifting such as in the chorus and dueling guitar solos, to one of sadness and sorrow in the clean vocals. Another example is the skillfully and tastefully performed guitar solo by Sami Yli-Sirnio in "Your Heaven, My Hell," with the soaring melodies implying bliss and delight at the end of religious oppression.

While Kreator have explored the epic aspects extensively, it does not go off on a tangent and Kreator never deviate from their thrash roots. Mille Petrozza's guitar riffs are brilliant, contributing to the unrelenting nature of the intense parts, but also providing a solid platform for Sami Yli-Sirnio's epic solos and melodic leads. Ventor's drum-work are merciless to the ears when required by the songs and complement the songs extremely well when intensity is not the sole priority at certain moments. Mille Petrozza's aggressive vocals are as strong as ever, showing no signs of letting down.

Phantom Antichrist contains all the classic Kreator trademarks of crushing speed and brutality while slight alterations such as excellent epic solos and soaring melodies create the pleasing and inspiring sense of a being taken on a musical journey. Kreator kept the balance between maintaining heaviness and having epic melodic moments extremely well considering the breadth of the music. Indeed, Phantom Antichrist is the "most epic" Kreator album ever, given the variety of emotions contained and the seamless transitions between the extremes of these emotions that make it stand out from the latest offerings from the Big Four.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Kreator
Album: Phantom Antichrist


 


written by TerrorZone | 02.12.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Demonic Tutor

Rating:
8.4
Kreator! Aaaaaaahhhhh! That is all I need to state to introduce this review. 13th studio album from the reigning kings of Teutonic Thrash Metal and rightfully regarded as one of the most respected Metal bands of all time. Anybody wants to disagree with that? I thought not. It is refreshing to see a musical style best known for its impact on the 1990s still being alive and well in 2012.

Read more ››
published 16.06.2013 | Comments (4)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 129  
Search this topic:  


Ace Frawley - 02.12.2012 at 11:09  
Good review, agree entirely with your thoughts about the album. I've been listening to it solidly for the past week and have been enjoying it more with each listen. Love the guitar solo in "Your Heaven, My Hell". K1ck-&rse album all round.
Zaphod - 02.12.2012 at 12:33  
I think this album is utterly boring except for the title track. After that it just goes downhill into a mess of cheese and cliche with some rare likable moments that, apparently, aren't likable enough because I don't remember any particular moment I enjoyed, even though I only bought the album a couple of months back.
Kub - 02.12.2012 at 19:08  
I don't know, the album is weaker than "Hordes of chaos" for me - less intense, less interesting musically, it's ok I guess, but nothing special. It's just more of the same from Kreator, who basically stopped developping after "Endorama" and are just rehashing old ideas over and over again. The review reads as if written by somebody who is a relatively new fan and did not have a chance to listen to Kreator in the 80s and 90s. Sure, if Kreator is a new band for you then the album is pretty good. But if you have been listening to them for 25 years like me then it's just ok.
TerrorZone - 03.12.2012 at 00:07  
Written by Kub on 02.12.2012 at 19:08

I don't know, the album is weaker than "Hordes of chaos" for me - less intense, less interesting musically, it's ok I guess, but nothing special. It's just more of the same from Kreator, who basically stopped developping after "Endorama" and are just rehashing old ideas over and over again.The review reads as if written by somebody who is a relatively new fan and did not have a chance to listen to Kreator in the 80s and 90s. Sure, if Kreator is a new band for you then the album is pretty good. But if you have been listening to them for 25 years like me then it's just ok.


I agree that it is less intense than HOC, but for me HOC had a different approach being raw and more 'improvised' than Phantom Antichrist being polished. HOC is a very good album but it had some weaker songs around the middle - end of album.

I wasn't around in the 80s for sure, but I have listened to all of Kreator's albums many times. Coma of Souls is my favorite Kreator album, I also enjoy Extreme Aggression and Pleasure to Kill, etc from the 80s.

When I listened to Phantom Antichrist, I wasn't too sure about the 'epic' direction taken. But I guess it took some time to 'get into the album.' Compared to the 80s stuff, its definitely not as intense as PTK. Even compared to Enemy of God, it may have deviated too much in the melodic or epic direction for some fans.

But no one really expects Kreator to go full out thrash metal, they've taken a more melodic approach on their thrash albums since Violent Revolution. So, I guess Phantom Antichrist is another step for Kreator and I am satisfied with the outcome.
Ace Frawley - 03.12.2012 at 13:11  
Was just thinking about your last statement about the album being a stand out compared to any of the lastest offerings from The Big Four and from my perspective, I think that Worship Music by Anthrax was a very good album and worthy of a similar rating.
Marcel Hubregtse - 03.12.2012 at 13:14  
Written by Ace Frawley on 03.12.2012 at 13:11

Was just thinking about your last statement about the album being a stand out compared to any of the lastest offerings from The Big Four and from my perspective, I think that Worship Music by Anthrax was a very good album and worthy of a similar rating.


Worship Music very good. My God, okay it was better than latest offerings by Megadeth and Metallica, but that wasn't hard. Slayer's latest is vastly superior to the mediocriy which is Worship Music.
mojo - 03.12.2012 at 17:50  
The one moment that ruined this album for me...

From "From Flood Into Fire":

I don't know who I should belong to
All I know is that I don't belong
So if you feel the same that I have always felt.....


!?!?WHY DOESN'T HE SING "....the same as I do"??

It rhymes, it scans, AND IT'S OBVIOUS but instead we have this totally immersion breaking cacky mess "...that I have always felt..." - The first time I got that truly fail line, I laughed. Now it really hurts my brain every time I hear it.

Otherwise, I like this album and it's i think it's Kreator's best for a long time.
Ace Frawley - 05.12.2012 at 04:22  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 03.12.2012 at 13:14

Worship Music very good. My God, okay it was better than latest offerings by Megadeth and Metallica, but that wasn't hard. Slayer's latest is vastly superior to the mediocriy which is Worship Music.


Agree that it wasn't difficult to be better than the latest offerings from Megadeth and Metallica but I really like Worship Music and I also like World Painted Blood. Both good albums but quite different.
matai65 - 28.12.2012 at 06:27  
Ive been listening to Kreator for a long time(i even remember getting Endless pain on vinyl when it first came out all those years ago!)
and at first i wasnt to sure about this.After quite a few listens i really like it.Ok its mellowish in places but somehow it works for me,i like it better than some of their 90's albums like Renewal.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kreator - Phantom Antichrist 7 16.06.2013 by Vykintas
Reviews Kreator - Endorama 6 27.01.2012 by DerRozzengarten
News Kreator - Unveil Phantom Antichrist Limited Edition Artwork 6 21.03.2012 by yanivush147
Albums Kreator - Phantom Antichrist [Single] 6 22.04.2012 by Haiwaan Das
Lists Kreator - Best To Worst 3.5 21.07.2012 by Syk



Hits total: 2879 | This month: 1