Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin IV review



Reviewer:
10

974 users:
9.11
Band: Led Zeppelin
Album: Led Zeppelin IV
Release date: November 1971


01. Black Dog
02. Rock And Roll
03. The Battle Of Evermore
04. Stairway To Heaven
05. Misty Mountain Hop
06. Four Sticks
07. Going To California
08. When The Levee Breaks


It's an actual challenge to review an album like this one, a classic album made by one of those unforgettable bands, so I swear I'll do my best.

Led Zeppelin released this jewel in 1971 (November 8th to be precise). It's a marvelous album, every song featured here is just incredible, we have the memorable "Black Dog," the classic "Rock & Roll" (we can even hear this song in the Super Bowl specials), the aggressive "Misty Mountain Hop," the mystic "When The Levee Breaks," the catchy "Four Sticks" and well…"Stairway To Heaven."

The album opener is "Black Dog," this song has one of the most amazing riffs performed by none other than Jimmy Page. The song is entertaining as hell, a true classic filled with short (yet incredible) lyrical pauses and the memorable Oh-Oh bit (1:28), this track is complex from the beginning to the end. Plant here has a lot of "Janis Joplin" undertones (which are great by the way), Page is amazing as always, and Bonham presents incredible beats and amazing irregular tempo.

There's no possible way to remark only one song, so I'll write about another classic piece called simply "Rock & Roll," this particular song gave R&B a whole new meaning, yes the who had "Behind Blue Eyes", and yes a lot of bands had amazing songs, but this particular one, written by Page & Plant, preserved everything Hard Rock, Blues and early Metal had to offer: aggressive spirit mixed with harmonious feelings. "Rock & Roll" starts with a quick drumming, then the main riff appears, this riff is now everywhere (Movies, TV Series, etc…) and then the song actually explodes with a Page Solo. The twists are everywhere throughout the song, and the main bridge (2:15) sounds overwhelming.

Then we have "Stairway To Heaven," this song is now one of the most respected songs in music history (along with "All You Need Is Love," "Jumping Jack Flash" and "You Really Got Me"), the song starts with a melodic arpeggio, then a harmonious instrument comes in setting the tragic atmosphere. Plant offers an amazing vocal performance.

A lot of people say… "Stairway To Heaven" is so overrated, Zeppelin has better songs dude…well, Stairway To Heaven is actually not the best Zeppelin song I know, but musically speaking it's enormous, this track features more than 13 progressions per instrument in only 8 minutes of music; I know Yes, Alan Parsons Project, and such bands had more progressions than only 13 per instrument, but those bands needed more than 18 minutes of song to reach this number of progressions, so this is one of the main reasons "Stairway To Heaven" deserves respect. I won't say more, we all know this song, we all have our opinions about this classic tune, so make a fair judgment.

We, as Metal fans, must hear this album, not only due to it's greatness, also because this album influenced at least 5 of our favorite bands.

Written by Herzebeth | 31.12.2005


 


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 49   Visited by: 323 users
20.05.2008 - 11:36
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 20.05.2008 at 09:44

Written by Guest on 02.05.2008 at 06:55

pyroleprechaun: Bugger off.

totaliteraliter: Note that I siad 'I actually think', not 'know'. And I am less interested in the rotation of Rock radio then I am in the quality of the music. And as it stands, Zeppelins music just does more for me then DP, period. This is nothing more then personal preference and I never exceded my opinion above anyone elses and I have no problem if you think less favourably of IV then I do. Is that good enough?

PS: To the next person who opens the dictionary on me, I'll verbally scewer you worse then a Cannibal Corpse song performed drunk. Clear?

Um, that's skewer.

Okay, you can let me have it now... but just for the record I never opened a dictionary.


Not only is it skewer it's also worse thAn
and no dicitonary needed for that either
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
20.05.2008 - 13:50
Dominique
Account deleted
Bullshit ? What a subjective point of view. I disagreed with you. In my opinion, Stairway To Heaven is the one of most important track on the Led Zeppelin's History.
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 13:53
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Guest on 20.05.2008 at 13:50

Bullshit ? What a subjective point of view. I disagreed with you. In my opinion, Stairway To Heaven is the one of most important track on the Led Zeppelin's History.


and mosut overated too, ewery body knows it but not all knows for example ''That's The Way'' and its my fav Led Zep song since I hear it in childood in old tapes
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 16:35
Dominique
Account deleted
My comment is associated with the album of Led Zeppelin IV. Not III or Led Zeppelin's all of career life. If I am not mistaken, That's The Way is take part in the Led Zeppelin III. In addition to, it is a very good composition.

I like Stairway To Heaven, not to mention Kashmir with Immirgant Song.
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 16:47
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Guest on 20.05.2008 at 16:35

My comment is associated with the album of Led Zeppelin IV. Not III or Led Zeppelin's all of career life. If I am not mistaken, That's The Way is take part in the Led Zeppelin III. In addition to, it is a very good composition.

I like Stairway To Heaven, not to mention Kashmir with Immirgant Song.


I know but from this album werry underated are Going To California, that song are werry good but Black Dog and Rock n Roll are awsoem too
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 19:12
Samuel550
Account deleted
Harmonic and Marcel H: Again, fuck off. I make no apologies, especially regarding my typos.
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 22:04
Harmonic
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 20.05.2008 at 19:12

Harmonic and Marcel H: Again, fuck off. I make no apologies, especially regarding my typos.

And I make no apologies, especially regarding my correction of spelling mistakes. Congratulations, it looks like you're learning already!

Now to get things back on topic: Led Zeppelin IV is a riot. I don't understand how anyone could have a problem with the album. Stairway To Heaven is an undeniable masterpiece, and the rest of the album is just icing on the cake.
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 23:46
Freezer
I think it is a very good album, but not the best they've done. Probably I and II are better composed than this one, I would not give it a 9.9, maybe it's too much
----
We fly through this godless endeavor, we try to explain the black forever
Loading...
21.05.2008 - 07:13
Samuel550
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 20.05.2008 at 22:04

Written by Guest on 20.05.2008 at 19:12

Harmonic and Marcel H: Again, fuck off. I make no apologies, especially regarding my typos.

And I make no apologies, especially regarding my correction of spelling mistakes. Congratulations, it looks like you're learning already!


Well whoop-die-fucking-doo for you, I just happen not to give a steaming shit, frankly.

Now, for the 100th time, fuck off you emasculating little maggot..
Loading...
28.04.2009 - 00:25
HALOOOOOOOO
Account deleted
This is Zeppelin's best album. And that's saying something since they're all amazing (save for their last one).
Loading...
06.08.2010 - 20:48
fosi
A classic album,especially Plant sounds amazing,as always!!!
Loading...
13.12.2012 - 23:28
Jaeryd
Desert Mouse
My favorites are definitely Stairway to Heaven and When the Levee Breaks. Good. Definitely good.
----
"It is not your sin—it is your self-satisfaction that crieth unto heaven; your very sparingness in sin crieth unto heaven!

Where is the lightning to lick you with its tongue? Where is the frenzy with which ye should be inoculated?"

Loading...
16.08.2013 - 05:07
IH8Hipsters
Anyone that thinks this albums sucks simply is being close minded. If you don't like the style that's cool, but making incendiary comments about how it sucks etc. is ignorant. Zeppelin was a truly ground breaking and original band. One of greatest ever in any era or genre. I'm am a die hard metal-head, but I still listen to Zeppelin's catalog regularly. There is no mistaking their talents and this album is no exception. I also recognize talents of bands I don't like or listen to like Nile, Carcass, Six Feet Under, Agalloch, Amon Amarth and many more. Just because I cant get into a sound doesn't mean it's crap. I love music and any music lover has to respect this album. For me it's a masterclass like most of Zeppelin's albums.
Loading...
16.08.2013 - 13:52
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by IH8Hipsters on 16.08.2013 at 05:07

Anyone that thinks this albums sucks simply is being close minded.


And how is that close-minded? Please look up the meaning of the word close-minded in the dictionary
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
16.08.2013 - 23:50
Ace Frawley
The Spaceman
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.08.2013 at 13:52

Written by IH8Hipsters on 16.08.2013 at 05:07

Anyone that thinks this albums sucks simply is being close minded.


And how is that close-minded? Please look up the meaning of the word close-minded in the dictionary


Yeah, surely having your own personal opinion of an album, be it positive or negative or anywhere in between, is clearly just a normal, natural thing.
----
The sun shines over The Fool...
Loading...
17.08.2013 - 05:25
IH8Hipsters
I think you get my point. Picking apart the meaning of a word in a dictionary and not addressing the greater point of my post is clearly avoiding my post so why did you respond? I used the wrong term, but what are your thoughts on Zeppelin IV?
Loading...
17.08.2013 - 12:48
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Zeppelin IV is a good album. But Led Zeppelin has recorded better albums.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
17.08.2013 - 13:24
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by IH8Hipsters on 17.08.2013 at 05:25

I think you get my point. Picking apart the meaning of a word in a dictionary and not addressing the greater point of my post is clearly avoiding my post so why did you respond? I used the wrong term, but what are your thoughts on Zeppelin IV?

Your point was effectively: if you don't like this album then your opinion is incorrect.

Your point was an attack on people, not a comment on how good this album (supposedly) is. That was merely a subtext. There's nothing to pick apart here as your meaning was plain as day as it wasn't a misused word rather an entire turn of phrase (and a huge generalisation).

Actually now I see your whole comment, not just the bit Marcel quoted, and you did expand on it slightly, though the closed minded comments still stand.
Loading...
22.07.2015 - 01:29
Bad English
Masterchief
This band came in right time, Idont think if they new band now, they wont get far .,... ever today band hmmmm would be bigger in those days .. even Immortal or Mayhem would be millionars and sold so many albums if they came t that time (maybe no so much, but much more)
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 7082 | This month: 27