Rating:
8.7
Pallbearer - Sorrow And Extinction
21 February 2012


01. Foreigner
02. Devoid Of Redemption
03. The Legend
04. An Offering Of Grief
05. Given To The Grave


Lyrics written by Brett Campbell (all) and Joseph D. Rowland (1, 5).
Chuck Schaaf credited as a drummer, but he did not take part in the recording of this album.
Mastered at Resonance Sound.
Released by Profound Lore Records on Digipack CD (cat. # PFL089).


And here we have a nice post-modern piece of doom metal. This piece was written and recorded by a quartet from Little Rock, Arkansas named Pallbearer. It was released in the early months of 2012. They say this beautiful piece was created with the mindset that all is lost, and that hope is a pointless fallacy. They say that all your dreams fade away as soon as you take a listen, your aspirations to achieve, your hopes of a better life, with a new career and a family. They say all of that disappears.

Everything they say is true.

This slab of traditional doom took up base, swung, and shot all of my expectations out of the park. The first acoustic intro shows the listener what the rest of the album will achieve. The emptiness and slow notes bring to life the thoughts of sadness that the musicians feel every day. The first riff crashes in like the waves of a tsunami. The heaviness combined with a sorrowful melody creates an atmosphere unmatched by anything I've heard in a very, very long time.

The entire album continues in this fashion. A variety of riffs, that range from slow, heavy chugs that hit like a freight train, to vibrato solos and melodies that kill my soul (in a good, doom way). Fuzzy bass brings a warm feeling to the sound, like the numbness that sets in after you've been out in the cold too long. This is all aided by the wonderful voice of Brett Campbell. His voice fits the music perfectly, like Cinderella and her glass slipper; the woeful vocals add another level to this already down and depressing combination.

This is definitely one that should be on your 2012 lists people. Get at it.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 


written by BoxCar Willy | 02.01.2013



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 30  
Users visited: 317  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 02.01.2013 at 00:17  
Meh, their demo was incredible and got my hopes up a lot for this, which in the end I found very under par.
Susan - 02.01.2013 at 00:17  
One of the best doom albums of the year, maybe even the best.

I think those of us who did NOT hear the demo really love this and people who heard the demo do not. Too bad!

Thanks for writing
Unhealer - 02.01.2013 at 00:39  
I loved it, albums like this one raise my interest in doom music. And I didn't hear the demo as well, am I going to dislike it if I check it out?
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.01.2013 at 00:41  
Written by Unhealer on 02.01.2013 at 00:39

I loved it, albums like this one raise my interest in doom music. And I didn't hear the demo as well, am I going to dislike it if I check it out?

If you like Warning, then you'll probably like the demo:

Unhealer - 02.01.2013 at 00:54  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.01.2013 at 00:41

If you like Warning, then you'll probably like the demo:


Ahhhh, I get it now, the EP has some songs that were re-recorded for the LP.
Yeah forget it, 95% of times this is done people are going to prefer the first version they listened to. That Gloomy Sunday version is really nice though.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.01.2013 at 00:59  
Written by Unhealer on 02.01.2013 at 00:54


Ahhhh, I get it now, the EP has some songs that were re-recorded for the LP.
Yeah forget it, 95% of times this is done people are going to prefer the first version they listened to. That Gloomy Sunday version is really nice though.

Yeah I really like that Gloomy Sunday cover. But yeah, the sound and approach on the demo is much more my thing really.
Druss - 02.01.2013 at 03:39  
I actually haven't heard the demo, but found the album to be a poorer version of Watching From A Distance or 40 Watt Sun, and didn't enjoy it as much as I could've from that contrast. Good review though, and I'll definately give the demo a listen.
D - 02.01.2013 at 04:09  
Glad to hear others share my opinion on what is certainly an awesome album!
BoxCar Willy - 02.01.2013 at 06:56  
Can't wait to pick this up on vinyl. I'm shaking in anticipation.
Nefarious - 02.01.2013 at 07:34  
Seems I'm one of the few who heard the Demo first & still enjoyed this album.

Although I freely admit the Demo did blow this out of the water & it is a little disappointing they didn't keep the same sound for their debut, it was still a very strong release that ranks highly as one of my favourite doom releases of 2012.
BloodTears - 02.01.2013 at 11:26  
I love this album. I didn't listen to the demo so I can't comment on that but this is very satisfying. And it grabbed me since the first listen, which is not common for a doom release.
R'Vannith - 02.01.2013 at 12:03  
Haven't heard the demo myself but this album was extremely frustrating for me, "Devoid Of Redemption" is probably my favourite doom track from this year but the rest of the album doesn't come close to it. Most of it is outright boring for me unfortunately.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.01.2013 at 12:34  
Probably one of the biggest disappointments of the year especially when you've heard the demo before this. Plus they left the best song on the demo off this one. And also the production stiffles this release A LOT
Draugen - 02.01.2013 at 14:51  
This is without question my pick for the best doom metal album of last year. And no, I haven't heard the demo.
EdguyAsFuck - 03.01.2013 at 02:21  
"postmodern doom metal"

All of my wut

That said, I like this thing more and more every time I listen to it. Kinda sounds like Asunder mixed with Warning's Watching From a Distance. Haven't heard the demo though.
Dark Cornatus - 03.01.2013 at 22:45  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.01.2013 at 00:41

Written by Unhealer on 02.01.2013 at 00:39

I loved it, albums like this one raise my interest in doom music. And I didn't hear the demo as well, am I going to dislike it if I check it out?

If you like Warning, then you'll probably like the demo:




The only major change i noticed was that the sound is at a lower frequency on the album, with the demo being a higher frequency. Overall, not a huge difference to me one sounds more beefy, one sounds more tinny - either way, it's the same good song to me.

I love this album, it's right up there with my other favourites - it did take a few listens though.
Dark Cornatus - 03.01.2013 at 23:01  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2013 at 12:34

Probably one of the biggest disappointments of the year especially when you've heard the demo before this. Plus they left the best song on the demo off this one. And also the production stiffles this release A LOT


You must have fallen in love with the demo haha. I have had this happen before too, as someone said above, you fall in love with the version you hear first most of the time. I listened to Gloomy Sunday, and it's a good song, though i prefer the first two songs off the album over it.

In regard to the production, i think the album works fine both ways. It's nowhere near as bad as 40 Watt Suns over-the-top distortion. I love that album, but the production took away a bit for me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.01.2013 at 00:44  
Written by Dark Cornatus on 03.01.2013 at 22:45


The only major change i noticed was that the sound is at a lower frequency on the album, with the demo being a higher frequency. Overall, not a huge difference to me one sounds more beefy, one sounds more tinny - either way, it's the same good song to me.

I love this album, it's right up there with my other favourites - it did take a few listens though.

Well production and sounds usually makes or breaks an album for me. In fact I think it does to more people than is generally realised, but that's a topic for elsewhere.
Dark Cornatus - 04.01.2013 at 01:39  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 04.01.2013 at 00:44

Written by Dark Cornatus on 03.01.2013 at 22:45


The only major change i noticed was that the sound is at a lower frequency on the album, with the demo being a higher frequency. Overall, not a huge difference to me one sounds more beefy, one sounds more tinny - either way, it's the same good song to me.

I love this album, it's right up there with my other favourites - it did take a few listens though.

Well production and sounds usually makes or breaks an album for me. In fact I think it does to more people than is generally realised, but that's a topic for elsewhere.


Fair enough. I would agree with your point though, i just don't feel the change in production made the songs any better or worse (i've listened to them all both now). Niles new album is an example of poor production destroying the potentially good music. I simply cannot listen to it because of it. I guess the biggest benefit to the demo versions is the vocal atmosphere stands out a bit more, where the album version seems to focus on the bone crunching riffs.
Dark Cornatus - 04.01.2013 at 03:10  
Also, am i the only one who finds Foreigner to be the highlight? It has to be one of the best Doom songs i've ever heard.
BoxCar Willy - 04.01.2013 at 19:07  
Written by Dark Cornatus on 04.01.2013 at 03:10

Also, am i the only one who finds Foreigner to be the highlight? It has to be one of the best Doom songs i've ever heard.

Have to say it's my favourite. When the distorted guitars come in is an eargasm and a half.
Tornado Of Souls - 06.01.2013 at 22:28  
This is hands down my favourite album of the year and i like it just as much as the demo, also my favourite track Foreigner wasn't on the demo.
IronAngel - 06.01.2013 at 23:20  
I thought this was a great album. It didn't hit me immediately, but it was a grower. The production and vocals could have been better, and it doesn't quite maintain the quality of its best tracks, but it's still a high 3,5/5 for me.

But yeah: even if I didn't hear the demo beforehand, it's frustrating to feel this could have been better. Judging by their riffs and vocal melodies, they have the potential to become truly exceptional.
eViL tAiLs - 07.01.2013 at 21:43  
This album is overrated. Not that good. Too much hype about it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.01.2013 at 22:00  
Written by eViL tAiLs on 07.01.2013 at 21:43

This album is overrated. Not that good. Too much hype about it.


I actually agree with you. But will call the album good, although not great or as good as most people make it out to be.
Alex Fenger - 08.01.2013 at 00:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.01.2013 at 22:00

Written by eViL tAiLs on 07.01.2013 at 21:43

This album is overrated. Not that good. Too much hype about it.


I actually agree with you. But will call the album good, although not great or as good as most people make it out to be.

Every time I listen to it I love it, but then I go and listen to Gloomy Sunday and realize just how good Pallbearer can be and how this album does not display that good-"ness" fully
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.01.2013 at 00:23  
Written by Alex Fenger on 08.01.2013 at 00:13

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.01.2013 at 22:00

Written by eViL tAiLs on 07.01.2013 at 21:43

This album is overrated. Not that good. Too much hype about it.


I actually agree with you. But will call the album good, although not great or as good as most people make it out to be.

Every time I listen to it I love it, but then I go and listen to Gloomy Sunday and realize just how good Pallbearer can be and how this album does not display that good-"ness" fully


you got to remember that Gloomy Sunday is of course a cover and not a Pallbearer song proper
Alex Fenger - 08.01.2013 at 00:28  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.01.2013 at 00:23


you got to remember that Gloomy Sunday is of course a cover and not a Pallbearer song proper

Of course I realize that, but yet it remains the song I enjoy most. Their ability to take a Billie Holiday song and turn it into what they did is rather impressive (not that the song was originally cherry or anything)
Mr. Doctor - 08.01.2013 at 00:36  
Written by Alex Fenger on 08.01.2013 at 00:28
a Billie Holiday song and turn it into what they did is rather impressive


That's also a cover The song is even older than that. It was composed by Rezső Seress back in 1933 (her version is from 1941)...

My favorite version will probably always be Diamanda Galas' version... A whole different level of desperation and grief.
Alex Fenger - 08.01.2013 at 00:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.01.2013 at 00:36

Written by Alex Fenger on 08.01.2013 at 00:28
a Billie Holiday song and turn it into what they did is rather impressive


That's also a cover The song is even older than that. It was composed by Rezső Seress back in 1933 (her version is from 1941)...

My favorite version will probably always be Diamanda Galas' version... A whole different level of desperation and grief.

Now that I did not know. Listening to that Diamanda Galas version right now, it's absolutely beautiful.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Pallbearer - Sorrow And Extinction 7.5 13.03.2012 by Chobo_jokeR
Reviews Carnifex - The Diseased And The Poisoned 6 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Wolves Carry My Name - Amongst Ruins And Ashes 6 26.07.2012 by R'Vannith
Reviews Kingdom Of Sorrow - Behind The Blackest Tears 6 12.02.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Extreme Noise Terror - Being And Nothing 6 04.01.2012 by ScreamingSteelUS



Hits total: 5468 | This month: 61