Rating:
5.0
In Flames - Come Clarity
3 February 2006


Disc I [CD]
01. Take This Life
02. Leeches
03. Reflect The Storm
04. Dead End [feat. Lisa Miskovsky]
05. Scream
06. Come Clarity
07. Vacuum
08. Pacing Death's Trail
09. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone

Disc II [DVD - Live In Studio]
01. Take This Life
02. Leeches
03. Reflect The Storm
04. Dead End
05. Scream
06. Come Clarity
07. Vacuum
08. Pacing Death's Trail
09. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone


I don't know what happened to this band in particular, they never were that good neither though, but they used to be decent that's for sure (for example their album "Whoracle", which I sold for regrettable reasons), and now they became almost Metalcore. And before you all "In Flames" fanatics start spitting in my face let me explain a little more; Metalcore is a form of Melodic Death Metal which was created for Hardcore fans that wanted their genre to be more aggressive, so more o less is what In Flames stands for now, just with some complex guitar solos.

This time the music is just naïve and in one word "trendy", even the vocal work is annoying and weird, the clean vocalizations (for example in the choruses of "Reflect The Storm" and generally in the whole album) sound like an Emo kid singing the song he loves the most while watching the video on MTV. As far as the music goes, everything is a fuzzy riff with heavy harmonics and awful distortions also the drumming enters with simplistic and almost dull patterns, etc.; in the end the overall structure of each song is a catchy intro, ascending fillings in the middle then the chorus and a boring finale, nothing more nothing less.

A high point is "Dead End", I can't say that I know the name of that female vocalist, but she has a really familiar and beautiful voice, this feature at least made me open my eyes again and say "uh, that was interesting"; too bad the male vocals had to drown the beauty of this melodious feeling. Then everything gets back to normal beats, cheesy scales and one of the worst string jokes I've ever heard in an introduction (Come Clarity) which, by the way, was "dialogue with the stars" gone bad, so I guess when you're out of fresh ideas you just repeat what you or what others did correctly in the past; and I won't even say nothing about that Jonathan Davis Rip-Off from the same track, just hear it yourself; I swear I almost thought it was Jonathan doing guest vocals.

The album goes by and some riffs are decent some beats are horrid and the vocal work keeps that unpleasant Metalcore/Emo tone (I can't even explain how awful that voice is). What went wrong? Believe me I don't know, but it's such a disappointment because this is the first "2006" album I hear, and it was blatant immatureness.

Best Moments: unfortunately this album has no good moments; the female vocal work is decent at least.


Band profile: In Flames
Album: Come Clarity


 


written by Herzebeth | 18.01.2006



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 65  
Users visited: 268  
Search this topic:  


In_tallica - 21.07.2008 at 02:33  
A few weeks ago, me and my cousin took this album, smashed it with an axe and then burned it up. So, officially, I don't own this album anymore. The only problem is that I can't erase it from my album collection, does anybody have the slightest clue on how to eradicate this fowl piece of crap from my album collection?
Mince&Cheese - 20.03.2009 at 13:52  
This album is cunt and the end of In Flames.
BloodTears - 21.03.2009 at 09:47  
Out of all the crap that In Flames managed to release in the last few years, this was the best.

Some of it was very bad and the lyrics are getting more and more basic. But it's still better than A Sense of Purpose.
MeloDeathViking - 11.06.2009 at 05:43  
I actually really like this album and A Sense of Purpose, i feel like im the only one though. O well, to each his own, if everyone liked the same stuff, what kind of boring world would we live in. This was actually the first In Flames cd I ever heard, so I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Well like I said, to each his own!
Valentin B - 15.08.2009 at 00:17  
Written by MeloDeathViking on 11.06.2009 at 05:43

I actually really like this album and A Sense of Purpose, i feel like im the only one though. O well, to each his own, if everyone liked the same stuff, what kind of boring world would we live in. This was actually the first In Flames cd I ever heard, so I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Well like I said, to each his own!

nah man, you're not alone lol i'm not one of those fringe-scenesters trying to pose as cool, i love almost every single song i've ever heard by these guys, those riffs, ultra-catchy choruses and guitar hooks after guitar hooks simply do it for me.

in flames i trust!
Melodeath - 28.09.2009 at 11:45  
The problem is you can't accept the Change. you want the old stuff man, on and on! In Flames did the right thing, they completed the path of Gothenberg and Melodeath. some of tracks doesn't sound good, instead there are brilliant songs that fucking rocks! so dude, A Sence of Purpose, Come Clarity and Soundtrack to your Escape are Rocks, especially A Sence of Purpose. but whatever you say man!
BlankFile - 16.10.2009 at 00:27  
Cof cof Total garbage cof cof...
Adjuchas Shaman - 03.02.2010 at 08:12  
I've already accepted the fact that In Flames is Metalcore now. Although I don't respect Metalcore, I don't hate it. Because to me, listening to Metalcore is a lot like eating fast food(which I don't do often). I'll eat it and like it, but only in moderation, and you'll never hear me say that I'm eating a quality meal. I always prefered Dark Tranquillity and At The Gates anyway. My favorite song on this album by the way, would have to be "Crawling Through Knives".
ravendeath - 26.06.2010 at 02:11  
If these album was done by any other new group, then people will applause it. Be serious... it's a great album!
GrayWiZZarD - 18.06.2012 at 19:17  
Written by BloodTears on 21.03.2009 at 09:47

Out of all the crap that In Flames managed to release in the last few years, this was the best.

Some of it was very bad and the lyrics are getting more and more basic. But it's still better than A Sense of Purpose.

Totally agree with you... Its is really better than Sense of Purpose..

I also like the complex guitar solos in 5-6 of these songs and few lyrics as well.
BloodTears - 18.06.2012 at 20:06  
Written by Guest on 18.06.2012 at 19:17

Written by BloodTears on 21.03.2009 at 09:47

Out of all the crap that In Flames managed to release in the last few years, this was the best.

Some of it was very bad and the lyrics are getting more and more basic. But it's still better than A Sense of Purpose.

Totally agree with you... Its is really better than Sense of Purpose..

I also like the complex guitar solos in 5-6 of these songs and few lyrics as well.


Their latest was also better than a Sense of Purpose I think, probably everything is better than that album
GrayWiZZarD - 18.06.2012 at 20:13  
Written by BloodTears on 18.06.2012 at 20:06

Written by Guest on 18.06.2012 at 19:17

Written by BloodTears on 21.03.2009 at 09:47

Out of all the crap that In Flames managed to release in the last few years, this was the best.

Some of it was very bad and the lyrics are getting more and more basic. But it's still better than A Sense of Purpose.

Totally agree with you... Its is really better than Sense of Purpose..

I also like the complex guitar solos in 5-6 of these songs and few lyrics as well.


Their latest was also better than a Sense of Purpose I think, probably everything is better than that album

I agree...man that album sucked
Opethian - 06.07.2013 at 06:16  
I could never get into this album until just recently i was in the mood for it. Looking back and after experiencing 'ASOP' and their latest studio album, its safe to say this was the last great album In Flames has released in years
BloodJuNkie - 06.08.2013 at 20:03  
I totally agree with you, but i think "Crawl Through Knives" is a great song ... the rest are shit!
Ganondox - 14.11.2014 at 19:37  
Written by Rupert on 21.12.2006 at 05:23

Shadow Of A Man's got a good point. Their change in style didn't change their quality, it just changed their style (I know it's an obvious thing to say, but some people tend to forget that). Different people like different styles and dislike others, so it's just a matter of taste. I thought they actually did quite well with this style, not that I enjoy it as much as other stuff though.


Truth, I like this way better than Jester Race, which I think has some good moments, but a lot of it is boring.

""Metalcore is a form of Melodic Death Metal which was created for Hardcore fans that wanted their genre to be more aggressive, so more o less is what In Flames stands for now, just with some complex guitar solos."

This is so wrong it makes my brain bleed. First off, metalcore is actually as old as melodeath, the old variety just isn't melodeath influenced. Second, the older form of metalcore is actually significantly more aggressive than melodeath, so the remark that it was created for hardcore fans who wanted their genre to be more aggressive is nonsense. Finally, there is nothing in this to appeal to the hardcore crowd, it just takes influence from American metal in general.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News In Flames - Come Clarity Best Swedish Album Of The Decade 6 28.12.2009 by Ilham
Albums In Flames - Come Clarity 6 14.06.2012 by
Reviews F.K.U - Sometimes They Come Back…To Mosh 4.5 20.05.2006 by metal2000
Reviews Striborg - Nefaria/A Tragic Journey Towards The Light 3 21.03.2007 by Raiden
Reviews Magnum - Princess Alice And The Broken Arrow 3 13.04.2007 by Spyroid



Hits total: 8241 | This month: 112