Rating:
5.0
In Flames - Come Clarity
3 February 2006


Disc I [CD]
01. Take This Life
02. Leeches
03. Reflect The Storm
04. Dead End [feat. Lisa Miskovsky]
05. Scream
06. Come Clarity
07. Vacuum
08. Pacing Death's Trail
09. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone

Disc II [DVD - Live In Studio]
01. Take This Life
02. Leeches
03. Reflect The Storm
04. Dead End
05. Scream
06. Come Clarity
07. Vacuum
08. Pacing Death's Trail
09. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone


I don't know what happened to this band in particular, they never were that good neither though, but they used to be decent that's for sure (for example their album "Whoracle", which I sold for regrettable reasons), and now they became almost Metalcore. And before you all "In Flames" fanatics start spitting in my face let me explain a little more; Metalcore is a form of Melodic Death Metal which was created for Hardcore fans that wanted their genre to be more aggressive, so more o less is what In Flames stands for now, just with some complex guitar solos.

This time the music is just naïve and in one word "trendy", even the vocal work is annoying and weird, the clean vocalizations (for example in the choruses of "Reflect The Storm" and generally in the whole album) sound like an Emo kid singing the song he loves the most while watching the video on MTV. As far as the music goes, everything is a fuzzy riff with heavy harmonics and awful distortions also the drumming enters with simplistic and almost dull patterns, etc.; in the end the overall structure of each song is a catchy intro, ascending fillings in the middle then the chorus and a boring finale, nothing more nothing less.

A high point is "Dead End", I can't say that I know the name of that female vocalist, but she has a really familiar and beautiful voice, this feature at least made me open my eyes again and say "uh, that was interesting"; too bad the male vocals had to drown the beauty of this melodious feeling. Then everything gets back to normal beats, cheesy scales and one of the worst string jokes I've ever heard in an introduction (Come Clarity) which, by the way, was "dialogue with the stars" gone bad, so I guess when you're out of fresh ideas you just repeat what you or what others did correctly in the past; and I won't even say nothing about that Jonathan Davis Rip-Off from the same track, just hear it yourself; I swear I almost thought it was Jonathan doing guest vocals.

The album goes by and some riffs are decent some beats are horrid and the vocal work keeps that unpleasant Metalcore/Emo tone (I can't even explain how awful that voice is). What went wrong? Believe me I don't know, but it's such a disappointment because this is the first "2006" album I hear, and it was blatant immatureness.

Best Moments: unfortunately this album has no good moments; the female vocal work is decent at least.


Band profile: In Flames
Album: Come Clarity


 


written by Herzebeth | 18.01.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 64  
Users visited: 250  
Search this topic:  


Basso - 31.05.2006 at 15:04  
I really liked the older In Flames (Clayman, Colony etc) But this album actually bored me to death. Kinda dull since I really liked their earlier work
Stigmatized - 01.06.2006 at 02:59  
5 may be a little generous...I mean for 2 good songs (Leeches and Pacing Death's Trail), the rating may be too high. It's like Basso said....this is boring.
LethargyMan - 01.06.2006 at 06:12  
Ahh... I remember this album...

... I also remember selling it.

I completely agree with the review, especially about the riffing and thus, oddly enough, clarity of the guitars. It's just more of a "wall of sound" than anything... and just because it's better than their past couple of albums doesn't necessarily make this a particularly good album.
dark awakening - 02.06.2006 at 10:27  
This is a shitty album. There are more solos than in STYE, but I preferred that album 'cause of the future atmosphere and the simplicity of attraction. Come Clarity doesn't say anything to the people who listen to it. In Flames' falling deeper and deeper.
Firewalker - 02.06.2006 at 17:54  
well...I disagree with all, more that to be a In Flames fan I recongnize that the album is not very good but please...don´t compare and don´t say that this reminds me to this one or to other thing. I believe that the "critique" must be deeper and less superficial without so much fidelity to classifications. Also I believe that it is possible to me criticize the herzebeth´s critique of the album..or not??

And I end up saying: the album falls in mediocrity with a couple of inspirating moments for me but...please criticize the music itself, don´t compare with memoirs or memories.

JANA
SepulchralOath - 22.06.2006 at 05:20  
Bad cd. Ferret Records is an awful label. The end.
lFrostl - 25.06.2006 at 14:31  
Pffffftt...In Flames...Lunar Strain,Subterranean,The Jesters Race and Whoracle..in those times they were my heroes....
this Album bores easily
5 is a decent qualification for this crap.
Mordack - 28.07.2006 at 02:30  
It's not that bad, just not that good either. It pales in comparison with masterpeices like Jester Race, Whoracle and Colony. It's a shame that In Flames mysteriously decided to go in this direction.
gojko88 - 07.08.2006 at 18:08  
I completely disagree with the review. I'm a dedicated In Flames fan and have ALL of their albums. And I like every single one of them. And I'm sick of the usual yada-yada about how they were so cool before and so boring now... This album is not a masterpiece, but it's an album well worth buying. The songs aren't death metal, so get used to it.

P.S. The female singer's name on "Dead End" is Lisa Miskovsky, a Swedish pop singer and lyrics writer. One thing is amusing though. Whenever there is a guest performer on an album, it's stated on the last pages of the booklet. If it is an ORIGINAL copy of the album, of course. And if you didn't know the name of the singer, that means that you people review PIRATE COPIES OF ALBUMS!?! Go ahead, delete my post No one likes the truth.
Valaskjalf - 11.08.2006 at 01:30  
Some enjoyable moment....that solo in "Dead End" is awesome, reminds me a bit of the "Clayman" days - and then after that the song falls back into chugga-chugga mediocrity. Thats kinda how this album is for me...some inspiring moment where it feels like the old In Flames is trying to peek through the cracks and then just as u think "hell yeah" then it diminishes into a pile of metalcore annoyance...

5.5/10 from me
Muskot - 15.08.2006 at 12:11  
It's a pretty good album, but not really In Flames. I'm sorry to keep bothering you with comparisons, but they've lost too much of the characterizing (and great) sound they had on Colony and Clayman. This record is better than Lunar Strain and Soundtrack to Your Escape, but that's it.
Spyroid - 06.09.2006 at 21:01  
I liked Pacing Death's Trail and the last song (except from the metal part), otherwise it was kinda mediocre. I really like STYE though.
5.5 - 6 something out of 10 ^^
ChristianMetaler - 01.12.2006 at 04:28  
This cd is pure shit. 2 out of 10 by my standards.


How the hell does such a great respected band turn emo?
Eight - 01.12.2006 at 10:08  
Amen man! nice review
Twist - 02.12.2006 at 20:17  
I love this album! The last three songs aren't as good as the others,they sound a bit tired and repetitive. But man,the riffs are aggressive and have so much energy,the choruses are catchy and the sound is great. I didn't like Reroute To Remain and Soundtrack To Your Escape,but this is awesome. Doesn't beat my favorite album from In Flames,The Jester Race,but still kicks ass hard!
Passenger - 04.12.2006 at 20:28  
Spot on rating, this is actually the only In Flames album I rate low, it's really boring, minus one or two good tracks.
Herzebeth - 05.12.2006 at 17:56  
Written by gojko88 on 07.08.2006 at 18:08

you people review PIRATE COPIES OF ALBUMS!?! Go ahead, delete my post No one likes the truth.



WOOOOW...you're a genius indeed....do you read a lot?
Promonex - 05.12.2006 at 18:05  
Written by gojko88 on 07.08.2006 at 18:08
P.S. The female singer's name on "Dead End" is Lisa Miskovsky, a Swedish pop singer and lyrics writer. One thing is amusing though. Whenever there is a guest performer on an album, it's stated on the last pages of the booklet. If it is an ORIGINAL copy of the album, of course. And if you didn't know the name of the singer, that means that you people review PIRATE COPIES OF ALBUMS!?! Go ahead, delete my post No one likes the truth.

You do know there are differences between ORIGINAL and PROMOTIONAL copies, don't you?
jadawal - 07.12.2006 at 17:36  
As someone said above, In Flames were my heroes too back in the day of Whoracle and Jester Race, and now...their absolute garbage. The first few albums they released were all masterpeices in my mind, all 9's or 10's. And since the last few albums they released were pure shit, I don't even want to download this, nor buy it. I think if I listened to this album I would get stupider, and probably lose some IQ points, and I don't want their music influencing my music I write, so, fuck this album.
gojko88 - 11.12.2006 at 13:57  
Written by Promonex on 05.12.2006 at 18:05

Written by gojko88 on 07.08.2006 at 18:08
P.S. The female singer's name on "Dead End" is Lisa Miskovsky, a Swedish pop singer and lyrics writer. One thing is amusing though. Whenever there is a guest performer on an album, it's stated on the last pages of the booklet. If it is an ORIGINAL copy of the album, of course. And if you didn't know the name of the singer, that means that you people review PIRATE COPIES OF ALBUMS!?! Go ahead, delete my post No one likes the truth.

You do know there are differences between ORIGINAL and PROMOTIONAL copies, don't you?


Ppl, this was supposed to be A JOKE. Don't get all fired up like that...
Shadow Of A Man - 14.12.2006 at 17:34  
Listen to all you... this album is amazing... sure I prefer the older days Lunar Strain, Jester Race, Whoracle etc. But I love In Flames and they have never realeased a bad album everything they have ever done was amazing it it's own way... besides you are all hyopocrites think about it they've been around for over 12 years now... bands change get over it... because you know if all their albums sounded like the first you would complain that they're boring for that.... come on... I love this album as well as ALL the others...
slayer_666 - 20.12.2006 at 20:44  
in flames r Melodic Death Metal
Rupert - 21.12.2006 at 05:23  
Shadow Of A Man's got a good point. Their change in style didn't change their quality, it just changed their style (I know it's an obvious thing to say, but some people tend to forget that). Different people like different styles and dislike others, so it's just a matter of taste. I thought they actually did quite well with this style, not that I enjoy it as much as other stuff though.
Opium Magnet - 27.12.2006 at 08:25  
I heard a few tracks and did not like them, although I listened to them very carefully. It is commercial without a doubt, it definitely verges on the more Nu-metal side of things, which is what also deterred me. What they've done here obviously won't compare to their older material, but hey, those days'll never be coming back any time soon.
DLMokoma - 27.12.2006 at 15:53  
I've only heard a couple of In Flames songs. I like Scream, maybe 'cause it's quite aggressive. I won't judge this album before hearing more of the old material.

This talk about their new style kinda reminds of Metallica's "experimental years"..
matthioso - 09.01.2007 at 17:11  
Written by Guest on 14.12.2006 at 17:34

Listen to all you... this album is amazing... sure I prefer the older days Lunar Strain, Jester Race, Whoracle etc. But I love In Flames and they have never realeased a bad album everything they have ever done was amazing it it's own way... besides you are all hyopocrites think about it they've been around for over 12 years now... bands change get over it... because you know if all their albums sounded like the first you would complain that they're boring for that.... come on... I love this album as well as ALL the others...


couldn't have said it better
X-FrEaK - 22.01.2007 at 20:00  
erm...as a Korn fan i disagree completely... Jonathan Davis rip off? its impossible to hear Jonathan somewhere here..and i KNOW what im talking about lol :| please... i never liked In Flames that much, ive only fell in love with random songs, not a complete album, anyway im starting to hear Come Clarity and it sounds like metalcore's instrumental meets emocore's vocals...not a fantastic combination i might say
BehindSpace336 - 05.03.2007 at 06:06  
I like all of In Flames all the way from Jester Race through Reroute to Remain(didn't care for lunar strain) and this album is complete emo/metalcore shit through my ears. The only songs I could listen to and somewhat enjoy were Pacing Death's Trail and Versus Terminus. The production quality sounds like it's being played through a radio station with a bunch of static.. They delivered more harmonized guitar lines and melodies like promised, but not very good ones.. I'd give this album a 4/10..
Wollan - 06.03.2007 at 17:16  
Ill think that some of you are wrong, why do you slaughter this album? Ill think its a great album!
My favourite songs on this album are reflect the storm, dead end and come clarity.
iaberis - 06.03.2007 at 17:23  
Written by gojko88 on 11.12.2006 at 13:57

Ppl, this was supposed to be A JOKE. Don't get all fired up like that...

Bad joke! You need to be banned. You offended the site!
Promonex! Ban him now with no further delay! XD
Wollan - 06.03.2007 at 19:33  
Funny stuff
silenius - 25.03.2007 at 06:15  
this album is one of the worst thats ever been created in the name of metal! just pick out a random little emo band and they could have written this album in 5 minutes.. some of you talk about aggresive riffs and vise versa, thats just the crappy quality production scrambling in tha background mate, this album is to me only noice and mainstream money making comercial crap/think i made my point! i give it 1 out of 10
Hellrat - 30.03.2007 at 01:04  
well i seem to be one of the few people who actually enjoyed this album. i wont bash anyones opinion regarding this album because we all have different tastes and are entitled to our opinions. however i would just like to say that while its definatly not the same style of older albums, its definatly not emo. i mean your honestly going to say you prefer simple plan to this album. i am not sure if anyone on this forum could say that with a straight face. as for the album itself i really enjoyed dead end and scream there really isnt a song on this album i do not like
DreamStalker - 10.04.2007 at 03:22  
Really good album, we finally have the awesome riffs back! Best In Flames album since Clayman.
Talsmic - 06.05.2007 at 18:43  
I liked this album but it could have been better.

I think they are progressing towards something good and new but it's quite clear that they aren't there yet.

I think the new style has potential to reach (and maybe surpass :O) the level that classic In Flames stuff reached but they need to find the balance.

They tried to pull the style together in this album and in some places (Dead End), it works really well but as other have said... the album falls short of it's potential.

My favorite "new" In Flames album remains Soundtrack To Your Escape but this album proved to me that they have the potential to go further.
Danny Thomas - 24.05.2007 at 05:06  
what i found odd was many people said this was a step up from soundtrack to your escape, but i cant listen to this very long without getting bored, whereas i like soundtrack, i don't see how some people can think this is a step in the right direction. i think i rated it about a 5 as well, maybe a 4
WarlockDLX69 - 13.06.2007 at 02:34  
I think the problem very well may be the audience attempting to listen to it... kinda like (and i know this is extreme) you guys trying to listen to nickelback.... or lest i say it......... justin timberlake...... MANY people out there (and considering the two bands in question... i wouldnt blame you for considering them to have homosexual tendancies) actually like those two artists... they like them a LOT... i think nickelbacks last album went like 5 times platinum or some shit... point is, if you are into really hardcore death/black metal, your not going to like the slightly less heavy stuff... me? i love this album... its right where i want to be musically, and inspirationall for my own music... along with several others (shadows fall, bleeding through, etc..) i know its not the end-all of hardcore metal, but its appealing to many... i for one dont care much for the cannibal corpse type vocals... i like a little bit of screaming, a little bit of harmony, and even the occasional slower song played using a clean setting... i like variety, without going too far off the deep end with the core level... thats just me... to those people, albums like this, and trivium are perfect.... its all in what you want...

i do music reviews for another site... an all WOMENS rock site... not that i like it, but i do it to hopefully move elsewhere with my talents... and ill tell you, in order to have your opinions heard, and respected... you have to have an open mind to stuff whether you like it or not.... to me, this (and every other review ive read) seems more like an opinion than a review... and thats GREAT... nothing wrong with an opinion, but a review has to be unbiased... your like/dislike for the genre, style, or even the band cannot interfere with the review... the review has to be about one thing, talent.... are they talented? can you see their style appealing to an audience? do they lack in certain areas that will be a problem in the future? can those be improved on or is an overhaul in order? describe what it IS about the music that doesnt appeal to you... is it distortion levels? frequency of certain picking styles? mix of the vocals not being enough to keep up with the instruments? vice versa? theres a lot to be said that isnt being said... just a suggestion people, dont take it the wrong way just tryin to help.
BlankFile - 05.07.2007 at 22:16  
"I don't know what happened to this band in particular, they never were that good neither though," quoting the Reviwer

If you are a real fan of classic In Flames (and i honestly think you´re not...), you wouldn´t say that in a million years. anyway i respect your opinion but i do not agree with it.
Well i agree with you in one thing. This album is pure shit! And i said it. This band is lost forever for my total sadness. They were perfect once...
HELLilac - 15.07.2007 at 18:09  
Written by Guest on 14.12.2006 at 17:34

Listen to all you... this album is amazing... sure I prefer the older days Lunar Strain, Jester Race, Whoracle etc. But I love In Flames and they have never realeased a bad album everything they have ever done was amazing it it's own way... besides you are all hyopocrites think about it they've been around for over 12 years now... bands change get over it... because you know if all their albums sounded like the first you would complain that they're boring for that.... come on... I love this album as well as ALL the others...


IF all of their albums sound like this I wouldn't even listen to them in the first place. ANY albums that sound like this are bad albums on my book, period. It isn't my memory that gives this album a shitty rating, it's MY music taste itself.
Sunioj - 15.07.2007 at 19:28  
I dont think their earlier stuff is that similar to each other, the jester race was more melodeth as was whoracle..the next two after that were what we would call 'gothenburg'. But their recent stuff just doesnt do it, it sounds too plastic and the clean vocals..ugh. Whatever, this is better than STYE in a sense.
Beerpiss - 11.08.2007 at 17:50  
I like the album
wingsofdomain - 24.10.2007 at 01:06  
well , i think youre very wrong.
its a good album with nice riffs and the singing is regular for these guys.
youre coming down on them for no reason
they are a great band.
mutha - 24.11.2007 at 22:04  
the 1st time i hear this album.. i dint like at all


but know i dunno wtf happened but i like it very muuuuch
>Lymny< - 03.01.2008 at 15:07  
I like it a lot.. there my fav band, and I got it for my b-day, so it has a sentimental meaning 4 me. well, I agree that the previous album were better..
the best songs are: Leeches, Come Clarity, Dead End and Take This Life
Blood For Cowboy - 19.01.2008 at 21:46  
I see that many of you metalheads don't like this record very much,my friend told me that this album sucks and i said okey put the cd on i whant to listen it,i just can say that this is fuckin awesome and great record, off course everyone can't adore it but i think that you are watching to the Comercional side of album not musical !
Harbinger - 19.01.2008 at 23:25  
Written by Guest on 19.01.2008 at 21:46

but i think that you are watching to the Comercional side of album not musical !

that's because they changed their musical style in order to be more commercial. and it's kind of hard to ignore commercialism when a band adapts itself to conform to exactly that.
Warman - 20.01.2008 at 00:00  
Don't like this album. Without doubt their worst. The songs are very simple and shallow. I can't stand Fridéns whining either.
Pétur - 20.01.2008 at 04:45  
an In Flames fan recommend me to listen to this album and keeped on saying that it was a powerfull comeback to the roots and after much whining I carefully donwload some songs(no hell I am going to buy there stuff blind) I quickly realised that the In Flames fanboy was bullshitting, this album is no good old melodic death metal, come clarity is poor mix of way to flawed melodic death metal with even worse metalcore.
Metalhead2 - 29.02.2008 at 16:36  
it is good for band that they play various things not always the same thing, this deserves 10/10
Uirapuru - 16.03.2008 at 10:10  
well... i liked this album... it has a good nu-metal sound but a little faster... the chorus are most pleasant to listen in Vaccum, Crawl Through Knives and Come Clarity.
I prefer the old In Flames, but this one is good too, they change but still can do some good music as a experient band.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums In Flames - Come Clarity 6 14.06.2012 by
News In Flames - Come Clarity Best Swedish Album Of The Decade 6 28.12.2009 by ArsMilitaria
Reviews F.K.U - Sometimes They Come Back…To Mosh 4.5 20.05.2006 by metal2000
Reviews Sunn O))) & Boris - Altar 3.5 16.01.2007 by
Reviews Sunn O))) - Black One 3 18.04.2007 by



Hits total: 7478 | This month: 51