Rating:
6.5
In This Moment - Blood
14 August 2012


01. Rise With Me
02. Blood
03. Adrenalize
04. Whore
05. You're Gonna Listen
06. It Is Written
07. Burn
08. Scarlet
09. Aries
10. From The Ashes
11. Beast Within
12. Comanche
13. The Blood Legion
14. 11:11
15. Closer [iTunes bonus] [Nine Inch Nails cover]
16. Remember" [Japanese bonus] [B-Side from A Star-Crossed Wasteland]


At last we see the fourth studio album of the metalcore (perhaps not metalcore anymore considering the fact that this band only issued one real metalcore album and one album that seemed more of a hardcore album than metalcore) band In This Moment. This band dealt with the lost of 2 band members in the past 1 and halfi-sh years. We all know the difficulties a band has when this occurs. As for In This Moment they were to create a whole new different approach with their music after getting hit hard the past few years. The band says they are "Taking it to the next level with their music".

The next level wasn't what I feel many fans appreciated. The approach of the music was not heading back to early metalcore elements, but to a alternative and electronic pathway.

This wasn't much of an album with much spark and adrenaline. Though performing the songs from the album live sure is a better deal than hearing it on the album.

It combines hard rock with electronic music to create a nice electronic/alternative metal album. This isn't bad but in this case it is a bit annoying to hear Maria's talented voice with electronic music that doesn't fit well with her uplifting vocals and screams.

An average album.

Blood is a step back in the band's career. Much better hearing past albums than this album. It's surely hitting the sales charts well, considering the single "Blood" is heard on the radio bringing more listeners into the band.

Blood isn't all that bad though. Some songs that do keep fans rocking could be "Blood", "Comanche", and "Beast Within".

Overall the album is OK and average. Simple as that..


Band profile: In This Moment
Album: Blood


 


written by Epictemptation | 26.01.2013


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 44  
Search this topic:  


henrihell93 - 27.01.2013 at 13:32  
I think the old metalcore albums of them are boring. Blood brought an interesting new approach and seriously made them stand out from the masses. Continuing the old way they would just be another metalcore band. But as it is now, they've taken a huge leap, did a great album, that really sounds like nothing else.
Epictemptation - 27.01.2013 at 15:59  
Written by henrihell93 on 27.01.2013 at 13:32

I think the old metalcore albums of them are boring. Blood brought an interesting new approach and seriously made them stand out from the masses. Continuing the old way they would just be another metalcore band. But as it is now, they've taken a huge leap, did a great album, that really sounds like nothing else.

There is no problem with a band trying to experiment on new music, I mean many bands have done this and created awesome albums. I'm not saying this album entirely sucks (since its on my list of fav albums of all time). I have to review this in a way the whole entire audience will understand. It's a good album but its still plain (unless performed live). Also in my opinion Beautiful Tragedy was their only great album, the rest were ok..

Blood is their second best in my opinion.
stupid noob - 27.01.2013 at 16:47  
I really didn't appreciate the industrial/electro touches on this one! I had a gut feeling Kevin Churko would make this sound like a pop record with regards to the production, too. Too bad. In my opinion there are too many radio-friendly "hits" as well, which isn't anything new but I thought the new direction would take them into more experimental territory.

11:11, which is supposed to be experimental, proves Maria isn't a capable vocalist without a catchy beat to support her!
Boxcar Willy - 28.01.2013 at 05:47  
Written by Epictemptation on 28.01.2013 at 05:37

Https://www.facebook.com/pages/Metal/569974289696656

Like this page for discussion of metal

We'd appreciate it if you'd stop spamming the forums with this link. Put it in your signature if you want people to see it.
Epictemptation - 28.01.2013 at 06:33  
Quote:
Quote:

We'd appreciate it if you'd stop spamming the forums with this link. Put it in your signature if you want people to see it.

Sorry just trying to help a friend

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums In This Moment - Blood 6 19.08.2012 by kaspair
Albums In This Moment - Blood [Single] 6 27.09.2012 by F666Moretto
News In This Moment - Unveil New Album Artwork 4.5 19.06.2012 by Draugen
News In This Moment - Releasing Special Edition Of 'Blood' 4.5 28.12.2013 by Ornusashas
Albums In This Moment - A Star-Crossed Wasteland 4.5 24.03.2014 by God Buster 鬼



Hits total: 2254 | This month: 48