The Fall Of Every Season - Amends review



Reviewer:
N/A

55 users:
8.05
Band: The Fall Of Every Season
Album: Amends
Release date: February 2013


01. Sole Passenger
02. The Mammoth
03. A Portrayal
04. Aurelia
05. Come, Waves


Spring has a special vibe of rebirth and reincarnation that every culture throughout history has made acknowledgment of. The malign, bitter chill of winter passes away, life emerges once more from under its frost, and the cycle of the seasons begins once more at its start. If there were to be a soundtrack to this period of deconstruction and subsequent rebirth, perhaps it would be The Fall Of Every Season's 2013 effort. An album six years in the making, from its very start it's apparent that Marius has made the wait well worth it, the result being a beautifully crafted musical journey that has everything its predecessor did and more.

If you're looking for From Below, Vol. 2 with Amends, you'll probably find yourself in luck. Most, if not all of the elements from Marius's previous work have been kept intact: the beautifully mellow, core atmospheric doom sound somewhat reminiscent of Katatonia's recent material, coupled with a well-executed sprinkling in of some more extreme growls when called for. But make no mistake: Amends is by no means a death doom album. Marius's barbarian roars are definitely present, but they serve the purpose of enhancing the atmosphere laid down by the music's foundation (towards the end of "Sole Passenger," or the beginning of "The Mammoth"), not just to get some intense br00t4lity on, and this technique definitely helps to add an admirable level of maturity to the music's composition.

Aside from the brief extreme metal grunts and shrieks here and there, Marius's maintenance of his project's mellow atmosphere is as brilliant as ever. The guitar melodies interweave flawlessly, creating superb harmonies that help to generate a serene, almost transcendental atmosphere (the beginning of "Aurelia" feels like floating on a cloud, doesn't it?) In addition, each track of the album has a way of flowing into in the next, and when coupled with its excellent, clear production, this really helps to add a more cohesive dimension to the sound of the album as a whole, reinforcing its impact. If you think of the death metal elements on Amends as winter, and the doom atmosphere as the spring, it's almost as if Marius is paving the way of the former with the latter, as far as the composition is concerned. The Fall Of Every Season? More like The Fall Of Winter in this case. The cold is gone, the sun is out, and Marius is here to celebrate the blooming of nature with gorgeous guitar harmonies and his elegant clean vocals. So crank it loud and lie eyes-closed in a field of dandelions, folks. I'm sure that's what he meant it for.


 



Written on 06.03.2013 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 181 users
06.03.2013 - 17:32
DelightfulJim
Fucking excellent album. Awesome review too
Loading...
06.03.2013 - 22:27
Draugen
A decent album but I didn't find it particularly memorable or engrossing aside from a few exceptions here and there.
Loading...
06.03.2013 - 23:22
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Draugen on 06.03.2013 at 22:27

A decent album but I didn't find it particularly memorable or engrossing aside from a few exceptions here and there.

Perhaps not memorable in a sense of catchiness, but certainly memorable in the sense of the atmosphere and emotion it conjures. But, of course, that's just my opinion.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
06.03.2013 - 23:45
PocketMetal
I really don't like to compare it to Katatonia , for me it's like Saturnus but more beautiful and less gloomy . a great album indeed .
Loading...
07.03.2013 - 00:24
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by PocketMetal on 06.03.2013 at 23:45

I really don't like to compare it to Katatonia , for me it's like Saturnus but more beautiful and less gloomy . a great album indeed .

Well, I don't really know much melodic/atmospheric doom actually, so Katatonia was the closest thing I could think of. Hence why I said somewhat reminiscent of them
This Saturnus you make mention of though... so you're saying that they're kinda like The Fall Of Every Season but a little darker? Sounds right up my alley.
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
07.03.2013 - 10:00
PocketMetal
Written by Apothecary on 07.03.2013 at 00:24


Well, I don't really know much melodic/atmospheric doom actually, so Katatonia was the closest thing I could think of. Hence why I said somewhat reminiscent of them
This Saturnus you make mention of though... so you're saying that they're kinda like The Fall Of Every Season but a little darker? Sounds right up my alley.


yeah kinda ... they are a little cheesy especially with the lyrics , but there are many lengthy guitar solos that are very emotional.
Loading...
24.04.2013 - 00:34
Candlemass
Defaeco
Reviews without rating are brave. And thx for the recommendation they sound great!
Loading...
24.04.2013 - 00:45
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Candlemass on 24.04.2013 at 00:34

Reviews without rating are brave. And thx for the recommendation they sound great!

More often than not I give albums ratings, I put N/A when I feel as though a certain album can't really be given a rating: it has to be heard to be fully understood, words and a rating alone can't do it enough justice. Atmospheric metal and real avant-garde type of shit usually generate albums such as that lol. And thanks for reading, glad you like them
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...

Hits total: 5058 | This month: 10