Rating:
9.0
!T.O.O.H.! - Order And Punishment (Řád A Trest)
2006


01. Al-Amín (Aneb Jak Vycákat Jelito)
02. Analyza Záhnědy
03. Konec Kontinentálního Kontejneru
04. Hanička - Příběh Nebožačky (Aneb Co Se Stalo U Slepého Koryta)
05. Abu-Hassan
06. Řád A Trest
07. Já Samaritán
08. Padají Pískají
09. To Je Jízda Bozínku
10. Kálí


!T.O.O.H! impressed us all with their second full length called "Pod Vladou Bice ", a great release which caught the good attention of both fans and music critics all over the globe. Now these Czech guys deliver us "Order And Punishment" via Earache/Elitist Records, a huge comeback for "Pod Vladou Bice" and a juicy piece for every single fanatic out there.

This new CD has the progressive stamp all over the place; the songs are multifaceted and even Jazzy at times, tracks like "Al-Amin (Aneb Jak Vycakat Jelito)" and "Rad A Trest" will crush your eardrums instantly with all the insane structures and scales. The technicality is again present in the whole piece; the musicianship is of course brilliant and chaotic as hell itself, presenting us a really bizarre combo of frenzied destruction and intricate musical execution; so I'm not joking when I say this is a really hard record to digest, most soft ears and purists won't understand the brilliance of this album, "Order And Punishment" was sculpted only for the intense minds willing to live a terrifying, disturbing and overwhelming metal experience.

Fortunately !T.O.O.H! kept all the righteous and interesting parts from past albums, for example those chilling high-pitched shrieks and the drilling drum patterns; but for this new piece they decided to evolve in the songwriting matter, now everything fits better in the whole mixture, the breakdowns enter in the best time possible and every single riff, bass-line or drum beat is marvelously refined to suit with the adjacent atmosphere. Another new feature is found in the spoken passages in some tracks, somehow similar to "Lykathea Aflame", I'm not too crazy about those actually, but at least they surely added depth and grimness into the tracks.

When it comes to musical structures !T.O.O.H! wins the big prize, the songs and actually the whole album is structured in an awesome way to keep the intensity flowing with each tune; the minutes went by like seconds, so I can say with certainty that there is not a single boring second in this album.

If you liked "Pod Vladou Bice" you'll worship this album everyday of your life, you'll put together a small altar with a couple of candles, a Czech Republic flag and this album right in the middle; if you haven't heard about this band, get out of your cave and buy this album right away.


Band profile: !T.O.O.H.!
Album: Order And Punishment (Řád A Trest)


 


written by Herzebeth | 06.02.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 32  
Users visited: 157  
Search this topic:  


HardSide - 02.07.2006 at 22:12  
EXCELLENT album. too bad they broke up (temporarily i hope, their label screwed them)
Baz Anderson - 25.08.2006 at 14:10  
this is a fantastic album
i think i like this better then the previous one but its hard to tell. whenever i listen to them it almost puts me in a trance it is so beguileing

haha i wont go as far as making a shrine for them, but they are up there in my list now

if anyone knows any way i can hear the Duobetic Homunkulus album please let me know! i cant find anywhere to buy it or listen to it..
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 05.02.2007 at 00:22  
This album kicks ass, I'm looking forward on buying it if i find a place where they sell Czech grindcore
Hembrom - 06.04.2007 at 08:13  
Amazing album !! Not of this world for sure.
Dangerboner - 06.04.2007 at 21:47  
i always laugh at the sheep sound effect at the end of one of the songs

baaaaah
Hembrom - 07.04.2007 at 20:50  
Amazing shit
gebla - 10.07.2008 at 03:11  
I have just translated the lyrics and submit it
Bad English - 10.07.2008 at 14:59  
Written by Guest on 10.07.2008 at 03:11

I have just translated the lyrics and submit it


Can you translate Arakain lyrics, I did 3 translations, but others are hard for me
gebla - 11.07.2008 at 10:38  
Written by Bad English on 10.07.2008 at 14:59

Written by Guest on 10.07.2008 at 03:11

I have just translated the lyrics and submit it


Can you translate Arakain lyrics, I did 3 translations, but others are hard for me


Maybe...
Do you want some specific songs ?
Mr. Doctor - 11.07.2008 at 12:37  
I love this album... It's so brutal, crazy and melodic at the same time.

The vocals are awesome IMO.

And the album has one of the most perfect ends ever: Kali.
Everytime I listen to this album... the 2 last minutes of the song when The guy screams "Kali!" and riffs and awesome solos starts.... I'm near to cry. It's really emotional shit for me... Really orgasmic.

I never though that Grindcore could be that emotional for me.
Bad English - 11.07.2008 at 12:52  
Written by Guest on 11.07.2008 at 10:38

Written by Bad English on 10.07.2008 at 14:59

Written by Guest on 10.07.2008 at 03:11

I have just translated the lyrics and submit it


Can you translate Arakain lyrics, I did 3 translations, but others are hard for me


Maybe...
Do you want some specific songs ?


all wit Ales Brichta whit out him band is dead
I translkated Zapomen, Zase Spis V Noce Sama and Slecna Zaviset
Deadsoulman - 11.07.2008 at 13:57  
Written by Bad English on 11.07.2008 at 12:52

Written by Guest on 11.07.2008 at 10:38

Written by Bad English on 10.07.2008 at 14:59

Written by Guest on 10.07.2008 at 03:11

I have just translated the lyrics and submit it


Can you translate Arakain lyrics, I did 3 translations, but others are hard for me


Maybe...
Do you want some specific songs ?


all wit Ales Brichta whit out him band is dead
I translkated Zapomen, Zase Spis V Noce Sama and Slecna Zaviset


Instead of trying to post in every single thread on this forum, maybe you can request these translations via PM? Because as far as I can see, this doesn't have anything to do with the review above, does it?
Dane Train - 03.09.2008 at 01:54  
I have no idea what these guys are even singing about, but the music is amazing. I got this album a few years back rather randomly. I walked into one of my little local music stores and told the guy I was looking for any Metal that was Prog/Aventgarde and he gave me this album and the first EP of Behold... The Arctopus (it had just came out that week). Yeah, talk about a head trip of music that day.


P.S. I love the goat on this album. Blaaaahh!
Mr. Doctor - 03.09.2008 at 22:06  
Written by Dane Train on 03.09.2008 at 01:54


P.S. I love the goat on this album. Blaaaahh!


Yeah.. that goat is really funny. It's kinda surprising to hear that sound right after a brutal track jejeje.

The best moment for me must be the last 2 minutes of the album [that would be "Kali"]
I mean... The last 2 minutes with that awesome riff, guitarr solos and even a great bass solo[!]... Thos 2 minutes are worth every penny I gave for the entire album.

Very good album.
Elio - 12.06.2009 at 19:01  
The music is fucking brilliant but the vocals make me want to feel suicidal.
dEAthB3D - 03.11.2009 at 21:12  
Greaaat album....
great arabic atmosphere...
Mr. Doctor - 04.11.2009 at 23:23  
Written by Elio on 12.06.2009 at 19:01

The music is fucking brilliant but the vocals make me want to feel suicidal.


I think the vocals are great, I just can't think of some other kind of vocals that can suit the crazy music as good as the ones on the album. Like the end of the third song "Ooooooh, MELESO!!!" or something like that and out of nowhere a brilliant guitarr solo. I think it's good.

But the best thing is easily the last two minutes of Kali, pure brilliance, such a shame this dudes are gone. You can almost tell how fun they had playing the music. And that feeling is very important imo.
MétalNoir - 31.07.2010 at 22:06  
Good music (surprising, since i hate grindcore) but horrible vocals, they sound like Sigh's vocalist's, but with a damn cat in his throat.
!J.O.O.E.! - 01.08.2010 at 00:28  
Written by MétalNoir on 31.07.2010 at 22:06

Good music (surprising, since i hate grindcore) but horrible vocals, they sound like Sigh's vocalist's, but with a damn cat in his throat.

Lies. The weird vocals add to what is the best album ever. Normal vocals would detract from this albums uniqueness.

In my opinion of course
MétalNoir - 02.08.2010 at 14:41  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.08.2010 at 00:28

Written by MétalNoir on 31.07.2010 at 22:06

Good music (surprising, since i hate grindcore) but horrible vocals, they sound like Sigh's vocalist's, but with a damn cat in his throat.

Lies. The weird vocals add to what is the best album ever. Normal vocals would detract from this albums uniqueness.

In my opinion of course

Weird doesn't have to be annoying... I like avantgarde metal a lot and I prefer originality to safe but overused brutal growls, but this guy's vocals are very bad, imo. Not so original, just not very well executed and boring. imo, of course...
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.08.2010 at 14:56  
Written by MétalNoir on 02.08.2010 at 14:41

Weird doesn't have to be annoying... I like avantgarde metal a lot and I prefer originality to safe but overused brutal growls, but this guy's vocals are very bad, imo. Not so original, just not very well executed and boring. imo, of course...

You might like the project that was born out of this band, Duobetic Homunkulus, a bit more standard tech-death than this band but great all the same. With non-annoying vocals
MétalNoir - 02.08.2010 at 15:04  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.08.2010 at 14:56

Written by MétalNoir on 02.08.2010 at 14:41

Weird doesn't have to be annoying... I like avantgarde metal a lot and I prefer originality to safe but overused brutal growls, but this guy's vocals are very bad, imo. Not so original, just not very well executed and boring. imo, of course...

You might like the project that was born out of this band, Duobetic Homunkulus, a bit more standard tech-death than this band but great all the same. With non-annoying vocals

Thx, I'll give it a try. Also, there's Moldova's Neuromist, a jazzy tech-death band that I discovered a couple days ago and they are kinda good.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.08.2010 at 15:11  
Written by MétalNoir on 02.08.2010 at 15:04

Thx, I'll give it a try. Also, there's Moldova's Neuromist, a jazzy tech-death band that I discovered a couple days ago and they are kinda good.

Yeah I listened to them a few days ago and was quite impressed. Took me a few listens though as I assumed they were more out-and-out technical rather than the more considered progressive death they seem to do.
MétalNoir - 02.08.2010 at 19:59  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.08.2010 at 15:11

Written by MétalNoir on 02.08.2010 at 15:04

Thx, I'll give it a try. Also, there's Moldova's Neuromist, a jazzy tech-death band that I discovered a couple days ago and they are kinda good.

Yeah I listened to them a few days ago and was quite impressed. Took me a few listens though as I assumed they were more out-and-out technical rather than the more considered progressive death they seem to do.

The same could be said about !T.O.O.H!... They're not that much of a grindcore band, imo, and that's a good thing, as far as I'm concerned. They're more like a prog/avant-garde death band, aren't they?
ß - 02.08.2010 at 20:12  
That about sounds right, throw a little grindcore elements in there and that's !T.O.O.H.! for you.
!J.O.O.E.! - 02.08.2010 at 20:13  
Written by MétalNoir on 02.08.2010 at 19:59

The same could be said about !T.O.O.H!... They're not that much of a grindcore band, imo, and that's a good thing, as far as I'm concerned. They're more like a prog/avant-garde death band, aren't they?

Honestly I couldn't tell you. When a person mentions "grind" it instantly conjures images of Napalm Death, Agoraphobic Nosebleed, Nasum etc. but !T.O.O.H.! clearly sounds nothing like those bands, or any other for that matter. The guitar tone is too clean, which is great for the audible bass, and it's a fair amount more technical than your average grind band. I've resigned myself to just calling them progressive grind for the sake of it but I've spent years looking for bands that do what they do and found nothing similar. Lykathea Aflame and Gorod are the common comparisons but in reality they sound nothing like them.
Maxx666 - 22.12.2010 at 11:06  
Another amazing gem from a relatively unknown band.. 10/10
Grody2themax - 08.12.2011 at 05:01  
This album is so messed up that its awesome. Harmony-wise, I haven't heard much that sounds even close to this, but it never really sounds too wank wank (that would be those bands where the whole song is pretty much atonal with the most messed up harmonies they band could think of).
!J.O.O.E.! - 08.12.2011 at 13:55  
Written by Grody2themax on 08.12.2011 at 05:01

This album is so messed up that its awesome. Harmony-wise, I haven't heard much that sounds even close to this, but it never really sounds too wank wank (that would be those bands where the whole song is pretty much atonal with the most messed up harmonies they band could think of).

The album before this, Pod vladou bice, might get your "wank wank" alarm bells ringing. Easily one of the most technical records I've ever heard and definitely steeped in atonality. It's still immense though.
Grody2themax - 08.12.2011 at 20:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 08.12.2011 at 13:55

The album before this, Pod vladou bice, might get your "wank wank" alarm bells ringing. Easily one of the most technical records I've ever heard and definitely steeped in atonality. It's still immense though.


Yes, I've listened to some of the previous album before and I know what you mean. Its still very good but its almost like it sounded like a tech punk metal band sometimes haha. Order and Punishment has that vibe a little bit too, but overall I think it sounds more professional and organized.
Matus Dust - 12.01.2013 at 19:34  
I usually can get used to even awful vocals, but with this guys it seems to be impossible for me. Maybe it is because I can understand the lyrics and well - they're as awful as the vocals.
Hallford9000 - 11.07.2013 at 17:49  
Yeah vocals are really amateurish. nothing well done there.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums !T.O.O.H.! - Order And Punishment (Řád A Trest) 9 20.06.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Magnum - Princess Alice And The Broken Arrow 4.5 13.04.2007 by Spyroid
Reviews Apoplexy - Medical Malpractioners Of Pathological Perversion And Clinical Cannibalism 4.5 23.06.2006 by Shadowthrone
Reviews Total Fucking Destruction - Zen And The Art Of Total Fucking Destruction 4.5 09.12.2011 by Grody2themax
Reviews Mincing Fury And The Guttural Clamour Of Queer Decay - 7 4.5 02.01.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 4562 | This month: 31