Rating:
8.0
Seeds Of Iblis - Anti Quran Rituals
22 February 2013


01. From Mecca To Jahannam
02. Qamar (Islamic Lies P.1)
03. 72 Virgins
04. Behind The Horns Of Allah
05. The Prophecy Of Rape
06. Qabr (Islamic Lies P.2)
07. Islamophobia
08. Sura 9
09. Allah Is Dead


Looking back on over thirty years of black metal history, probably the most important mindset that runs at the core of the genre is the extreme challenge and opposition to conventional norms, and the celebration of things than run counter to them. In the realm of religion, this usually takes the form of anti-Christianity, which peaked in the early 90s with the Norwegian scene and their lovely church-burning escapades. As black metal progresses, though, one has to ask oneself: why Christianity? The faith may have the distinction of being the most oppressive religion throughout history, but surely it isn't the only one, no? Where are the black metal bands decrying Judaism, or Islam, or even extreme Hinduism? Well, ponder no more, ladies and gents, because this year Iraq's Seeds Of Iblis have given us an answer to that question.

Anti Quran Rituals is exactly what the title implies: nine raw, aggressive, and relentless tracks rampaging against the religion of Islam and the historical domination of its subjects. Some tracks contain spoken word bits to enhance this effect, presumably brutal quotes from the Quran intended to portray the true ferocity of Islam ("Qamar," "Qabr," "Islamophobia"). The music has a very eastern, minor key tonality to reinforce the lyrical themes, and can sometimes get quite melodic in this aspect, like on "Qabr," and towards the end of "From Mecca To Jahannam."

Unquestionably, however, the real genius of Anti Quran Rituals lies in the production. For the most part, it's that raw and gritty sound you'd expect from black metal, and this actually goes very well with the harsh, infuriated vibe of the lyrical topics ("Behind The Horns Of Allah," "72 Virgins," "The Prophecy Of Rape"). But then, almost like a surprise birthday party, those little melodic moments creep up on you out of nowhere, and when they come in, the production's a lot cleaner, more balanced, and at some points the bass is even pleasantly audible (check out the middle of "From Mecca To Jahannam" in particular).

The beauty of Anti Quran Rituals strikes in many ways aside from the musical delivery. For starters, it satisfies the question of "where's all the Asian metal at?" as well as "where's the originality towards anti-religion in black metal?" But above all, there's a certain alluring quality in the fact that Seeds Of Iblis are Iraqi, because not only does it speak against the stereotype that all Middle Easterners are just Islamic radicals, but it's also testament to the band's courage, that they have the balls to put out a vehemently anti-Islamic album in an area of the world where doing so could result in serious repercussions.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Seeds Of Iblis
Album: Anti Quran Rituals


 



Written on 19.06.2013 by
Apothecary
"Without tradition, art is a flock of sheep without a master. But without innovation, it is a corpse."
-Winston Churchill
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 58  
Users visited: 391  
Search this topic:  


Apothecary - 26.06.2013 at 18:06  
Written by Guest on 26.06.2013 at 15:23

I can't understand this amount of buzz about them either.

People are either going to react in praise or in fear to something perceived as unfamiliar. In this case, it's the first one. Anti-Islamic black metal isn't all that common, so of course people in the underground scene are going to be prone to fap and overhype about it, no matter how bad (or good) the bands that do it are.
Swamphell - 29.06.2013 at 18:19  
Why don't you listen to Acyl if u wanna know about Islam
or I guess u wanna know about anti Islam more than knowing about Islam it self
Apothecary - 29.06.2013 at 18:33  
Written by Swamphell on 29.06.2013 at 18:19

Why don't you listen to Acyl if u wanna know about Islam
or I guess u wanna know about anti Islam more than knowing about Islam it self

Who said that? I have read parts of the Quran many times, I own an English copy with parallel Arabic text, and I find many passages to be beautiful in their use of word repetition and other poetic techniques. But there are also two sides to every coin, and the beauty of Islam also can have a very violent, savage side as well, both within the Quran and in the behavior of some of its practitioners. I'm not taking anti Islam over Islam, or vice versa. I'm interested in the lessons to be taught from both. Inhale information from all sides, exhale the bullshit, and form my own opinion: that's my style.
Erik M. - 29.06.2013 at 20:53  
I checked this one out, but the INCREDIBLY annoying islamic chants throughout the songs made me really hate this album, since it reminds me of religion (which I generally despise... can't help but being realistic here since religion does more harm than good to people).

So for me this is totally unlistenable. That being said however, the "normal" black metal parts are actually good, but it doesn't weigh up to the horrible chants. Also, why the hell are those chants in it anyway if they claim to be anti-islamic. So no offence to you (Apothecary), but I'm not going to waste my time on this music. And I really hope this album doesn't get added to your list.
Swamphell - 29.06.2013 at 21:14  
Written by Apothecary on 29.06.2013 at 18:33

Written by Swamphell on 29.06.2013 at 18:19

Why don't you listen to Acyl if u wanna know about Islam
or I guess u wanna know about anti Islam more than knowing about Islam it self

Who said that? I have read parts of the Quran many times, I own an English copy with parallel Arabic text, and I find many passages to be beautiful in their use of word repetition and other poetic techniques. But there are also two sides to every coin, and the beauty of Islam also can have a very violent, savage side as well, both within the Quran and in the behavior of some of its practitioners. I'm not taking anti Islam over Islam, or vice versa. I'm interested in the lessons to be taught from both. Inhale information from all sides, exhale the bullshit, and form my own opinion: that's my style.

I'm glad that u seek the truth yourself and I want u to continue in it, u impressed me when u told me about how u read parts of translated Qur'an
but I want to hint some points to u :
1) we metal-heads know how media trying to control our minds and telling us what to love and what to hate so don't believe every story about Muslims there are so many lies and so many truth as well .
2) don't judge Islam as religion with every acts that done by a Muslims , there are so many Muslims doing terrible things in the name of Islam ; these guys had two scenarios a)they understand Islam in wrong way b) they are not Muslims but trying to convince u that they are Muslims
3)there are two main Ideas in Islam the general idea it is about worshiping : praying , Zakah : paying money for the pours ,...etc
and specific idea it is about the act of human ; being honest , trusted and nice to others ...etc
4)forgive me for my bad English and seek the truth yourself
Cynic Metalhead - 29.06.2013 at 21:35  
Well, guys bring back your trains on track. We're going way too offtopic.
Apothecary - 30.06.2013 at 05:31  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 29.06.2013 at 21:35

Well, guys bring back your trains on track. We're going way too offtopic.

That tends to happen when articles get over 50 comments... like a fucking dissertation or something
Sunioj - 06.07.2013 at 10:15  
I went back to this album after the hype died a bit so I can get an objective feel for the album. While the atmopshere is pretty good and there is some cool melodic solos here and there, I find the album to be very formula driven. Nothing special here. I give it a 7 at most.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Seeds Of Iblis - Anti Quran Rituals 9 20.06.2013 by theembryo
Albums Seeds Of Iblis - The Black Quran [EP] 6 20.02.2013 by Array
News Seeds Of Iblis - New Song Streaming Online 4.5 24.12.2012 by
Albums Seeds Of Iblis - Jihad Against Islam 4.5 05.09.2012 by Ellrohir
Reviews Bast - Spectres 3 26.03.2014 by Zaphod



Hits total: 6580 | This month: 196