Rating:
8.0
Seeds Of Iblis - Anti Quran Rituals
22 February 2013


01. From Mecca To Jahannam
02. Qamar (Islamic Lies P.1)
03. 72 Virgins
04. Behind The Horns Of Allah
05. The Prophecy Of Rape
06. Qabr (Islamic Lies P.2)
07. Islamophobia
08. Sura 9
09. Allah Is Dead


Looking back on over thirty years of black metal history, probably the most important mindset that runs at the core of the genre is the extreme challenge and opposition to conventional norms, and the celebration of things than run counter to them. In the realm of religion, this usually takes the form of anti-Christianity, which peaked in the early 90s with the Norwegian scene and their lovely church-burning escapades. As black metal progresses, though, one has to ask oneself: why Christianity? The faith may have the distinction of being the most oppressive religion throughout history, but surely it isn't the only one, no? Where are the black metal bands decrying Judaism, or Islam, or even extreme Hinduism? Well, ponder no more, ladies and gents, because this year Iraq's Seeds Of Iblis have given us an answer to that question.

Anti Quran Rituals is exactly what the title implies: nine raw, aggressive, and relentless tracks rampaging against the religion of Islam and the historical domination of its subjects. Some tracks contain spoken word bits to enhance this effect, presumably brutal quotes from the Quran intended to portray the true ferocity of Islam ("Qamar," "Qabr," "Islamophobia"). The music has a very eastern, minor key tonality to reinforce the lyrical themes, and can sometimes get quite melodic in this aspect, like on "Qabr," and towards the end of "From Mecca To Jahannam."

Unquestionably, however, the real genius of Anti Quran Rituals lies in the production. For the most part, it's that raw and gritty sound you'd expect from black metal, and this actually goes very well with the harsh, infuriated vibe of the lyrical topics ("Behind The Horns Of Allah," "72 Virgins," "The Prophecy Of Rape"). But then, almost like a surprise birthday party, those little melodic moments creep up on you out of nowhere, and when they come in, the production's a lot cleaner, more balanced, and at some points the bass is even pleasantly audible (check out the middle of "From Mecca To Jahannam" in particular).

The beauty of Anti Quran Rituals strikes in many ways aside from the musical delivery. For starters, it satisfies the question of "where's all the Asian metal at?" as well as "where's the originality towards anti-religion in black metal?" But above all, there's a certain alluring quality in the fact that Seeds Of Iblis are Iraqi, because not only does it speak against the stereotype that all Middle Easterners are just Islamic radicals, but it's also testament to the band's courage, that they have the balls to put out a vehemently anti-Islamic album in an area of the world where doing so could result in serious repercussions.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Seeds Of Iblis
Album: Anti Quran Rituals


 



Written on 19.06.2013 by
Apothecary
"Without tradition, art is a flock of sheep without a master. But without innovation, it is a corpse."
-Winston Churchill
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 58  
Users visited: 387  
Search this topic:  


psykometal - 20.06.2013 at 00:30  
Great album. Great review. Glad to have discovered this band. Haven't enjoyed a black metal album this much in a long while.
blackmamba - 20.06.2013 at 01:24  
Anti islam black metal? wow these guys are brave. Christians usually don't give a damn, but Islam extremists don't f*ck around.
Array - 20.06.2013 at 02:11  
Didn't find every track from YouTube, but those available were quite nice; mainly 72 Virgins, Islamophobia and Behind... (which was unleashed earlier).
BitterCOld - 20.06.2013 at 02:14  
Written by blackmamba on 20.06.2013 at 01:24

Anti islam black metal? wow these guys are brave. Christians usually don't give a damn, but Islam extremists don't f*ck around.


yeah. having the God Hates Fags morons protesting outside a gig is far more amusing than a fatwa on your head.

will be sure to check this out.
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 02:46  
Written by blackmamba on 20.06.2013 at 01:24

Anti islam black metal? wow these guys are brave. Christians usually don't give a damn, but Islam extremists don't f*ck around.

Indeed. I read something on the band's page on Metal-Archives earlier today saying that apparently, all pictures and names of the band members that've been released are fake. They also have received help from the French embassy and have plans to move to France in the future, where their style will surely be a lot more welcomed in the flourishing BM scene.
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 02:51  
Written by Array on 20.06.2013 at 02:11

Didn't find every track from YouTube

I'm taking the liberty of uploading them all myself, check back by the end of the week and they should all be up if I don't get too lazy
wormdrink414 - 20.06.2013 at 05:22  
Pretty cool background piece on the woman behind this here. The album is sounding pretty damn cool too.
Unhealer - 20.06.2013 at 05:48  
Damn, what a premise. And what I checked out so far sounds amazing.
Divergenceless - 20.06.2013 at 07:00  
Written by Unhealer on 20.06.2013 at 05:48

Damn, what a premise. And what I checked out so far sounds amazing.

That's pretty much exactly what I was going to say.

Also, this is one of the best reviews I have seen on the site. Apothecary described the album enough to make me intrigued, and also handled the difficult subject matter of anti-religious music very sensitively and with *gasp* even a moment or two of humour. He also stressed the gravity of what they are actually doing, something that can be easily forgotten if you're listening to music at random on an mp3 player like I do.
BitterCOld - 20.06.2013 at 08:23  
Written by wormdrink414 on 20.06.2013 at 05:22

Pretty cool background piece on the woman behind this here. The album is sounding pretty damn cool too.


funny the debate sparked in the comment section. it can't be tr00. must be 'Muricans who killed her folks. blah blah blah.

can't see why people would react to a religion that is doing in the 21st Century the worst of what another major religion was doing 500 years ago.
Sunioj - 20.06.2013 at 10:42  
I will be sure to blast this when the mosque across from my house starts blaring.
Cynic Metalhead - 20.06.2013 at 11:45  
Wow, when is this exploding in Kashmir?

Well, i gotta great stuff to tell my muslim friends about this and see on laughing meter how far they can have a great laugh about it.

Talking about fatwa, well, people just don't give a damn out here. They say it's a funny paper that brought up every now day and then and as far as taking "fatwa" is concerned, it's just meh.

I'll spin it once i get a time.
Entropy - 20.06.2013 at 14:47  
A pointer from probably the only iraqi guy in this whole conversation...that whole thing about not giving their names because they are afraid of their government killing them is total bullshit...iraq is in chaos no one gives a FUCK! i repeat No One Gives A fuck about what u think about religion XD people are killing people for 2 dollars
as for what i think of the band...well for starters its a fresh idea, but i find anti religion bands are as cliche as the last 500 generations behind that used that topic to get their ticket to fame -.- and trust me im not a religious person...so im not ripping on them over that fact.
lial87 - 20.06.2013 at 14:58  
Written by BitterCOld on 20.06.2013 at 02:14

Written by blackmamba on 20.06.2013 at 01:24

Anti islam black metal? wow these guys are brave. Christians usually don't give a damn, but Islam extremists don't f*ck around.


yeah. having the God Hates Fags morons protesting outside a gig is far more amusing than a fatwa on your head.

will be sure to check this out.

Your ideas about Christians and Christianity are wrong. I am a Christian myself and I do 'give a dam' in regards to how certain bands and people view Christianity. I am a massive fan of a select number of Norwegian BM, more for the sound rather than the lyrical side of things. I cannot understand that at the foundations of the Holy Bible, the reader will find the message of Christ a peaceful one; "Love each other as I have loved you". I think this sums up how people should treat one another. I understand and acknowledge the fact there have been terrible atrocities commited in the name of God throughout the years but as recent history shows there are extremists in ALL faiths who take their beliefs or percieved beliefs so far out of context that it becomes outrageous. I do not hate any black metal artists as you may think most Christians do, I can appreciate their artistic endevours and the fact they appeal to people like myself who often feel disenchanted with events that occur in this world, but on a theological level I have my differences.


One more thing, I dont know if you think all Christians hate gay people. I for one certainly do not. I have personally found that homosexuals are more genuine people than most heterosexual.
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 15:27  
Written by Divergenceless on 20.06.2013 at 07:00

Also, this is one of the best reviews I have seen on the site.

Much appreciated my man, I do my best
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 15:32  
Written by lial87 on 20.06.2013 at 14:58

Your ideas about Christians and Christianity are wrong. I am a Christian myself and I do 'give a dam' in regards to how certain bands and people view Christianity.

I think he was more so saying that you're likely to get a more extreme reaction out of Muslims when they see anti-Islamic groups than from Christians when they see anti-Christian groups, which I'd have to agree with for the most part. As far as being unable to understand the atrocities committed under Christianity when Christ taught a peaceful message... the majority of religions begin with a benign message of love for a god and love for Earth's people, but then become violently corrupted as their followers attempt to ensure that their faith is the one true faith that everybody should be following. It's up to the people who realize the original intent and true meaning of the faith to lead as examples. Some good among the bad is better than none at all.
Vombatus - 20.06.2013 at 15:44  
Great review, absolutely agree about the production part ! Love the overall sound of it, specially the vocals (maybe the drums could be improve a bit though...)

Much respect for the band, need some real balls to spread such a message where they are.
JD - 20.06.2013 at 16:18  
Very strong titles I can't deny that, they could be killed for that, but musically talking I guess Ayat from Lebanon is still the best anti Islamic band in my opinion.
Mr. Doctor - 20.06.2013 at 16:28  
Written by JD on 20.06.2013 at 16:18

Very strong titles I can't deny that, they could be killed for that, but musically talking I guess Ayat from Lebanon is still the best anti Islamic band in my opinion.

Then again, Ayat doesn't consider itself to be anti-islamic, just anti-religious whereas Seeds Of Inlis does.
Only details though... xD
JD - 20.06.2013 at 16:44  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.06.2013 at 16:28

Written by JD on 20.06.2013 at 16:18

Very strong titles I can't deny that, they could be killed for that, but musically talking I guess Ayat from Lebanon is still the best anti Islamic band in my opinion.

Then again, Ayat doesn't consider itself to be anti-islamic, just anti-religious whereas Seeds Of Inlis does.
Only details though... xD

True they said that but still they are only focusing on Islam in their lyrics, plus they are the first anti Islamic band rise from the middle east and the most popular.
BitterCOld - 20.06.2013 at 18:26  
Written by Apothecary on 20.06.2013 at 15:32

Written by lial87 on 20.06.2013 at 14:58

Your ideas about Christians and Christianity are wrong. I am a Christian myself and I do 'give a dam' in regards to how certain bands and people view Christianity.

I think he was more so saying that you're likely to get a more extreme reaction out of Muslims when they see anti-Islamic groups than from Christians when they see anti-Christian groups, which I'd have to agree with for the most part. As far as being unable to understand the atrocities committed under Christianity when Christ taught a peaceful message... the majority of religions begin with a benign message of love for a god and love for Earth's people, but then become violently corrupted as their followers attempt to ensure that their faith is the one true faith that everybody should be following. It's up to the people who realize the original intent and true meaning of the faith to lead as examples. Some good among the bad is better than none at all.


hit the nail on the head in regards to my specific point (picketing vs. beheading)... and atrocities are committed by pretty much any -ism, regardless as to presence of a deity.

though this discussion is moving away from the album, so let's all bring it back.
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 18:31  
Written by BitterCOld on 20.06.2013 at 18:26

though this discussion is moving away from the album, so let's all bring it back.

Alrighty... I've never heard of this Ayat band JD was talking about, would you recommend them?
Mr. Doctor - 20.06.2013 at 18:37  
Written by Apothecary on 20.06.2013 at 18:31
Alrighty... I've never heard of this Ayat band JD was talking about, would you recommend them?

There is a review of their album here and most tracks are on youtube, I'll say "just do it!".
BitterCOld - 20.06.2013 at 18:42  
Wasn't targeted at you - just omnidirectional to rein it in before this got further away.

haven't heard Ayat - hadn't heard Seeds before this review!
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 18:54  
Written by BitterCOld on 20.06.2013 at 18:42

Wasn't targeted at you - just omnidirectional to rein it in before this got further away.

I feel ya... well in that case, what would you think is the reason, if any, that more bands don't go out for something other than Christianity with the anti-religious vibe? Simply a matter of "follow the herd"?
Mr. Doctor - 20.06.2013 at 19:06  
Written by Apothecary on 20.06.2013 at 18:54
I feel ya... well in that case, what would you think is the reason, if any, that more bands don't go out for something other than Christianity with the anti-religious vibe? Simply a matter of "follow the herd"?

That's just one of the reasons... I'll say another reason is the fact that X religion doesn't affect the band's residence as much as Y religion... So why would they pick so much on Y religion?
Windrider - 20.06.2013 at 19:27  
Very good review, definetely to check out for me... Sounds interesting and may have to potential to develop both black metal and islam.
Apothecary - 20.06.2013 at 22:30  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.06.2013 at 19:06

Another reason is the fact that X religion doesn't affect the band's residence as much as Y religion... So why would they pick so much on Y religion?

Very trve
Fredd - 20.06.2013 at 23:39  
Very brave :3
JD - 21.06.2013 at 03:56  
Written by Apothecary on 20.06.2013 at 18:31

Written by BitterCOld on 20.06.2013 at 18:26

though this discussion is moving away from the album, so let's all bring it back.

Alrighty... I've never heard of this Ayat band JD was talking about, would you recommend them?

I would recommend their full-lenght album Six Years of Dormant Hatred it's one of my all time favorite albums, raw as fuck.
mz - 21.06.2013 at 10:28  
I know that this is not a right place but bans like this are the worst thing that could happen for metal scene and metalheads in midle east. The review sounds promising though
RIITIIR - 21.06.2013 at 11:09  
Norwegians bands (also a lot of bands from Europe) choose to target Christianity because they invaded their lands and forcefully made people to practice Christianity. Whereas, when Muslim conquered Jerusalem or any other place, they allowed people to practice their preferred religion. Nowadays, they also have black sheep among themselves.
UnknownCheese - 21.06.2013 at 20:55  
"This just in; metal musician found beheaded and fucked in ass for anti-Islamic comments"
Fritillaria - 21.06.2013 at 21:08  
Gibberish if you ask me ! how about reading this too : http://metalluminati.com/anti-islamic-black-metal-band-from-iraq-a-hoax/
Apothecary - 21.06.2013 at 21:52  
Written by Guest on 21.06.2013 at 21:08

Gibberish if you ask me ! how about reading this too : http://metalluminati.com/anti-islamic-black-metal-band-from-iraq-a-hoax/

If you read a little further up in the comments, I already mentioned something along those lines. According to their profile on Metal-Archives, all "official" names and photographs of the band members are fake. The band, if they are indeed Iraqi, have also apparently received help from the French embassy and have plans to move their in the future. Whether a hoax or not, somebody has to be doing this music, and props to them, because it's fucking good.
Fritillaria - 21.06.2013 at 22:23  
Written by Apothecary on 21.06.2013 at 21:52


If you read a little further up in the comments, I already mentioned something along those lines. According to their profile on Metal-Archives, all "official" names and photographs of the band members are fake. The band, if they are indeed Iraqi, have also apparently received help from the French embassy and have plans to move their in the future. Whether a hoax or not, somebody has to be doing this music, and props to them, because it's fucking good.

I also think that their music is fake, the name " Anahita" is a Persian name( an ancient Persian goddess) I don't know how the hell an Iraqi can use this name, the cover photo they used is by an Iranian photographer : http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-YKpFo4WymBg/Tt2konHR-0I/AAAAAAAAAYk/C6KBggxliMw/s1600/shirin_neshat-05.jpg they're really too suspicious
Apothecary - 22.06.2013 at 00:39  
Written by Guest on 21.06.2013 at 22:23

They're really too suspicious

Understandably so, though. As I said in the review, doing this kind of thing in that part of the world isn't exactly the safest thing, so the band would be likely to maintain a veil of secrecy to begin with. Or, maybe it is just some "40-year old white guy in Georgia" doing it all for the hell of it
Aetherius - 22.06.2013 at 16:01  
Badass man, this has been on my list to get for a while
Oaken - 23.06.2013 at 19:03  
Had this not been an example of anti-islamic metal, I don't think it would've been given an 8 or even reviewed in the first place. This album is receiving enormous hype because of its lyrical/ideological themes and not because of the actual music, which is quite inferior to that of A LOT of other middle-eastern bands.
Mr. Doctor - 23.06.2013 at 19:20  
I actually enjoyed their music and I'm sure Apothecary isn't dumb to like it just because of it's lyrical contents. That being said, I'm pretty sure other people are dumb enough to get their panties wet just because of the lyrics.
psykometal - 23.06.2013 at 19:42  
^Same here, I really enjoy the music. I very rarely listen to bands for their lyrics (especially not any band whose lyrics have anything to do with religion, for or against) so I could care less about their anti-Islamic stance. I will admit though that I decided to check out the band because of the controversy, but only because I wanted to see if their music was any good.
Marcel Hubregtse - 23.06.2013 at 19:52  
I think why Oaken dismisses it as nothing special is because of the lyrical content which is anti-Islamic and as we all know Oaken does get quite a bit offended when someone attacks his religion.
Monolithic - 23.06.2013 at 20:33  
I have to check out their music to see if it REALLY lives up to that much anticipation and hype. In my experience, it was the presentation that made the headlines, not the ingenuity found in music itself.
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.06.2013 at 20:40  
Written by Monolithic on 23.06.2013 at 20:33

I have to check out their music to see if it REALLY lives up to that much anticipation and hype. In my experience, it was the presentation that made the headlines, not the ingenuity found in music itself.

Their music has improved from what it once was but it's still derivative and done-to-death black metal. Enjoyable for what it is but not noteworthy.
Monolithic - 23.06.2013 at 22:50  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 23.06.2013 at 20:40

Written by Monolithic on 23.06.2013 at 20:33

I have to check out their music to see if it REALLY lives up to that much anticipation and hype. In my experience, it was the presentation that made the headlines, not the ingenuity found in music itself.

Their music has improved from what it once was but it's still derivative and done-to-death black metal. Enjoyable for what it is but not noteworthy.

Oh, then I guess they just sent out a message.
Apothecary - 23.06.2013 at 22:53  
Written by Oaken on 23.06.2013 at 19:03

Had this not been an example of anti-islamic metal, I don't think it would've been given an 8 or even reviewed in the first place. This album is receiving enormous hype because of its lyrical/ideological themes and not because of the actual music, which is quite inferior to that of A LOT of other middle-eastern bands.

I agree, partially. I'd take bands like Melechesh and Orphaned Land over this any day, but the lyrical themes certainly aren't the only appeal on this album. Like I said in the review, it's mostly about the production for me, it may not be perfectly balanced between the raw edge and the cleaner parts, but the fact that the clean parts are even there in the first place certainly makes it more interesting than your average black metal band, no?
Monolithic - 26.06.2013 at 12:26  
...And it was "disappointing" for me. But they did a job alright, sending out a message hidden below the imbalanced, inferior music they play. I probably would give it a 6 or 7. Good review, though.
Fritillaria - 26.06.2013 at 15:18  
Written by Apothecary on 22.06.2013 at 00:39


Understandably so, though. As I said in the review, doing this kind of thing in that part of the world isn't exactly the safest thing, so the band would be likely to maintain a veil of secrecy to begin with. Or, maybe it is just some "40-year old white guy in Georgia" doing it all for the hell of it

ah well although I kinda agree with what you mean,yeah writing or playing this kinda music is not really the safest thing to do in Iraq (totally in middle east,because of their lyrical theme and such,sure it can pisses off the whole reign to attack them,let alone the reign never got pissed off by the genocide is happening in Syria,oh my I'm not trying to add political approaches,I just wanted to give more explanations ) but it's not harder to the same thing in Iran.I mean if they were in Iran they were immediately get identified by authorities, but still there are underground bands which don't hide themselves like this.
Fritillaria - 26.06.2013 at 15:23  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 23.06.2013 at 19:52

I think why Oaken dismisses it as nothing special is because of the lyrical content which is anti-Islamic and as we all know Oaken does get quite a bit offended when someone attacks his religion.

but really I get no offense from this kind of music ,but they're not special musically, they're plenty of underground bands here which they need such attention too, but seems that they only got dismissed. I can't understand this amount of buzz about them either.
Vombatus - 26.06.2013 at 16:58  
Written by Guest on 26.06.2013 at 15:23

but really I get no offense from this kind of music ,but they're not special musically, they're plenty of underground bands here which they need such attention too, but seems that they only got dismissed. I can't understand this amount of buzz about them either.


Most hyped bands nowadays are so for reasons outside the music department. And to begin with, I don't think Seeds of Iblis are making that much noise....

For sure their anti-islamic stance and some internet articles describing them as the spearhead of anti-islamic BM that have to hide their identities and all that has a major impact on the buzz, as in a way it became something new just like a lot of bands got attention coz of the costumes they wore or their lyric themes.

But I do agree that other underground bands deserve it much more when it comes to music, but unfortunately, music industry doesn't work that way.....

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Seeds Of Iblis - Anti Quran Rituals 9 20.06.2013 by theembryo
Albums Seeds Of Iblis - The Black Quran [EP] 6 20.02.2013 by Array
Albums Seeds Of Iblis - Jihad Against Islam 4.5 05.09.2012 by Ellrohir
News Seeds Of Iblis - New Song Streaming Online 4.5 24.12.2012 by
Reviews Random - Pidanoma 3 19.03.2014 by mordecai



Hits total: 5924 | This month: 132