Wehrmacht - Shark Attack review


24 users:
Band: Wehrmacht
Album: Shark Attack
Release date: 1987

01. Shark Attack
02. Blow You Away
03. S.O.P.
04. Jabberjaw
05. Barrage Of Skankers
06. United Shoebrothers
07. Part II....
08. Go Home
09. Anti
10. Napalm Shower
11. Crazy Ways People Die
12. Fretboard Gymnastics
13. Termination
14. Shark Attack [2008 re-release bonus]
15. Puke [United Shoebrothers outro] [2008 re-release bonus]

Wehrmacht. When you hear this name you might think of something that has to do with World War II. But when I hear this name, I instantly think of the 80's crossover thrash band and their ideals pretty much consist of beer and speed, not the drug speed, but speed within the music.

Shark Attack might just be the fasted metal album out there. In terms of speed it beats Slayer's Reign In Blood and Dark Angel's Darkness Descends. Impossible you say? Not for Wehrmacht. The albums opens with the title track, starts off with a familiar shark theme and then busts out into full scale crossover that's so fast not even lightning can catch it. "S.O.P." is probably the albums fastest track, and if you don't know what that stands for you won't find out until you read the lyrics; and the vocals definitely keep up with the music. There is even an instrumental song for you to enjoy; "Fretboard Gymnastics", and that's exactly what goes on during that song.

Although the production of the album is not the best, the music picks up where the production lacks. The lyrical content is classic thrash stuff consisting of beer, killing, death, moshing, that same old pussy*, and sharks. Hearing the drums for the first time makes you wonder if they used a drum machine, but no, not Wehrmacht. The guitars thrash the entire time and shove some gnarly solos in your face and the vocals, like I said before, can definitely keep up with everything else.

All in all Shark Attack is a classic thrash/crossover album that is raw, intense and thrashes you with something so fast it'll make your head explode. Any fan of thrash or crossover should have this album in their collection. It is definitely one of, if not the fastest, and one of my all-time favorite thrash/crossover albums out there.

My favorite tracks: "Crazy Ways People Die", "Napalm Shower", "United Shoebrothers"

*I gave away what S.O.P. stands for.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 8

Written by SuicidalCyco | 14.09.2013


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
In terms of speed, most people consider these albums the fastest: Slayer's Reign in Blood and Dark Angel's Darkness Descends. However, that honour belongs to Oregon "beercore" thrashers Wehrmacht and their 1987 classic Shark Attack.

The guitar work we hear here has a crunching, mad tone; its power and savage rapidity are displayed through the entire album. John Duffy and Marco Zorich make a pretty great guitar team, although quite unspoken of. The drums are just as fast through the entire album, although at times not too audible. I assure you, that is no drum machine - Brian Lehfeldt is the man behind the kit, behind the blast beats and ferocious drum licks. The bass, although nothing spectacular or innovating, serves as a solid foundation to the music. Phillip Matos, although not being the most aggressive vocalist, has a gruff voice that fits the music well, and he doesn't overdo it.

published 13.07.2010 | Comments (1)

Hits total: 1486 | This month: 5