Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.3
Vitriol - Into The Silence I Sink
8 November 2012


01. Behind The Electric Veil
02. Slowly She Dies
03. Arabesque
04. Sinking
05. The Frozen Wind
06. Endless Spiral
07. Despite Your Cries
08. Oceans
09. The Continuous Struggle
10. Three Times


Vitriol is an Italian progressive metal sextet that, despite being only at the beginning of its career, is not anymore a promise: the quality of this release should rapidly bring it at higher levels, since finding such maturity in a debut album these days is becoming increasingly rare and extremely interesting.

Into The Silence I Sink is a masterful piece of metal, not a gloomy misfits' excuse to vent some pent-up frustrations like the cover artwork may let think, but instead a dark and sometimes disquieting journey into silences. Yes, I spelled it plural, since the silences analysed here are three: the paradoxical one between people in this globalized era, the personal one between somebody and his own soul and the terrible one between a man and his God. The latter, then, is embodied by the figure of Christ during his Passion and by his sadly famous cry "My God, my God, why have You forsaken me?". But these few words only scratch the surface of the greatness of the concept under this album: just sit down, take your time, and enjoy some fantastic lyrics.

On a more musical side Into The Silence I Sink is a variegated album, with fast and aggressive tracks, as the amazing opener "Behind The Electric Veil" - which righteously enters among the best progressive songs of the last years - mitigated by slower and lighter ballads which, at a distracted hearing, may sound boring and elongated just to reach the appropriate playing time for a prog album, after some careful listenings reveal hidden facets and unexpected dynamism, also thanks to some clever devices, as the frequent use of evocative backing vocals, intriguing whispers and not superfluous sound effects.

Vitriol jump on the shoulders of the genre's giants - influences, for example, from John Petrucci's intricate riffing or Danny Carey's eclecticism are easily appreciable - to build their very own style, positively complex without losing accessibility.

The main thing I want to warn everyone about is absolutely not to listen to this album while doing something else. Just lie on your sofa, unlock your soul and thank any God you praise you're patient enough to enjoy great, thoughtful, music.


Band profile: Vitriol
Album: Into The Silence I Sink


 



Written on 17.08.2013 by
R Lewis
Hopefully you won't agree with me, diversity of opinions is what makes metal so beautiful and varied.

So... critics and advices absolutely welcome.
More reviews by R Lewis ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 152  
Search this topic:  


Diverge - 18.08.2013 at 03:03  
I'm jamming to the first track right now...so far, this shit is tight! Thanks for the suggestion.
Monolithic - 18.08.2013 at 11:44  
Add another silence, which is technically a sign of astonishment after listening to the album.
BloodTears - 18.08.2013 at 12:03  
Wow, I could really like this. Curious indeed.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.08.2013 at 18:27  
Doesn't sound like my kind of thing but I really like that artwork.

Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2013 at 19:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.08.2013 at 18:27
Doesn't sound like my kind of thing but I really like that artwork.

Urgh, no... They ruined Dr. Caligari.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.08.2013 at 20:07  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 19:51

Urgh, no... They ruined Dr. Caligari.

You mean Caligari's garish Expressionist style? Looks like a pretty appropriate use of the scenery to me The colour and collage-like haphazard construction works very well to my eyes.
Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2013 at 20:40  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.08.2013 at 20:07
You mean Caligari's garish Expressionist style? Looks like a pretty appropriate use of the scenery to me The colour and collage-like haphazard construction works very well to my eyes.

Well, that's actually a direct scene from the movie and I just don't like anything of what has been done here. From the colour to the awful figures. Ruined an otherwise great pic.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.08.2013 at 21:12  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 20:40


Well, that's actually a direct scene from the movie and I just don't like anything of what has been done here. From the colour to the awful figures. Ruined an otherwise great pic.

Yeah that's why I said an "appropriate use of the scenery" considering the garishness of both this and the film (and Expressionism)
Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2013 at 21:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.08.2013 at 21:12
Yeah that's why I said an "appropriate use of the scenery" considering the garishness of both this and the film (and Expressionism)

Well, screw you! I like the style! ... and this is not a good use of the pic. The figures just look like an awful cut/paste job.





(I'm guessing the use of the word garish is only negative.... If that wasn't the case then this is quite awkward. Fucking languages...)
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.08.2013 at 22:00  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 21:44


Well, screw you! I like the style! ... and this is not a good use of the pic. The figures just look like an awful cut/paste job.

(I'm guessing the use of the word garish is only negative.... If that wasn't the case then this is quite awkward. Fucking languages...)

Garish doesn't have to be negative. I like German expressionism but I would say garishness is definitely part of its look.
Mr. Doctor - 19.08.2013 at 22:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.08.2013 at 22:00
Garish doesn't have to be negative. I like German expressionism but I would say garishness is definitely part of its look.


My bad then, I usually see that word as something negative but I see your point now (still think this "rework" is bad though).
Now I feel like I must listen to the album since I talked way too much about the artwork. xD
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.08.2013 at 22:21  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.08.2013 at 22:18

Now I feel like I must listen to the album since I talked way too much about the artwork. xD

Yeah i won't be doing that
FelixtheMetalcat - 13.11.2013 at 23:45  
Very fair & accurate review. This is not music that is easily digestible but after repeated listens it really starts to hit home. This was a surprise album for me last year & I was very grateful to have found it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Vitriol - Into The Silence I Sink 9 06.08.2013 by R Lewis
Reviews Bigelf - Into The Maelstrom 6 16.03.2014 by Spirit Molecule
Reviews Steamforged - The Endless 4.5 05.08.2014 by LascaillesShroud
Reviews Five Finger Death Punch - The Wrong Side Of Heaven And The Righteous Side Of Hell - Volume 1 4.5 02.12.2013 by R Lewis
Reviews Lahmia - Into The Abyss 4 12.05.2012 by -DC-002-



Hits total: 3303 | This month: 1