Rating:
8.0
Ereb Altor - Fire Meets Ice
26 July 2013


01. Fire Meets Ice
02. The Chosen Ones
03. Nifelheim
04. My Raven's
05. Sacrifice
06. Helheimsfard
07. The Deceiver Shall Repent
08. Post Ragnarok
09. Our Legacy


Recorded and mixed by Jonas Lindström at Studio Apocalypse.
Mastered by Thomas "Plec" Johansson at Panic-Room.
Produced by Jonas Lindström and Mats.
Design, logo, ornaments and layout by Robban Kanto.
Front cover by Gustavo Sazes.


As redundant as the whole Viking/Norse Mythology theme can get within metal, every now and then you see a band come along who actually do make it interesting, and inject the cliché nature of it with a strong, focused sense of direction. While Fire Meets Ice from the Swedish Ereb Altor might not be all that jaw dropping-ly original, it's certainly powerful and hard-hitting, and is good testament to the fact that Pagan Black Metal isn't just some overdone, tasteless style, and actually still has some life left in it.

Fire Meets Ice kicks off with the title track, a 9 minute opener with nice little piano intro, an excellent blend of clean and black metal vocals, and a very good deal of… doom? Yes, doom. The overall tempos and riffage on Fire Meets Ice follow along a very steady, epic pace, and in many ways this helps to better reinforce the whole Viking theme. Indeed, the rhythms of many of the tracks can often give the listener the impression of a 10th-century Norse legion marching off to war ("The Chosen Ones," the middle of "Nifelheim," and "Sacrifice," in particular). There's a very masculine (though somehow not too cheesy) vibe that follows along this theme throughout Fire And Ice, as if the tracks are all ceremonial battle tunes of some sort: perfect for having a few ales with your buddies before embarking on a crusade to dispel those annoying Jehovah's Witnesses from your front doorstep.

In addition, Ereb Altor's 2013 effort strikes a very commendable balance of sound throughout its duration. Aside from the blend of the clean vocals and the shrieks, music-wise there's also a nice blend of heavier tracks ("Helheimsfard," "Post Ragnarok,") and some more epic tracks that even feel a little ballad-y at some points ("Nifelheim," "My Ravens," "Our Legacy"). It's a neat delivery, because it somewhat feels as if the band were trying to capture two sides of the Viking heritage with these approaches: the battle-loving warrior on the one side, and the spiritual journey-seeker on the other.

Fire Meets Ice honestly sounds a lot like a modern take on Viking-era Bathory. The delivery is very reminiscent of Twilight Of The Gods: catchy, riff-heavy guitar parts, some more relaxed melodies, deep, operatic clean vocals, and some extra black metal elements thrown in to make the formula a bit more interesting. Ereb Altor come across as the natural heirs to Quorthon with this release, and while it may not be creative to the point of knocking you flat off your ass, it certainly is a force to be reckoned with, and well worth checking out for any serious fan of black, viking, or doom metal. Give it a peek over here.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 17.08.2013 by
Apothecary
"Without tradition, art is a flock of sheep without a master. But without innovation, it is a corpse."
-Winston Churchill
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 209  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 18.08.2013 at 12:25  
Never really enjoyed ereb Altor, and the same goes for this new one. I prefer their output as Isole by miles.
Apothecary - 18.08.2013 at 14:49  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.08.2013 at 12:25

Never really enjoyed ereb Altor, and the same goes for this new one. I prefer their output as Isole by miles.

Strange, usually when a band went by another name it says it on their profile... what would you recommend from Isole?
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.08.2013 at 15:28  
Written by Apothecary on 18.08.2013 at 14:49

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.08.2013 at 12:25

Never really enjoyed ereb Altor, and the same goes for this new one. I prefer their output as Isole by miles.

Strange, usually when a band went by another name it says it on their profile... what would you recommend from Isole?



Ereb Altor is a different band than Isole. Both bands co-exist with Isole playing epic doom and Ereb Altor playing Bathory type stuff. That's why tey have two bands because of the different music both play.
Apothecary - 18.08.2013 at 15:36  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.08.2013 at 15:28

Ereb Altor is a different band than Isole. Both bands co-exist with Isole playing epic doom and Ereb Altor playing Bathory type stuff. That's why tey have two bands because of the different music both play.

Ah, ok. Well, if the ratings on here are any indication, Throne Of Void looks like a good place to start with them. I'll put it on my Listen To list
R'Vannith - 18.08.2013 at 15:50  
Isole have an alter ego? An Ereb Altor ego?... should see myself out for that, sorry.

This is sounding great so far, there's much doom in it as you say and both bands have a similar "epic" feel to them, though expressed in different styles I think. Throne Of Void is well worth checking out in my opinion, it's my preferred album from Isole.
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.08.2013 at 15:51  
My favourite by Isole is Throne Of Void
Mr. Doctor - 18.08.2013 at 16:29  
The only one I've heard by them is the latest which I really liked. I should check out more of Isole's discography.
Apothecary - 18.08.2013 at 16:54  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.08.2013 at 16:29

The only one I've heard by them is the latest which I really liked. I should check out more of Isole's discography.

I love how this turned into a convo about a whole different band
Though if it has members from Ereb Altor in it I'm sure I'll dig it. I'll get around to checking out Isole when I'm not busy smoking pot and praising Baphomet.
Erik M. - 18.08.2013 at 17:37  
Written by Apothecary on 18.08.2013 at 15:36

Ah, ok. Well, if the ratings on here are any indication, Throne Of Void looks like a good place to start with them. I'll put it on my Listen To list


All Isole albums are rated between 8.2-8.4 by MS users and the album Born From Shadows has a 9.0 review while Marcel gave an 8.2 to Throne of Void in his review. Anyway, indeed a great band although I've only heard Forevermore and Bliss of Solitude. Out of those I prefer the latter (which was a good introduction to the band as well).

Also checked out Ereb Altor's debut and while I liked it, it didn't make me want to check out their other albums. Still, your review makes me interested in this, so I might check it out.
Susan - 18.08.2013 at 17:56  
Written by R'Vannith on 18.08.2013 at 15:50

Isole have an alter ego? An Ereb Altor ego?... should see myself out for that, sorry.


LOL!!

I had no idea they were the same dudes. Loved their last album; can't wait to hear this one!
3rdWorld - 06.11.2013 at 11:14  
Written by Erik M. on 18.08.2013 at 17:37

All Isole albums are rated between 8.2-8.4 by MS users and the album Born From Shadows has a 9.0 review while Marcel gave an 8.2 to Throne of Void in his review. Anyway, indeed a great band although I've only heard Forevermore and Bliss of Solitude. Out of those I prefer the latter (which was a good introduction to the band as well).

Also checked out Ereb Altor's debut and while I liked it, it didn't make me want to check out their other albums. Still, your review makes me interested in this, so I might check it out.

Brilliant, this is exactly what the reviewer might have wanted for a review of this album.

Written by Apothecary on 18.08.2013 at 16:54

Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.08.2013 at 16:29

The only one I've heard by them is the latest which I really liked. I should check out more of Isole's discography.

I love how this turned into a convo about a whole different band
Though if it has members from Ereb Altor in it I'm sure I'll dig it. I'll get around to checking out Isole when I'm not busy smoking pot and praising Baphomet.

I saw this record in a couple of sites and got baffled that it was labeled Viking, there is so little viking in it, atleast the viking that most bands play. Quite good stuff indeed.
3rdWorld - 06.11.2013 at 11:16  
On the other hand I haven't heard Isole and won't bother with it anytime soon unless they put out a new record this year that is.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Ereb Altor - Fire Meets Ice 9 14.07.2013 by Karcas
Reviews Cult Of Fire - मृत्यु का तापस 4.5 23.11.2013 by Hermann Langke
News Ereb Altor - New Album Artwork Unveiled 4.5 01.07.2013 by Enemy of Reality
Albums Ereb Altor - The End 4.5 17.09.2013 by M C Vice
Albums Ereb Altor - Gastrike 4.5 01.02.2013 by nille



Hits total: 4541 | This month: 97