Diamond Plate - Pulse review



Reviewer:
5.8

14 users:
6.14
Band: Diamond Plate
Album: Pulse
Release date: August 2013


01. Walking Backwards
02. All Of It
03. Price You Pay
04. Dance With Reality
05. Still Dreaming
06. Face To Face
07. Bottom Of The Glass
08. Rainmaker
09. Persistence Of Memory
10. Running Dry
11. Power Thrashing Death [bonus]


I might have given Diamond Plate's first full-length a bit too high of a score, but I did really enjoy it. Still throw it on occasionally. Won't be doing that with Pulse.

It's not from a lack of memorable riffs, they gave us a plethora of those here. Shaking the "meh" feeling throughout this thing is just too difficult.

The vocals stand out as one of the weaker aspects, as they did on their debut for most people (not me, so much). Their new vocalist is at his best when his monotone shouting strains into screeches, and that just doesn't happen enough. Most of the time, it sounds as if he was holding back—and holding back on a thrash album is like being stingy when buying booze. Leads to a through-and-through lose-lose scenario. When the vocals go balls to the wall, they sound great. When they don't, which is most of the time, they're just tedious.

Again, the riffing here is excellent. Like on Generation Why, there's an emphasis on rhythm. It feels more Dimebag-esque than before, with little explosions of melody preventing tracks from stagnating. There isn't one track that won't get you bobbing your head or uppercutting the air.

It's just, there's a serious lack of fun on this. It's not at all melancholy or anything, it's just bland. Real bland. And that bland feeling is wedged in by the over-mastered production quality of it all. With this style of revived thrash, I want fun and excitement, I don't want to come out of it feeling like I was just shouted at about anomie by some half-drunk chest beater with a microphone for 40 minutes.

Seems like these guys were going for a Vulgar Display of Power meets …And Justice for All sort of thing, and they just didn't pull it off. Which really sucks considering all the many riffs that feel wasted as a result. There's something almost sad about that—here are all of these beautiful, little, ugly, massive riffs and they're basically ruined by the boring feel of the album as a whole.


 



Written on 20.09.2013 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 101 users
20.09.2013 - 22:05
psykometal
A staff guy...
Agree with you entirely on this review. Great riffs by the truckloads here...but the damn vocals kill the whole experience!
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
20.09.2013 - 22:08
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by psykometal on 20.09.2013 at 22:05

Agree with you entirely on this review. Great riffs by the truckloads here...but the damn vocals kill the whole experience!


so, even though it is a new vocalist, it's the same problem as with the previous album (although that one was also marred by the sterile production)
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
20.09.2013 - 22:26
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.09.2013 at 22:08

so, even though it is a new vocalist, it's the same problem as with the previous album (although that one was also marred by the sterile production)

Well, I actually liked the last album; both vocals and production. But the new vocalist is horrible, and it's likely you will still find the production to be sterile.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
21.09.2013 - 07:38
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
I thought Generation Why was really good, except for the vocals. With worse vocals and an absence of "fun factor", should I give this one a miss?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"Thinking quickly, Dave constructs a homemade megaphone using only some string, a squirrel and a megaphone."
Sharks 2016 Premier
Loading...
21.09.2013 - 08:58
TheBloodyNine
I agree with the score. I also reviewed this album here: http://www.deadrhetoric.com/reviews/diamond-plate-pulse-earache-records/

I did give it a generous score, in hindsight. It's not good, but the band is talented. The first thing that hit me was that I hated the vocals. They got on my nerves big time. I haven't listened to the album since my review (I gave it 3 or 4 runs) and have no plans to listen again.
Loading...
21.09.2013 - 09:41
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
By far to any means, you can't avoid terrible vocals in this record. Actually, good music here is been totally ripped off by very amateurish singing in it. I rate 5 to this.
----
Loading...
21.09.2013 - 14:42
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by M C Vice on 21.09.2013 at 07:38

I thought Generation Why was really good, except for the vocals. With worse vocals and an absence of "fun factor", should I give this one a miss?

Probably not worth it, no. The vocals are terrible, and I honestly believe that the lack of "fun factor" is entirely because the vocals are just way too difficult to digest. You spend most, if not all, of your time trying to ignore the nails-on-a-chalkboard vocals so that you can grasp what's going on musically, and it's just entirely too laborious to be even remotely "fun" to listen to. If the vocals were at least decent, then imo there would be plenty of "fun factor" to go around.

Edit: These guys need to find a loud, confident vocalist like John Kevill and David Sanchez are; not who sounds like them, since I'm not entirely sure those higher pitched vocals would really work with Diamond Plate's style, but who is just similarly loud and exactly as confident.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
22.09.2013 - 05:05
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by psykometal on 21.09.2013 at 14:42

Written by M C Vice on 21.09.2013 at 07:38


.. would really work with Diamond Head's style, but who is just similarly loud and exactly as confident.

Got a bit mixed up there, huh?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"Thinking quickly, Dave constructs a homemade megaphone using only some string, a squirrel and a megaphone."
Sharks 2016 Premier
Loading...
22.09.2013 - 05:26
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by M C Vice on 22.09.2013 at 05:05

Got a bit mixed up there, huh?

I know not of what you speak...
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
22.09.2013 - 21:20
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
The debates around the vocals on this album made me to hear the whole music,I think it's not really that bad,not that bad which can ruin the whole music,I think the vocal suits the whole music,isn't it ?
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
22.09.2013 - 23:50
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by Angel N. on 22.09.2013 at 21:20

The debates around the vocals on this album made me to hear the whole music,I think it's not really that bad,not that bad which can ruin the whole music,I think the vocal suits the whole music,isn't it ?

Negative. The vocals suit the music of a shitty teenage garage band.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
23.09.2013 - 09:19
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
Written by psykometal on 22.09.2013 at 23:50

Negative. The vocals suit the music of a shitty teenage garage band.


erm then I must hear them again,I suppose I'm gonna enjoy their music overall again, I guess it's because of the parts their instruments play
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
24.09.2013 - 11:03
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Ok, I now have to listen to the album with tons of excellent riffs that sucks...
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...

Hits total: 3199 | This month: 22