Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.5
The Gathering - Home
18 April 2006


01. Shortest Day
02. In Between
03. Alone
04. Waking Hour
05. Fatigue
06. A Noise Severe
07. Forgotten
08. Solace
09. Your Troubles Are Over
10. Box
11. The Quiet One
12. Home
13. Forgotten Reprise


As is often the case with bands that never stand still in terms of musical conventions and styles, every new album is a bit of a challenge for the long-time fan to come to terms with. Home is exactly this sort of album. Obviously, the Gathering's music is no longer even remotely metal. Instead, this new album seems to be the final conclusion of the journey that the band has been on ever since they decided that monolithic doom riffs were kinda boring in the long run.

Atmospheric and subdued modern rock songs fill this album and more often than not, they work wonders. The band paints beautiful textures and sets the perfect mood for Anneke to enrich with her consistently groundbreaking vocals. If there ever was a woman in rock music who could make the style her own without imitating male vocalists, Anneke is that woman. Her melodic murmur is seductive both to the ear and to the heart and takes the music into places that few bands can reach. It is this awareness of hearing something that is beautiful in a very subtle way that is this album's strongest trait. It could also be seen as a bit of a flaw; however, since there are certain points when we do wish that the band did crank up the guitars a little or churn out a more catchy refrain. This lack of dynamism is easily overlooked though since by forcing us to listen more closely, the band makes us divulge into the subtleties of the music more.

It has been quite obvious that this is the direction The Gathering were heading for the last 7 years or so. They finally got there and although the journey has been tough, they emerged as victors. If you liked the previous Gathering album, you will also love this one.


Band profile: The Gathering
Album: Home


 



Written on 19.04.2006 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 97  
Search this topic:  


Ivor - 31.05.2006 at 21:47  
I just finished listening to the 'Home' and I'm still trying to get a grip on myself. It's completely unexpected. I love The Gathering's music, I love their changing style. However, elaborating from 'Souvenirs' and taking their comments into account that the new album is different I did not expect something like this. It's brilliant and it sent something stirring in me which I'm yet to find out what it is. This album is enourmously emotional and extremely deep. The Gathering simply surprises even if you think you are ready for surprises.

And as far as your review goes Jup, I'm inclined to think The Gathering has yet to reach their destination. This is not a destination the band has been heading for (or direction for that matter). It's a step on the neverending journey of change and exploration.

I.
AnGina-- - 02.06.2006 at 12:54  
I absolutely adore Home. And your review is again great Ivor. This is definately not the ending point for The Gathering and their music, and I can't really say it's a step in a totally different direction, just as I expected from them. And again they've given us the album full of emotional depths and amazing ambient. Your Troubles Are Over is definately my fave track and again I feel like I'm leaving all my troubles behind and exist ina completely different dimension when I'm listening to them.
Ivor - 02.06.2006 at 13:49  
Angina, it's not my review. Jup is the reviewer.

I.
AnGina-- - 02.06.2006 at 15:53  
Sorry mi mistake. Anyway, the review is still awesome Good job jupitreas
Unholy_Emperor - 13.10.2006 at 02:19  
Bah, don't know why but I don't stand this band, what the hell are they doing in metal sites and metal festivals if they are not even metal?

The music could please me but this things get me a little nervous.
Susan - 14.10.2006 at 06:30  
Great review Jup! I agree, even though their direction and progression is easy to see and follow, this album's sound was still completely unexpected. I am satisfied by each song and, although Souveniers is my most special "The Gathering" album, Home will take a high place as well.

"If there ever was a woman in rock music who could make the style her own without imitating male vocalists, Anneke is that woman. Her melodic murmur is seductive both to the ear and to the heart and takes the music into places that few bands can reach."

Beautifully said
Ireth Alcarin - 18.12.2006 at 09:28  
Written by Unholy_Emperor on 13.10.2006 at 02:19

Bah, don't know why but I don't stand this band, what the hell are they doing in metal sites and metal festivals if they are not even metal?

The music could please me but this things get me a little nervous.


I advise you mind your own business then and don't get nervous about such things, it's useless anyway (you only annoy the fans of this band). Better appreciate your beloved bands
I don't know if it helps, but they were metal - and very metal - just check the first albums
dismaleuphony - 08.06.2007 at 07:55  
Outside of the track "Solace," this CD is a great disc, with a straight direction in mission and sound. And honestly, listening to this CD directly after listening to "Mandylion," I realize how much the band evolved, but yet manages to keep some threads of similarity in the sound - though I guess that's mostly due to Anneke's vocal work, but the expansive atmosphere of the music is also key in both CDs. Anneke will be missed.
lazarus - 13.11.2008 at 02:53  
I thought Solace was a good track, not particularly the kind of songs The Gathering has used to bring us in their previous albums, some other though were a little bit boring, it was above an average album not into the metal genre anymore.
DreadfulYgg - 08.08.2010 at 10:37  
It's fitting that Anneke gives one of her best performances on this last album with The Gathering. Her voice beautiful and haunting as always and so full of emotion. I really find the musical direction of the band to be interesting too at this point, and I'm glad that they've always been willing to experiment and gather (no pun intended) different influences into their overall sound. The diversity really enriches the music. The atmosphere is very subdued and streamlined compared to previous release as others have said and I think that's what makes this particular work stand out. Also, "Forgotten Reprise" is a jaw-dropping conclusion to the album.
Vonpire - 29.09.2010 at 22:03  
I don't know if it was because they released it after Anneke being a mom, but this album has an emotional atmosphere that's impressive!!

And her voice... Perfect!

Damn, how i miss her in the Gathering...

Anyway, another brilliant release from the atmosphere makers masters

Highlights - Alone , Waking Hour , A Noise severe , Box , Forgotten Reprise
tirim4 - 31.10.2010 at 22:40  
Some of the best vocal performances ever on this album! Such a soft and gentle voice combined with great music is just... beautiful.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums The Gathering - Home 6 04.08.2011 by
Reviews Versus The Mirror - Home 6 15.12.2006 by Herzebeth
Reviews The Gathering - Mandylion 5.5 08.01.2009 by In Bone Factory
Reviews The Crinn - Dreaming Saturn 4.5 08.10.2010 by imnotatroy
Reviews Pain - Dancing With The Dead 4.5 17.06.2008 by Hamird



Hits total: 5210 | This month: 24